paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker / Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker / Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker / Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker

Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker
[ View Photos (59) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $700

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Shocker NXT builds on world-class tournament proven performance of the Shocker SFT with new features designed hand in hand with Smart Parts sponsored teams and professional players.

Few names are associated with as many paintball tournament wins as that of the Shocker. Through the Shocker 4x4, Turbo and SFT some of the best players in the world have stood on the awards podium with a Shocker by their side. With the advent of the Shocker SFT the Shocker took on a whole new look with a sleek, compact and lightweight design that delivered jaw dropping rates of fire. Now the Shocker NXT takes the name one step further.
Built on Shocker SFT technology the new Shocker NXT incorporates features that were developed and tested on custom markers built for Smart Parts sponsored teams.

* Break Beam Vision - The latest and most reliable anti-chop Vision technology is fully incorporated into the Shocker NXT body with no external wires or wire covers running from the grip to the eyes.

* Integrated Air Rail - Loose the drop forward and even the rail adapter. The integrated rail system allows 3/8" inch dovetail air system accessories to mount directly to the grip frame, or use traditional inline mounting screws.

* Rail Mounted on/off ASA - Positive air system control means longer o-ring and solenoid life. The easy to clean and rebuild design means a lifetime of reliable operation.

* Feature Packed Grip Frame - A built in snatch grip and expanded trigger guard with huge finger space are complimented by threaded lock pins which make the trigger, circuit board and on/off button easier to change yet more secure. Recessed frame screws disappear into the grip frame for a cleaner look.

* New Regulator - The new Shocker NXT regulator offers increased flow rate for maximum velocity stability.

* Sculpted, Rebuild-able Ball Detent Assemblies - Left and right spring loaded ball detent assemblies are multi-axis CNC machined to integrate seamlessly into the body

Smart Parts NXT Shocker Features:

New look with multi-axis milling
Break-beam Vision
Stronger feedneck threading
Impulse/Ion barrel threading
Integrated air system rail
Increased vertical regulator flow rate and consistency
High Efficiency Bolt/Valve assembly
Integrated, removable snatch grip
Four point, externally adjustable trigger
Threaded trigger and circuit board mount pins
Forward offset vertical regulator mount
Trigger guard with increased fingerspace
Sculpted plunger style dual ball detent assemblies
Harder anodized finish
Backwards compatibility
Threaded Trigger and Board Pins for easy installation
Newly designed feedneck for added strength
Smart Parts On/Off ASA

The last feature on the list should be one of the most prominent. Shocker NXT main assemblies are backwards compatible, providing an upgrade path for Shocker NXT owners instead of obsolescence. Providing continued value to our customers is natural, because we believe that Equipment Counts.

2009 update: Qlock and tournament modes included standard.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
shakman119 Tuesday, August 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker SFT, Octane Shocker SFT
Marker Setup: My setup always changes, for now

Olive dust Angel 1
Stock
---------------------------------------------
Backup- Shocker NXT
Black with swapped clear parts
Q-lock
Dye Ultralight
Slimline SP grips


-------------
Hopper:
Reloader B
St drive cone
Speedfeed
speedwheel
-----------------
P/E 68 4500
----------------

Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck
Aftermarket board
New ASA
Strengths: Looks, speed, feel, improvements over SFT
Weaknesses: Still no clamping feedneck
Review: Hey all, This is my first review in a long while so lets see what we have here. Generally between the end of summer and the start of school I churn out reviews on the products that I have used during the summer tourny season.

The NXT is clearly a great improvement over the SFT shockers of yester year. How do I know this? I have had 3 of them.

I am no stranger to the shocker owning 2 SFT's, and a Private label octane. It is a small and compact single tube marker. It is quite possibly the most popular tournament gun being used by Dynasty, RL, and pretty much every other strong local and national team. This may be a turn off for some people who want something unique, but I really don’t care.

Well, why did smart parts need to release a new shocker?

There were TONS of issues with the SFT model requiring loads of aftermarket parts and ghetto modifications to correct. The NXT fixes it all and than some.

The first difference would be the milling. Instead of a stark futuristic look the shocker now has some smooth swooping lines. On the top portion are two body windows so you can see the outer shell of the bolt. Very nice.
Also the SFT anno's were poor quality. Smart parts has fixed this with the NXT by using a higher quality anno process. My NXT is a thick dust black.

People see things like shego's because the SFT shockers frame wasn’t big enough to get a nice rhythm on the trigger due to length issues. The NXT frame is nice and sloped, they also enlarged the trigger guard for some serious ropes. The trigger also gained some width for easier walking.

The NERVE board makes a nice return allowing for some fun rebound modes. You can also cap at 15bps ramping as well as 15 semi through balancing the recharge, and dwell. Instructions on how to do this are on ZDSpb.

