paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker / Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker / Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker / Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker

Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker
[ View Photos (59) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $700

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Shocker NXT builds on world-class tournament proven performance of the Shocker SFT with new features designed hand in hand with Smart Parts sponsored teams and professional players.

Few names are associated with as many paintball tournament wins as that of the Shocker. Through the Shocker 4x4, Turbo and SFT some of the best players in the world have stood on the awards podium with a Shocker by their side. With the advent of the Shocker SFT the Shocker took on a whole new look with a sleek, compact and lightweight design that delivered jaw dropping rates of fire. Now the Shocker NXT takes the name one step further.
Built on Shocker SFT technology the new Shocker NXT incorporates features that were developed and tested on custom markers built for Smart Parts sponsored teams.

* Break Beam Vision - The latest and most reliable anti-chop Vision technology is fully incorporated into the Shocker NXT body with no external wires or wire covers running from the grip to the eyes.

* Integrated Air Rail - Loose the drop forward and even the rail adapter. The integrated rail system allows 3/8" inch dovetail air system accessories to mount directly to the grip frame, or use traditional inline mounting screws.

* Rail Mounted on/off ASA - Positive air system control means longer o-ring and solenoid life. The easy to clean and rebuild design means a lifetime of reliable operation.

* Feature Packed Grip Frame - A built in snatch grip and expanded trigger guard with huge finger space are complimented by threaded lock pins which make the trigger, circuit board and on/off button easier to change yet more secure. Recessed frame screws disappear into the grip frame for a cleaner look.

* New Regulator - The new Shocker NXT regulator offers increased flow rate for maximum velocity stability.

* Sculpted, Rebuild-able Ball Detent Assemblies - Left and right spring loaded ball detent assemblies are multi-axis CNC machined to integrate seamlessly into the body

Smart Parts NXT Shocker Features:

New look with multi-axis milling
Break-beam Vision
Stronger feedneck threading
Impulse/Ion barrel threading
Integrated air system rail
Increased vertical regulator flow rate and consistency
High Efficiency Bolt/Valve assembly
Integrated, removable snatch grip
Four point, externally adjustable trigger
Threaded trigger and circuit board mount pins
Forward offset vertical regulator mount
Trigger guard with increased fingerspace
Sculpted plunger style dual ball detent assemblies
Harder anodized finish
Backwards compatibility
Threaded Trigger and Board Pins for easy installation
Newly designed feedneck for added strength
Smart Parts On/Off ASA

The last feature on the list should be one of the most prominent. Shocker NXT main assemblies are backwards compatible, providing an upgrade path for Shocker NXT owners instead of obsolescence. Providing continued value to our customers is natural, because we believe that Equipment Counts.

2009 update: Qlock and tournament modes included standard.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Dynasty NXT Shocker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
mstpaintball Saturday, March 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Master Tech A4 Force Fly (Burnt Orange 1 of 50), Dark Shocker (Red #0004), PM6 with UL Frame (Black Chi-Town Raiders Used), Invert Mini (Black #397)
Marker Setup: Stock, Halo with Rip, Shocktech Drive Cone, Hybrid Shells, Crossfire 68/4500 Low Pressure Preset.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, other than a high end loader, and nitro. Maybe a better feedneck.
Strengths: It comes stock with a HE Bolt, its light.
Weaknesses: Out of the box, this thing rips.
Review: I just bought this marker (Orange Dust NXT) and haven't got to play in a game with it yet. But out of the box this gun rips like no other I have shot. Shot groupings are close. The gun is fairly quiet, and the kick isn't bad.
This has to be one of the best bangs for your buck in the High End Marker range. Everything about this gun is quality, from the gun itself, to the packaging. The stock barrel is good, and for the time being, I don't feel a need to "Upgrade" it, and may never.

I feel no need to "Upgrade" this marker, because as it is, its has to be one of the best markers out, even if it is stock.

Also, I have been into paintball for like 5+ years, so I kinda have a good idea about what I'm talking about.

