paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / DraXxuS Pulse Loader / DraXxuS Pulse Loader / DraXxuS Pulse Loader

DraXxuS Pulse Loader Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount DraXxuS

Buy DraXxuS Pulse Loader

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


DraXxuS Pulse Loader
[ View Photos (22) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 100
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
PULSE LOADER
Magnetic Lid
For easy quick loading
Removable Drivetrain
Fast & Easy Cleaning Access
Recessed Feed Cone
Gentle drive fingers for brittle paint
Interchangeable Battery Kit
6 aa's or light weight 2X9V Option
Low Profile Feed Neck
Faster Block-Free Performance
Wireless One-Sync Pulse Technology
Marker & Loader Communicate & Function as One for Max R.O.F.
Product Availability 
The DraXxuS Pulse Loader is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
william69er Friday, March 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: ion with pulse loader and mecdev air tank.some times ion is on ramping
Strengths: Hard shell,Long lasting Baterys,Short feed neck
Weaknesses: Have to slam lid closed.Very big!!
Review: i love this hopper i have had my ion on full ramping and i could not ever out run it.had the same battery's in the loader the hole time iv had it and only just had to recharge them today.have given the loader hell over the 3 months i have had it dropped it for my friends balcony and did not even scratch it.

i love the feed neck it so low profile its not funny.

the only two down sides to this loader is the lid and the shape of it.in games and even when just filling the hopper i have found that i have to slam the lid closed and the magnets hardly even work.The over all size of the loader is massive and its like a dam blimp when doing snap shooting but apart from that its dam alsum.

Conclusion: Very alsum loader and well worth the money.Even though i dont think it is very expensive to other hoppers over here.(New Zealand)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

splatmaster man Wednesday, February 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
vlocity jr with gangstar board- faster than pulse without rf chip
egg 3 - nothing compared to pulse
empire b reloader
Marker Setup: 06 ego
Vlosity jr with gangstar/draxxus pulse
45 4500 hp crossfire tank
Stiffi
Strengths: Battery efficient
Fast
Thin
Short
Removable tray
Rf chip
Weaknesses: Weight
Lid is very hard to close
Review: Bought hopper to see what all the fuss was about. Compared to my velocity jr the pulse is half a pound more with batteries installed. now for speed the velocity is faster with the gangter board. But when you put the RF chip in your gun the pulse will keep up with any marker. That being said buy the rf chip. If not buy the velocity. The velocity holds more paint, believe me I tested. and has a larger mouth lid. While using the pulse with rf chip in my 06 ego. I still managed to get it to mis fire at 19 bps with 3/4 of a hopper left.Batteries last long time id say about 10 cases plus per change. where the velocty only gets about 3 or less.


update ////feedneck broke off and battery door wont open to change batteries. changing review to a 7 untill this problem is fixed.. although when it does work it is the best. its when it doesent work that the vlocity jr rules.


update-got new hopper but the removable drive is very wiggly. Battery are a pain to put in. feels like its goin to brake.All in all Its just the fastest but not at all durable or relible.
Conclusion: Buy it if you can adapt it to the rf chip if not go for the velocty jr with gangstar board. its lighter faster holds more paint
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 3rd, 2007 at 8:23 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gunfightermatt Tuesday, February 27th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
halo
empire b

Marker Setup: 07 ego, pmi 45/4500, pulse
Strengths: Removable Feed Tray
Weaknesses: Everything Else
Review: Shell suck's it broke the second time I used it, jam's every time it's put on a gun no matter what kind it is, eats battery's like no other, the drive assist takes to long to work, it back's up the gun if you don't get to the drive assist quick enough, The lid sticks because the magnet's don't work the the one's on halo's do
Conclusion: It is a peice I would not spend a dollar for it.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer898 Tuesday, February 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo w/ v35 Got the job done to say the least
Marker Setup: M6
UL frame
orange bolt
top hat mod
CP reg
RF chip

Strengths: Easy Maintainence
Well built
Tough
Fast enough
low profile
reverse button
soft on paint
Weaknesses: Recent Lawsuit
Lid and drivetrain tight, until broken in
Grip frame gets cramped
Review: First off I have been using a halo for 2 years now and have never actually used a velocity (jr) or reloader B although i have tested them and seen them in action, which from what i see are the only other comparable loaders in the market. Also this review is with an RF chip installed and working.
Strengths

Easy maintainence---- to me this was the selling point of the hopper. no other hopper
is this simple to clean and maintain, simply push 2 buttons on the side of the hopper, hit the back, and pull the tray out. a little tough when its new but gets broken in fairly quick. although now after its been broken in a little, all i do is push the buttons and give it a slight pull and its out.

