paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tacamo TACAMO Type-68 AK / Tacamo TACAMO Type-68 AK / Tacamo TACAMO Type-68 AK / Tacamo TACAMO Type-68 AK

Tacamo TACAMO Type-68 AK Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tacamo

Buy Tacamo TACAMO Type-68 AK

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tacamo TACAMO Type-68 AK
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The TACAMO Type-68 paintball marker was designed as a training tool for an elite military force in China. Reliable mechanical semi-auto with no fragile electronics! It was also manufactured at a registered weapons factory in the People's Republic of China using actual production parts where possible. It is the same weight of the current issue Type-56 assualt rifle used by militaries throughout the world. Actual Type-56 rear sights - adjustable for elevation. Selector switch acts as second safety. Quick strip stock and back block for fast field stripping and cleaning. Forearm and stock are actual wood pieces from military issue Type-56. Actual Type-56 ammo magazine. Includes real military issue sling.
Product Availability 
The Tacamo TACAMO Type-68 AK is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
kona156 Sunday, May 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a few tippmanns modded up to be scenario/tactice, they dont feel as real when things start to get ........ exciting
Marker Setup: I made a suppressor for it, which extends the barrel another 4 or 5 inches, but it make it quieter and thats all i need
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recommend actually investing in a company made suppressor, it helps with accuracy and quiets the gun down quite a bit, its still noisy, but its not as loud any more
Strengths: It can be dirty and still keep truckin through. and is also good lookin'
Weaknesses: The weakness is its sound, the barrel being the length and design.
Review: This gun is very reliable, if i could afford it, i would by all the models and use them to see which on i favored most. these guns are so reliable ive fallen into a bunch of sand, squeegeed the barrel added some oil till i could clean it properly then got right back with my guys and fired
Conclusion: I would say, yes invest in it, it'll be the best gun you could get ofr scenario
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cheyenne D S Tuesday, April 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
RAP 4 Gen 3 Sniper Rifle, BT4 Assault Rifle. The Tacamo AK47 is a solid marker
Marker Setup: RAP4 Gen3 Sniper & Tacamo AK47. Accessories ? More things to break. Simple is better
Recommended
Upgrades:
The firing bolt and the velocity adjuster need to be replaced in all of these. My home base paintball shop built replacements for my marker, our team's markers, from scratch. Karl, Paintball Bunker - Certified Paintball in Ottawa, Illinois
Strengths: Awesome, Awesome looking, weighted like a real AK47 (realism)
Weaknesses: weighted like a real AK47 (can be tiring)
Review: Our team has 5 of these. They are intimidating, realistic, cool markers. You won't feel like a kid carrying a toy when using this marker (grown men carrying those silly looking speedball toys at WWII scenarios.....no thanks) . Many of the parts are actual AK47 parts. Have had no problem with the rings that others posting here have mentioned, but we did find that the firing bolt was chewing itself up and the screw holding the velocity adjuster was too short. My homebase paintball store built us new parts from scratch to replace the firing bolts and velocity adjuster screws and the markers have worked quite well ever since.

They're loud and look awesome

You must use high quality paint or you'll gunk this marker up. Last scenario = 1,200 shots, 3 chops, fired well throughout with Marballizer. Shoots Vein well also. If you want to shoot $ 40 and under paint don't buy this marker. In fact if you want to shoot $ 40 and under paint don't play paintball. Quality paint brings out the quality of this marker.
Conclusion: We had to get our home base paintball shop to build us new firing bolts and velocity adsjuster screws. They work great now. But I'm giving a 9 instead of a 10 because of the 2 imperfections that must be corrected to get the maximum enjoyment out of this marker. This is a monster marker for looks and sound
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jr albright Thursday, February 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman x7
Marker Setup: m4 stock and 14" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
rail sight and your choice of scope if you like to snipe
Strengths: Very durable, easy to maintain, shoots through jams, very accurate, nice weight,
Weaknesses: Weight can be a problem for weak people
Review: This is the coolest looking paintball gun at any course i use it mainly for rec ball (team slayer or capture the flag) for tose of you who dont play to much but yes this gun is very durable the weight gives the gun a nice feel i suggest a remote coil because the pistol grip on my gun got 2 cracks nothing major but it was from my tank from when i laid it down the grip would bend but yes the gun is fast and accurate and is very intimidating. in the 2 months i have had it its jammed maybe three times but all i had to do was cock the gun and fire and i was good to go a really cool feature on this gun is the removable magazine which you can use as an extra pod or as a tool holder i use it as a tool holder its very convenient. i recomend this gun to any player from anyone who is starting out to a pro its an all around great gun and fun to scare little kids with also its a great change from the classic m4 m16 guns they are cool and all but the ak47 looks cooler
Conclusion: Buy it, its an amzing gun especially for its price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Victory2b Saturday, June 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5 and Custom pro
Marker Setup: I have the wood stuck version with no mods
Recommended
Upgrades:
Donít use a generic hopper get something like the qloader, it will look good and will help keep you firing more consistent.
Strengths: Looks Good, Heavier then most guns so it has a good sturdy feel and balance.
Weaknesses: Chops paint, cheap o-rings, Philips screws, difficult to dissemble and clean.
Review: I sincerely hope I just got a lemon and that no one else will because I absolutely love this gun but the list of issues I have had with it in such as short amount of time is ridiculous.

