paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Tippman 98 Custom E-Grip / Tippmann Tippman 98 Custom E-Grip / Tippmann Tippman 98 Custom E-Grip / Tippmann Tippman 98 Custom E-Grip / Tippmann Tippman 98 Custom E-Grip

Tippmann Tippman 98 Custom E-Grip Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Tippman 98 Custom E-Grip

Paintball Custom 98 Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Tippman 98 Custom E-Grip
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $115

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The E-Trigger™ Electronic Upgrade Kit includes five firing modes (semi-auto, auto-response, full-auto, 3-shot burst, turbo) that can be changed in seconds for rapid (up to 17 balls per second) firing. Requires 9-volt battery. Does not work with 98 Custom.

Available on: Custom Pro™ and newer Custom 98's (with the cutouts inside the grip)
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Tippman 98 Custom E-Grip is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
tyguy123 Tuesday, January 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i havnt tried anything as good as this EVER!
Marker Setup: i use a TIPPMANN 98 CUSTOM WITH A DOUBLE TRIGGER A.C.T. AND E-GRIP
Strengths: Speed, power, reliable, trustworthy, and absolutly great for woodsball.
Weaknesses: If the battery runs out, you better be a good shooter.
Review: I honestly couldnt ask for a better product for, woodsball, speedball, and senario.
Absolutly amazing if you are caught last in the game. If your surrounded turn on the E-
Grip and get in the game! 3 burst 5 burst or full auto (17 bps) will definatly get you win.
Conclusion: If you are going to get a new board for your gun you absolutly have to get aan E-Grip for your gun. i got it and it has changed my game
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballajo Saturday, May 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: tippmann 98
14 inch 'sniper' barrel
m-16 stock
a tactical vest which holds up to 900 paintballs
Strengths: Fast shooting
5 different fireing modes
Weaknesses: Not accurate (im a sniper, so it really counts)
Chopping
Expensive!
Hard to find
Review: First, i go to my local paintball shop (now closed) and buy this $100 e-trigger.
First day of use; im at my cousins field, and i and chopping non-stop and i waste 2000 paintballs in two hours.P.S. i lost
they were good paintballs too! $45 a case
AND my local shop closed down (4/23/08) so i cant retun it!!!!!!!
Conclusion: I think its a good idea to buy one if you're not worried about accuracy, and if you have an extra $70 laying around for a hopper good enough to not chop 4/5 balls
6 beacause of chopping
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

phethesk8 Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatline Barrel
HALO TSA led hopper
Tippmann E-grip
32 Degrees Aluminium Collapsible Stock
32 Degrees Remote Coil
Strengths: 5 exellent Firing modes
Very fast
Great advantage over anything
Weaknesses: Wires can easily break off
A little heavy on battery use
NEEDS a fast hopper
Review: i bought two e-grips on ebay for $64, knowing that these are $99 upgrades, i couldnt let this chance go away. as soon as i got them, my wires had snapped off from the circuit board. but i had taken electronics class in highschool and had soldering knowledge. so i soldered the wires back and reinforced them so that they wouldnt break off again.

after that. i needed to cut off the plate from the gun's right frame, i had my father do that with a machine at his job. and it really helped into fitting the battery and easy change.

the five firing modes it has are great. everyhing a real automatic rifle would have and more. they really are an advantage over everyone else.

when i bought this i went to a game to try it out. i driedshoot and it was fast. but when i used my gravity hopper it was horrific. every 3-5 shots i made i would chop a ball. a friend recomended me to buy a fast electronic hopper. so i bought the HALO TSA LED hopper and now if feeds just as fast and almost never chops paint.

recently after cutting the plates and everything. my frames still dont close completely. (on grip) so the solenoid pin is loose and wount shoot other than auto response. i dont know what the problem is yet but should be easy to fix.
Conclusion: Want your tippmann 98 to be a speedball gun? buy this. you wount regret it.
you will need a electronic hopper. (15+ bps)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

teebag21 Tuesday, December 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Custom Pro
16" CP barrel
E Grip with WAS Board (couldnt ask for more)
Tech T Fang Trigger
Evo 3 Hopper (recommended for this setup)
RD Vertical Feed
RD Wicked Bolt
DH titanium hammer
Maddmann Spring kit
48/3000 PE
Tippmann Expansion Chamber Kit
Strengths: High Quality
Fast

Weaknesses: Could Chop if you dont have a fast enough hopper. Kick is pretty bad.
Review: Okay so first off, i LOVe my e grip WAS board. It made my ROF from 7 bps to at least 20 on semi. You are able to reach up to 30 bps with the new WAS equalizer board. Five different modes of fire, and if you are planning on getting this, you might want to get a lighter cocking hammer, the kick is terrible. I would recommend the Dark horizons titanium hammer and a new spring kit. Once you have all of that your gun will own.
Conclusion: If you want a fast 98 then you have to get this, You really cant go wrong. Best upgrade I made for my gun. Nothings perfect, so 9
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 14th, 2007 at 5:31 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

nytehawk Sunday, October 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months49 of 54 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Response trigger on a friend's A-5
Marker Setup: SPEEDBALL:
Eclipse E-Tek EGO
PMI 68/4500
DXS Pulse & Halo B w/ Rip Drive

