paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Marq 6 / Bob Long Marq 6 / Bob Long Marq 6 / Bob Long Marq 6

Bob Long Marq 6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Marq 6

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Marq 6
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 35
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1050

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
1. Inline poppet valve design. ( not a spool valve)
2. Internal LPR design
3. Manifold mounted solenoid. ( no hoses)
4. Thin ergonomic grip frame.
5. Lightweight.
6. 4 eye operation compatible. ( 30 bps can be acheived with 4 eyes. 4 eye system sold as an upgrade)
7. No rise wedge feed.
8. Swivel top regulator. ( fitting can be rotated to any position)
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Marq 6 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
DyNa$tY Saturday, July 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months112 of 118 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 XSV Ego
UL'd PM7
Marq 7 Rapper
Closer
Ripper 3
Marker Setup: • Olive Marq 6
• Closer Trigger
• Dye Titanium Back .688
• Dye Ultralite Tip 14"
• Hybrid Rail
• CP On/Off
• John Lee Grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
• Barrel
• On/Off
• Trigger
• Read Weaknesses/Review Body for more info •
Strengths: • Speed
• Accuracy
• Not much kick
• Looks
• Durability
• Stock Reg
• Quiet
• Efficiency
Weaknesses: • Adjustability
• Weight
• Trigger
• Difficult to work on
• Read Review Body for more info
Review: First Impressions- The first thing everyone notices is the looks. It looks sleek, compact, and unique. Once you pick it up, you'll notice it's not as light as other 07 (and even some 06) Highends.

Feel- Even though the Marq isn't the lightest marker out there, it's weight is distributed evenly, which gives you the impression that it's lighter than it really is. The grips are comfortable, and pretty thin for stock grips.

Stock Barrel- The stock barrel isn't terrible, but if you shoot .695 paint or some other weird sized paint you might consider getting a new barrel. Most people get a new barrel regaurdless of how it performs.

Stock Board- The stock board isn't very adjustable, but it's not a huge deal. This gun is FAST. The stock board comes with all the modes you'll need for a tournament. Some people have a huge problem with the stock board, but it's not bad as everyone tries to make it out to be.

Stock Trigger- The stock trigger feels good, but performs terribley. WIth the spring/magnet in, it is way too firm, and is difficult to walk. Without the spring/magnet, the gun will shoot full auto if u pull the trigger more than 2 times, and won't stop until you pull the trigger back out. You almost have to buy a new trigger, which will cost $50 at most. I purchased the Closer Trigger, which cost me $30, but performs flawlessly.

Stock Bolt- Most people buy the pillow bolt, but you really don't have to. I shoot Nelsplat and Menace, and I am yet to break a ball with 10 cases thru it.

Stock ASA- There's no On/Off, so if you really want one you can get one, but it's not a nessecity. I have a CP On/Off which works flawlessly, but if you don't want to spend the extra $30-$40, you won't be missing out too much.

Stock Feedneck- The stock feedneck is perfect. Small and clamping. What else could you ask for in a feedneck?

Overall- The Marq is the best gun you can buy for under $1100, so if you're in the price range don't hesitate. I've shot the Ego7, and Ild say the Marq out shoots it by far.
Conclusion: This is a great gun that has a few flaws, just like every gun out there. My reccomendation would be to buy a trigger and barrel, and then you'd be set. Comment this or E-Mail me any questions you have.

IF THIS REVIEW WAS HELPFUL PLEASE RATE IT!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 6th, 2007 at 12:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sam68 Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, my first Bob Long marker
Marker Setup: Bob Long Marq 6, Tadao board, BL easy on/off asa, Kila four eye's, Kila magnetic detents, Hybrid Grips, Stiffi Switch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
None are needed per say, Tadao board is nice; four eye's to take complete advantage of markers potential.
Strengths: Light weight, fast, quiet, no kick, easy to use, easy to clean and lube.
Weaknesses: Trigger bounce, lack of board settings to stop the bounce.
Review: Well first thing I have to say is wow this is a sexy marker, I love the simple looks of the gun, I have always had Autocockers, and I love the lack of nooks and crannies that make it super easy to wipe off after a day of paintball. I have used the marker now about 8 times and have had no problems, no ball breaks at all and half of the time the marker had the stock bolt, I now have the two piece pillow bolt which I am told all Marqs come with standard now. The only weakness of the Marq is the stock trigger which will bounce a lot in the 3 round burst & full auto modes, some of this is due to the stock boards lack of debounce settings (only two and neither work or at least not on my gun I even put magnets in with no luck). I now have the Tadao board (just released), and all is good now no bounce even with the stock trigger. Word is that the final Marq (the closer) comes with all the goods (four eyes, Tadao board) for the money it is worth the price I think around $1,200. The Marq has no kick and is super quiet, by far the best marker I have ever shot, I think I will be a Marq owner for a long time.
Conclusion: Awesome marker, has a few small weaknesses nothing that cant be fixed, I would recommend this marker to anyone who wants a marker in the 1 K range. I give it a 9 because it's not 100% perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alejandro1234 Thursday, March 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none at all
Marker Setup: marq 6
Realoder B
68/45
jt team - pink
06 distortion jersey
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel...

