paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  Last
        Next Page
sfx606 Sunday, April 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
protos,dm's,smart parts,
Marker Setup: Proto rail black
14in. Evil driver barrel
aluminum backcap
dye grips(which i dont really use alot)
halo b with rip/ angry board
68/45 pmi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel
Strengths: FAST!!!!!!!!!!!
pretty quite
okay on efficiency
pretty accurate for a stock barrel
Weaknesses: Easy to tear a wire on the inside but nothing to crazy
Review: Okay ive had my proto rail for about 6 months now and Ill admit I had a few problems at first with leaks but that was because my bolt was installed wrong. Other than that this gun is amazing. Straight out of the box I was shooting ropes with it. I couldnt belive it. The accuracy was astounding for a stock barrel. I just recieved my evil driver barrel from actionvillage and now its ball on ball accurate. Right now my gun is having another problem and there seems to be a leak because i can only get about a full hopper of paint but without the leak i normally got about a hopper and 3 pods of paint. Not to bad for me , i dont really care about how much paint as long as i can get at least 2-3 pods i just make every shot count. The trigger I think is very good. Many people say its hard to walk but i think its really comy and easy as hell to walk. its better than some of the 30 dollar triggers. This gun shooots just as well as the pms if not better. Its so incredibley light.
Conclusion: I would get this gun because for 400$ its a deal. You will never be disapointed. Just keep regular maintenance and ur good to go.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jeepdude1128 Sunday, April 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ive shot E-cockers, Pm's, Impys, Shockers, Ions, spyders, tippmanns and plenty of others. The only markers that operate similarly to the PMR are the ion, shocker and the various PM's that Ive shot and in my opinion, the PMR is much better than the ion and in the same league with every PM that I have shot.
Marker Setup: 2007 Black PMR
All stock accept for Black Proto Backcap
Halo B and 68/4500 W.S. Tank

2004 Custom Built E-cocker
E2 Frame and custom gloss black AIM body kit
Too many other parts to list
(For Sale!!)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aluminum backcap
Barrel Kit
Maybe a new board, but I have no problems with the stock one
UL frame, but only if you prefer it, I also have no problems with the stock frame
Strengths: Light weight, Fast!, Break Beam eyes, Hyper 2, The Proto/Dye reputation.
Weaknesses: Polymer Backcap, Battery is a tight fit in the grip.
Review: I bought the Rail as a Re-entry marker to get back into the sport. I stopped about two years ago when my team fell apart, but now I have some new guys and everything's great. But enough about me and my sob story and onto the marker.

I'll keep this basic and just break the marker down into its individual components.

Initial Impressions: When I first got the marker, I was amazed at how small the box was, easily a third of the size of the box my impy came in. It was packaged very nice in foam cutouts and I was happy to see that Proto included a full allen key set, a o-ring rebuild kit and plenty of Dye slick lube.

Body and Frame: The body of the Rail is awesome. The milling is pretty sick and streamline and I think the anodizing is some of the nicest dusting that I've seen. The frame is extremely light because it is polymer. But don't let this scare you. A polymer is a material that is not just cheap plastic. In this case, it is a modified plastic that has been combined with different types of composites to make the frame extremely strong. I'm an engineering student so I have studied this material before plenty of times, it's good stuff :). The fit of everything is great and lines up perfectly and smoothly, no manhandling here guys, its as smooth as butter.

Trigger: The trigger is polymer as well and personally I like it a lot. It has a gripy surface on it which is great for walking, esp. if you don't like to wear gloves. There is very little to no slop and don't listen to what some people may say about it bending under pressure. In order to bend it you must really REALLY pull hard on it and if your doing that, quit the sport. I took the spring out of the frame and I can pull ropes of paint any time no prob.

Feedneck and Backcap: The feedneck is aluminum in construction with composite-polymer clamp. It holds my Halo just fine with no sanding at all, and it holds tight! Just be careful not to over tighten the clamp or it will crack. I don't see a need to replace this unless it breaks. The backcap is the only thing that I would recommend replacing right off the bat. It tends to back after a little bit of shooting and the threads can strip out pretty easily. I got a Proto backcap free when I got the Rail so I avoided all those headaches.