Well built---- no access battery wires that you have to be careful with when installing the battery pack, no rattling parts, looks and feels very solid.

Tough---- definately stronger then a halo. made from polycarbonate, and plenty of videos out there to prove it as well.

fast enough---- Sure its nice to have a hopper that feeds 20+ bps(like this one) but in all seriousness during open play and tournaments, there is either a cap usually 15, and if its straight semi unless your ramping(probably illegally) 15 is all you really can get.

Low profile---- the feedneck is just long enough to fit my proto, my guess is about 1/4-1/2 of an inch lower then my old halo. Again, Not sure how it fairs against velocities or reloaders

Reverse button---- a very nice feature much easier and faster to clear a ball jam then with my old halo. although i do miss the rip drive just in case the batteries die mid game, i dont really worry about it. if batteries die in either hopper during a tournament or something im pretty sure 5 balls arent going to save someone, (although its possible) and said person will still(probably) be eliminated

soft on paint---- although i didnt have any huge problems with my halo in this category, this hopper is much more gentle on the paint. noticable difference when sticking my fingers between the paddles.

Weaknesses
Recent lawsuit---- this isnt really a weakness against the hoppe per say but if something goes wrong it might be hard to find parts until this whole thing gets worked out.

Lid and drivetrain---- Not a huge weakness afterall it gets broken in quick, I was messing around with the lid and Drivetrain for 15 minutes or so and they were noticabely easier to remove and open.

Grip Frame--- I bought a wiring harness for my rf chip so i didnt need to solder the wires to the board, now with all the added wiring my grips push out from the frame slightly, not a big deal and if i would have just soldered it like most people do im sure it would be fine. again, not a huge deal though, the grip frame still closes and thats all that matters to me

Size and weight--- this, to me isnt really a weakness coming from a halo its about the same maybe a little lighter but coming from something like a velocity, which i hear are very light or maybe some lower quality hopper it might seem big and bulky. to me though, nothing to gripe about
Conclusion: all in all a revolutionary new product. I say this because no other hopper has a removable drivetrain this simple, or the capability of linking the hopper to the gun, like this hopper. Im sure the next generation of hoppers will build and improve on this, but for now its top of the line. Im giving it a 10 because I unlike so many other people read. people who give it a 9 saying its not perfect, need to open their eyes and see that a 10 is categorized as "the best" not "perfect"
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 27th, 2007 at 8:44 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pballman2020101 Saturday, February 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Halo, Vlocity
Marker Setup: Blue PMR
Smoke Pulse
Strengths: Fast,keeps up with any gun,fast,and fast
Weaknesses: Takes 6 AA batteries and they don't last
Review: I love this hopper. It rocks. My friend has one and it keeps up with his DM7 without any jams or anything. And it really feels like your pulse. It comes in smoke clear black and blue. Oh yeah and it is 10% lighter than a halo. Also there is a reverse just incase there is a jam. But you will never have to use it because there are never any jams.
Conclusion: You have got to have one. It rocks. Never use a halo again.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 19th, 2007 at 9:28 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

pbfreak555 Friday, February 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ricochet Apache, Empire Reloader II, evo 2 with z board
Marker Setup: ion pro
cp flame drop forward
cp asa on/off
q lock feed neck
12" two piece all american barrel
cp roller trigger
kila magnetic detents
smart parts firebolt
new designz qev
virtue board
DXS pulse loader
68 cu pure energy tank with cp nipple and dye cover
Strengths: Extremely fast
Cool design
Nearly indestructible
Consistent feed
Easy to disassemble and clean
Weaknesses: Weight
Takes 6 AA batteries
Lid
Price
Review: I got my Pulse loader because my empire Reloader II couldn't keep up that well with my virtue ion. When I took it out of the box i felt its shell and how tuff it was. I dropped it on the cement and I have jumped up and down on top of it and it didn't even crack. I was amazed by this.

