paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Advanced Paintball Electronics APE Rampage Board w/ Powershot Solenoid / Advanced Paintball Electronics APE Rampage Board w/ Powershot Solenoid / Advanced Paintball Electronics APE Rampage Board w/ Powershot Solenoid / Advanced Paintball Electronics APE Rampage Board w/ Powershot Solenoid

Advanced Paintball Electronics APE Rampage Board w/ Powershot Solenoid Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Advanced Paintball Electronics

Buy Advanced Paintball Electronics APE Rampage Board w/ Powershot Solenoid

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Advanced Paintball Electronics APE Rampage Board w/ Powershot Solenoid
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 6
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Complete Drop in solution! This item comes already soldered together with Switch, Capacitor, Battery Connector, EXCLUSIVE PowerShot Solenoid and of course the Rampage board!

Just Replace your existing internals with ours!

Features a state-of-the-art RISC Microcontroller
Weather resistant Conformal Coating
Extended Battery life - Almost 3 TIMES!
Push button mode selection to change Firing Mode
Visual LED Mode Indicator

Standard code has 7 Firing Modes
- Semi Automatic
- Turbo+
- Full Automatic
- 3 Round Burst
- Response
- Rampage
- X-Mode

Tourney Code has 5 firing Modes
- PSP3
- NXL
- Semi Automatic
- Rampage
- Turbo+

User Programmable
·Rates of fire from 15 to 25BPS!
·Adjustable Dwell and Debounce
·Programmable Ramping and Turbo mode

1 year warranty

No Soldering Required! This is a user installable item!
Product Availability 
The Advanced Paintball Electronics APE Rampage Board w/ Powershot Solenoid is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
KornKixAss Thursday, March 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stcok e grip
WAS board
Marker Setup: Custom pro-
T tech fang trigger
APE rampage board
8 stage drop forward
APEX
Lapco bigshot apex ready barrel
pycho ballistics drop forward
custom milling
VL force w/ eyes
dark horizon bolt
Strengths: Extended battery life
like 8 diffrent modes
customizible
reliable
weather resistant
Weaknesses: None so far other then it took a week to get buy mail
Review: This is easly the best upgrade anyone can get for the 98c/custom pro
it's amazing for only 80$ this makes your gun compete with SOME high end markers
( not all high end markers i dont need you guys flaming me for this) its weather resisnt (whatever that means, ?water proof maybe?) it has 8 diffrent firing modes that shoots from 5-30 bps (AMAZING!) and everything on the board is custimizable from ROF to dwell and debounce its all changeable all though i still ahvent figured out how to yet =(
Conclusion: Best upgrade to the 98c or custom pro around and its relativly cheap only 80$ and it can compete with other more expensive guns

-----go buy it------
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slowerpig81 Monday, November 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
APE Rampage Board
Cyclone feed system
Pure Energy 48/3000 HPA Tank
Strengths: Built Well, Many nice firing modes, easy to program
Weaknesses: Instructions could have more details on installation
Review: I bought the Rampage to lighten the trigger pull on my 98 custom, and to get a higher rate of fire. I got the full drop in kit from tippmannpros.com, as I didn't have an E-trigger before. It came in a nice little box and a baggie with the sear, rod, and magnet. I read the instructions, but it took a little research to figure out how to put it in, because the instructions mostly had programming instructions. This is where I started having problems.

I had to look at a few pictures online before I knew the general arrangement or the components. The wires had little space to get placed (I guess this was Tippmann's fault) and were long. This was not the worst part, however. It turned out that the solenoid was too big, and I had to then take EVERYTHING off of the two shells and file/dremel out the area for the solenoid to get it to fit. It this point, it still didn't fit together all the way and I eventually had to call Tippmann to find out that I had to knock out the area where the battery goes. After I did this, I still had to figure out where the wires went and then I finally got it together. After some minor trouble-shooting, I finally got it working.