I can't wait to use this in a game.
Conclusion: I wish I would have bought one of these to begin with, but oh well.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 17th, 2007 at 3:48 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

i.only.post.pix Saturday, March 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
about every gun to date
Marker Setup: fully upped shocker||nxt shocker
45 45 ||68 45
velocity, pulse, halo||velocity, pulse, halo, depending which has the best batteries
Recommended
Upgrades:
black heart board, cp reg, q-lock
Strengths: Very easy to maintain, good on the looks
Weaknesses: A bit on the heavy side compared to the sft
Review: I got my nxt about 2 weeks ago, i HATED it at first, then i put a cp reg on it, now,i'm in love, the only thing that i wish that smart parts would've done is not put that little asa forward thing, but when i'm playing, i dont even notice it
Conclusion: If you like shockers, go with the sft
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cool shoes Friday, March 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months71 of 72 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vision Shocker (NXT is better)
Ion (NXT is better)
Marker Setup: Red 2007 NXT with literally everything
Backup gun: Red 2004 Vision Shocker with literally everything
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q-lock (buy it with your marker)
New trigger (I recommend the NDZ Slik trigger)
Freak or other interchangeable bore system
New ASA
Strengths: Impressive stock reg
Very adjustable trigger
Backwards compatibility
Break Beam
Very good anno
Improved Detents
Weaknesses: Not 100% backwards compatibility (notably barrel threads and trigger)
Feedneck
ASA
Review: I have been using Shockers since 2004, and I know them inside and out. Currently, my team is required to use Shockers in all tournaments we play in, so I've seen everything that can go wrong with these guns and I've seen them put to the test. I will do my best not to simply compare this gun to the vision Shocker, although I times I will make references to the notable changes between this one and the 06. I hope fellow pbreview readers find this review helpful
Reliability
Shockers have been famous for breaking down when not babied, the NXT is no exception. If you do not take care of it, and lube it regularly, it will malfunction. I use my NXT 5 to 6 times a month under very adverse conditions, and I have not yet witnessed any problems because I constantly take care of it. I also believe that the break beam eyes help immensly. I've used this gun in the snow, with crappy paintballs, with a
malfunctioning hopper, covered in mud, etc, and I have not yet chopped. Sometimes I've seen players having trouble getting air to feed into the gun, and I think this is an ASA issue
ASA
I have noticed on some of the NXTs (not mine) that there is leaking out of the ASA. Usually tightening the tank or rescrewing it fixes the problem, but on one occasion my fellow teammate had to get the ASA replaced. I use a 68/45 stubby, so I can aim comfortably with the stock ASA in it's current position.
Interchangeability
The NXT is not actually all that friendly with the Shocker in terms of switching out parts. I cannot install my Vision Q-lock onto the NXT. It does not use Shocker threads (although this makes sense I guess, since now Smart Parts has a standard barrel thread). Most important however, is that I cannot use my Vision Shocker's triggers. I love the NDZ slik trigger, so much in fact, that I have a Vision Shocker grip frame on my NXT to I can use it (NDZ has released one now for the NXT, so I will be picking it up soon). I guess I can't complain at this when I examine why the triggers can't be swapped. NXT triggers have four separate points of adjustment (including a spring), making it very friendly to tweakers and allows everyone to get that perfect sweet spot for their fingers. Even so, I still can get a higher rate of fire with my old silk trigger on the vision frame than I can the new stock trigger. All of the old shocker bolts, boards, regs, etc will switch out, in fact the solenoid is the same, which is a plus in interchangeability.
Accuracy
The regulator on the NXT is noticeably better than that of the Vision's max flo. Very high recharge rate and great accuracy. About +-5fps. A lot of players I know still prefer to slap on the CP reg, but honestly I don't see much of a need, I'm very happy with the stock reg. I uses it' s own unique wrench to adjust the velocity. I hear a lot of complaints but I like it better than an Allen wrench because Allen wrenches are easier to lose (at least in my experience, ha I've lost I think 3 for the Vision's max flo). Also, the vertical ASA is moved forward allowing more finger space. Makes it much easier to hold and helps to improve accuracy, especially while jousting and firing off the break.
Feedneck
Buy a Q-lock. Best feedneck I've ever used and nothing else compares to it. I wish it came stock like it did on the Nerve.
Eyes
As stated before, I have not chopped yet. With the Vision Shocker, if I ever put it under heavy use in sand or had a barrel break, the eye would occasionaly malfunction and I'd have to clean it. I've yet to have this issue on the NXT. In ball detents are also placed less obtrusively on the gun, which looks much better and they are still easy to get to and clean (as well as the eyes).
Board
Stock Nerve board. I won't be replacing it since every tourney I play in is true semi-auto only. Additional firing modes will only hurt me.
Notable Improvements over the Vision Shocker
For those of you that want to know what different about the NXT compared the to Vision that I haven't talked about, listen up
Snatch Grip
It comes with a snatch grip installed. I love the NDZ Talon grip and I'm glad to see a stock grip on a Smart Parts marker. It really helps in snap shooting/stabilization.
New Bolt
The stock HE bolt is a pleasant upgrade, and makes one less $100 item you would have to buy otherwise
Paint job
The Annodizing is wonderful. I've had this thing go through quite a beating in the past few months and it looks like brand new. I don't know the whole story behind it myself, but I do know that the NXT's anno job is a higher end process that helps the color to bind better to the marker or something. Either way, whatever Smart Parts did worked and this marker still looks like new.
Grip Frame
The grip frame's screws are nestled into the frame, making them less obtrusive. The screws have larger holes than before and once they are loosened they become thumb screws. This is a wonderful change for me as I usually start stripping screws about 6 months in (I had to change my Vision Shockers screws with flatheads lol). With these screws that won't be the case.
EDIT: I have now used this gun for 7 months and I still have yet to have any problems. I have used it in several tournies and it has not broken on me. Some of my teammates have had bad experiences with their nxts, but I believe that this is because they don't lube/clean the bolt after practices, etc. Unfortunately I no longer will be using this as I now have to shoot an angel, but I still recommend this gun to anyone getting into competitive paintball.
Conclusion: All in all, an excellent tournament marker that has yet to cause me problems. Little need to upgrade as well, which is great considering the retail price you pay for this gun. I'll be honest, the ripper 2 and the ego... eh, maybe they are slightly better guns. As for me, I'm not planning on switching from the NXT. Like I said before, I've been using Shockers since 2004 and I don't plan to switch now. Please let me know if this review was helpful. Also, check out my review of the Vision Shocker! If you're tight on money, pick up one of those instead.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 22nd, 2007 at 10:12 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