When I put the batteries in I noticed the weight right away. It takes 6 AA batteries. This doesn't really bother me but it's just a notice. It's front heavy because the batteries go in the front. So make sure you stock up on AA batteries if you plan on keeping it around. The battery compartment is held in by a screw. Inside is a battery wire and pack for you to place you batteries in.

When I put the loader on my gun it looked very nice. It sits very low on it. The lid is kind of a pain to open and close. After you work it in for awhile and lube it, it wont be as bad as it was. To turn it on hold the button on the back down until you see a green light come on (this is for rf mode) Press the button again to see a red light. With balls in the loader you will hear the continuous pulse.

Since iv'e had the loader I haven't broke a single ball in my gun or barrel. It is extremely fast and consistent and it never jams up.

This loader is very simple to clean and take apart. There is a button on the bottom of the hopper on each side that you push in. When you push both buttons in pull the back part out. You can then easily clean the inside of the loader without taking the whole thing apart. When you're done just push right back in.

I personally don't have an rf chip but iv'e tested it in a pb shop and it basically talks to your gun creating better consistency. There is a great difference once you get to ramping.

The price is $150 so it is expensive but it's well worth the money.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a very fast and consistent hopper then get the pulse. It is the best hopper iv'e ever had and I will never get rid of it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

stump68 Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo b Empire Egg velocity
Marker Setup: Shocker with blackheart, clamping feed neck,trigger,freak,empire grips,pulse loader (until yesterday) 68/45
Strengths: Fast,easily cleaned
Weaknesses: Integrity,price
Review: The first day i got my pulse i was ecstatic,i thought it was going to be a great loader. I played with it one time and it was rippin. I decided to go and put the RF chip in the gun but i think my local gun tech screwed it up and so I had to play with the eyes off. It wasn't really that bad because the hopper kept up with it. I think when he put it on it messed up the solenoid board.I was riding in the car and i popped the lid on the loader. a few minutes later the hopper fell off my gun. I looked at my feet and there the loader sat without a neck.
Conclusion: This hopper is great until it breaks and becomes a paperweight.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 13th, 2007 at 3:15 pm PST
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

P8ntballstar08 Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B, Empire Reloader, The egg, pretty much any force feed electronic hoppers
Marker Setup: Red to Black, Angel G7 fly w/ the DXS tank (ultralight), new ASA, RF chip and a smoke pulse
Strengths: Speed, consistency, ease of access for cleaning purposes
Weaknesses: none that I can think of, price maybee (expensive w/ the RF chip)
Review: About a month prior I purchased a Halo B w/ rip drive and was extremely disapointed. I guess I just expected more from a hopper that costs over $100. Plus my halo fell apart all the ball bearings blew (isolated insident). Anywase I bought the Pulse at my local proshop, put it on my Angel, and played for the day. Let me say w/ the RF chip that thing rips. Thats all there is to it, It rips! You never missfire, no matter how fast you shoot this thing keeps up. It feels really solid as well. In addition to a nearly perfect hopper Draxxus threw in a removable drive cone, how bad a** is that. It is so easy to clean. If you have the money don't think about it, just buy it.
Conclusion: Other than a grand total of $170 for the chip and the hopper the pulse is a flawless loader. Consider this, you are paying $170 for a loader that will NOT let you down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dees_Troy Friday, February 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B, Reloader B, Reloader 2, 12V Revy
Marker Setup: Delrin Turtle Mini Midget Autococker
e2 eBlade with Powerex 9.6V battery
MP4 Ram
Tickler LPR
Twisted products LPC / front block screw
CP Shorty HPR
MQ Valve
Pulse with RF chip
45/45 Crossfire tank
Deadlywind Wisper carbon fiber barrel with full Freak set of inserts
Strengths: Fast, easy to clean, simple to use
Weaknesses: Expensive, RF chip not easy to install in all markers
Review: The long-reigning champ of hoppers has been the Halo B and Reloader B. However, Draxxus has finally taken a direct stab at the undisputed (until now) king of hoppers with the Pulse RF. I'm not going to bore you with the details of the Pulse, but highlight the differences between the Pulse and the Halo/Reloader.