ASA and Reg. The asa is a Proto unit which sinks up nicely with the rail on the frame. I think you can move it an inch forward or backward from center. It also has an adjustable pin so you can change when the tank is activated depending on what tank you have. I have not messed with mine at all and it works perfectly so far. The regulator is a Dye Hyper 2 and while I have not had much experience with this reg, it's supposed to be one of the most consistent and fastest recharging regs on the market. I have not experienced any shoot down and it seems very consistent, although I have not gotten a chance to chrono it yet.

Barrel: It's an 11 inch proto unit and It's pretty accurate for a stock barrel. From about 60 feet i was hitting a nice grouping, but there were a few that hooked. I was also using year old nitroduck, so i'm sure that had something to do with it. I prefer a barrel kit, so I'll probably pick one up once I start playing seriously again.

Internals: The board is the same one that is in the PM7 so its quality. It has all the major modes that you will need, (PSP, NXL, and NPPL) and the ball cap is adjustable as well as the Anti Bolt Stick, dwell and trigger sensitivity. The bolt is similar to whats in the other PM's and is easy to maintain, just clean and lube everything after every 1000 shots or so. The rail uses a spool valve which helps keep the kick to a minimum, I can hardly feel it. Unfortunately, it seems to be a bit of a gas hog, I shot a full hopper and a pod and a half on 2500, so i might lower the dwell a little. The break beam eyes work great and I haven't had a chop yet, pretty standard these days.

My only complaints are the polymer backcap, it seems like this wasn't made to the same standards as the gripframe. I doubt it would cost Proto that much more to have made the backcap aluminum from the start. Also, it takes a bit of work to get the battery in so it wont pull on the harness, this seems like a weak point to me. Even with some finagling, the battery harness has to sit on top of the battery which kind of prevents the left grip panel from sitting flush. This could just be for me though.

This is just an initial review, my friend destroyed my ankle and i've been in cast for the past month and haven't gotten a chance to mess around with it any more or play a tourney. I'll update as soon as I have more experiences with the Rail.



Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this product for players that have some experience playing. People who have never played that go out and buy this thinking it will be an easy beginning marker are mistaken. You have to know what your doing to keep from screwing things up on this marker and its important to read the manual. But its a great marker and it looks like it will be reliable for tourney play. I give the PMR a 10 so far because what you get for the price far exceeded my expectations.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

lucifer_sam Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DP Fusion - slightly more accurate and efficient
Shocker NXT - comparable accuracy and efficiency, but ROF unsatisfactory
ICD ProMaster - crappy regulator, terrible board
Ion - bad regulator, board, valve, feedneck, etc.
Impulse - ditto
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail:
- NDZ Pro Lite Frame
- NDZ Roller Trigger
- NDZ Clamping Feedneck
- NDZ Aluminum End Cap
- NDZ Aluminum Eye Covers
- NDZ Bottomline w/ On/Off
- Smart Parts Angle Drop
- Powerlyte Scepter 2007
- DXS Pulse w/ RF module
- DXS 68 CI / 4500 PSI fiber-wrapped HPA system
- NXE Dynasty Tank Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel - Freak, Redz, or Powerlyte systems good
Aluminum end cap
Roller trigger (maybe)
Strengths: Consistent regulator
Very fast board
Light-weight & ergonomic body
Weaknesses: Slight gas hog
End cap unscrews and strips
No LPR
Review: This marker is by far one of my favorite medium-range markers, for good reason. It is outclassed by only the Dangerous Power Fusion (which doesn't even use a spool valve). The Rail has the same board and regulator as the DM7, and its specs are damn close to it as well. It is certainly an excellent choice for a frontman, even stock system. Objectively, I'll try to explain why...

