paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (34):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
sk8forlife228 Thursday, December 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
04 Spyder Imagine (definetly doesnt compare)
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: PMR 07
Everything stock except I have a cp on/off ASA
Need to get new barrel and METAL BOLT CAP!
Recommended
Upgrades:
MUST GET METAL BOLT CAP!!!!!!!
Barrel (Personal Preference)
Trigger (Personal Preference)
UL (Good upgrade but Personal Preference)
ON/OFF ASA
Clamping Feedneck
Strengths: Fast
Light
Durable
Weaknesses: Back cap strips very easy!!
Battery wires to small and break easy.
Air Hog
Review: Ok were to begin, I did a boat load of research on this gun and noticed all the simple problems with this gun and said ok a gun that needs a little TLC to become a "perfect" budget marker. So I went on ebay and found one that said "Great Condition on used a couple of times." So i thought to myself perfect and it was only selling for 180 including a HPA tank and cover. (Which come to find out was in need of Hydrotesting, but im not mad about that its only 18 bucks) and i wanted an hpa tank any ways cause i only have a LPA tank right now. So i finally got to go test it out at NHINDOORPAINTBALL and i screwed in my tank and turn my asa on and PSHHHHHHHHHH!!!! Right out of the back cap. I was like WHAT THE HELLL!!!!! and so like an hour of taking this thing apart and going thru different tests to see what was wrong we found that the back cap was very stripped and just pissing out air. And i did read that is a very very very common fault. So im now emailing the kid that i bout it from and reeming him out. Cause if i knew from the beginning that it had that problem i would of already ordered the part and would of been playing. Instead now im pissed. But all in all the gun looks and feels awesome. Didnt like the trigger so I took out the trigger spring and adjusted the screws on the trigger and now it feels so much better. The gun is very light and Im still a little questioned on the plastic frame and eye covers, but I've read a lot reviews and they say that the Plastic is as strong as the UL Frame. So I can't wait to get the back cap and try this BEAST out!
Conclusion: Get it! Its a great budget baller marker! I gave it a 8 because of the Back cap and battery wire harness issues.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PMR+DXS+VL Jr. Tuesday, November 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini
Marker Setup: -Proto Matrix Rail
-VLocity Jr. Hopper
-Draxxus 45/45 Tank
-Aluminum Bolt End Cap
-Trigger and Trigger Frame
-Feed Neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger and End Cap
Strengths: Light, Fast, Design, Power
Weaknesses: Feed Neck
Review: I used to own a Invert Mini and I can tell you one thing get this gun. It is at an amazing price because of the new Proto Matrix Rail. It is a great gun overall is perfect for everything you want to do (Woods Ball and Speed Ball). I would recommend getting Red or Blue, I have Blue and it looks sick, you could easily make this gun look and perform above all the rest.
Conclusion: Get this Gun it will not let you down, I Promise!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ProtoPMR Monday, October 18th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts Ion and Vibe
Marker Setup: Proto Pmr, 68/3000 Pure Energy hpa tank, Halo B loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger, bolt cap(its plastic and will strip), clamping feed neck(if you do not have one)
Strengths: Its fast, very nice and reliable gun. Great and easy to customize settings.
Weaknesses: Mine will leak from the macro line fitting from time to time
Review: I have the 07 Proto PMR, it is very nice. It shoots fast. There are obviously guns better, but i enjoy my Proto and would recommend it to others. I have had my Proto for 8 months now, and the only problems i have had with it is that it has leaked from the macro line fitting twice(teflon tape will fix it right up), and an O ring broke in the regulator. and i had to take it to get it fixed. The settings are easy to change and it has a variety of them. I enjoy the gun.
Conclusion: Get this gun, and try to get the simple upgrades if u can.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Protofan509 Tuesday, June 29th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP ion, slg, 05 ego
Marker Setup: PMR
CP 14" two piece black/dust red
68/45 crossfire
halo B with suicide shell and speedfeed
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, trigger if you are planning on using semi-auto, but I use it for 3shot ramping, and new back cap, sooner or later it will strip
Strengths: Fast, light, accurate, rail, regulator, consistent
Weaknesses: Back cap, barrel, that's it really
Review: So I buy my PMR, first thing I notice is how extremely light it is. Only a few ounces more than the mini. I get it home and I throw my air tank and halo on, and shoot some old walmart paint, it shoots ropes straight out of the box. Consistent. I went to my local field and played and everyone was wanting to hold it and shoot it, they were all jealousss.
Conclusion: All in all, this is an amazing gun no matter if your playing the tourney scene, or playing rec ball, or even great support for your teammates in woodsball. Works great for any position on the speedball field, i play back, for its light for front or mid.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