SCENARIO:
98 Custom ACT
14" Teardrop barrel
Tippmann 98 e-trigger (e-grip)
Tippmann double trigger
12, 20oz CO2
gravity hopper
Strengths: Fast...for a 98C
Useful firing modes
Rate-of-fire adjustment works in all modes
Weaknesses: Installation can be tricky
Requires a good battery
Kick loosens hopper
Expensive upgrade for 98C
Review: I have a newer 98C with ACT which accepts the e-trigger, so I decided to try that instead of the response trigger. Despite having to replace batteries occasionally, I liked the idea that I wouldn't be using additional CO2 to run a trigger.

Installation: the instructions provided by Tippmann were relatively straightforward and thorough. My e-trigger instructions had an additional piece of paper telling me to add a magnet which helps pull the solenoid back to neutral position & was apparently not part of the original design. I was concerned about using a hammer & punch to pop the battery hole out of the left frame half, but that was actually no problem at all. What was a problem was that my frame halves didn't fit together properly after installing the e-trigger components. Turns out the rough finish on the new 98C ACT models oversprays into the inside of the frame (which is obvious when you open the marker) and the thickness of the rough finish overspray was not allowing my solenoid to seat correctly in the frame. I spent quite a while scraping away the offending interior overspray (and verifying that all shavings were completely removed!) so that the frame halves fit together.

The remaining components installed without any problems, although I did apply a tiny dab of Vaseline petroleum jelly to each of the guides which hold the long pin in place -- hopefully to avoid any friction issues. Like one of the other reviewers, I had some difficulty getting the battery to sit flush inside the frame so that the grip would go on flush. Was also concerned about the battery wires breaking off the circuit board someday after many battery removals, so I applied a little bit of low-temp hot glue to hold them in place. I will try to add a couple photos of my installation to help others. Note: the sear that came with the e-trigger should work fine in any 98C ACT models, but older non-ACT models will probably require you to use the stock sear as stated in pbmike1888's review of this product. Oh - you also have to finish cutting out the little holes in the grip halves so you can access the mode switch and rate-of-fire adjustment after the grips are installed. It's pretty easy with a sharp exacto knife and a little patience.

Operation: after getting the battery installed & turning on the marker, I could hear the solenoid click when the trigger was pulled. However, when I applied my CO2 for some dry firing I discovered that after 2-3 quick shots in a row, the solenoid wasn't pushing hard enough to move the sear and fire the marker. Turns out the Energizer battery I was using wasn't putting out enough juice, even though it tested very good on a battery tester. Replaced it with a Duracell and it worked great. Not that one brand is better than the other, but you do need to be sure you have a good battery and apparently not all batteries that seem good really are good. So far, battery life has been excellent because I'm still running on that same Duracell. I will post an update if I have any further info on battery life as I continue to use it.

Also, I had previously replaced my stock trigger spring with a ballpoint pen spring. I decided to keep my original (single) trigger in stock form, and purchased a Tippmann double trigger. Combined with the e-trigger kit (since you are no longer mechanically pushing the sear) this dramatically reduces the trigger force. This setup with the ballpoint pen spring, Tippmann double trigger, and e-trigger works surprisingly well and feels a lot like a stock Ion trigger: light pull but a bit of side-to-side wobble. The 98C has enough kick that it's pretty easy to bounce, so you have to watch out for that if you perform this mod.

The rotary mode selection switch is reasonably accessible using the small screwdriver provided with the e-trigger kit. I generally prefer Mode 1 (semi-auto) and Mode 9 (Turbo), but Mode 5 (full auto) is very useful for making rate-of-fire (ROF) adjustments. For some reason, I have a little more difficulty accessing the ROF adjustment than the mode switch, but it's not something you're going to be adjusting all the time so not really a concern. What I really do like is that the ROF adjustment applies to all modes, so if you set your ROF to 8 bps it doesn't matter how fast you pull the trigger in semi-auto mode; the marker still won't shoot any faster than 8 bps. This is a good way to guard against wasting paint if you don't really need to be shooting that fast.

I still have the basic gravity-fed hopper so I cannot confirm the maximum of 17 bps advertised by Tippmann, but it sure dry-fired fast when I turned the ROF all the way up! In fact, you'll need an expansion chamber or remote line (or both) if you want to shoot more than a few balls at a time at high ROF using CO2. I don't like the looks of Tippmann's expansion chamber, so will probably use a remote line at CO2-only fields and am planning to purchase a basic HPA tank to use when I can.

The e-trigger will definitely work best on 98C's and Custom Pro's that have the ACT (Anti-Chop Technology). So far I have not chopped any balls although I also haven't tried live-firing with the ROF set above about 6-8 bps (no point with a gravity hopper). I have noticed that the amount of kick from the Tippmann's relatively heavy moving components tends to rattle my hopper loose in the feed neck -- a problem that increases at the higher ROF permitted by the e-trigger.

