paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder VS3 / Kingman Spyder VS3 / Kingman Spyder VS3 / Kingman Spyder VS3

Kingman Spyder VS3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder VS3

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder VS3
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 73
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $330

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
For more than two years we have looked for ways to create a paintball marker that captures all the elements of this sports futures including looks, rate of fire, efficiency, and feel. We have achieved these goals and will bring to market the NEW VS Series markers, built with 3G technology including a patent pending low pressure, high performance Balance Valve. The Spyder VS2 with Infiniti Trigger and Spyder VS3 with Rocking Trigger will utilize this 3G technology Balance Valve, making the marker operational at 200psi while maintaining incredible speed and ultimate comfort.

Looking for ways to evolve the Spyder product line, the VS Series paintball markers will include features like Break Beam Eyes, Electronic functions with a dual touch switch, a mini C/A regulator with on/off dial, a vertical adapter with low pressure gauge, a 12? two piece micro ported barrel, a low rise adjustable feed neck, and a Delrin bolt with lock cocking knob. The Spyder VS2 will come standard with the VS Infiniti Trigger providing a fluid feel to the marker with a 25 shot per second firing rate. The VS3 will come standard with a VS Rocking Trigger allowing up to 30 shots per second with two contact points for a maximum rate of fire. Both markers will maintain a sleek all Aluminum body style allowing the user to feel connected to the speed, and accuracy of the VS Series.

Knowing that all paintball players are unique, we have created custom dust finish color Body Kits to individualize your VS marker. The custom five piece Body Kits will come available in Red, Yellow, Green, and Blue and will include eye covers, feed neck, low pressure chamber, rubber fore grip, and a striker plug. Also available is the Spyder 14? two piece Aero twist barrel with optional color tips to enhance the look, and accuracy of the VS marker.

The fluid all Aluminum VS Series receiver design protects the internal 3G technology patent pending Balance Valve that allows the marker to operate at 200psi. While keeping state of the art design in mind, we have developed this custom valve that can attribute to the speed, and ?never before experienced? feeling you get while shooting the VS Series markers. The 3G technology also incorporates a lightweight striker, softer springs, and an increase in chamber capacity enhancing the low pressure functionality of the VS marker.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder VS3 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Puff-the-dragon Saturday, March 10th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder Rodeo
Ion
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Rodeo, revy,C02,Progresive 14"
Ion , egg 2,co2, stock
VS3,FASTA,NITRODUCK,EVIl PIPE KIT
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel. when i origonaly got the gun it came with and evil pipe kit. the kit is really nice because it works with the dam shroud i considerd cutting but edited it instead it off but idk i cant use my rodeos barrel
Strengths: speed
sturdy
eye
LP air
Weaknesses: Barrel shround its kinda annoying it dont see why the have it
Review: Well first off on forums and certain places you will hear a bad rap on the vs3 because of the rocking trigger. but personaly i think its great i got really big hands and i can get my gun going too around 25-28 bps (took a few months practice) i have never once broke a ball playing indoor x ball and ive used probly 10 case of paint. i never really had any problems with the vs3 at all its a great gun eye works great. there is only two minor downfalls 1 there is kind of a shround on the body which is for astecis only and prevents you from using certain barrels. I recommend using a dremmel and instead of really cutting them off grind it down about a 16th of an inch and it gives you plent of room. they only other down side is its a little heavy personaly im a pretty big guy i play center in football and work out 2hours a day so its not a problem for me. but my younger brother being smaller and a little young has trouble with keepin it up 100% of the time and prefers to use my ion (lighter because not hpa tank also) even tho its only 17pbs compared to my 25-28