G 2 Monday, June 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all kinds
Marker Setup: pmr
reloader b
ul
ndz trigger
ndz neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck and trigger a must, as well as a barrel
Strengths: Price
Weight
Performance value
Quality
Very quick disassembly
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Trigger
Barrel
Battery wires and connector
Review: I love this marker because at the time i baught it, it was at such a great price and performed almost as well as its counterpart, the pm7.. or 8.
You really get all the performance you need out of it but you do need to put a little extra money into it.. like..:

-A feedneck.
its made from plastic and also never really held my reloader B in place well enough. The feed neck actually snapped on me when i dove into a snake within the first week of using it, something that has never happened to me before with any other marker.

-Trigger.
The trigger is made of plastic and a rubber coating.. it just didnt do it for me.
I have very fast fingers and it just wouldnt let me shoot at my potential no matter how precisely i adjusted it to my taste. its also on the heavier side to pull.

-Barrel.
You will definitely want a new barrel. The stock barrel on this thing was actually one of the worst stock barrels ive ever shot on a higher end marker.. i was really surprised. Unless mine was defective then I would recommend a new barrel as well.

-Battery wires well.. they are so short and the connector is so hard to remove from the battery that it is actually a challenge to remove the battery without pulling out the wires along with it. Mine finally gave in and came out of the board which is really not something easy to replace since everything in a paintball gun is like micro tiny.

BUT. Along with these fairly inexpensive upgrades.. it was a marker that never let me down, great break beam eyes, a little tiny bit of kick, but it is to be expected as it is not made as smooth shooting as the pm8. the pmr has a very slightly kicky bolt, and unfortunately does not come with a an extra regulator.
Conclusion: It definitely worked for me and found that i really did not need to spend the extra money for the pm8 BUT.. if you are planning on performing the suggested upgrades and further reduce kick with installing a new bolt and UL frame, then you might as well get that pm8 because you are now spending close to its price range
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

merritb Saturday, February 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder imagine - LOL this makes me laugh
98c - well different gun for different uses i guess
Tiger Shark Pump - sweet pump, but obvi not a proto
Marker Setup: PMR '07 Blk Dust
Stock board
Red/Blk 14" 2 piece ulralite .688 barrel
New Designz red backcap
New Designz red feedneck
Halo B reloader
Pure energy 48/3000 Hpa tank

98C Pro
Expansion Chamber
Rocket Cocket
SP AA 14 in 2 piece
C02 tank(s)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New back cap
-better barrel, though stock one isnt bad
-fast loader
Strengths: -Fast
-Durable
-Sexy
-Many mods
-Range, accuracy, quiet
Weaknesses: -Picky on balls
-Not so air efficient
Review: The PMR is an excellent gun, especially for the money. Ive seen anything from the tiger shark pump, to the dm10s. with the correct modifications, this gun can basically be a dm10, sure it has a different regulator, and prolli more kick. but for me, ill take this gun any day.

i originally wanted a trilogy competition select fire. but my field directed me to this gun. and its a beauty thats for sure. came in a nice box surrounded in foam.

barrel is short, but reallly not bad. i go to the field maybe 2 times a month, and stock, this gun will perform well enough for me with no complaints.