everything else is fine for me
Strengths: 4c eyes
Weight
Weaknesses: Barrel
Doesn't like cheap paint ( which i usually buy :( )
Review: I bought mine for 900 a few months ago...sickest gun ever...

I'm addicted to it...

Theres nothing wrong with it except the cheap paint thing...i usually buy/use white box
but the gun wont except that...so ive moved onto xball bronze which works fine with it :)
Conclusion: Buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

epik808 Wednesday, March 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
NOTHING LIKE THIS!
Marker Setup: Marq 6
4 eyes
pillow bolt
16in cp barrel
vlocity
crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
16cp barrel
4 eyes
pillow bolt
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Smoooooth
Quiet
Easy to take care of
Weaknesses: Nothing now that lrp can be adjusted externally from free milling from blast!!
Review: guns the best ever good buy best price just awesome. Ropes from this gun comes in deadly streams. I have never felt a gun like this or seen a freak of nature come close to the marq6 its just perfect in every way i sold every gun i had for this and it cured my gun whore ism u wont regret buying this.
Conclusion: Cost effective and out guns anything on the market by far
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

es916 Tuesday, March 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6
05 Ego
06 Ego
NXT Shocker
Angels (A1 and G7)
Any Timmy

All high ends like these basically shoot the same, comes down to personal feel.
Marker Setup: 2005 Dark Blue and Black Ego
- All Stock
- Empire B (gold color) & Halo B with (vic board)
- Crossfire 68/4500 LP

07 Bob Long Marq 6
- Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. On/Off - The stock models come with a nice asa but no on/off feature.
2. Barrel - The stock assassin barrel is decent in its own right, but get a kit.
3. Pillow Bolt - Much more soft on paint
4. 4 Eye - This is optional but the 4 eye setup allows for faster rate of fire.
Strengths: Accuracy
Efficiency
Weight
Balance
Looks
Weaknesses: See Below
Review: I have always been a BL fan. His guns have been a steady and reliable machine for me over the years. When I was looking for a new gun, this was the first stop I made. At a local field, I was able to fire one before I bought. After 1 pod I was hooked. The gun has no kick, shot ropes across field, and felt very balanced.

The feel is solid. You know you are hold a nice piece of equipment when you grab one. The Marq is very balanced, more so than my Ego. Its a pleasure to shoot and is very comfortable. It is a little heavier in feel than my Ego but not by an amount that would make me complain at all.

One thing that I always liked was the LCD feature of my guns. I was never a fan of the LED setups from my DM days but with this gun I had no choice. However, that being said the features are very easy to use. Dip switches are very simple and instructions make is clear as to what to do. Having only two firing modes isnt a problem because everywhere I play its either semi or psp and always capped 15. The lack of other modes didn't bother me at all.

Let me just say that this is a fast marker, really really fast. Uncapped, I don't quite know what the rate of fire was but it seemed as if I was around 19 or so. There was no kick and snap shooting was a breeze due to its balance. Efficiency is great, I would say I was able to get 5 pods and a hopper comfortably. Consistency was great and accuracy was ball on ball anywhere on the field.