AND BY THE WAY

people are saying its not turrny legal is mostly fasle they only major turny u cant use them in is PSP but ive never been to a local or provicnal turny where it was banned.
Conclusion: it is an unbeatable gun for the price. its low matitnace and is incredably fast and is legal in almost every turny exept PSP
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

crossfire02 Wednesday, February 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Electra '05
Marker Setup: VS3 with halo B and a 48/3000 compressed air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Halo B (or a fast hopper)
Everything else personal preferance
Strengths: Fast trigger
Air on/off nob
Feed neck
The low pressure system works well
Weaknesses: Feed neck (confusing at first)
Barrel
Foregrip is loose out of box
Heavy
Review: The rocking trigger is good for speedball. It can keep up well. If you have a fast hopper you shouldnt out shoot it. I havent found any problems with the internals or the eyes. It all seems to work well. The manual goes very far in-depth on how to take your gun apart and putting it back together. The feed neck is tricky at first, but once u get the hang of it it works well. Its heavy with a fully loaded hopper and a full air tank, but u get used to it.
Conclusion: Great for the price. You definetly get what you paid for. But you definatly need a upgraded barrel. And you gotta love the rocking trigger. All in all its a good gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

-WM-Oblivion Saturday, February 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, two diffrent worlds. compared to the vs3
Marker Setup: Vs3 with Empire B loader, Remote line,
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a Vs2 with and put a rocking trigger on it so you can use your other barrels. They say J&J Barrels fit but my J&J full tilt will not fit on a vs3
Strengths: Absolutly no chops,fast trigger,accurate, ez cleaning,good weight
Weaknesses: Cant use other spyder barrels, Cany use old rocking trigger Dye grips.
Review: To sum this up this gun is pretty good, accurate, fast etc. etc. Just have to lube it up out of the box. i have shot over 2000 rounds without a single chop. Eyes are off in burst fire mode, No other modes besides semi, and burst fire. No full auto etc. etc.. I was pretty impressed no only by the low pressure performance but by reliablility. You treat this gun right, it will not fail you. thats it, have fun lol
Conclusion: If your a spyder fan, this is a way to keep with what you like and up your gameplay about 100%
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

philodox Saturday, February 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original Automag
Many original Autococker variations
Tippman Pro-Lite, A5
Original Shocker
First generation Spyder
Original Angel
Proto PM6
Marker Setup: Completely stock
Viewloader 18v loader with XBoard
DXS 68ci/4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck
Shorter screw (read below)
Strengths: Cheap
Rocking trigger
Mini-Reg/ASA combo
Weaknesses: Reliability
Fit of parts
Stock feedneck
Review: I bought this gun as my re-entry into paintball about a month ago. I sold all my gear, which was close to "top of the line" about 8 or 9 years ago when I went to college. That was right when the first electronic markers were coming out and speedball was gaining popularity.

I really did not want to buy an electronic marker because I felt like there is no need to add an extra point of failure in something that can be operated relatively simply with pneumatics. I had previously owned a rock-solid Tippman Prolite, then bought the very first Spyder that Kingman made, then sold that junker and got an Automag.

I also had trepidations of getting a Spyder after my first experience with them, namely having the gun literally fall apart on me in games with screws falling out, things popping off, etc.

Anyways, guys at the shop say that Kingman's reputation is a lot better, that the VS series is really great, and at the price point of $250, it's a really good way of getting some fancy electronics without slamming my wallet.

I get it to play recball with friends. I took it out for one day on the field with compressed air. The first thing I noticed is that the front grip is loose. The valve on the front that the grip is attached to wobbles in the upper receiver. The problem is somewhat mitigated by gassing up the gun, but it still wobbles a bit and it doesn't provide a very good shooting platform. I fixed it by stripping it down and using a shorter screw on it. Others said they have fixed by removing or exchanging the washer.

My second complaint is that it was impossible to get the stock feedneck to grasp onto my loader well (Viewloader Tripod, standard VL size). The screw fastening system really sucked. I got a clamping feedneck installed, it works much better (haven't played with it yet though since my gun is now broken.)

The accuracy is okay for a stock barrel. Good for a $250 gun. I did notice that the balls would hook to the right after it travelled about 75 feet, on the downward arc. It definitely was not the paint, as I experienced this with two different brands. And it was not wind. It wasn't so bad, at least the hook was consistent so you could walk the shots to your target, but it's still annoying and messes with your aim. I am spoiled by my Phantom, though. I bought a barrel for it, but again, haven't used it yet.

It is relatively loud, especially compared to "real" electropneumatic guns (the ones that use solenoids to control airflow instead of just tripping the sear). Then again, it's a blowback, and you can't change that characteristic too much.