However, get a new back cap, they do strip easily, thats for sure. plus you can add color to your gun. the board is very simple to use, the directions in the manual are easy to follow. eyes work great on it. whether your new or not, this gun has something for everyone. im a woodsball player, and for me, when i go to the speedball field, i guess i look like a hybrid. i have camo pants on, with and underarmour top, and a sleevless shirt, thats it. everyone else has jerseys on, hoodies etc. but what im holding is a bit different. i got my proto with a halo b, 14in ultralite, hpa tank. i bet i look funny. but when i come off the field people look at me like im one of the best at the field.

we played a game where it was me and a bunch of noobs, against a bunch of noobs and 2 people (one guy, one girl), both had dm9s decked out. jerseys too, the whole nine yards. on semi, which is the only mode i use lol im crazy, anyway, i ended up taking out 4 of them, including the 2 with the dms. the end of the game, the 2 came up to me and were like where did you come from?
Conclusion: Im a firm believe that its the person behind the gun that makes him a good player, not the gun itself. i started out with a pump, and learned some key values with that pump. i worked my way up to this gun. i wouldnt say its a beginners gun, just for that reason-youll miss out on important lessons. however, its an excellent speedball gun, and would say the best gun for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tophatbob Monday, September 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mini
G3
98C
X7
Marker Setup: PMR (UL'd)
Edge Barrel Kit
Velocity Jr.
HPA Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, bolt cap.
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Small
Cheap
Semi-Quiet
Weaknesses: Air Hog
Review: After plenty of use in both speedball and woodsball, I would recommend the PMR to any player. It is perfect for any position in speedball, and can hold up to any high end gun. In Woodsball, it can fire accurately at long ranges, is pretty quiet, and depending on the color, doesn't stick out like a sore thumb.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lajalex Tuesday, August 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, Mini
Marker Setup: -PMR Black/Grey
-Death Stix 14'' second edition
-VL evo3 hopper
-WARRIOR Clamp Feedneck
-WARRIOR Alluminium Eye Plate
-WARRIOR Saw Trigger
-WARRIOR Alluminium BackCap
-NDZ Trigger Guard
-NDZ On/Off ASA
-Ninja N2 50/4500 Tank
-TechT L7 Bolt PMR
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, BackCap, Trigger, ASA On/Off, The TechT L7 Bolt if u have money
Strengths: Price, Fast, Light, Look Tight when Up'd
Weaknesses: PMR Stock barrel Accuracy Suck
Review: Stock frame do the job very well. This gun work awsome whit the TechT L7 Bolt Better Accuracy, Faster bps, No Recoil, More Shot per tank and Nice Sound.

Easy to clean, Stock Board and Eye work good

Its a good idea to put a ASA On/Off, in other case when Tank on it there is a constaint pressure and it use faster ur Bolt and save life time of ur macro line

Love this Gun
Conclusion: This gun really good when Up'd
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 11th, 2009 at 10:52 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

808nemesis Tuesday, June 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Diablo Slayer
Marker Setup: Reloader B hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Backcap
Grips(preference)
Strengths: Price
Parts-lots of upgrades
Quality out of the box-dont need alot of upgrades
Weaknesses: Trigger-weak
Backcap-easily strips
Alot of small pieces/screws-easy to lose
Review: This is a great gun for the price.Its very fast and accurate out of the box.The stock bolt is very good.The only upgrade thats a must is the backcap.It easily strips because its plastic.The trigger is made out of a plastic/rubber that doesnt give it a good feel to walk it but thats by preference.It does get very slippery if you get paint splatter on it.Another thing is the grips and grip handle.Its a little blocky and also gets slippery when you get paint splatter on it.Accuracy with the stock barrel is decent but I personally changed it out in favor of a barrel kit but its also a presonal preference.Thers alot of small srews on the bolt which make it a hassel if you lose one or a few.
Conclusion: This is a great mid-high end gun for the price.If you cant afford an Ego or Bob Long this is a good way to go to save money but not much sacrifice on perfomance
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBplayer1202 Friday, May 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
slg (absolute crap compared to this gun)
proto matrix's between 05' and 08's
dye dmc and dm 4-8's
ions
spyders
pro masters
ephiney and eos's
shockers sft and nxt

Marker Setup: i have a blue 07 pmr with aluminum eye covers back cap feedneck and trigger plus a 14 inch all American barrel shooting out of a PE 68/4500 and halo B w/rip, empire freeway anti jam, virtue backplate and warrior paintball speed feed

i also own a 98 with 14 in carbon fiber barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
1st and formost a BARREL, aluminum back cap, aluminum feed neck, aluminum trigger (only if you absolutley cant afford to put a ul frame on it) and you can look into an on/off asa if youd like
Strengths: Fast
Light
Tight
Good Consistency
Maintence
Packaging
Stock board
Weaknesses: Not durable
Alot of plastic
Inaccurate


