paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / DraXxuS Pulse Loader / DraXxuS Pulse Loader / DraXxuS Pulse Loader

DraXxuS Pulse Loader Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount DraXxuS

Buy DraXxuS Pulse Loader

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


DraXxuS Pulse Loader
[ View Photos (22) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 100
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
PULSE LOADER
Magnetic Lid
For easy quick loading
Removable Drivetrain
Fast & Easy Cleaning Access
Recessed Feed Cone
Gentle drive fingers for brittle paint
Interchangeable Battery Kit
6 aa's or light weight 2X9V Option
Low Profile Feed Neck
Faster Block-Free Performance
Wireless One-Sync Pulse Technology
Marker & Loader Communicate & Function as One for Max R.O.F.
Product Availability 
The DraXxuS Pulse Loader is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
tviz Monday, January 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have never used anything similar but any fast hopper is like it unless you put the RF on it.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with:(backup)
Teardrop barrel
68ci Crossfire Air
Reactive trigger
Camo kit


Proto Rail (main)
Stock blue
Pulse
CP 14 In
Strengths: Speed
Reverce
Durability
Weaknesses: Cost
Review: This is the Fastest loader on the market and blows everything elce away when used with the RF chip. The pulse mode is good but the RF chip makes it event better. I have had no problems with mine breaking on me. The feeder part comes out of the shell so you can wash the shell off without damageing the chips and such. IT has a reverce mode to clear jams.
Conclusion: Get it if you want a great fast loader.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

EgoManiac777 Sunday, January 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VLocity
Halo B
Empire B
Marker Setup: Olive/Black Maniac Ego
Pulse Loader
ANS 68/45 tank
Strengths: -9v's or AA's
-FAST
-Easy to clean
-Feed Neck
-Anti-Jam feature
Weaknesses: -Price
-$35 RF chip
Review: I bought this loader from my local paintball shop for $140. As soon as I got it, I loaded it up with a pod-full of paint and saw how fast this puppy was. It emptied the 160 balls in about 5 seconds, which is pretty darn fast. When i put this into my ego's feedneck, i was suprised that it fit because with my old vlocity, i had to sand it down for about an hour to get it to fit. I played about 20 games throughout the day, and i didnt encounter a single broken ball or jam. When i got home, i decided to see how easy it was to clean it. I must say that the first time you try and take out the drive cone is a little difficult, but once it is broken in it is a breeze.
Conclusion: This is a fantastic loader. It is so easy to clean compared to most other hoppers on the market, it is fast, and the feedneck was perfect.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

DSF Saturday, January 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B
Marker Setup: Ion, ego, and hybrid cocker
Strengths: Tough
Fast
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Moves in feed neck
Review: I got the loader on sale at PBL for about 40 bucks off. I was glad to get it, since my Halo B was breaking up.
So i have not used it much yet, but i have been test firing it and all that and found it to out do the Halo B easy.
The pulse mode is awesome, easy on brittle paint.
Only down side i have been having it is rocks in the feed neck when tight. Seems like it not getting a great fit.
I shall update my review soon with more details.
Conclusion: Good loader so far.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ICU117 Monday, January 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B, Reloader B, eggy II, and III, vlocity
Marker Setup: SP Shocker, Pulse, pure energy 68ci/4500 tank
Strengths: Easy cleaning
Speed
Weaknesses: Price
Lid needs breaking in
Review: I jumped on the bandwagon for this one.. After all the hype I had to try it out. I didn't go for the full RF chip and everything though. Even on pulse mode this thing can keep up with anything. I did a drop test to see which would win. Against my halo b it easily snuffed it out by over a second. The best part about this hopper is definitely the detachable front. It is a bit hard the first couple of times you do it, but it loosens to the point were eventually you can do it without tools. My friend borrowed it for his electra, and it blew paint all up inside the pulse, wasn't a hassle at all to clean. Took 2 minutes and then I was back in action. The lid was the thing I was most disappointed with. It is hard to get off (compared to the halo b's) and generally doesn't move/snap on as well as it should. I replaced it with a ghetto speedfeed, but the starting lid was a problem. It has a shorter feed neck then the halo b, which might make it a little tight for those with qlocks, and big hands...