It is nice having a regulator on the gun to see operating pressure. The little mini regulator/ASA on the grip is nice. One knob to gas/degas with a dump valve when degassing, and an easily adjusted regulator via hex wrench.

The front grip, while loose, is nice and rubberized. It does rotate easily, though, so dont expect to use it as a very good grip.

The grip panel and electronics set up inside is real weak. You have to work on the wire/battery positioning quite a bit to make sure that there isn't a small crack on the grip for stuff to get in. Small problem.

Battery life has not been a problem, I just charged it overnight and it shot over a case the next day, no problem.

The controls for power/eyes/safety, etc. are easy to use once you understand it. The manual is kind of bad at describing the operation. When it says "press the button for one second" they actually mean "just tap it." If you actually press it for a second it does nothing. Confused the heck out of me for a few minutes.

The eyes really work well. I got one ball chop in a case, but I attribute that to bad paint since I wasn't really wailing away on the trigger. The barrel does not clean itself out well.

Rocking trigger feels like cheating. I think ramping markers are lame, and anything to modify your shooting artificially is really weak, as it diminishes the actual skill involvement of the individual player. This trigger is probably the closest I will go without claiming unfair advantage. You can pop off a 10-15 bps string very easily. The microswitches, compared to the pneumatic triggers I am used to, are like nothing. I can actually flick my finger across one side of the trigger, firing a shot, and it will rebound off the microswitch and hit the other side, for a super quick double tap. Kinda fun.

On the trigger tip, I think having electronics on this gun is kind of overkill. The solenoid is only used to trip the sear. So really, the only advantage of going electronic on this gun is a lighter/shorter trigger pull and eyes (which is pretty cool, but on a properly set up low pressure gun you wont really chop anyway). That and shooting bursts, which is slower than doing it manually in semi anyway. Now, you have to worry about battery charging and failed boards.

The body looks pretty nice. Definitely not Spyderlike.

Now on to the bad stuff.

After playing that one day, I set up my rig after cleaning and lubing it to do some dry firing. The gun started to not recock after 4-5 shots. I couldn't figure out why... I checked everything, compressed air bottle, proper lubrication, mating of the bolt and striker, strange obstructions in the receiver, velocity set screw, messed up spring, pressure, everything. I finally took it into the local shop. They had it for a week and half and said they fixed it, saying that the sear was worn (after one case and some dry firing? kind of weak). They showed me the old sear, and indeed it was very rounded and worn on the side that catches the striker.

I take it back, after paying for my new barrel and clamping feed neck. Gas up (my bottle had 2k PSI in it), set the reg to 225 psi... same problem. I was really disappointed, since I was supposed to go to the field the next day. Take it back to the shop, and they can't figure out what's going on. So they're taking it to Kingman on Monday.

This sucks.

Second time that Kingman has failed me. I swore off Kingmans after my first experience with the original Spyder, but I gave them a second chance because of recommendations and the fact that if they are still around (and selling more guns now than ever), they have to be doing something right.

Either I have really bad luck or Kingman's quality has not gotten that much better. Quantity does not trump quality, as usual.

Unfortunately I don't have a lot of time anymore to sit around and tinker with stuff, and the valve set up seems a little more complex than I am willing to learn in order to get it to just SHOOT.

I'm going to go look for an old Automag now. I'm probably going to sell this gun after I get it back. Pneumatics > electronics any day, in my opinion. I guess if you're recballing you don't really need 300101023891009130 BPS (AGG!...). A hand pulled 10 bps on a pneumatic trigger is good enough. That or play more stock class... more satisfying anyway.

It may be my bad luck, but two times in a row 9 years apart? My Tippman and Automag never had a down day. Never. And I used that Mag for probably close to twenty times the amount of playing days.

I would like to sing this gun's praises, as it shot well for a day, but I just can't after getting burned my Kingman twice. Never again.

Conclusion: Great entry level gun if you are looking for electronic (which really isn't that much of a benefit on this gun, since it just trips the sear). However, in my own experience, Kingman's quality has not gone anywhere from their original days. It may look cooler, but functionally it's exactly the same (ooo new valve... it's still a blowback, not much you can do to change the operation).

