paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye i3 Invision Pro Mask 2007 / Dye i3 Invision Pro Mask 2007 / Dye i3 Invision Pro Mask 2007

Dye i3 Invision Pro Mask 2007 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye i3 Invision Pro Mask 2007

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye i3 Invision Pro Mask 2007
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 76
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
I3 Pro Features:
* Soft Ears with CoolMax backing, super light injected material. Deflect many of those ears shots without a break.
* Comes standard with advanced anti fog High Definition Single Lens.
* 2 stage foam is specifically designed to sheet sweat and moisture away from your face. Open and closed cell foam technology provides comfort and moisture wicking properties.
* The patented Invision3 Multi-Directional Venting will throw your voice farther and clearer than any other vented mask on the field. Utilizing precise blade angling and a proven venting configuration, the Invision3 Multi-*Directional Venting will make communication with your teammates effortless, as if there were no vocal obstructions.
* Tri-Mold Soft Flex Technology offers various mask flexibility without sacrificing safety or performance. *Utilizing a revolutionary process of co-molding, the Dye design team has developed a firm base frame, coupled with a very flexible facemask and patented venting system.
* Silicone is out, woven rubber is in. The Invision3 retention strap system needs to be adjusted once and once only. Designed to fit your head and stay that way, like it should. The elasticity of the woven rubber straps will out last the competition. .
* The anatomically correct Invision3 Pro mask system offers the best of comfort and performance for the player. Tested at twice the current ASTM impact standards for safety. Good protection is key.
* Low profile and removable, the Invision3 visor adjusts vertically to provide maximum shade for your eyes and protection for your forehead.
* The Invision's compound radius lens gives the player the ultimate in vertical / horizontal peripheral vision and optical clarity. Setting the standard in visual performance, the dual-bowl lens design offers phenomenal visual performance.
* The Invision3 goggle frame is molded from tear-resistant polyurethane and is designed with maximum flow-through ventilation. Designed to be anatomically correct and low profile to your face, the Invision goggle frame is a first in the paintball industry.
* Adjustable comfort chinstrap to secure goggle during active play.
Product Availability 
The Dye i3 Invision Pro Mask 2007 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
th4itanium Friday, April 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt proteus, dye invisions
Marker Setup: Dust Red PMR
UL trigger
PMR backcap
Check it On/Off
CP pro 2 pc barrel/ check it jr3 barrel
Strengths: .Very light
.Good vision
.Comfortable
.Antifog
Weaknesses: .Chin strap (preferences)
.Single lens
Review: As i opened the nicely packaged i3 pro goggle box, i noticed that it was very light as if i was holding an empty box. I proceeded to unwrap the plastic and at my surprise, there in fact was some goggles in it. With that being said, the mask is incredibly light. I tried it on and it almost felt as if i had nothing on because of the weight of the mask. The double layer foam and soft ear pieces add great comfort when your're playing. The mask comes with single lense and not double. I prefer double, but it is not a big problem. The mask does come with a chinstrap. I personally dont like it, but i think it's a personal preference thing. The mask fits very well and snug. I prefer this mask much over my proteus, because my proteus would keep on slipping. I had to wear a beanie or any kind of headwear to keep it from falling. The i3 pro is pretty flexible, but maybe not as flexible as the proflex. Still its a great mask for any player i think.
Conclusion: All in all, i think the i3 pro is a work of art. It provides everything a player needs to survive and win. It is pretty expensive which is the downfall, but you do pay for what you get. And with the i3 pro you get a whole lot.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Decy_4_ever Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Chameleon Mask, most basic masks such as JT headshield, Vforce shield mask etc.
Marker Setup: Between guns at the moment
Strengths: Profile
Looks amazing
Hi-def lens
Venting
soft ears
Weaknesses: Chin strap is hard to adjust in-game
Price (but this is about quality)
Review: Strengths:

Lens: This is by far the best lens i have ever used, the hi-def lens makes playing in poorly lit conditions easy and colours appear much sharper that are far away: making it easy to see back players from anywhere on the field when they are just showing behind a bunker.

Profile: This mask has a great profile small enough not to stick out wide enough to give you a great field of vision and gets you a lot of respect.