The eyes on the SFT were reflective. The guys at SP listened to their customers and changed to break beam eyes. This makes the gun break a LOT less paint.

The NXT includes the highly sought after HE bolt kit. Efficiency numbers are almost twice as good as the stock SFT shocker. The gun also seems much more gentle on paint.

Stock barrel is the 07 All American, which shoots fine with most types of paint. A good friend had a UL barrel laying around so he gave me that for a good price, so I don’t use the stock tube

Granted no marker is perfect there are some SMALL fixable flaws with the NXT. First off why doesn’t smart parts give you a clamping feed neck? My guess is its a probably to sell Q-lock feed necks.

The stock ASA is bad. I know its an on-off, and its better than nothing but, it still is junk. Sometimes tanks have trouble reaching the air-pin, and the ASA does not vent.

Towards the end of my review I like to discuss price, value, and field performance:

Price- The NXT comes new for about 650$. There was a recent price drop, so now you can probably find the standard NXT brand new for 600$ and the PL models for 700$ .

(ebay, and online prices, if your buying locally expect 700$ for a NXT)

A great deal to say the least. Add 60$ for a new ASA and a new feed neck, and your coming out at under 800$. Used NXTS are also available for about 500$ each.

On the field the gun performs. You really don’t have to worry about technical issues. Its a EASY gun. If you want something to tinker with get a DM (I have one). The NXT does not have a LPR, so there is less to go wrong. Smooth cycling, and great ergonomics make this thing feel great.

How do you keep your NXT feeling great? Follow the manual for a simple bolt breakdown after each day of play. Keep yourself stocked with some spair orings and shocker grease (see sleek)

If you wish to see proof of my kind words look here:
http://www.darksidevideo.org/video/5...91014338bf.htm

http://www.darksidevideo.org/video/5...91014ab0c9.htm

Any questions? Drop me an im at shakman119


if sp would have given me a Qlock feedneck and a CP esque asa stock, it would be one point higher:

9/10


Conclusion: A splendid remake of an old favorite at a great price. The old faults are corrected. The shocker is hotter than ever.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rex_recta Wednesday, August 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SFT Shocker, other spool valves including quest, dm 4/5/6/7/C. Yep.
Marker Setup: Pink Nxt
NDZ clamp feedneck
Smoke Vlocity
45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck (NOT NDZ)
Board (virtue)
Trigger. (preference)
ON/OFF (CP)
Strengths: Fast
Light
Comfty
Somewhat efficient
Accurate
Easy breakdown
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck blows
SP on/off is terrible
Review: Well I traded my 05 ego and a little bit of money for a Pink NXT shocker. At first sight I loved the thing and I mean loved. My first experience with shockers was absolutely terrible. Thought I would give them another go.

First off, the SP on/off is absolutely horrible. These asa's can cross thread your tank threads pretty damn easy and are pressured even when they aren't in the on position.
This allows for screwing in the tank not all the way and getting shoot down.

When the gun was working correctly however, it shot like a dream. The trigger was absolutely terrible though.

Consistency was excellent. + or - 4 fps over the chrono.
The accuracy was excellent with a 13.75 inch All American 2 piece barrel. The stock barrel is 13.75 and not 14 inches. Not that it really matters.

Cleaning is probably the easiest thing. Just gotta unscrew the bolt guide and spread some lube on the bolt and put it back in.

My gun never had issues except for the asa and shootdown because of it. But it was still a good gun till I traded for a pm7.

PM7 over the NXT shocker......any day.
Conclusion: Get it if you want to get into shockers. Relatively cheap now.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eravendj Tuesday, August 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
the mini maybe?
06 xvs ego-tested
Angel 1-tested
Marker Setup: Dye urltalight
evil pipe kit
68/4500 dxs
halo b w/ ripdrive
Recommended
Upgrades:
Needs a new feed neck, the stock one is pointless
barrels not bad
board
Strengths: Look in body
Weaknesses: Look in body
Review: Strengths: Where do I start. The shocker is one of the best guns ive ever used hands down. The marker just takes seconds to tear down and clean the bolt while in the staging area, all you need is an allen key. The all amercain barrel is not bad at all. I wanna say its a .693 bore size, I could be wrong. And the shocker has ion threads, so finding a barrel is easy. People have talked about how the asa sucks, havn't had any problems with mine. Just make sure you turn it on slow, if you don't you have the risk of blowing a o-ring in the reg.