I would recommend to get the (some would say) dreaded Ion, the operation seems as if electronics would apply to it better. That or just get a pneumatic/mechanical gun. The operation is easier, fewer points of failure, and they can still hold their own if its set up right. If you're not playing SuperMadSkillz tournaments, it is preferable, in my opinion.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 17th, 2007 at 1:37 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jimmythefoot Friday, February 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
raptor
spyder (something, can't remember)
automag classic (what a waste of $450, realized this when i got my VS3)
Marker Setup: spyder VS3 with viewloader eVLution II Y- board
Recommended
Upgrades:
more barrels, they will come i the near future
Strengths: Fast, fast, fast.
Reliable.
Not heavy in my opinion.
Weaknesses: If eyes get dirty from paint your screwed, lol.
Review: First electric gun i have ever owned.
Very easy to operate.
Rocker trigger is smooth and sensitive.
Can really lay down the paint.
Need a electrical force feed hopper to get the full benefits of the gun.
Only problem i have had to date is i took a ball down the barrel one time and my eyes got dirty.
Had to take barrel off and hopper and do a good cleaning before i was able to rock and roll.
I'm just a rec baller and got the chance to play against some guys with tourney experience.
This gun had no problem keeping up with their gear.
It shoots so fast i simply "walk the dog" so-to-speak as i'm rushing a door or piece of cover and basically pin the opponet down with surppressive fire untill i have a close, easy kill shot.
This gun is unfair if playing against guys that don't have the high rate of fire....but then again there is nothing fair about mock war anyway.
As my old drill sargeant would always say," if you aint cheating or working to get the edge on your opponent, your not trying hard enough". :) those guys were awesome
Conclusion: Great product.
Highly recommend.
Everything you need really.
I never need to use the 3 round burst cause it's so fast anyway with the rocker trigger.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

andis Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
My friends Spyder Fenix w/ Rock Trigger
Marker Setup: Stock 12" TL-R Barrel, Stock Trigger, Stock Bolt Stock everything 12oz. CO2 20oz. CO2 gravity fed loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
It is great stock.
Strengths: Rock Trigger, Spyder Quality.
Weaknesses: Hard to turn off. Only runs on HPA.
Review: I went to my local shop and they had the floor model of a VS3 out with a tank and a bucket of Reballs on the same table with a bunker in the one on one course in an opening to test the gun out. Since my team is good friends with the owner he let us take it in the course with a hopper of Reballs and try it out fully. It is pretty accurate stock, fairly quiet, and crazy fast. The only downfall is you have to use HPA.
Conclusion: The VS3 is an overall great gun, but you have to get HPA.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

justblazen40 Monday, February 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: VS3 Red body kit
Halo B
20 oz 3000 psi hpa tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic loader, 20+ rounds a sec
drop forward
Barrel
LPC
Strengths: Extremely Fast
Light
Comfortable
Reliable
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel isn't too great
LPC needs upgraded
Review: The gun is awesome, played last weekend and almost everybody had super tricked out Tippman A-5's with everything you can think of on them. I can say this gun will easy put down any mid-range electronic or mechnical guns easily. No real problems besides the LPC (low pressure chamber) isn't that great and I have noticed that the pressure will drop during rapid fire. Easy fix though, but stock you can put down most people with out really trying too hard.
Conclusion: The gun is awesome and I can't complain about anything, the price is awesome and it is hands down better than anything in the price range!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