Venting: great through venting prevents fogging so well only had a bit of fogging in the lower corner where i had neglected cleaning it last round so that was my fault.

Sof ears: when you get it you are probably thinking hmmm soft ears will they offer any protection? they offer great protection and allow you to hear your team-ates easily.

Weaknesses:

Chin strap: good padding and a nice fit but very hard to adjust while wearing your mask.

Price: expensive unless you have a deal with dye but if you have the money it's a great mask.
Conclusion: If you have the money buy these goggles you wont be disappointed with them.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 15th, 2007 at 1:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jknight Friday, April 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invisions - Very similar to this mask (duh) but is heavier and didn't feel as secure as the I3 Pro's do.
Marker Setup: Planet Eclipse Night Etek
Platinum CCU Kit
Cure Bolt
1.1 ltr 4500psi full wrap bottle with crossfire regulator
Egg Loader
Strengths: - Very Light
- Fits very snug to your face
- Comfy to wear
Weaknesses: - Lense changing
- Cleaning (especially in the grilles)
Review: Ok this mask is amazing. Combing the weight with the padding that touches your face, you find it really hard to believe you are actually wearing it.

When i first used it at Domination it coped really well during most of the day. The weather was slightly cold but not too bad and didnt affect my marker or the paint i fired. I found out eventually that this mask does not like ONE type of paint that i did encounter and that is SPANK which is very hard (makes spec ops look like tear drops) and im pretty sure some people were firing hot. Anyway the SPANK hated the I3 Pro and the I3 Pro hated the SPANK as it took many hits from it and......well whenever i got hit by the stuff it threw me head in the opposite direction a few inches but the I3's never showed any sign of damage after the matches apart from being soaked in paint spray.

Cleaning these can be a task but if you do what i did and put them under the shower for a bit they came out mint condition.

I got no echo from this mask, team mates a good 40 yards away heard me loud and clear.
Conclusion: Very good mask, its a dye so you don't have to worry about quality issues. The one thing they could do is sort out the lenses becuase they are difficult to remove.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WesQ Sunday, April 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Switch (doesn't compare)
JT Proflex (a little lighter, not very good ear protection, didn't feel snug against my face)
JT Flex8 (nice solid construction, didn't like it after awhile though)
DYE Invision 3 (awesome mask, only problem was that foam kinda came off)
Marker Setup: -This is irrelevant to writing a review for a mask.
Strengths: -Very comfortable
-Very light
-Nice color lens
-Fits snuggly around MY face
Weaknesses: -Chin strap
-It fogged up the first time I used it
-Lens changing
Review: In the past year I've been through 4 different kinda of other masks, this is my 5th one and I am very happy with it. There were little things I didn't like about the previous masks I've owned. Had a Proflex for awhile, sold it and bought a Flex8, gave it to my brother, bought an i3, now I'm trying to sell that and I just bought my new Pro i3.

The Pro i3 is really comfortable. Again, this is all personal preference. I seriously was wearing my mask while I was laying down in bed watching Jay Leno. Wearing the mask for a long duration of time doesn't cause any discomfort. I remember with my old Proto Switch's, the second I put them on I couldn't wait to finish the game and get them off my face. But thats a $20 compared to a $100 mask.

The Pro i3 is also very light. I wish I had a Proflex with me right now so I could compare the two but I will definitely say it is very light. On the field the mask is not at all a nuisance, rather it feels like a part of you. Snapping your head out of a bunker to look isn't a problem.

I don't like chin straps on masks what so ever. I didn't cut off my chin strap on my old i3's, just in case if I wanted to sell it in the future (and I am). In my new Pro i3's, I simply was able to tuck the chin straps inside the mask in a way that it doesn't bother me or put added pressure to my face or block the ventilation. Basically the chin strap is kinda attached to a swivel, so you can move it all the way back and just fold the chin strap a way as opposed to cutting it.

I was disappointed today, the first time I used the mask. It fogged up a little during the beginning half of the day, but then again, the sky was cloudy and the weather was affecting everything and our paint wasn't breaking. I was just thinking to myself that I didn't pay near $100 for a brand new mask to have it fog up on me. Later on the day however it didn't fog up as much, even though the weather stayed the same the whole day and even started to sprinkle at night time.