Review: The PMR is a great gun overall, but i guess ill just start with my first impressions. i first got the gun in the mail, opened the box and was very pleased with my purchase, the pmr out of the box was very nice light felt strong and over all just well crafted. programing the gun took a little while of learning but once i did it was a very simple and easy system of programing on the board, i was also very impressed by the stock boards programmability and depth of adjustment, i would never recomened ever buying another board for this gun unless you were to purchase a ul frame and obviously use the board that it uses. the first time i shot it was a veryu good experience, set to 15 bps on semi it stayed at a very impressive 176-285 fps over the chrono. for a stock gun with a reg that was never broken in this is good. during play it performed extremely well also it reached 15 bps on semi almost to easy and a ref pulled me from one of the games claiming that i was using ramp. after letting him shoot it he realized he was wrong and allowed me to play on, of course only after blurting the words "holy crap i didn't think those recycle bins were that good" (recycle bins is a name i hear around my field alot used as a slang for guns with alot of plastic on them, pmrs slgs ions etc.)
my first day of play was very good, the only problem i really had was its accuracy wit the stock barrel was not very good at all. a few weeks later i bought an all American barrel from a good friend of mine. buying this barrel improved my accuracy very very well. i played that summer a few more times and only encountered problems after about the 5th time of playing, the problem being that my feedneck had managed to split down the side. now i cant really blame the pmr for this considering the halo i was using had a very over sized feedneck and was putting way to much pressure on the neck itself. it still worked but only while making me very nervous and concerned that one day it might fall off. i played like that a few more times then experienced another problem. my back cap was starting to strip ( the part you put the large Allen key in) and eventually i was no longer able to remove it. once again i just kept playing with my problem. a few other problems i had with the gun that weren't major were the buttons for the board were constantly falling out, the asa the reg was attached to usually stayed attached to the reg and when attempting to take off the reg from the gun would take the asa with it, also the asa had alot of trouble screwing back into the gun. once the winter hit i didn't play at all (me living in maine with no good quality indoor fields at all really kept me out for the off season) once it warmed up again i decided to buy some new gear to get me back into the season. i bought some new clothes and parts for my pmr, the parts being a new trigger, eye covers, feed neck, and back cap. all these parts were very good add ons that i waited way to long to put on. i installed all put the trigger, it was looking good so far. then i went to install the trigger, taking apart the frame, removing the old one and sliping the new one into the slot. after being in it felt nice, but after this is where the problem happened, the eye harness completely split in two, not at either point it was attached to like they normally do, i mean halfway up the harness between the frame and body it split in half like weak pre cut toilet paper. i sat in amazement asking myself how in the heal something can be that weak, then i got over it and decided; hey, i needed na excuse to buy a new virtue eye harness anyways. but the problem wasent over yet. i was pushing the trigger pin back into the slot that attaches the new trigger to the frame, it got half way through then wouldn't go any farther, i took it out and tried putting it back in again. this time i was hitting it with a small hammer, it got very far in but got stuck at the groves on the pin, i tried to force it in all the way and it didn't budge, then i tried again and felt it going in, ( thank god right?). WRONG. the pin got stuck in the bearing of the trigger (it being to tight) and was taking itself and the bearing with it right through the other side of the trigger frame, literally splitting it in half. i was shocked and was completely speechless. i was left with one option, ditch the plastic trigger frame and buy a new one, now im ordering a UL frame and am waiting for that to get here. i should have bought one a long time ago but her i am now buying a new frame for my gun because proto couldn't make anything less then a completely plastic frame . and i also have to buy a new eye harness and trigger spring along with the ul frame, this total putting me out $200 to buy this stuff, keep in mind that originally i bought this gun for $250, so in the end i basically end up with an 09' pmr. (all aluminum parts barrel UL frame. etc, so in conclusion if you want to buy a pmr, god for you its a good gun, but consider buying an 09' first. im not saying you'll have the same problems as me with my pmr but just consider them, it might save you money in the long run.
Conclusion: overall this marker is a very good startup/ intermediate / weekend / recball gun

i wouldn't recommend it for anything more then local tournaments and nothing more then regional without ALOT of up's and spare parts

and always expect the worst to happne, never be caught unprepared with this gun
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (34):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media