Conclusion: Great hopper, faster, and more easily maintained then any other hopper I've tried. The lid is a disappointment though. For that it gets a 9.5, but it only lets me do it to 9.0.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

balla245 Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
halo b
halo v35
empire b
empire b2
uped empire b (did 35 bps)
ricochet apache
eggs
Marker Setup: ion max'd
q-lock
s-rail on/off drop combo
freak kit
shocktech superfly bolt
sp qev
lucky led eyes (blue)
blackheart board
kila reaction detents
hybrid hitman 06 grips
cp reg coming soon
DXS PULSE loader
crossy 68/3000 with dye rhino

back up:
steel blue spyder imagine 04
cp drop
lapco low rise feedneck
jj ceramic barrel
12 oz co2
Strengths: Speed
Weight / balance
Removable drive tray
Strength
Weaknesses: RF chip costs $35-45 with installation
looks kind of
Review: The PULSE is a great loader. some people have had problems but i havent had a problem yet. the only problem i had was it's hard to get the tray out but i got it and its all good, also the lid had a hard time opening but just open and close it a bunch of times and it fixes itself (or get a speedfeed).

they can look ugly to some people but its all personal pref.
i was going to put price as a weakness but its no more than a empire b and it's less than a b2.

i say buy one
Conclusion: Great product, if you're scared about the bugs then wait a while but if your store is a good store and is run by people who aren't there to rip you off then you're fine.

edit: lowered rating because they cant be fixed as of now. im leaving the official rating but untill the problems are solved consider this review a 7
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 14th, 2007 at 10:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

_LT_ Saturday, January 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month24 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VLocity
Halo B
Marker Setup: Black 06 EGO with Maniac Board
DXS Pulse
68/30
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: Let me say this before I start reviewing. You DON'T have to buy the RF chip for this hopper to work on your marker. There's two different modes. So you can still use the loader without the RF chip. Also, the RF chip DOESN'T have to be soldered onto the board. There's a company that makes a "harness" for the RF chip. It splits the wires going to the solenoid and allows you to attach the RF chip WITHOUT soldering. I'll post urls to websites, pictures, and videos in the Comments section.

Strengths

Strong shell and a thick, short feed neck.
The shells made out of polycarbonate, the same material that goggle lenses are made of, so you know that it's going to be strong. I've only dropped mine once onto grass, so I can't say how tough the shell is, but there are videos of people standing on them and pounding nails into a board with the hopper, so it's a strong shell.

This hopper sits really low on my marker, which is great. The feed neck is nice and thick too. I'd imagine it being difficult to break the feed neck unless you really over tighten your clamping feed neck.

If you want to buy a different colored shell, you don't have to transfer all the mechanics of the hopper like you have to do with other loaders. All you have to do is snap the tray out of one hopper and put it in the other shell and you're ready to go.

Easily cleaned.
All the mechanics can be removed in one large tray out the back of the hopper so now you don't have to unscrew the shells to clean them. There's only 5 screws holding the shells together, so if you do need to take the shells apart, it's not going to be that big of a deal. Also, the screws don't screw into the shell, they screw into a nut on the other half of the shell. There's no threading in the shells, so you don't run the risk of stripping the threading in the shells and needing to replace them. If you strip the nut, you can replace them separate from the shell.

Battery options
The pulse can run off of 6 AAs or 1 9v, so if you're worried about weight, you can opt to use the 9v instead of the AAs. Also the 2 9v mod for the HALO will work on the Pulse I believe.

Electric Rip Drive
I haven't had a jamming problem with the Pulse yet, but when you do, all you have to do is press a little button on the bottom left of the loader to unjam it. The button causes the drive cone to spin in reverse, thus clearing the jam without the use of a Rip Drive. I wish the button was located more towards the center of the loader so reaching it when shooting left handed wouldn't be so awkward, but O' well.

The Board
Well this isn't necessarily a board issue, but the on/off button doesn't have a annoying membrane switch over it. They end up falling apart and looking like crap after a few months, and then they loose all their water proofing capabilities. The pulse doesn't have that problem. Although if you're worried about it not being water proof, I'd recommend just putting a small piece of electrical tap over the button.

The light that is used to differentiate between off, RF mode (Green mode), and Pulse mode (Red mode) is nice a bright so you don't have to sit there and block out the sun with one hand while squinting to see if the light is on.

Performance
The Pulse has two modes that it can function in. There's Green mode which requires you to have a RF chip installed in your marker. This sinks your hopper with your marker so every time you pull the trigger, the hopper feeds a ball. It's the same premise that the Reloader works off of, but instead of waiting for the hopper to "hear" the marker fire, the RF chip hi-jacks the signal from the board to the solenoid. So the hopper is reacting faster to you firing the marker than it would if it had to wait to "hear" the marker fire. In Green mode, the hopper waits for you to pull the trigger before it starts spinning. If you don't pull the trigger, the hopper will Pulse once every five seconds to ensure that there are balls in the stack.

