paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Lapco Air Cooled Machine Gun Shroud / Lapco Air Cooled Machine Gun Shroud / Lapco Air Cooled Machine Gun Shroud / Lapco Air Cooled Machine Gun Shroud

Lapco Air Cooled Machine Gun Shroud Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Lapco

Buy Lapco Air Cooled Machine Gun Shroud

Paintball Barrel Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Lapco Air Cooled Machine Gun Shroud
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 6
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Browning A1 belt fed machine gun was the inspiration for this part. Our machine gun shroud is the perfect addition to your milsim setup. Sizing sleeves are provided to fit any barrel EXCEPT the Tippmann Flatline
Sizes come in:
8"
12"
14"
18"
Product Availability 
The Lapco Air Cooled Machine Gun Shroud is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Milsim98c Monday, June 7th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
no other barrel shrouds
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
CP Tactical Barrel with lapco air cooled shroud and apex tip
Guerilla Air 48/3000 tank
BT Adjustable Sight Rail
Collapsable Stock
Response Trigger
Squishy Paddles
Strengths: Looks great and protects barrel (if used right)
Weaknesses: Setup can cause problems and kinda hard to clean
Review: Ok, i bought this shroud specifically for the use of making my gun look better and thats exactly what this shroud did. People now take one look at me when i first walk on the field and you can easily tell that they are scared. This shroud makes your gun look mean and a force to be messed with. Now, on a different note, when you are putting this on your barrel, I can not stress enough the importance of grip tape or something else to protect your barrel because the shroud will scratch it and leave marks if you do not do something to protect it. So just be careful with that.
Conclusion: Great shroud that does what it is supposed to do. Be careful with the setup and you'll have a nasty looking gun in no time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Commando101 Tuesday, February 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R Sniper package with:
- 20 oz Pure Energy CO2 tank
- Smart Parts Smart Girl (2006) Nerve condom
- straight elbow
- Mach 404 by Zap electronic hopper

Tippmann A-5 Basic (Black) with:
- Smart Parts 2006 Boss Progessive 14" barrel
- LAPCO 14" Air-Cooled Machine Gun Shroud
- OPSGEAR G-36 MAG kit
- Dead-On Blade trigger
- A-5 Hopper (200 round)
- Allen rifle sling
- 72cu 3000psi Nitrogen tank
- Smart Parts Smart Girl (2006) All-American barrel condom

BT4 Banshee (Black) with:
- ShochTech Superfly tippmann front bolt
- Allen rifle sling
- 32 Degrees remote/cord with Slide Check
- Viewloader Quantum Hopper
- Tasco 1 x 42mm Red/Green Dot sight
- OPSGEAR M16 weaver mount
- 72cu 3000psi Nitrogen tank
- Smart Parts Smart Girl (2006) SP-8 barrel condom
Strengths: Looks Mean
Protects Main Barrel
Good Hand Grip
Light weight
Weaknesses: Pain to Clean
Varies on Price
Can Scratch Barrel
Review: The Stories:
Okay, it all starts out with my birthday. Mom wanted to know what I wanted and I chose that shroud, but enough about that, Let's get down to the nitty-gritty.

After a suffering, painful month of waiting for this shroud in the mail, I finally received it. There are three rings and an allen wrench that come with the shroud, so one can adjust it to their barrel. When I did and put the OPSGEAR mag on it, it was ready to take onto the field.

My BT4 Banshee was acting up on me one day out paintballing. I didn't want to switch markers, but I had to. I swapped out for my Tippmann A-5 and went out again in the forest. As soon I get out there when the referee was explaining the field boundries and such, one guy said to me that he loved the barrel and the Mag that went with it. Later on in life, One player apprecaited the Mag and also said, "With that machine gun shroud on, it makes it (marker) look 'raw.'" I was so amazed on how much of an eye attracter it was and mixed with something else that can play along with the theme will make it look different. It is a mil-sim marker and looks like a real firearm, but it is not from my perspective.

The product ALONE:
This shroud will keep the barrel protected, but may scratch the outside of barrel while assembling. There are also three different sized rings to fit the shroud and the barrel snug, or a non-wobble fit. There is also an allen wrench to screw the shroud onto the Tippmann's or the BT's barrel adaptor already on the marker. It may leave three silver circles on the adaptor and is recommended for someone is does not care if their marker is knicked. The shroud is light weight because it is made out of aluminum and which leads to the shroud being unable to rust from the weather. It also comes in four lengths: 8", 12", 14", and 18". Some people say that it has a lack of instructions, but it was a sinch to figure it out how to mount it.
Conclusion: If meaness and mil-sim is your ticket, this shroud is the way to go.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 19th, 2008 at 7:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Camaro2000SS Thursday, December 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
UMP mag-kit Opsgear (for looks as well)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Repsonse Trigger
Opsgear UMP Mag
Lapco 12" Bigshot
Lapco 12" Shroud
Strengths: Intimidation (looks)
Installation
Weight
Solid Construction
Works perfect with Bigshot
Weaknesses: Lack of instructions
Review: It can be very confusing when you open up the packaging to put this shroud onto your barrel. It comes with three rings that I imagine help you to mount it to barrels which are too small to properly fit into the shroud. I use it with a Lapco Bigshot 12", so it fit just fine. I put the set screws over the barrel adapter and screwed them in tight. The shroud is firm and looks AMAZING. Has a kind of Tec-9 look that I love. I would recommened some kind of gas-thru mag kit to go along with this work of art (Try Opsgear, they are very solid and easy to install). Built well and from a reputable company. I was just a little dissapointed with the lack of any instructions. Could have been confusing if I was a new player or had just bought my Tippmann.