daron1970 Sunday, March 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts ION
Marker Setup: 2007 Shocker (Olive Dust) Q lock feed neck CP drop CP on/off Smart Parts aftermarket grips Crossfire 68/4500 Empire Reloader B w/suicide Shell Freak jr. barrel kit optional
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck Grips ASA on/off for starters
Strengths: Speed Accuracy Looks Reliability Break-beam eyes Weight Balance
Weaknesses: air hungry (Dwell)? ASA on/off Grips Feed neck
Review: When I got the gun It shot pretty good out of the box I experimented some with it Dwell, Rate of fire, Shooting modes, etc. to get a feel for how it was going to work for me I also took the bolt out to lube and practice maintenance on it I heard that was important on shockers I was pretty impressed how easy this was including making adjustments to the modes I got to play with it in a scenario game yesterday and Myself and others around me were very impressed with its performance I was ripping paint all over the place (on semi auto) It has Great accuracy and shoots falter than my ION (which it should) Its a hot looking gun is balanced well and light The feed neck is a joke and the on/off is terrible you cant bleed the air off and my bottle did not screw on that easy the grips are too fat.
Conclusion: Get some new grips a new feed neck + a new asa on/off Maybe try a virtue board I here there really sweet I think this product has a great reputation for being a great tournament marker I would definitely recommend trying one if your looking for a high end marker but don't want to get to crazy
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jets35 Saturday, February 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
e tec - worse
pmr - nice but not in the same class
ion with virtue- c'mon now
Marker Setup: NXT Shocker
Q Lock
Hyrbid Grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Grip
Feedneck
Strengths: Looks
weight
speed
accuracy is nice
Trigger AWESOME
Weaknesses: ASA on/off not a big problem
Grips kinda thick
Review: Got this gun today and my first thoughts wow great weight however i screwed in my 45 45 throttle only to realize like others that air was leaking insanely outta the hole. Most likely this was'nt smart parts fault but dye's. After using a scuba tank and a crossfire this gun shot ropes. I was a little concerned about the trigger at first b/c of what i herd but some people... idk this trigger is so sweet its design is like a cp rake with only a little bit more force needed to pull.
Conclusion: Overall weight trigger accuracy was great so ill give it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Sundry Scorpion Monday, February 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5 with (e-grip)
Ion - with many upgrades (Borrowed from friend)
Marker Setup: 07 NXT (Dust Silver) with:
1.) Virtue Board
2.) Shocktech on/off with drop forward
3.) 4500 Nitrogen Tank
4.) Halo Loader with Rip Drive
5.) Stock feedneck is still on (no problems with it yet - new one ordered)
Recommended
Upgrades:
on/off - stock one is inconsistant
Locking Feedneck
Strengths: fast and extremely accurate
Very Easy to Maintain
Weaknesses: On/off
Possibly the feedneck - not easy to install or remove hopper
Review: I bought this gun and upgraded from an A-5, WOW what a difference. It seems when you buy this caliber of marker there seems to be a bit more maintenance than others. The first day I used it, I had air issues with inconsistant psi readings. Smart Parts told me it was the on/off - once I changed it with a Shocktech - they were correct. This gun is light and fast and shoots very accurate. I have called Smart Parts twice and there tech dept. and service is outstanding - very helpful!
Conclusion: I would recommend anyone that is getting to be a consistant serious player to buy one. especially that it is 1/2 the price on a DM7 and considerably cheaper than an Ego. This gun is great and the support from Smart Parts is awesome!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