Weakness: First and fore most, the stock feedneck sucks, get a new one. I wish that the board came with different modes rather then rebound, which is just a different name for ramping. It would be nice if it came with a way to change dwell and all that other stuff. The only thing you can change is the rof, rebound, can't think of the last one, but you get my point.
Conclusion: The marker isn't bad at all. I use it every weekend with no probelms. Do I think its worth 700 bucks, no, maybe 500.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GUNSLINGER CREW Wednesday, August 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion, its a piece of crap compared to this.
Marker Setup: stock shocker nxt
evo 2
hammerhead
68 4500 nitro duck
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Fast
Light
Easy to clean
Very comfortable to hold
Weaknesses: None yet
Review: My ion quit on me(dang thing)... so I was looking around for a new gun and the shocker nxt caught my eye, and when I learned that my hammerhead barrel would fit on it I couldn't say no. Alright, so right out of the box this things a monster, it shot insanely fast with pretty good air efficiency. I took this monster to the field, (long story short) it let me pwn all day with no problems
Conclusion: best $700 I ever spent
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jrred17 Monday, June 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ive tried a proto rail, and i previously owned a smart parts ion, but let me tell you does not compare close to the NXT.
Marker Setup: Shocker NXT, w/ 14'' SLY Stealth Barrel this barrel rocks
w/ a virtue board, the best
Empire b2 loader,
68-4500 pmi
Critical Trigger best ive used
Q-lock feedneck, mid CP dropforward
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recommend getting a q-lock feedneck its a must other than that its personal priorities
Strengths: Easy to maintain Stock it might be the best out for the money.
Weaknesses: Dont have one just to get a feedneck, .
Review: Strengths:
For abouth $ 650 you might be able to get this gun, i believe that this is a bang for the money. I mean you have a gun that some of the top players in paintball uses at a cheap price. Air efficiency is ok not the best, but dont see this as a problem since you'll have all day air at fields anyway.
Easy to maintain, you have no worries about lines running in when you open it. Shoots pretty well and accurate right out the box.

Weakness:
I believe none whatsoever, just for the stock feedneck, but change that and damn your done. Unless otherwise preference.
Conclusion: I say if you gonna be serious about paintballing and your gonna do it often, dont even hesitate about this gun. Overall its a 10, especially since its almost hal the price from egos, and i think its just as good.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protoman912 Sunday, June 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
other shockers
pms dms egos
ions
indian creeks
timmys
Marker Setup: shocker wit ton ton frame preditor board cp reg and freak!

2004bko with hybrid grips and everything else stock
phantom pump!
Recommended
Upgrades:
bolt trigger maybe clamping feed
Strengths: Looks
speed
efficiancy
Weaknesses: Kick
accuracy
size
Review: I played today at liberty paintball games on thier air ballf field trhe whole day, i used this gun the whole time on semi all stock with a 45ci 4500 tank and a vlcty jr hopper shooting at 270.the first thing i notice was the kick it has enough kick but not enough to make you inaccurate. its speed was nice and reactivity was good the other thing was its size it was a little heavy but not enough to bother me. the trigger was ok but that was beuse thats the way the kid liked it. it was ok in efficiantancy i got about 5 dye pods through it before i had to refill it so thats like a half case. it was also ok in accuracy lets put this way iv seen better.
Conclusion: Overall i liked it and it was a good gun but thiers better.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

bullski Saturday, May 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Aggressor XT
Dragun TES
Odyssey 03
Shocker 03(the best marker i`ve ever tried yet,compared to those listed above)
Shocker NXT
Marker Setup: Black Dust Shocker NXT (all stock yet , feedneck, trigger and CP reg are on their way)

SP light blue(pewter) Shocker 03
Vlocity with lucky blitz chip
Speed Feed V2
Evo2 zboard
Crossfire 68/4500 HPA
SP Qlock neck
Virtue Board
Freak set
Check it Unimount
CP reg with NDZ 15 degree vertical adapter
Hybrid-NDZ-SP detents
SP HE Bolt
bob long gauge
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Regulator
Trigger
Virtue Board or any other high end board.....but not a must

See review

I
Strengths: Fast
Silent
light
Grips
Break beam
Accurate
Stock barrel
Reverse compability
HE bolt
Weaknesses: None i can review really

Review: I think feedneck is the first priority to many who open the box for the first time.....
Some hoppers may have a little trouble to fit in the neck....so far i`ve tested only my evo2 and Vlocity hoppers in the stock neck....the evo2 may require some sanding to fit in the neck,the vlocity fits quite fine in the 2 o-rings in the neck....don`t know about halo`s and Pulses though....but with new feedneck like SP Qlock or NDZ Clamp feed neck,NO PROBLEMO
And next upgrades to me is of personal preference,but not necessary like the stock trigger and Regulator....I find the stock trigger a little "not to my liking" in adjusting etc.... and many of you shocker lovers may say otherwise....so a CP trigger or NDZ silk trigger you can try out...
And last but not least the regulator....Quite consistent and fast for a stock reg,but im getting really sick of adjusting with a wrench(comes with the marker) instead of an allen wrench.....like i said above its a personal preference....u may disagree or agree on my opinions....make up your own opinion about upgrades and how much cash you plan on using to get the marker to your liking,i just said my opinion on upgrades