I know that changing the lens will be difficult but I don't plan on changing the lens until its necessary. I haven't had experience changing the lens on an i3 yet but I don't feel that I should mark down this product because of that.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this product, especially to those who are still trying to find that perfect mask. I know that a LOT of people love the JT Proflex, its light, comfortable, easy to breath in and customizable, but if you're looking for something more, that feels better and has more ear protection, try the Pro i3's. It is available in Black, White, Red, Blue, Olive, and Gold and can be purchased at most proshops nationwide for an MSRP of $99.95.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jon eats alot Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye i3 invision
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
my gun is completly stock and works great
Strengths: - Light
- Comfortable
- Looks
- Does not fog
Weaknesses: - Price
Review: The first time i tried this mask on it was amazing it felt tight to face like i wasn't even wearing a mask. i love my mask and thats all i can say but since the minimum nuber of words i can right is 50 i better keep on writhing. It is very intimidating and comfortible
Conclusion: I recommend this to people who arn't afraid to spend money on a mask
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball crap Thursday, April 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
i3
invision
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom with e-trigger,gravity fed hopper,16oz co2 tank,anti chop system
Strengths: I can actually breath and goggles dont fog
Weaknesses: Dont like the tightning strap
Review: This mask was by far worth every penny.
On the field i am able to talk with people and can breath without the goggles fogging.
It is great right out of the box.The soft coolmax TM earpieces really reduce the sweat and provide great protection without the bulk.
This mask is relly great and deserves every thing i have said about it.
Conclusion: GREAT MASK.
If your looking for a great mask this is it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rommen Wednesday, April 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
What haven't I used?
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with RT, CAR collapsible stock, 200 round hopper, tiberius laser sight, double-triple gun sling, 20oz. CO2 tank, Freak barrel
Strengths: Light, vision, hearing, breathable, looks, comfort, protection, doesn't fog
Weaknesses: Jaw slightly exposed
Review: OK this mask is amazing. That's the only way to describe it. When putting it on, you immidiately notice you can see everything you normally can without a mask on. It is also extremely light. When running around either from bunker to bunker or in the woods, it allows a steady stream of FRESH air to your nose. Not to mention it looks cool. You can blow on the lens as hot as you can and it won't fog. Now the protection: First round of the day I got hit out of no where in the lens but didn't notice it till I saw it. Great hearing too.
Conclusion: Buy this now!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stalkin Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A plethera of JT's.
Marker Setup: Orracle 'Cocker with lots of shiny stuff
Strengths: Light! Comfortable! Vision A+! Sexy!
Weaknesses: Stock single layer lense fogs like crazy!
chin strap and chin coverage
price
Review: While looking for a new mask, I wanted a big window, light weight, good padding on the interior, great fit, comfort and security. A good price would be a huge bonus!

Seeing this one, I was willing to pay the $100. So I ordered and received the mask directly from Dye. I cracked that bad boy open and instantly noticed that it didn't have any lens protection film that I've often found on a new lens and that was listed on the instruction booklet. Looking past the really pretty amber tint on the lens - I saw that it was also single layer. I thought, "Okay... maybe this is something new for thermal lenses."

Yeah, I was wrong. It was a single layer stock lens. Maybe it was my fault for assuming, but I was expecting a thermal lens with a big dog mask like this. Reading about all the bells and whistles that it offered, I don't think a thermal lens is something crazy to expect - especially for the price. Reading some of the reviews here, I see that only one person reported fog issues. I've sent an email to Dye in hopes of finding out if it was their mistake during assembly.

First time using it - aside from the constant fogging - I loved it! It's comfortable, light and I can be heard through it easily. I can also easily taste paint through it, but I'll just play better next time. LOL! Lens is huge, but also is kind of a pain in the arss to clean and the lens isn't that scratch resistant.

I do wish that the chin came down a little more, not because of neck protection, but just out of preference. When you speak, your chin is exposed very easily.

-Ear pads are great.
-Foam felt like it could be better.
-Chin strap was uncomfortable, not easily unclipped, and the padding kept twisting around the strap - I stopped using it and had no issues.