If you DO have a Lapco Bigshot and are looking for that Sub-machine gun look, this is a MUST-HAVE. It fits perfectly on the A-5. Use the Barrel Adapter to mount the set screws on so they will not damage your barrel and the muzzle of the Bigshot will fill out the front of the shroud.

I have posted some pics under "View More Pictures" so you can see my marker with the shroud installed on my A-5.

Note: This product does not improve accuracy or marker performance....DUH
Conclusion: Amazing looks with a solid build. Lack of instructions are a pain but if you have problems you can contact Lapco which has great customer service or simply post a message on the Tippmann forums for assistance.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 28th, 2007 at 9:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

act_appalled Friday, April 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No barrel shrouds
Marker Setup: Tippmann M98C
Tippmann Werks 14in Barrel
Lapco Machine Gun Shroud
Tippmann Double Trigger
BSA Red Dot Sight
Strengths: Make your gun look unique, and intimidating, protecs barrel
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: The reason I bought this gun is because I didnt want my gun to look like other tippmanns.
This add on make my gun looks pretty cool also. But when I was reading the description it said that it would fit any barrel except flatline. I currently have a tippman werks barrel. The fittings fit my barrel perfect but it was the front that was not wide enought ( the part that has the o rings too keep the barrel shroud in place over the barrel) Luckly that could come of with a pair of pliers so i got the shroud on perfect. U cant really tell that any thing is mising. got a photo on here . Other than that it is a nice addition to my gun.
Conclusion: 9 out of 10 only because I had to work with it to get the barrel on right.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 28th, 2007 at 9:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Humansalvation Saturday, March 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Personally I have used the flatline and worked on several markers with mil-sim upgrades that have different shroud setups from terrible to great.
Marker Setup: Tippmannn 98C
Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
14" Lapco Machine Gun Shroud
Cyclone feeding system w/ 330 rnd hopper
R/T kit
72ci 4500psi HPA
Remote line w/ quick disconnect
Shiny Red .45 Grips
etc.
Strengths: Easy install, rugged, looks !@#$%^& cool, protects barrel
Weaknesses: Uh...
Review: I just purchased the barrel shroud after staring at it on my store wall for months. It fits my J&J like a glove and I'm not sure where the other guy bought his shroud but it should have come with several different inserts that friction fit the barrel to the shroud and allow something for the set screws to tighten to without any damage to the barrel.

As a matter of fact I am now recommending these to owners of the Stiffi barrels because they seem like they would fit great and be VERY protective leaving only the front few inches of the barrel exposed making it very hard to actually damage the carbon fiber (good thing).

I love the way it looks and instantly makes a rather plain looking Custom 98 look good enough that everyones worried about being shot by it.... (maybe its the 330 round cyclone with the r/t setup too?)
Conclusion: Great buy and bang for the buck. It looks good all around great fit that doesn't shift around like some shrouds do and it also doubles as a protector for your barrels if your picky about scratches like I am.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mjr_paranoid Friday, December 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tac Shroud on flatline
Marker Setup: A-5 with: J&J 12" with Lapco Shroud or Flatline with Tac Shroud
Lapco offset sight rail
(mounts include tac light, red dot, and/or magnifying scope)
E-Trigger
Rhino hopper
Ag Mag kit , modded
Quick disconnect thumb screws for flatline
Remote line
Trinity Stock
Strengths: 1.Groovy looking
2.Pretty solid
Weaknesses: Set screws can harm barrel
Review: There is not much to say here. Its a mostly visual add on, but it is a killer look.

This shroud comes several lengths to accommodate most barrels and arrives with two different diameter rear attachment rings.

The front is a set diameter width with orings. I have found the front can't accommodate a teardrop front and will only fit an Evil pipe with some friendly coercion. But an AA freak front is perfect. Likewise the JJ ceramics barrels work great. Be forewarned, if you mount it on a freak system you will need to unmount the shroud to change your inserts.

Once mounted the shroud not only looks great, but it gives a more stable grip on the base of the barrel for when you want to play a little tighter.

Now the bad:

The set screws. Ugh. these can really mess up your barrel if you don't take the precaution of wrapping a decent friction tape (I like the stuff I also use on my hockey sticks) around the mount point. While these are certainly the cheapest way to create the attachment, a twist/n/tighten or a some other form of quick attach would have been much more functional.

But hey this is Lapco. They don't really seem to have engineers who actually know how to engineer a great product. Seriously. Their quality is great, but almost all their designs are just basic blocks of metal with the bare minimum done to them to make them functional. I am a big fan of keeping it simple, but Lapco seems to have made this their religion. Pure function, with no style or attention to weight reduction.

Conclusion: Over all, I like it. A lot. It gives my a-5 a great look. As far as price goes, you should be able to get this off eBay for around 20-25 dollars, 40 -45 dollars with a JJ barrel included. I have two.
It comes in various lengths (I have seen 12 - 18 inch) and if your barrel doesn't have a gigantic muzzle break this should fit fine on it.

Be forwarned, like all Lapco products is has LAPCO printed on it big block letters. Generally, a black sharpie is the cleanest way to obscure this crass marketing imprint.

To get a 10 a product would have to work in such a way that I was totally blown away by its form, function, and engineering. This product had a few issues in my mind, so that is why it gets an 8.

Bear in mind, I have not found any comparable products for a comparable price, so this one does get a best in class from me.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 29th, 2006 at 7:12 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media