I have used several type of paint ranging from relatively cheap to tournament class (Signature, Cryptic, and even some White box stuff) and well it chops paint, lots of it. I guess I have to keep looking for more type of paint to try to bad I got 12,000 rounds still.

When it chops paint and you want to clean it properly thatís when the real night mare began for me. The manual has some simplistic instructions on how to disassemble the marker to clean it out but I had way too much in the thing for this to work so I took the entire thing apart.

The first thing I noticed when I took it apart is that whoever assembled it did two things wrong, not enough oil (No big deal) and they over tightened well everything excessively. I think I had to go to my shop and put it in the clamp to take off something about 7 or 8 times. This was very irritating to say the least especially when I got to the Philips screws that the used to put on the loading system on with that strips really easily.

After I finally got it all reassembled it leaked CO2, I thought no big deal I will just take it apart again and find out where I went wrong. The manual said that the issue might be related to a broken o-ring or the cup seal is damaged. I replaced the cup seal (Ironically this was the only replacement part that came with the marker and it was slightly different then the one that was already in it), a busted o-ring, then carefully oiled everything and put it back together. Needless to say it leaks even more air. I even double checked the manual and talked to a friend who also has a working one to make sure I assembled it correctly.

In shot it was made in China so I should have known better, oh well I will either replace all the o-rings or take it back to the store and get it replaced with another one and hope it works. Even after that bad experience I do love this gun more then my reliable Tippmanns because I have had so much fun playing with it even when itís busted and for that reason I am giving it a 9 out of 10.
Conclusion: For looks and authentic feel you just can beet it but if you want to actually use it the first thing you should do is replace ALL the o-rings, oil it to death and cross your fingers and hope it works.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tacamo Monday, May 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares
Marker Setup: tacamo 68D plain hoper soon to be electric 20 oz co2 tank soon with remote coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
none keep it original it looks great to realistic to change any thing
Strengths: Powerfull, acurate, very realistic, durable built to last like a real ak .
Weaknesses: Chops cheap balls sometimes.
Review: the tacamo is the most realictic paint ball gun i have ever seen lots of real ak parts on this babey built to last with heavey dutey metal, real wood no plastic acurate and powerfull and garanted to turn heads . 16 inch barel so no need to replace it with a aftermarket barel . I wouldent change any thing on this gun i would leave it as it is, far to real looking to do any modifications it doesnt need any . some people call this gun heavey how ever i havent found nothing wrong with the weight its the same weight & length as a real ak so its a benefit to the realisim . the onley thing i recomend is that u use a good qualitey ball becase it will chop a few of the cheap ones.
Conclusion: If u want a real looking ak that works good get the tacamo .
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BFK Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1, Pilot, Electra w/ eye
Marker Setup: stock
Strengths: Accurate, Durable
Weaknesses: Chop balls like crazy
Review: I just got this gun like 3 days ago fire about 2-4 hundreds balls. Use big balls bout 150 balls chop like every 2-3 shots.. clean out barrel did the same. Then fill another 100 or so the next day did the same thing. Then borrow my friends marblizer bout 120 shot chop about 2 balls. Very accurate at first but once it chop the balls seems to curve left and right. Its a hassel to take apart unlike the other spyder markers I've use. And the strap is cheap as hell try to take it out and one end just rips apart. I was WTH? Real Military Sling? I got my friend laughing their butt off at me now for paying for a gun the chop like crazy, real military sling the rips apart, and only accurate if it doesn't chop :*( ............... I don't mind the weight and loudness I could deal with that.
Conclusion: Its a cool looking gun very accurate if you use high quality balls, but once it chop it over it'll start curving. Hassel to take apart.
Overall rating a 3-5 ... not really worth $230 if i knew this I'd have bought the tippman x7 for $70 more.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 15th, 2007 at 4:10 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

barbourvill Monday, February 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann , spyder , icon , paradox , view loader
Marker Setup: all i have listed
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote line
Strengths: The barrel and the looks puts fear in the other team .
Weaknesses: Size and length
Review: good stuff this is a preety cool marker, it hits pretty much what ever you shoot at . you wont need to change the barrel if you get one. body is closed up you wont have to worry about getting hit and paint getting in it. it puts fear in the other team.