luckyboy2love Wednesday, February 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine and rebel extreme
Marker Setup: Spyder VS3
-red body kit
-9 in. red barrel tip
-red halo b hopper w/ rip drive and victory board
-pure energy 48/3000 psi tank
-coiled remote pressure kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
-get another barrel to replace the spyder's stock barrel
-get a drop forward (balance ur gun out) or a coiled remote pressure kit (makes ur gun light as sh*t)
Strengths: Love the rocking trigger
love the eye no more chopping
easy cleaning
Weaknesses: When the battery is installed, the grip buldge out a bit but no biggies
Review: This gun is one of the best out there for its price...i bought it for $239...its worth every penny. Oh yeah, if your willing to spent that much on the VS3 please put out the extra money and get a good hopper for it...at least give the gun wat it deserve. Dont be a cheap ass and get yourself one of those hopper that spit out 10 bps. I recommend a halo b, empire, or pulse...all of those 3 range from $130-170. I got a red halo b w/ rip drive and victory board for 140 brand new on ebay. You probably can find one used for cheaper. I can empty my hopper with this gun in less than 10 sec, i read that people did it less than 5 sec but sorry i dont have that kind of jerk off hand :).
Conclusion: If your starting out and want a gun that will own on the field get the VS3...this gun will make u a better player even if u suck ass...yes it can do miracles...im lying if u suck nothing the gun can do to make u better just keep practicing. However, having this gun in ur hand will put fear on ur opponents' eyes, espcially with a fast hopper. Have fun blasting your opponents away, I know i did!!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bane1281 Monday, January 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sonix
IONS
tippman 98
angels
Marker Setup: spyder sonix
proto 1 pice barrel
empire reloader b

spyder VS3
empire reloader b
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop forward
new feed neck
Strengths: Fast, reliable, field ready out of the box.
Weaknesses: The only weakness i can think of is the feedneck and the grips
Review: well i just got this gun yesterday and tested it the same day.............
firs of....i love how it looks.
its black and sexy, the shape of it is awsome, that being said here are the pros and cons..( remember i have only tested it once so dont take me to seriously)

Pro.

FAST!!! this gun is so fast....the rocking trigger does its job i was shoting faster than my entire team and they all have ions.......

very acurate for a stock barrel.......i mean its not the best thing but you can play with it untill you save up money for a beter barrel......no problem....

the eyes work perfectly i mean not a single break all day............

it comes with a stock ON & OFF switch.......witch is allways nice to have..........

the leds are very easy to understand.......just a quick look at the manual and i was good to go.....

the element of sorprise (sorry about the spelling) every one on the field was telling me that spyders suck and that the could kick my ass and all of that..
but wen the time came to play...........i owned the field...........we won, and at the end of the game people were asking me if they could hold it and try it out.........the same people that were dizzing it earlier....

ok now for the cons.....

CON.

the feed neck is not the best, i would have to tighten it after every game or my hopper would fly off.....

the grips are not all the way up against the trigger frame so they leave a little opening and you can se the circuit board inside thats a problem because if you play in dirt.........it can get in and damage the electronics of the gun but some new grips should solve that, or if your like me and dont have the money at the time just use some scotch tape or something to cover it up...........

the c/a adapter moved a little out of the box you could feel the tank move wile you play but a little screw tightening will solve that.......

the only other thing i can think of is that it only haves 2 modes of fire.....
semi.
and
3 shot burst

not a problem for me because i only use the semi mode.....but to some this can be an isue.

thats it.....
Conclusion: well i would defenetly recomend this gun to any one, many will tell you that an ion is beter and cheaper but i dissagree, this gun is just as good if not beter than moust ions.........for a little mor money....

besides its a kingman so its very easy to clean and field strip.....
the parts for it are cheaper than moust and will last longer....

if you have the money buy this gun.........forget ions...........spyider VS3 is the new big dog on the field.

i would give it a 9 because nothing is perfect....but in this case ill make an exeption....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thovis Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion,vs2
Marker Setup: Spyder VS3
12" cp 2piece
trinity front block
cp reg(short)
cp asa on/off
halo hopper
68/4500 crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
new reg
feed neck

Strengths: Really fast, fairly accurate with a new barrel, fairly quite, looks nice,eyes work flawless.
Weaknesses: Slight leaks,parts need tightening out the box, not tourny legal, barrels dont fit
Review: This gun is a very good gun for people who play on the weekends. Even though i have had the gun for about 3 months and recently just stopped the leaking inside, it still works nicely. Also, I had to cutt of the part where to barrel screw in to the first lip because no barrel would fit.After getting all the kinks worked out, the gun performs flawlessly. But remeber, it is the player not the gun that makes you good. The gun is worth the purchase, but if you want to save up $200 more dollars and get a proto rail, that would be a better choice.
Conclusion: The gun works nicely, just have to fix a few problems.Be patient.Also treat it nice(oil it and clean it)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 28th, 2007 at 4:36 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media