BODY: The PMR is essentially a frontman's marker, and for good reason. It's size is comparable only to the Invert Mini, with a tiny profile but a huge appetite for destruction. Measuring a little over the DM7, its profile is much smaller than any other marker due to integrated technology such as the ergonomic 45 frame, low-rise feedneck (which is nonetheless big enough for your widest loaders), and a small indentation in the trigger guard which provides a nice place to hold the marker. The marker is significantly lighter than even the newest DM, but with a small downside (comparable to the DMC).

The anodization on the aluminum components is especially good, without much cause for complaint. However, Proto took a different approach to some of the weaker components. They replaced the aluminum frame, eye plates, locking feedneck, trigger, and quite mistakenly, the end cap, with a composite material that reduces the marker's weight. Actually, most parts are not affected by the implastination, but the end cap uses a heavy guage allen key, and eventually (by your second use thereof), it will either strip or become a circular allen key. I suppose my toolbox is slightly outdated, but I don't have a circular allen head wrench.

BOARD: The Rail's board is merely the same as the DM7, albeit without the option of customization with different chips. This is basically a nonissue, because its settings can be adjusted every which way, including ROF, fire mode, dwell, anti-bolt stick, debounce, and anti-FSDO (first shot dropoff). It has the ability to customize to whatever setting you desire, and it offers three firing settings (semi, PSP and Millennium modes) with a "hidden" fourth setting (NXL). Also, of note is the maximum board speed, a ROF of 30 BPS. This is higher than any other stock board on the planet, save for an Ego. So go ahead, buy that Pulse/V35, the board can certainly keep up with it.

VALVE / OPERATION: The marker operates using an integrated spool valve, a very slight modification to Smart Parts' own valve. A three-piece bolt system is operated by a solenoid which delivers air to the manifold. Once the bolt is pushed forward, a small internal outlet allows the high-pressure air still in the manifold to transverse through it and back into the bolt again, pushing the ball further forward and enabling a much lower standard operating pressure. However, as the bolt is repositioned in the manifold, air must be displaced via the end cap, and so, the marker expends some gas releasing it. Note that the end cap also draws in that air as the bolt is sent forward. This is why the marker is capable of such high cycle speeds, but at the same time consumes more gas with each stroke, as the manifold must perform work to allow air to be drawn through the end cap.

As of this moment, there are no viable options for bolt replacement. Orange and Techt offer higher efficiency bolts, but it seems noone has yet reaped the benefits of their $60 cost.

REGULATOR: This is nearly why I bought the marker in the first place. The Hyper2 Inline Regulator is perhaps the best on the planet due to its high consistency. The stock marker does not offer a guage to see this happening, but no matter, for a frontman, it would be in the way anyways. A secondary regulator (like on Intimidators) is completely unnecessary, as the Hyper2 has been proven to have the strongest in the way of regulating standard air pressure, and I believe the stock system on the Rail has a capacity of 50-450 PSI, a great asset to the player. However, the Hyper2 isn't strong enough yet to regulate carbon dioxide, so it's up to HPA to give you the power you need, The Hyper2 also has a swivel gear, so you can put your macro wherever you see fit. The Bob Long Torpedo, Palmer's Stabilizer, and Custom Products Regulator are the only ones in the same class as the Hyper2, and the Hyper2 outclasses them with its versatility and consistency.

Conversely, the Hyper2 HPR on the PMR is the only regulator on the marker. I suppose with its lower cost Dye felt the addition of an LPR might be a little bit of a cash cow. The absence of a LPR does change the mechanics of the marker; more air is required to send the bolt forward and induce the power stroke. There is far less leeway in terms of operating pressure due to the sensitivity of the solenoid. Furthermore, the spool valve operating system eats much of the energy which the expansion produces. Although cycle time is slightly improved, the absence of an LPR completely prevents the use of CO2 and can induce shootdown at high rates of fire.