The only gripe I have is the on/off. I just don't understand how or why a better asa was not included. A simple push button would have been great but since all of the other guns that I have bought came with some sort of on/off, I felt a little miffed but it's a very minor gripe.
Conclusion: There isn't a whole lot needed to say. Just pick one up and shoot it. Once you do, you will be selling your other guns and getting one of these. Light, Accurate, Efficient and Balanced makes this a top contender. At a price less that $900 on ebay stores, its a steal. You can't go wrong with this choice. 10 out of 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

egs21eric Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tremor NXT Shocker
DM6's
PL Ego's
Marker Setup: Bob Long Marq 7
4 Lazer Eye System
Pillow Bolt
CP .693 One Piece
Empire Rail/ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pillow Bolt
.693 barrel of your liking, CP or Un1tech
Board? (stock has semi and PSP so its good enough for me)
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, Light, Efficient.... can I say more?
Weaknesses: Board Is Not As Programable As Most Other Boards
Review: I reccomend buying a marq series gun asap. they combine bob longs already amazing grip frames with his new bolt/ram design that has created a sick gun. Im putting a pat on Bob's back for this one. Haven't chopped and am pretty sure i never will with the pillow bolt kissing every ball on the way out of the gun and my .693 bore doing the rest
Conclusion: The First Closed Bolt Gun That Truley Has Worked Amazing For Me, More Reliable Than A Dye As Well As A Better Weight Balance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ikey Monday, February 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
mosy high ends
Marker Setup: stock karnivor, pm6
Recommended
Upgrades:
kila baord/eyes
Strengths: Small, light, good feel/trigger
Weaknesses: Didnt see any
Review: this was teh rapper version

size/weight
very shocker like. i found it a littel more compact, teh feedneck lowered the overall setup hight. the gun was very light as well. very similar to a shocker.

feel
very different. i really like it. the frame was think, not to bulky and felt good in my hands. the trigger was great, kinda like a CP sling blade type shape. very fast. the reg is positioned not to close to teh frame just how i like.

build/quality
the gun seemed very solid and well thought out. lot a lot of external parts or peices. the gun had very nice anno, and the the rapper milling is GORDEAOUS!!! OMG. defiintely an eye catcher. teh new design and 4 eye system are great.

performance
the gun ripped. very fast. the 4 eyes did not allow 1 chop that i could see, and teh owner was getting very good strings....however i didnt not have enough time to thouroughly test it, which will affect my review a little.

edit
ok upon further inspection of teh gun again, i realized some flaws. the trigger is pretty bad. its nice, but i mean, there are only 2 adjustments, and you cant adjust tension. on top of that, the trigger hits the back of the frame, limiting its travel. that pretty much makes another adjustment pointless. the trigger stock is pretty hard ot pull, so basically your trigger is nto adjustable without taking your gun apart and cutting springs etc. these days that is unacceptable. mot gun even come with 3-4 settings, this one has 2 and one is useless cause teh trigger hits the frame. rediculous for a 1000+ dollar gun.

also, in order to dissasembly your gun you have to unscrew the bolt from the ram. do you have to unscrew teh hammer off teh ram of an impulse to take the ram houe out? no. that would be rediculous. i view this the same. HOWEVER, bob has just come out with a quick disconnect ram so this is fixed, however it is sold as an upgrade.

edit

ok. now bob is starting to include the upps with these guns like teh bolt and new ram. he is also starting to adress some issues like the baord and trigger. so things are shaping up.
Conclusion: from my point of view, it is like a mix of both worlds. this is for the guy who wants to shoot a shocker like gun but wants ram driven operation. a lot of innovation and performance, in a hot package. i give it a 9 because i dont think it has as many bells and wistels as more expensive guns like teh A1, ego 7, etc, and because i didnt not gert to shoot it enough. i will updatefor later.

for 1000, an somewhat unadjustable trigger and having to dismantle your gun internals to do routine cleaning is not good. that has been fixed, but is sold as an upgrade....it should be a stock part. for 1000+? come on bob you can do better than that.

with the updated parts, most of my negative comments have changed. i rate it a 9 now up from 7
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 11th, 2007 at 6:20 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bkool9012 Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
all of the other timmi's , DM's, ego's
Marker Setup: 07 pink onyx ( 1 of 20)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Super fast, accurate, consistent, and its quiet
Weaknesses: The board, trigger
Review: so i picked this gun up about a 2 weeks ago, from delta paintball ( Zach longs store) and at first i was really impressed. Perfect anno, nice ballence. but the one thing i didnt like was the trigger, it fealt to hard, so i went back to the shop and talked to zach about it, he said that he had cut the spring in his gun shorter, for a smoother softer pul, so after modifying the trigger the marker was perfect, i went to my back yard and filled my halo with some xball gold, and boy is this thing fast and accurate,i was shooting ropes, all of which were ball on ball. but when i tried to ajust my setings i found out that the only things you could ajust were the Debounce, the dewell and the firing modes, and that was still limited.
Conclusion: All in all, this marker is great, every thing you could want in a marker ( ecept of corse the adjustibility) its not the most expensive marker either, but its deffanately not the cheapest
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aimeagle21 Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm 4/5/6, many ego's, and many other highend guns
Marker Setup: Onyx/Marq6 gloss red
Halo w/ V35/ hotrod kit, bone pack
68/45 PE