astraup Sunday, February 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
first timne using smart parts
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath, Vieloader Evvolution 2, CP 14" barrel CP on/off custom delrin bolt. B.T -4 assault with remote line, 2007 Shocker NXT, empire re-loader, Freak Stainless kit, CP on-off, Cp reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
any upgrade that you put on this marker will ne purely out of personal preference
Strengths: New design on an old favorite that rips straight from the box
Weaknesses: none that I can think of
Review: So the time finally came for me to buy a high end marker which can be quite hair raising for someone like me who has basic expirience in shopping for a gun that will easily empty most bank accounts and can be a real investment in the long run. when i walked in to my local shop i saw it sitting there on the wall and it was instant love, i was originally looking for a DYE or a Proto but i soon found out that you can pick one of thses babies up for around $699 which isn't bad considering most high enders are around $900 + when i got home i pulled ut out and aired up finding out that operating maintanance, reassembly and programming are surprisingly simple. when i said this gun rips out of the box i wasn't kidding i was maxing around 22-27 BPS with ramping and pretty much as fast as your fingers can move, mind you though like any marker it will need some tweeking, the only upgrades you really need are out of preference since i prefer CP regs and on-offs vice the stock smart parts but it works just fine on it's own stock since i bought it i have put the CP gear on and upgraded the All-American to a freak stainless kit which has improved the overall preformance of the gun
Conclusion: A fresh look on an old favorite smart parts went back to the drawing board and came out with a winner that's as fast as itis good looking all while remaining under the price of some of the top rated markers on te market
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ShocKerNXT34 Wednesday, January 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion
shocker 06
proto rail
Marker Setup: dye ultralite barrel
Q-lock feedneck
pulse loader
crossfire 3000 psi 68
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
barrel
Strengths: Light
Fast
Efficient
Balance
Accurate
Slick gun
Weaknesses: None so fare
Review: Got the gun look amazing i couldnt wait to use it.. i finally go and the gun shoots perfect no problems .. did like the stock barrel.. im all about the dye ulralites.. thats me.. i have not chop one ball yet.. the gun is jst peferct and cheap u really get ur moneys worth.. i have to say that the gun shoots str8 with the u.l. barrel.. all i got to say that the gun is sick and if u in a range of 700-800 look at this gun trust me..
Conclusion: Go get one now there will be no regrets
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zWarlord Monday, January 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion-crap(need i say more)
E2 orry- nice but not as fast consistently
PMR-dont like the feel (ruberized parts feel cheap)
Mini-way too small for my hands, but shoots nice
DM6-dont like the feel or the look
Shocker SFT-nice, but the changes made to make the NXT are superior.