In the end, the e-trigger is a great way to increase the firepower of a 98C or Custom Pro, and I personally prefer the e-trigger over the response trigger. Perhaps the only major downside is that it will make you want to upgrade to the double trigger, HPA tank (or expansion chamber), motorized hopper, and all that other stuff that comes with shooting many bps. Does it really make sense to invest that much $$$ into a Tippmann, or would it be better to just buy a different marker altogether?

12/15/06 UPDATE: Battery life has been great so far. I've played several times since installing the e-trigger in October, and I'm still using the same battery. We'll see how it does in cooler weather. In any case, it looks like a fresh battery should be more than adequate to keep even a fairly trigger-happy player busy for a weekend of paintball. Haven't tried a rechargeable yet.

I also removed the reduced-force trigger spring (aka ballpoint pen spring) and went back to the stock trigger spring. I liked the feel of the ballpoint pen spring much better, but the 98 has so much moving mass that caused too much bounce.

I scuffed the inside of the clamping portion of the feedneck with some coarse grit sandpaper (making sure to clean out all the grit afterwards!) and the hopper now stays put much better.
Conclusion: - Works as advertised - great way to increase your 98C or Custom Pro's firepower.
- Better than the Response Trigger in my opinion.
- Best when used on a 98C or Custom Pro with ACT.
- If you know you want the e-trigger, buy your Tippmann with it already installed (less expensive overall, and you won't have to deal with the installation hassle).
- Make sure you want to invest your $$$ in a Tippmann instead of a different marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 12th, 2007 at 11:58 am PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

yungpaintballa Wednesday, September 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Other Tippmann markers and products
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom 18 inch wisper barrel and E-Grip
Strengths: more Bps and
Weaknesses: Ive choped more balls wit the e-grip
Review: i like it its for ppl who cant just go out and buy a elotronic marker 4 speedball. Honestly i dont think puttin out 30pbs is really skillful lol well thats just me.

in the woodz its a good asset to have when u r covering someone to move 2 a new spot
overall i like it and will continue 2 use it
Conclusion: Its a good addition to a 98
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbmike1888 Tuesday, August 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" PMI Razzor Barrel
E-Grip
Strengths: Fast
Different Modes
Simple
Weaknesses: Hard to change modes on the fly
Installation
Review: I picked up the E-Grip a week or two ago and i have used it a couple of times.

First off, the E-grip was designed for the Custom Pro only. Fortunately, the newer versions of the 98 Custom have the same grip frame, so it works with the 98C as well. If your 98 Custom has a serial number above 893,000, then it will fit your marker. (Some say 700,000, but if you take the marker apart and you see weird cutouts in the grip, that's where the E-grip goes.)

Installation: The package comes with the E-grip of course, and a mini screwdriver, and a sear. The installation was a little difficult, I had to put the battery wires on the bottom, with the top of the 9V facing the bottom of the grip or the cover wouldn't go back on. I used the new sear that came with the E-grip and kept the old one.

I closed the gun and dry fired the E-grip with no Co2. It worked good. It was a little difficult to program it, but once you memorize how to do it, it takes about 30 seconds. To access the on/off button, use the mini screwdriver or a small allen wrench to slide between the rubber grip cover into the hole. The light is very easy to see and it's not as difficult as it sounds.

The first time I played with it, I put Co2 on it and tried to shoot on semi-auto mode. It shot as fully auto. The bolt wouldn't stop until you released the trigger. I took apart my marker and tried to figure out what was wrong. The sear that came with the E-grip is different from the stock sear. The stock sear has a hole in it, which is so it can pivot when you pull the trigger and release the bolt. Well the hole is an oval shape. The new sear is circle shaped. how the stock sear works, when you pull the trigger, the sear goes down, releasing the bolt. Well the tension of the spring and the oval shaped hole allows to sear to press against the b olt when it moves back, allowing for semi auto. So you need to release the trigger for the sear to reset. With the new sear, the circular hole doesn't allow the sear to slide up to catch the bolt before it fires again, causing it to go full auto. So I put the old sear back in and it works flawlessly.

Firing Modes:
Semi-Auto - One shot for each trigger pull.

3-Shot Ramping - 3 trigger pulls are required and the next pulls will fire 3 shots per pull as long as the trigger is being pulled at 5bps.

3-Shot Full Auto - 3 trigger pulls are required and the next pull can be held down for full auto.

Auto Response - Fires one shot for each pull and one shot for each release, unless the trigger is held for more than .25 seconds.

Turbo - Fires one shot for each trigger pull until the time between pulls is less than .25 seconds, then shoots one shot for each pull and one shot for release. Stopping firing will reset the turbo.
Conclusion: If your looking for a faster Tippmann than get this upgrade. I used it in the rain and it worked great. Very fast and reliable.

I give it a 9 just for the sear problem. I'm assuming the new sear works with the Custom Pro, which the system was designed for anyway.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 29th, 2006 at 9:26 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media