BARREL: The stock Rail barrel is simply a Proto one-piece, 12", .690 bore barrel. The inside is polished to a mirror finish, which allows the ball to transverse it without fear of barrel break. It is also supremely quiet, with six-inch ports running down four points of trajectory. However, the barrel is slightly too large for most sizes of paint, and consequently, the ball isn't as fast as it could be. In addition, though the ports make the barrel very quiet, they also reduce the time in which the ball is in contact with the marker's air supply, further reducing muzzle velocity. You should definitely upgrade the stock barrel. Dye Ultralite barrels seem to work well.

AESTHETICS: Overall, I think the Rail is an exceptionally sexy marker, with beautiful 3D milling and a nice dusted exterior. There is nothing wholly wrong with the design, and it seems to have the trademark streamlined design that follows with all Dye models. It looks good on the shelf, better in the hand, and flawless on the field.
Conclusion: The Proto Rail is an exceptional product, especially for under $500. Although the intergration of composite parts makes the marker somewhat temperamental, a state-of-the-art board and regulator provide the marker with some of the fastest and most consistent rates of fire in the market. Even if it is a bit of a gas hog, the PMR has capabilities which outclass even some of the "better" markers, like the Shocker NXT.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 15th, 2007 at 4:34 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MustardPMR Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
My first time using an electric Marker, Tippmanns and Cockers before this.
Marker Setup: Red Proto Matrix Rail
Anodized Aluminum Back Cap (Red)
2 Piece Smart Parts with All-American Tip (taken from my Cocker, Getting Freak Kit soon)
Vlocity Loader
Pure Energy 68/4500 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barell, Stock barrell is what it is, and in my opinion isn't that great.
A loader that can keep up to it. (Halo, Pulse, Vlocity etc)
A trigger if your interested, I personally dont mind the feel of the stock one, and yes there is some side play in the trigger.
Maybe an UL Frame, I dont see the point, but thats just me.
A new board, Virtue, Musashi whatever u want, just makes changing modes easier without going into the frame. (my next up)
Metal Back cap, you can replace it as I did, but the stock one is fine if you dont go all hulk on it.
Strengths: Unbeliveably Light
Very quick
Very Cheap, 420$ Canadian
Feed Neck is awesome
Weaknesses: Grip is kind of weak ( gets chewed up easily)
Stock Barell
Review: I just got this gun about 3 weeks ago, had my first true field test yesterday. This gun is awesome, Its very light and makes moving/running around alot easier, and if you put a decent barell on it, it is incredibly accurate. I found it to be a bit of an air hog, but maybe thats just me. If you are looking for a starter electric and you dont want an Ion, like me then this is worth every last penny!!! Coming from a trilogy series cocker this thing is just what I was looking for.
Conclusion: Excellect gun, if you have the cash and need a excellent marker for under 500$ this is it, look no further.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 7th, 2007 at 5:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbkidion Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing really maybe an ion if you can count that
Marker Setup: proto rail olive
empire reloader b w/ hybrid shell
72/CI 3000/PSI AIR TANK
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really a new barrel idk any marker out there that couldnt use a better barrel/.
Probably a back cap,
and a trigger thats personal preference.
Strengths: See review...................
Weaknesses: See review..............
Review: This is a great performer and ill tell you why this thing is fast really fast and it can keep up with that because of the great reg it come with stock. The barrel is really not that bad for what you pay for it which is very accurate. The grip frame is very very comfortable the composite does not really bother me aswell as the trigger which takes some getting used to but after your used to it its really quite nice. Now the back cap people complain about it stripping and backing out ect. It really dosn`t ive shot about 2k round through it with reballs and paintballs works just fine never backs out though i plan on buying an aluminum one but that wil be another day. now on the performance with some walmart paint(dont get on me about this it was left over from testing my ion) i was shooting in about a two inch spread which blew me away at first which was about two pods and i went down two 2k psi from 3k psi which im like wow that really not that bad. when i got it stock it was shooting very consistantly out of the box with a change of +3 -3 which is great. After the break in period i can get about a hopper and 4 pods out of a fill of about 3k psi. The feedneck does a great job doing what its made for.