ADDED:
This is what I got from Dye in response to my question about the stock lense.

Hello,
The I3 pro comes with a high definition single lens which has a scratch resistant coating, UV protection and optimal lens clarity. Thank you for supporting Dye and have a great day!

Sincerely,
Aurora Boling
Customer Service & Retail Sales
Dye Precision, Inc.
(858) 536-5183 ext. 229
service@dyeprecision.com


IF ANY OF YOU HAVE RECEIVED THE DOUBLE THERMAL LENSE WITH YOUR PURCHASE OF THIS MASK, CAN YOU LET ME KNOW. THANKS GUYS!
Conclusion: Looking back, if the mask came with the thermal lense, I'd buy it again. Comfort and protection is great.

Added 4/19/07 - installed my newly ordered thermal lense. Did a bunch of indoor matches last week and had zero problems with fog.


You should try it on, first, just to make sure it fits.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 19th, 2007 at 2:04 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SmartpartSuM Sunday, April 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott,32 degreese.
Marker Setup: 07 Black stock ion w/ q frrdneck w/ halo b hopper.
Strengths: Light, Strong ,Thermal.
Weaknesses: Hard to clean.
Review: love this mask!!
It fit's like a glove, but is light enough to keep you from tightening the straps to the point you get a migraine. Also, the soft ears are very comfy, are adjustable, and do not distort your hearing in the least.
My biggest problem is fogging. I'm big and I sweat A LOT. However, thanks to Dye and their I3 Pro, my vision was crystal clear all day.

On the down side, this mask left my neck and a little of my jaw(about a 1/2 inch) exposed. This is not a shot at Dye, I'm just including this for all the guys with big heads. So that they know what they're getting into. Despite knowing this beforehand, I still bought it, and have no regrets. Ironically, I have yet to get hit in the uncovered area...strange huh?

Conclusion: Its good price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sam68 Saturday, March 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proteus
Marker Setup: Bob Long Marq 6
Strengths: Light
Great vision

Weaknesses: Single plain lense, fogging will happen
Review: First off I will start with the good, the mask is very light probably the lightest on the market and was my chief reason for buying this mask, that and I also think Dye makes the best paintball gear out there. Vision is also great because of the rounded protruding lens shape; I also think that the venting on this mask is great for talking and keeping cool. OK now for the bad first of all PRICE wow $100 bucks is a lot of cash for a mask and for this price I shouldn’t have to do anything to make this mask perform better. Fogging is a huge problem with this mask I have only used a JT Proteus mask before this and it came with a duel lens, which never fogged up on me. The Dye only comes with a single plane lens, come on Dye for $100 bones this thing should come with your best HD duel plane lens which is what I had to go out and buy ($30) after the first time I tried to use this mask. I had the worst night of paintball in my life due to this crappy lens, so now I have a $130 mask that I still don’t trust so next time I play I will bring my JT just in case this new lens doesn’t solve my fogging problem. I have been told that the lens will solve the fogging problem but still should I have to go and buy a $30 lens right away.
Conclusion: Well the bottom line is if money is no concern ($100 + $30 for a new lens) and you want the lightest mask out there, go and buy this mask and an HD duel lens because you will kick yourself if you try to play with the crappy one that comes with it. I will update this review after I play with the new lens, god I hope it works or I will be going back to my JT. I hate to do it but I have to rate this mask a 6 for the lens, but if they put the good HD lens in it would probably be a 9, price being the 1 point deduction because even with a good lens $100 bones is a little much.

P.S. I also tried some anti fogging stuff that the manager at my local field said was “the SH_T “ and it didn’t even help.

I have now played with the new duel HD lens and it works great just like my JT lens NO FOGGING, so like I said it should just come with this lens to begin with, if it had I would have given it a 9. I was also told that the i3 PRO used to come with the duel lens not sure if that was a first run on this years mask then they went back to the single HD lens, or this meant that last years i3 came with a duel lens. Possibly some of you got the duel lens with the earlier 07 Pro's if this was the case. Someone disputed my review thinking that I may have the i3 and not the PRO but as for mine it is an 07 i3 PRO, with the soft ears, so I don't have last years i3, I do know the difference.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 2nd, 2007 at 9:34 am PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media