Before we get started, let me explain the 2 different modes of operation. First there is RF mode (green mode). A small RF chip about the length of a quarter and 3/16 of an inch thick must be wired into one of your solenoids in an electronic trigger frame. The RF chip is pretty small, but some grip frames still may not have enough room for it. Green mode thus will not work on mechanical only frames. In green mode the Pulse spins its wheel to feed balls every time it senses the radio signal from your RF chip. The Pulse also twitches or pulses once every 4 seconds to ensure that the ball stack is still intact. The Pulse monitors the motor's power usage as it spins and doesn't stop spinning the motor until it senses the power change that indicates that the ball stack is full and the wheel has stopped spinning. Green mode is indicated by a green LED light on the back of the hopper.

Red mode is non-RF mode. Instead, the Pulse twitches its motor approximately 2 times a second and monitors the motor's power usage just as in green mode, stopping the motor only when it senses the power change indicating that the feed wheel has stopped moving. Red mode uses a lot more battery power due to the frequent twitching. Red mode is indicated by a red LED on the back of the hopper. The manual seems to indicate that even in red mode, the RF is still active, but red mode will be harder on your paint, batteries, and loader.

Size - The Pulse is about 1/4 of an inch wider and 1/4 of an inch shorter. They are about the same height except that the Pulse feedneck is shorter. The Reloader shell can be cut/sanded to match if you like.

Weight - Using a USB postage scale, the Pulse is 1lbs 4.8oz without batteries. A Reloader B with a Critical delrin drive cone and no magnetic lid, again without batteries weighs 1lb 3.2oz. The 6 AA battery holder was included in both measurements.

Speed - Especially in RF mode, the Pulse deals with high rates of fire and ramping better, responding more quickly with less popcorn problems.

Cleaning - The Pulse is the clear winner here requiring no tools to remove its electronic tray to clean the whole inside of the hopper, much better even than the suicide shells offered for the Reloader/Halo.

Strength - We've all seen the videos. Most likely a Pulse shell is stronger and will last longer.

Lid - The Pulse lid is a bit firm to open and close. A few minutes sanding should fix this if you don't like it. The magnets on the stock Pulse are nearly useless. My lid popped open when I turned the hopper around with just 125 Reballs and Reballs weigh quite a bit less than paintballs do.

Power Button - No membrane type stuff covering it so it won't look ugly in 3 months when the membrane plastic cracks off. It can be sealed with electrical tape which you'll have to do to the Halo/Reloader when the membrane wears out anyway.

Mechanical Operation - The Reloader/Halo use a spring loaded drive cone that belt driven to continually apply pressure on the ball stack. The Pulse doesn't continually put pressure on the stack and instead twitches and applies pressure using the motor only. In red mode, you can ramp up to 7 or 8 balls before the motor twitches and knows to start feeding which may cause a short hiccup in the rope of paint you are trying to shoot. Green mode doesn't have this problem and feeds instantly.

Drive cone - The stock drive cone on a Pulse looks much stronger than that of the Reloader/Halo. Time will tell if delrin or aluminum replacements are a near necessity for trouble-free operation as is the case for the Reloader/Halo.

Jamming - I haven't had a jam yet, though I've never had a jam with good paint in a Reloader/Halo. The reverse button on the Pulse will reverse the feed wheel for as long as you hold the button meaning that you need to press and hold it for a bit to (hopefully) clear the jam. The reverse button doesn't activate in green mode (according to the manual) until the next twitch occurs (up to 4 seconds). If you are in green mode, the Pulse switches to red mode briefly for about 4 seconds, twitching once every half second and then it returns to green mode. Basically, jams in green mode will take longer to clear, but it shouldn't take as long as it takes to rewind the rip drive by hand on a Reloader/Halo. No rip drive on a Pulse means no hope if your batteries die, but finishing a game with a rip drive isn't too likely to give you a win anyway.

LEDs - Both hoppers use a red and green bi-color LED to indicate status. The LED on the Pulse stays on all of the time and is rather bright. It's easier to know whether your Pulse is turned on in bright light, but it may take a lot of tape covering the Pulse's clear back panel to block this same light if you ever play in a night game. The Reloader's light blinks faintly to indicate status making it harder to determine status in daylight.

Other maintenance - The Pulse is clearly easier to take apart and put back together should you ever need to take the shells apart. You should never pinch wires on a Pulse. The Halo and Reloader were terrible to put together with wires to pinch and the difficulty of getting the raceway, wires, board, and back cover to line up correctly all at the same time.