Then there's Red mode. Red mode is what you use if you don't have an RF chip installed in your marker. The hopper pulses on the ball stack every .5 second (That would be twice every second) to ensure that there are balls in the stack. If it pulses and it doesn't feel any resistance, the hopper spins freely until there's resistance from the ball stack.

I use red mode on my EGO and thus far it's worked great. I've only had the hopper lag once and it was when I was shooting my marker in my back yard. It happened because the hopper pulses twice every second. So if you start shooting right after the hopper pulses and you're shooting at 15 BPS, you'll fire 6-8 balls before the hopper pulses again and realizes that there's no balls in the stack. I just happened to fire my marker right after it pulsed and that caused the delay in the feeding. This won't be a problem once I get the RF chip for my marker though and it really isn't a big deal now.

These modes eliminate the need for Break Beam eyes or sound sensors. That means that you don't have to worry about a ball breaking and covering up the BBEs or your hopper picking up the sound of somebody else's marker and trying to feed.

Weight
The Pulse is lighter than a Halo, but it still weights more than a VLocity. Weight really isn't that big of deal to me though, so this might bother someone else more than it bothers me. Also, I use 6 AAs in my Pulse, but I use the Energizer Lithiums. They weight 1/3 less than a normal AA and they last something like 5 times longer. Infrequent battery changes are a good thing. The Pulse does have a low batter signal though just in case you forget to change your batteries.

Weaknesses

The Lid
In my opinion the worst part of this loader is the lid. DXS says that the lid can close via the magnets, or if you want a tight fit, you can snap the lid all the way closed. The problem is that the magnets don't hold the lid down tight enough. You can barely shake the hopper and the lid opens. Well close it all the way then, right? Well the lid is so ridiculously difficult to open and close all the way. It's almost a two hand job to get the lid to close. So I sanded my lid down and now it closes wonderfully. If you get one and you need to sand it down, there's 2 little tabs on the underside of the lid towards the spring area. If you sand those down a bit, the lid fits much nicer.

Price
No doubt, the Pulse is one of the most expensive hoppers at around $150 just for the hopper and another $35 for the RF chip. But considering all the extras that you get out of this hopper in comparison to the others, I think the price is justified.
Conclusion: This hopper is, by far, the best hopper that I've ever used. Sure it has it's weaknesses, just like any other hopper, but it's the strengths of this hopper that make it a must buy for anyone who wants a hopper that will never let them down.

Please check the comments section for URLs to websites that have the RF harness, as well as some pictures of it, and some videos of the pulse in action.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

MrBuzzard Friday, January 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Reloader B and B2
Halo's
Marker Setup: 06' vision shocker
Pulse
68/4500
some other crap

Strengths: Speed
Strength/durability
Weaknesses: turns off during game
Screws
Review: I got the pulse for Christmas, and all i can say is WOW. This hopper rocks, the different modes are a plus. I don't have the RF chip installed on my shocker because i don't think the older boards you can solder the chip onto it, or it doesn't have a place for it. Also people say that its 1 chip per gun, you can un-solder the chip as easliy as you put it on. Cause i have installed 3 of them for my friend's gun's.

The only thing that i have a problem with is that the hopper will turn off ever 2 minutes or so if not in use. It has turned off a couple times through-out the game which really pissed me off, But whatever...i think it was because the batteries were running out. The 2nd thing i had problems with were the battery door and screw. The screw is so damn small it wasen't even funny. Then the door was awkward. I thought the first time i took it off i broke something.

All-in-all i don't hate over little things, i just learn to adapt to them. As with all my reviews nothing gets a 10 out of 10. Due for the reason that nothing is perfect.