Recommended
Upgrades:
BOARD!!!
Possibly a barrel
Four eye setup
BOARD!!!!
Strengths: Speed
Looks
Inline poppet
Very air efficient
Smooth

Weaknesses: Board settings
Weight
Trigger
Review: I bought my son an onyx (well he paid but I did the paperwork) about a month ago now. I bought the gun used w/ the two eye setup, cp reg, cp on/off plus the stock stuff for $850. My son and I have shot about 6000 balls through this now and it's been through one tournament (today). The gun worked perfectly today in the tournament and with all the testing we did over the previous month.

Strength's-

Efficiency- I don't have an exact number but my son only filled his tank once at the beggining of the day and left w/ 1400psi in his tank. He started at 3200psi and I know he shot at least 800-1000 balls. So with that info I would say the onyx could get a real 1900 shots out of a 68/45 full fill. He was shooting at 275+-fps.

Looks- just look at it! It is beatiful/hot/dead sexy looking gun imo

Kick/noise- Well, I could best desribe this as having a little bit more kick than a nicely tuned dm6 but much less than my ego's. It really is a smooth gun. As for the sound of the gun it is also a litle louder than the dm's I have owned but not nearly as loud as an ego. W/ the lpr the gun also seems very easy on paint from what we have put through it. BTW, don't mess around w/ the lpr unless you have an plr guage so you can make sure you are not setting it to high!!!!

Speed- If you are looking for speed then stop right here and just go buy one of these. W/ the two eye setup the fastest we could get the gun to shoot was 19 w/ a pulse, halo, and VL. Once we dropped the four eye setup in we were hitting 24bps (real bps not cps and yes I goldwaved it to verify what we already knew) and quite sure we could have gotten more but why.

Reliabilty- Well, so far so good! With over 6000 ball shots plus more dry fires than my wife and I care to think about it has yet to have any issues. Ok, check that, the bolt did come loosened from the poppet ram a little bit but that was only because after I lubed I did not reef it down tight enough I think. It has not happened since.

Weakness-

Board settings- This part of the gun absolutely is lacking! Seriously Bob man! The stock board has only two dwell settings 8 or 10 and two debounce settings max or min. The firing modes are more than enough. Not good!

Trigger- This is just opinion I cannot judge how well others will like the trigger. Ok, this trigger absolutely sucks. The pre pull is non exsistent and the post pull is stopped because the the trigger hits the guard before I would like it to stop. If you try to pull out the trigger spring plan on turning your debounce to max because it will go full auto every time. Can you guys tell I don't like the trigger?

Weight- not really a weakness but it is heavier than I thought it would be. Noticeble over my SL66, dm6, and pmr.
Conclusion: It is a really nice gun despite some of what I call weakness's. The gun is fast, seems very reliable, is efficient, looks great, and shoots smooth. The onyx/marq6 is well worth taking a real hard look at if you are planning on buying a gun in the 1k range. Bob, please for the love of GOD, do something with the board settings! I give the onyx/marq6 a 9 for the lack of board settings only. The weight and trigger are to subjective for me to lower a rating on. Buy, buy, buy, buy one!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 7th, 2007 at 7:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PillHead253 Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego, Shocker
Only shot a Dm6
Marker Setup: Stf Shocker to long to type out
06 Pevs Ego - Orange SpitFire Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
4 Laser eyes
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: This Gun is amazing. I took it out of the box and just fell in love with the gun. The Diploid Switches are easy and only takes a second to change the modes, debounce, Dwell, to Cap or un Cap it. I Put on my Lp tank and only had about 1200 psi left in it. I went threw a hopper and 1.2 before it ran out of air.

Strengths:
Very fast
From BobLong so great product and quality
Easy to Maintain

Weaknesses:
Price But its worth it
Weight - After just shooting an ego it does feel a little heavy but you get used to it.
Conclusion: this gun is Amazing, if you have the money go out and buy one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media