bad i can say more bad stuff about it. the size , is the same as a real ak, which makes it harder to duck and bob behind trees and other bunkers, also if you running threw the woods you have to be careful not to catch it on anything, with a small marker you have more free range of movement, like sticking your hand around and shooting, with this you have to lean around to shoot and becareful because youre exposed alot, it is hard to clean also takes a lot of time and detail this has a lot of parts and screws. with a tank on it its real heavy youll want a remote or a 9 oz bottle, its a real cool gun but its big

the marker is bad A** and i love it but its not a everyday play gun itll take some time to really play with it and get good with it looks aint everything. but it will hit what ever you shoot at very accurate very!!!! its loud to real loud . loud can help you and hurt you loud puts fera in them and loud tells on you also but if you aim youll hit em and wont have to shho twice. people say you can run over this maker with a car and it still be good to go ( NO NO NO ) if you run over it its gone. point blank . belive me i have one and im not gonna lie. if you want pictures of it email me darkwatch777@aol.com ill send you as many pictures as you want of it, even try to send copy of instruction booklet. this would be a better gun for play in a town like field then the woods. with this marker you wont wont to be point man or runner leave that to the tippmanns 98 short markers, you will need to stay behind and serve as sniper .
Conclusion: Be the back man or sniper if you want this to play in woods but in a field built like a town with buildings you will have a blast it will slow you down a lot and limit you to large bunkers you cant really lay low or hide with it.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

bvdave Wednesday, January 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing quite compares
Marker Setup: Stock tacamo
Recommended
Upgrades:
None keep it as is its great~!
Strengths: Looks amazing, feels great, just like a real AK, great accuracy easy fieldstrip
Weaknesses: Heavy (also a strength cuz its same weight as a real ak rifle)
Review: First off this marker was made in the same weapons factory as the type 56 AK rifle, so it uses many of the same parts, and when you hold this marker you can feel the amazing quality. it has some weight to it as it is designed to match the actual type 56 rifle, but unless you are a 90lb kid with weak arms you should be fine, especially with the stock, its great for taking the weight off the marker.

Barrel, it comes with a 16" barrel which looks amazing, I hear it has spyder threads but ill never change it, not only would it be difficult to find one that has the same groves to reattach your sights etc etc but it just wouldn't look as good, besides this barrel works great! I shot it alongside my Tippmann with a heavily ported 14" barrel and the two markers sounded identical, so its not quiet but its not a tank either. accuracy is as good as my aftermarket winforce or SP linear on my tippmann custom pro

The stock is made of all wood, not plastic like many milsim markers, its bvery tough and works great, if you want you can even take if off and play without if you want less weight.

I use a archon hopper so it feeds 11bps no problem and this marker will never jam up. just remember the barrel does not have a giant bore like most stock barrels which is why the accuracy is so great only downside is you cant use large bore paintballs, I find spank work great,

This marker looks great, feels great and shoots great, and at 250 its an amazing buy, you cant go wrong, me and my friend whom I play with both plan on using them together form now on, it will defiantly turn some heads seeing a pair of these on any field.

*keep it in a case during transport! it looks too real and unless you enjoy run ins with the cops....*
Conclusion: Great marker, great accuracy, great looks, best milsim amazing value, you will love this!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

woodsballa 1 Saturday, January 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
RAP 4 T68
Marker Setup: T68 AK47, Halo Rip-Drive hopper. Pro-caps Coiled remote kit w/ slide check.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None out yet, other than an electric hopper.
Strengths: Accurate, power.
Weaknesses: It's weight, and loudness.

Review: Good gun, but because of the weight it is not for younger kids or newbies. I like the feel of the gun, but because my woods ball games are usually pride ball in a junkyard with some next door neighbors, the power comes in handy. With the weight, it gives you a good feel. If you do buy this marker, and don't like the gun, you can take the stock off to lighten the load. One thing I didn't like is that it takes so dang long to take apart and do a good clean wipe down. Also, the manually that RAP 4 gives you isn't worth crap. I l
Conclusion: I love the gun, but it could be easier to clean.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Born Legend Monday, November 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
T68 Gen 1,2,3,5
Tippman A5
BT-4
Marker Setup: Tippman A5
Flatline
Car Stock
G36C Upgrade
Recommended
Upgrades:
N/A as of yet still brand new gun.
Strengths: Durable
Great Stock Barrel
Best .68 cal AK47
All metal construction (except ball detent)
Weaknesses: Could be a little heavy for some
lack of media it deserves
Review: Great Marker! with a great price. hasent let me down yet easy to take apart much like a T68. Extremely durable I shot over 1000 paint with one break just shot 3 or 4 times and it cleaned its self. Rap4 also sells this marker called the T68 AK47 its actually the Tacamo Type 68 with a different name.
Conclusion: I love this marker closest you will ever get to the real Ak47 because its actually made with Ak47 parts and manufactured in the same factory as the real AK's. Also soon to have great after market upgrades such as e-grip and other varients of Ak like Galil,RPK etc.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media