Conclusion: Its a great marker for the prize range.Fast and accurate,break beams...what more can you ask.....I`ve used shockers the last 3 years,so i know just about everything inside out about them....and the NXT is no exception since its almost the same as the little brother, the 03.....so a fine marker in my opinion since i`ve decided to stick with my shockers in the future yet,i give it a 9 just because of the lack of upgrades it needs like a clamp feedneck and a new trigger
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 26th, 2007 at 8:17 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NuVision Wednesday, May 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion - no comparison
2k3 timmy - not anywhere near this
2k5 timmy (empire and ripper) - almost as good, better in some aspects
2k6 empire 2 - better in some ways, not as good in others
Marker Setup: NXT
virtue
qlock
ultralight
halo
68/45 max flo micro
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEEDNECK FEEDNECK FEEDNECK
board for true psp
new ASA. the stock is a piece of garbage. replace is ASAP
Strengths: fast (but what isn't nowadays?)
fairly balanced
breakbeam eyes and HE bolt stock.
Weaknesses: Needs upgrades out of the box
Review: overall, this is one of the best FEELING markers to shoot i've owned/shot. i don't like the feel as much as a DM, but i like it more than intimidators. the breakbeam eyes and HE bolt are nice to have stock, but don't think it will never chop. i've chopped a fair amount even with the eyes, because the detents on the NXT are pieces of crap (if you get a bad batch). also, the HE bolt doesn't make it efficient, just less of an air-hog. i'd say it's good for the money, but you're going to spend money on upgrades, so why not get a pricier gun and not upgrade it? unless you like to upgrade your gun, then this is for you because there are a million upgrades for smart parts guns. another problem is that you have to have it set-up right or you will get inconsistancy or FSDO. the shocker is a very picky gun in many ways, with settings and paint, as well as maintennance.
Conclusion: Good out of the box, but amazing with the right upgrades and settings.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wdpplaya03 Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
sft shockers
Marker Setup: stock NXT
Vlocity JR.
45/45 pmi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
CP Trigger
New barrel ( Dye ultralite, freak, stiffi)
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Good looks
Adjustable board
Adjustable trigger
Weaknesses: Bad air effiencey
Trigger screws can go into board
Review: The second this gun came out i knew i had to get it. Finally i did and it is a great investment.
This gun is worth every penny.

The first time i played with the NXT, i noticed how accurate it was with the all-american barrel. I mowed faces and shot ropes with the NXT.

The NXT is also fast. I shot 13-14 bps consistently with it.

At the field i go to the chrono limit is 250 fps. This gun shot consistently in the 250's.

Despite the bad air efficiency, i still got about 500-600 shots with one fill.

Also the stock trigger is alittle stiff, but if it is adjusted right, then you can mow faces. One more thing, the trigger screws can go into the board.
Conclusion: The NXT Shocker is the way to go if you are willing to spend in the $700- $800 range. You cant go wrong with a gun that comes stock with an all-american barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

BluePaintball8 Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ION, Impulse, Timmy, AutoCocker(E,M), Spyder, Ego(tested), Angel(Tested),
Marker Setup: NXT Olive, All American06 w/olive AA front and Black Freak 16in, Virtue Board, Hybrid urban Grenade Grips, Shocktech short drop black, PE 45/45 Tank, Draxxus Pulse loader Black
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue, Freak, Trigger,
Strengths: Speed, Weight, Size, Accuracy
Weaknesses: Speed(Stock Board), Grips, Bolt, Eyes
Review: At first this gun was slow, it didnt have a very good stock board in it. Even with the pulse loader it was still slow. My Eyes went bad the first round i shot in it, the balls kept on choping and choping, the balls were good match to the barrel. After i had gotten the Virtue everything went smooth, and when i also replaced the first set of eyes. Stock trigger is smooth but when i felt the CP trigger i fell in love with that trigger more and currently waiting on shipment to my local shop. The stock bolt sucks, when i shot my buddies shocker i was getting much better efficiency than what i am getting now. BUT this gun really rocks all together, after a few ups.
Conclusion: Love this guns feel and speed. I havnt felt a gun like this before, you can tell smart parts put some work into making this gun very very tournament worthy. ill only give it an 8 though with the problems i have had with it, if i wouldnt of had any it would have been a 10.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media