Cost - The Pulse costs more. The cost of a Pulse rises if you buy the RF chip that is sold separately. The RF chip normally needs to be soldered into the grip frame, which most players won't be comfortable soldering it themselves meaning that the player has to find and pay someone to solder it in. Once soldered in, the RF can't be moved from marker to marker. In my case, the eBlade uses a small plug. I bought an install harness on eBay adding even more cost, but now its easier to swap the RF chip to a different marker with the same type of plug.

Capacity - Both the Pulse and Reloader hold roughly the same 180 rounds of paint. New shells available for both (though more likely for the Pulse with its removable tray) are a possibility.

Battery Life - I haven't owned the Pulse long enough to know, though I usually use rechargable batteries and frequently charge them meaning I've never run a hopper out of battery before. Another reviewer mentioned that the Pulse shuts off after 2 minutes of inactivity. The manual states that it shuts off after running continuously without paint for 2 minutes. If the Pulse is accidently turned on while sitting in your bag and doesn't have any paint in it, it should shut off automatically to save your batteries.

SPECIAL NOTE ON REBALLS: I did some ramping tests with reballs and I find the Pulse to be almost useless at feeding reballs. I don't know if its the smaller size or rubbery surface or what, but the Pulse jams frequently (more than once every 125 rounds on average) when feeding reballs. You'll have much better luck with a Reloader B when using reballs. Consider using a different hopper if you plan to play with reballs.
Conclusion: I'm giving the Pulse RF a 10 because it simply is the best thing out there now for pushing paint into your marker. The 10 is given for the RF mode. I personally feel that if you have to use red mode all the time, then a Reloader B or Halo B may be a better option for you. If you have a mechanical-only marker and don't plan to upgrade, then a regular 12V revy or Reloader (non B) makes more sense.

It's not entirely unthinkable that someone couldn't make a RF-based board for the Reloader/Halo unless Draxxus holds a copywrite on the idea, though you still won't have the easy maintenance with the removable feed mechanism. It would also be kind of cool to see a Pulse with a sound or eye activated operation to help with the red mode where the RF isn't available.

If you already have a Reloader B or Halo B and you don't need the absolute best, then you might not want to take the leap, though there is more than speed to consider with the Pulse. The easy cleaning and maintenance and reliability in stock form are compelling arguments to help get you into the game and keep you on the field longer. If you don't have a good hopper, definitely give the Pulse a long look.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 5th, 2007 at 10:13 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

PBplayer1202 Thursday, February 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
halo B - halo is better for price and prob reliability but the pulse owns it at inteligence

velocity - is lighter but not a good hopper shape and is slower

empire B - same as halo but not woth price

EVO 3 better on price not as good as anything else

friends custom halo - lol it is a halo that is faster then a pulse, IM NOT KIDDING YOU, idk what he did to it but its faster we droped tested it and on gun tested and its faster lol but it jams all the time
Marker Setup: SP ion
evy 2
trinity qev
trinity ion body
ND roller wave trigger
trinity slim reg sleve
extreme rage LCD timer grips
SP Q lock
SP max flo _2nd reg before stock ion reg and after tank reg
proggressive barrel
Strengths: SPEED! holy shi.t its fast see rest in review
Weaknesses: Nm prob weight which isent bad everyone says it is but it seemed normal
Review: okay

strengths - speed fastest on gun hopper ever (or so far) reverse jam feature (you hold a button and it goes in reverse freeing al jams,), removable housing, helps with clening/fixing but causes more bulk, snap close and mag close so you can do both, pulse trnsmitter is awsome but not exactley required no matter what its still fast, shape

weakness - price but it should go down i mena comon the halo was more when it first came out, everyone says its heavy but i don think its bad - personal opinion?, bulk? it seems bigger then a halo, umm nm really and the lid has to be "broken in", AA batteries which is fine but 9v is better, and trnasmiiter is awsome but kinda pointless
Conclusion: buy it or wait for it to come down in price, if not try i out , i know im gonna get on when i buy mty pmr after i get my NME in a wekk should have the pmr/pulse and DXS tank in about 2 mounths so get it and dm if you get the transmitter if you have the money go for it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media