The Rampage Board was designed to be a replacement for the old E-trigger, and the instruction sheet reflected this. However, I think that because APE was selling it as a drop in kit, they should have included a sheet telling drop-in users how to install. The solenoid being too big may have been Tippmann's fault, but I had no knowledge of this when buying.
Conclusion: If you can install it right, it works great!
However, there should have been more instructions included.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

^Andrew^ Thursday, April 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Response trigger, I guess?
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98Pro Performance upgrades include:
Shocktech super fly bolt(not even sure if it help any)
Dead on Paintball pro seal (super fly and pro seal work together)
Tippmann Cyclone feeder
Tippmann Response Trigger or A.P.E. trigger
Dead on paintball RVA

Strengths: Water resistant
Lot of firing modes
Good quality
Battery life
Turns off and on automatically
Weaknesses: It goes through lots of paint
Review: It's got a good selection of firing modes, Here they are...

Standard Code 7 Firing Modes
- Semi Automatic
- Turbo+
- Full Automatic
- 3 Round Burst
- Response
- Rampage
- X-Mode

Tourney Code has 5 firing Modes
- PSP3
- NXL
- Semi Automatic
- Rampage
- Turbo+

User Programmable
·Rates of fire from 15 to 25BPS!
·Adjustable Dwell and Debounce
·Programmable Ramping and Turbo mode

To program is pretty easy, just look at this quick guide that comes with it and your set. Once programed you your done, and you shouldn't have to reprogram later, even if you have to change battery's out.

The wires are soldered not glued, and If you ever need to resolder you can.

The over all design of the E-trigger’s are clunky and can be damaged when you reassembling you marker. But this really isn’t APEs fault, but Tippmanns.

The board comes with a protective film, to keep dirt or water off. But it's NOT water proof. I don't want any one dipping their markers in water because of that little over looked detail.

I've seen people asking if they should go with response trigger or E-trigger, so if you’re having trouble deciding, keep these things in mind.

The E-trigger (with APE board) is easy to program, the RT takes some time to get just right.
The E-trigger uses batteries, the RT does not, but uses VERY little air, some would argue otherwise but I’d have to disagree.
The E-trigger (with APE board) can fire at 25bps (if your marker can handle it), the RT out of the box has a max ROF of 15bps, with tinkering and some new parts it can reach 20bps.
The E-trigger is easily damaged by water, dirt, and misuse, the RT is vary durable and can with stand harsh treatment, about the worst thing that could happen is you would have to buy a new RT O-ring.
The E-trigger has many firing modes that you can select, the RT has non, but with practice can be fired in single, controlled burst, and full auto.
The E-trigger is true full auto, the RT is not, the trigger is pulled once per shot.
The E-trigger is legal at all fields, the RT is not, call you local paintball field to find out.


NOTE: If you don't have a soldering tool and a E-trigger already, you need the complete drop in solution. It'll cost you about $20-30 more but you have to have it!

NOTE: If there is some confusion about if your maker is compatible with the Ape or any kind of E-trigger, here's how you tell.

If your marker uses a pull type spring for the sear or your sear looks like this...
http://www.tippmannparts.com/images/product/large/lg_395.jpg

the E-trigger will NOT work.

But if your sear uses a push type spring or your sear looks like this...
http://www.tippmannparts.com/images/product/large/lg_265.JPG

you're in business. GOOD LUCK!
Conclusion: If you're looking for a good board for you 98 custom or pro, I would have to say go for this one over the others.