Edit:ive had a very annoying problem i had like 6 orings go bad on me at once it was quite annoying and it was impossible to trouble shoot it i followed the directions and changed every oring it said could go bad changed all of them, still i had this ginormous leak coming from the bolt it was so bad i had to call a proshop and see if they could help me with it called them and they said it was a huge leak and i changed the sail oring like i was supposed to and it stopped im not sure about the back leak i had it seams to have stop. Other than this it is shooting great!
Conclusion: Well if you are in the market for a high end marker that will perform well and compete with the best then i would definetly look into it for the money. Words of advice get a really fast hopper like an empire b or b2 loader,and be ready for oring madness but once you have a leak you should have any again. Good luck on your marker choice and i will update as i play more.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 17th, 2007 at 8:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xsvpb Thursday, April 5th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts ion- Excelent
smart parts epiphany-Very Good
mongoose - Good
Marker Setup: Well all stock because the gun was a waste of time.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you do buy one and have to keep it i recomend a new firebolt,trigger and a new barrel.
And a custom paint job like me.
Strengths: If anything,it can shoot almost straight which every gun is supposed to do!
Weaknesses: Everything except for the above. Not many shops stock spare parts.
Review: Well this was a complete waste of time. I had black fade to red and thinking this gun was the bees knees, i found out that it far to heavy especialy once i attached the air. However the gun does look the part but it doesn't perform so well. You also need to purchase alot of upgrades, which, quite frankly i couldnt be bothered to buy. I would recomend getting a smart parts marker or an angel marker because smart parts markers can be purchased relativley cheaply and give a quality performance and angel markers also provide a stunning performance and both types of gun are well worth the money.
Conclusion: This marker was a total wate of money. For what it is, it is very over priced and i regret ever buying this marker. Also selling it provided a challenge even from brand new. I urge others not to make the same mistake i did and to purchase a good marker because at the end of the day paintball is about having fun and its even better when you have a quality marker.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 5th, 2007 at 6:36 am PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

pizza boy Wednesday, April 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ion sadly,Dm7,pm7,ego07
Marker Setup: Pmr
Dye ultralight 14' barrel
dye ultralight frame
cp ASA
virtue board
slik trigger
...............................................
Ion
Freek barrel kit
max flow
dynasty body kit
45/4500 Dye tank
empire tank cover
halo B rip drive v35 board and speed feed
virtue board
cp trigger
Qev
Fire bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
New asa
new barrel
maybe ultralight frame if u really want it
new back cap
new trigger
Strengths: Fast
small
light



Weaknesses: Stock trigger is to rubbery
Back cap strips
To many threads on gun
Review: K so i opened up this gun after picking it up at badlands cuz my ion was pissing me off.
when i was going to test it i realized that the asa was crap so it needs to be replaced. The trigger at first was annoying its like wearing gloves cuz it kind of sticks 2 your fingers because it is coated in rubber.i started to actually play with the new trigger and it was ripping it was so fast and accurate with the new barrel. it is an awesome gun and it is so light when u run up and down the field its like carrying nothing.It also takes like 20 minutes to put the damn barrel in to many threads on it.The second time cleaning it the cap striped so i needed to get a new won which pissed me off

The bottom line is with some minor upgrades this gun is awesome if you was a high end gun but dont got lots of money on you this is the gun to get
Conclusion: Buy this gun now stop reading and buy it
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 4th, 2007 at 7:48 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ionhotshot Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5, PM6, DM4, DM5, I guess you could say Ion...similar but not exactly the same
Marker Setup: PM6, UL barrel, Eggy3, 48/4500 DXS tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
BACK CAP!!!
Trigger, barrel...not much else.
Strengths: Light weight, comfortable in the hands, good looks, Hyperline 2 reg.
Weaknesses: Plastic back cap strips and unscrews
Mine had solenoid problems.
Review: Ok, so I got my PMR brand new, and I was totally excited to get it, as it looked so cool.