Marker Setup: Shocker NXT (black)
-Virtue board
-Freak (SS inserts)
-NDZ firing can
-Q-Lock
-Eclipse SL66 on/of
-Empire micro mini drop
-NDZ Talon snatch grip
-CP Shorty Reg

WGP ORRacle (blue/black fade)
-Eclipse E2
-Trinity T-lock
-Eclipse Nexus ram
-Eclipse Dart bolt + pull pin
-2x Eclipse Dart Qev's
-CCM Delrin Back Block
-Palmer micro rock LPR
-Hybrid on/off ASA
-Hybrid mini drop
-WGP Black Magic Reg
-Dye Boomstick

AGD Automag classic
-Dye two finger trigger frame
-Shocktech reg
-Dye stickies (original)
-Taso Pro Series 8" barrel
-Benchmark Side Drop
-Benchmark vertical grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck of some kind
New board
Strengths: Ready to go out of box
BB eyes
detents
Weaknesses: Nerve board
stock feedneck
stock reg
Review: I really love my NXT. When i got it back when they were 1st released (my sn is 0642) no one had seen them and it got a lot of attention, ESP, at cup where even the SP tent had problems getting them. I work for an SP retailer so it wasnt too hard for me to get one of the first run.
The milling is nice and i much prefer it to the milling on the previous SFT models. The hidden eyes and flush ball detents give it a very clean look. Some people complain that the new style vert adapter makes the marker too hard to grip properly, I for one love it because i have big hands. I find the setup to be quite comfortable. Also some complain that the stock grips are too fat, i for one like the size it fits well in my grip
With the stock board the shocker is really held back due to the lack of...well...anything on the Nerve board. With something like a Virtue the NXT really shines. The eye logic isn't too great on the stock board either. No chops resulted but it hampers the performance significantly as the board hesitates sometimes at high rates of fire while it tries to work out what its doing with the eyes. As far as it goes w/the Virtue, I have it setup for optimum performance at 15bps, uncapped it will do 27ish, i really haven pushed it any further because i really don't care what it maxes at 15 is enough and it does that VERY well.
I was however disappointed in the stock reg's performance, i found that it would hold pressure fairly well, but not nearly as tight as i would like. For comparison my CP gave me better consistency first time used than the Stock reg did when broken in. However, i do like the milling and detail on the reg, it flows well, and the "Shocker ((o))" rubber band around it is a nice touch. Only problem with the milling is the weight, its a brick.
As far as accuracy goes, it does as well as can be expected stock. With the .693 AA back and the inconsistent reg it still shines. But throw a freak or other good kit on in with the likes of a CP reg and you can get all of your paint into a fist size area at 40ish feet(assuming you don't use crap paint)
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this marker to anyone looking for a great high end. Especially for bigger guys like me who find the smaller markers are too small to grip comfortably. Stock performance is good and wont disappoint, but leaves plenty of room for improvement should you wish to.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 22nd, 2007 at 8:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TXMAFIA69 Monday, January 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 spyder imagine
smart parts ion



Marker Setup: silver/black NXT with q-lock
pulse w/ speedfeed
45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
definately a new feedneck
grips are nasty.
trigger depending on your preference
Strengths: It rips
Relatively light
Cool looks
Weaknesses: efficiency
FSDO
Review: Ok so when i first got it, i gassed it up put a pod in it, and man this thing is fast. The first time i played with it at a field, i chopped atleast 8 times, i was using whitebox though, and since i have shot stinger and evil paint through it and have had no problems. The efficiency i get about 600 shots from a 45/45 its so so. I've also had problems with consistency the fps jumps all over, im getting a cp reg soon though and it should fix that. But other then that its a great gun.
Conclusion: I would say get a pm6 instead, one of my teammates has one, it rips harder and shoots ropes. Unless you have shot both and prefer the nxt.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media