I give this a ten because this is the best on the market. But in no way is it a perfect product, nothing in this world is perfect.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 22nd, 2007 at 8:40 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

mustang22 Thursday, January 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 with E-grip
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom ACT
APE Rampage board
16" Tippmann barrel
Tippmann 6-pos. adj. stock
Slidecheck remote
BSA red dot sight
Laser sight and flashlight w/ pressure switches
Raised sight rail
Stock loader
Strengths: 7 selectable modes
Power saving off mode
High fire rate
Strong Powershot solenoid
Cheap
Fast


Weaknesses: Slightly tight fit
Switch requires tool to change mode
Review: Faster and cheaper than an e-grip or WAS board and includes a stronger solenoid. 7 modes from constant firing rates to trigger speed activated modes. With ACT I've never chopped a ball, but at high speeds with a stock loader, It skips a few ball intermittently. To upgrade a standard 98Custom to the electronic grip, a lttle filing of thhe grip frame is required. Some of the wires have to be well placed for the frame to fit together correctly, The switch is inside the frame and takes a tool to switch modes, but is protected. Many adjustments make the board highly customizable. The off mode saves power and serves as an extra safety against misfires. The first board i got was fried but the customer service was excellent and a replacement was shipped quickly.
Conclusion: Great perfomance for a low price
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 18th, 2007 at 11:52 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Alpha Sniper Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock e-grip
Marker Setup: Custom Pro with milling of letters and cut off front grip.
A5-A2 grip adapted to a 98
APE ramage board
APE magnetic double trigger.
Tiger stripe paintjob
Proteam stock
Stiffi Barrel 16"
BT sight rail
Cyclone feed system
Palmers stabilizer
PMI remote
Strengths: Reliability
battery conservation
waterproof
speed
adjustibile in everywhichway
customer service
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: This is a great product, a huge jump up from the GTA e grip.
It shoots at 25 bps, much more than usual. At first i got the board and i installed it and i pulled the trigger, and all it did was go click click. I called APE up and after asking me a few questions, he concluded that it was an incorrect armiture pin that i had ordered from tippmann parts. I sent it in to get installed. I got it back, and i noticed something, i had a new trigger. Apparently, my trigger that got snapped in half ( it was a double, and it turned into a single, i know, ha ha...) wasnt working with the microswitch. They replaced it FOR FREE with the last $40 dollar double magnetic trigger they had. I aired it up, set it on full auto, and damn, it ripped like a machine gun! I love it! I have been using it for 6 months and i have only had to replace the battery twice!
Conclusion: Very good board. It is fast, reliable and efficiant. I definately recomend this product, without a doubt in my mind. The customer service guys know what they are doing, so if you have a problem, they WILL fix it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006 at 1:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chipbox929 Tuesday, November 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Just the Stock E grip and a friends WAS board(he still can't get it programed right)
Marker Setup: 98 Custom Pro E, cyclone feeder, QEV, 20oz pure energy w/ remote, J&J Elite Barrel kit, APE Rampage board.
Strengths: CUSTOMIZE!!!! adjustable ROF (25bps), TTP and RTP values. Auto on/off
Weaknesses: Go through lots of paint in no time!!!
Review: APE Rampage board is awesome! Its got 7 firing modes: semi, turbo+, Full auto, 3-round burst, response, RAMPAGE, and X-mode. That in its self isn't what impressed me though. Turbo+; TTP value can be set to your taste(i.e. I set mine so 2 trigger pulls per second or more and it automatically begins to shoot like its in response). Rampage; same as before... you set it to your taste( my Rampage is set to 3 trigger pulls or more per second and it goes full auto(20BPS) until you slow the trigger 3 or less times per second. X-mode is set so that you pull the trigger 3 times then on the 4th you hold and it transitions to full auto until you release the trigger...very fun! The Board is very easy to program/customize. 1 push button and a multicolor LED indicator to help you know what you are doing. Very easy to follow instructions. Not like the WAS board. I've experimented with the 25 bps and decided it was just too fast for the cyclone feeder even with a qev. I'd break balls quite a bit. So now I have it set to 20 BPS and hardly ever get any ball breaks. People that I play with always ask why my gun shoots as fast as it does and try to figure out what I've done to it. They just don't expect it from a Tippy. Rampage is by far my favorite mode, but I like to switch it up every now and then with Turbo+ and X-mode.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend the APE Rampage board. I think the guys at APE did an outstanding job with this board. Just keep in mind you will need something that will feed the gun at the rate of fire you set it to or you will chop balls. Happy Hunting!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media