Took it out, lubed it (although it wasn't really needed, only did it to become familiar with the gun,) gassed it up and put paintballs in it, shot it, and everything worked perfectly. I put it back in the box when I was done, and stored it lovingly in my closet.

School, girls, and life kept me out of paintball for a while, and didn't use the PMR for a little over a month.

Finally, got the chance to play again, so I took the PMR out of it's box, lubed it again, and went into my backyard to dry fire it just for fun. It didn't fire. The board would turn on, air would go to the bolt, but no discharge.
I took the PMR apart, and saw that the solenoid wire that connected to the board was a bit...damaged. It had a crappy solder job, and the little white cap that connects the wire to the board was loose and wouldn't connect all the way.

I took some small needle-nose plyers to it, and finally got the noid to start clicking again. I put the grips back on to shoot it, and the gun woudn't fire. I took the grips off again, and noticed that the wire had become disconnected in the brief second it took me to screw the grips back on.

Then I started playing with the wire...wiggling it back and forth and such, in an attempt to find out what was wrong with it. Turns out the plastic connector was just really crappy, and would unplug at the slightest (and when I say "slightest," I mean SLIGHTEST) touch.

I guess it's not a big deal, just needed to be re-soldered and maybe needs a new wire...I don't know for sure.

Another problem I had with the PMR was the stock plastic back cap. On about the 4th time of taking the bolt out to relube it, the plastic cap stripped, forcing me to use a wrench to take it off, in the process putting a big scratch in the back of my PMR.
I'm actually quite disappointed in Proto for this major flaw in the PMR...I would have expected them to supply a metal one as standard. Oh well though...$20 to New Designz (one of the best aftermarket companies, no matter what gun they make parts for) for a metal back cap.

The PMR is a great gun when the solenoid can stay plugged in and the back cap doesn't break...obviously though if the noid doesn't work, how can we be expected to like the gun?
Conclusion: The PMR shot beautifully...when it worked.

I probably just got a dud, but it's enough for me to not really want to buy another PMR...
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 2nd, 2007 at 10:03 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Arachnis Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS, Tippman 98C, Angel's, Automag
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail Gray2Black
New Designz Slik trigger-Silver
Proto Metal Backcap
DXS 68/4500 w/Gray Dye '06 Rhino
DXS Pulse-Smoke
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger (For looks, the stock feels pretty nice.)
Metal backcap (Just get it so you dont have to worry about crossthreading.)
Barrel? (If you feel you need to.)
Strengths: Speed, looks, functionality, accuracy.
Weaknesses: None
Review: Can you say confidence?

This gun has changed the way I play. I am more aggresseive now. I got my PMR last week and played with it on Saturday without a single problem. I shot over 2500 balls and had 0 chops...thats right zero. This gun absolutely rips. Easy to set the board, and get the marker ready to play. I am very happy with the gun. For the money I don't think it can be beat. Another great thing is you don't have to up it to get good perfomance. Stock is just fine. A few cosmetic/accuracy upgrades is all you need if you have to up it. Great marker....thanks Proto!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you got the funds. Don't waste it on another POS.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

armedragdoll Sunday, April 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I also have a Spyder Electra w/ Eye
Marker Setup: Stock Proto PMR,halo b w/ rip drive,Dye 70/4500 stubby tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger - its plastic and moves side to side
The ASA - came a little loose on my first game with it
Strengths: SPEED
Modes on board
LIGHTWEIGHT
looks
Weaknesses: Too many different wrenches needed to change things
Trigger
Review: Well this is an execellent gun, it is very reliable becuase i was shooting at over 18 bps all day and i didn't get one chop. The gun has 4 modes semi, PSP , Millenium , and a sort of hidden full auto mode. it has changable ROF which goes up to 30 BPS. I would reccomend this gun for pretty much anyone as it is VERY nice for its price and it has alot of changable features on it.
Conclusion: BUY THIS GUN.. I personnaly wouldn't waste my money on a DM7 or an angel or something like that. this is a great gun that can perform up to the DM's in my opinion.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media