Conclusion: Buy it if you got the money...One of the best hoppers i have seen in a while.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jouster666 Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B, All Empire units
Marker Setup: ATS System AT-4 w/ carbine Stock OR Tippmann A-5 A81 Sniper package , 4500psi w/ remote. Empire reloader. Bob Long Ripper (05), Angel spped 05 , Angel A1
Strengths: FFFAAASSTTT, lower profile than some of the others
Weaknesses: RT chip does not work with Angel or AGD E-Mag models
Review: Been waiting for a loader such as this. Very smooth moving, quiet and the "Popcorning" doesn't happen too often (Only when hopper is down to about 20 rounds). No heavier than a ReLoader or Halo unit and sits a bit lower so anyone currently using one of those will feel right at home. Also the additional reverse button to clear jams is a major plus. The ofered RT chip may not be needed on some markers. I shoot a wide range of makers and on the Angel 05 Speed and Angel A1 there is no need for the RT chip. For those thinking it will help well good luck on getting it to work. Everyone ranging from distributors of Angel to WDP themselves are saying that the chip will not install properly into speeds and the new 1's. Also may not work with the AGD E-Mag, but when I went full auto with the Emag at a full hopper. . . NO BREAKS and NO DELAYS with balls feeding.
Conclusion: One of the F***ing fastest , best loaders on the market today. Anyone complaining about the cost, IGNORE THEM save your pennies and buy this loader!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SwiftReprisial Monday, January 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
a few egg 2's and an egg 3
Marker Setup: PM6 with UL Frame, Kaner kit (the newer one) Dye drop (small) 68/4500 fiber-wraped Crossfire tank, Pulse Loader with RF Transmiter
Strengths: Tough
Fast
Quiet
Weaknesses: It gets heavy with the 6 AA's I'm runnin it on
Review: Okay, well I picked this sucker up a little under a week ago and I can honestly say that I have never been more pleased with a purchase.
What drew me to this hopper was the fact that it feeds paint faster than sin and is about as tough, too. I can't even begin to tell you how many trips I've had to make to the local shop (luckly, actionvillage's main warehouse is about 30 min away on a good day, so it's my local shop) to buy replacement parts for my egg and later egg3. One day I got fed up and bought the Pulse and RF 'chip' and gave the egg 3 to my dad-who also has rather disagreeable expierences with his egg 2.
The Pulse, without the RF Transmiter feeds VERY, VERY fast, but I did not do much testing on it without the RF. After all, since I bought them at the same time, I wanted to get them both sync'd up ASAP. Suffice it to say that it kept up very well with my PM. After I got the hopper and marker to sing together, it was amazing! What the RF chip (technically its a transmiter) does is makes your hopper trigger every time a signal is sent to your markers solinoid (the thing that fires your marker and makes the clickey noise when you are messing around with no air/paint and the eyes are off). It works much the same way as the old Intelifeeds the angles used to use with the reveys. The hopper is deathly quiet, though this may be due to the fact that my face is right next to a firing marker, so I can't really hear as well as I usually can, and becuase of the RF chip, the hopper is turning at the same instant that my marker is firing... also, I'm not sure how much a quiet hopper matters.....lol
The Pulse also feels like a tank. We have all seen the videos, I'm sure, but for those of you who have not, there is a video out that has a rather talented salesman doing his sales spiel and actually standing on the hopper! I am tempted to stand on one of my KIA'd egg's (yes, that is plural, lol) and count how many thousands of little shards it will burst into. After seeing the video, I was not sure how 'true' that was, but after just handling this, I am apt to 'believe it'.
Another good quality about the Pulse is its magnetic lid. Not too big of a feature, but I like the concept. And if for some reason you expose your Pulse to extreamly strong electro-magnets, do not fear, for your lid can still snap closed the traditional way, too.
I could talk all day about how fast it feeds, or just repeat what all the ads say and tell you that it feeds up to 42 bps, but if you are reading a review from this site and not just the little blurbs from the online stores, you already get the idea.... it boils down to this...yes, it is that fast. And because there is no eye, theres less to go wrong with, right? I don't know, maybe somebody who has had theirs longer would be of more use in the duribility department.

Conclusion: Overall, I strongly recomend this to any player. True, this is not cheap, and I think the RF Transmiter should probably be included with the hopper, but I do not have a degree in marketing, so maybe they have a good reason to not include it. I do have one question though... I am aware that you can use either 6 AA's or 2 9V's. The 6 AA's are all packed into a harness that connects to the hopper via the exact same "plug" you use to connect a 9 V. Well, that takes care of 1 of the 9V's...where do I put the other? After all, 2 9V's weigh a lot less than 6 AA's. Again, overall, a 10 out of 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 9th, 2007 at 10:50 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

skinner31 Friday, January 5th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
halo egg revy
Marker Setup: dp fusion pulse loader air tank 47/3000
Strengths: Speed no eyes small light
Weaknesses: Price and it pushs on the paint to hard so it brakes and is loud
Review: The pulse loader is a good hopper if u can afford it but i would recomend getting a rf chip installed because without it it brakes paint when it pulses but other than that it is a good light small hopper that can feed extremly fast and it is very derable
Conclusion: This hopper overall is overall good if u can get your hands on a rf chip but is bad if u have a ultralight frame on any gun
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media