paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  Last
        Next Page
Pballer6191 Thursday, January 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Slayer
Marker Setup: 14" dye UL
Halo B
pure energy 68 ci 4500psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
on/off asa, VERY IMPORTANT
Strengths: Speed
Accurate
Wieght
Size
Weaknesses: 1 Problem out of the box, but it was fixed.
Review: I LOVE THIS GUN!
but,
i had 1 problem, i had a leak which took 3 hours to figure out what was wrong, and it was ym fault, so this gun rules! When i finally got it to work, it mowed. People cant believe you got one and it is awsome to have it. the only weight you feel is from your tank and hopper, so GET IT!
Conclusion: This gun is great for $400 dollars.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blayzen paint Thursday, January 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really just the ion would be the closest
Marker Setup: Proto rail with halo b virtue board,cross fire 68/45 some custon stuff back up gun is a stock icd bko with worr gas and revvey.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger bc the rubber doenst feel right
Strengths: Light tight fast looks incredible.
Weaknesses: Polymer but that makes it so light
Review: Well i finaly got the PMR what a king i must say.i opend the tinny box and everything i needed was right there.alen keys and all.so i had to wait to get my fuel filled (empire tank)when i got air hooked up i had trouble.the vilocity was off its all my falt.i was to exited to see the problem.so i took it out at about 75 feet.this thing was the fastest thing iv every shot.fast fast fast.like wow.and not a air hog at all.i put about 1000 threw it and started to play with the settings.i never ownd a gun with full auto so that was the first one i tryed.wow it was fast.not as fast as fingers but more consistant like constant paint.my halo was doing really good.then i tryed the ramping.hole s*Q#$ so fast.like it was intense.like it was pushing me back.oh ya it does have a bit of kick but meh for this price somthing has to be wrong.so i thought it was skipping shot so i turned the eyes off the gun and let the halo do its thing.no chops.so then i thought this thing is a tank show so lets push it to its limits.3 round every shot.i was like omg no way.so i fiddled the settings(really really easy)a cave man can do it.ohhh snap.anyway.i filled the hopper and has my cuz on the phone to count how long it took to emty the hopper.(he bought and got the same set up like 3 hours b4 me)so i start ripping.first 5 sec were all good.but then choping was huge.but it was cold and crap paint.but meh i had it going at like 40 bps or somthing crazy.the the halo didnt keep up.no biggy.it was to much for the halo to handel.but still get this beast its amazazazazing. ok i used it on the feild just the other day.OMG this thing was amazing it was laying out the other team.30 on 30 so it was intense.i was killing 2 times as many players with the rail. i could play the hole feild.it didnt have great accuracy for about 175 feet but still it was in the same general direction.it was just as straight as my 2 peice proto barrel.the gun is light and tight behing the bunkers it is swicked.it was 7 on one i was the one.it was difficult but the pmr could do it.it is so fast 2 people tryed to rush but the pmr was fast enough to shoot them 2 times and them not to get me!woot woot.it is amazing guys if u got the cash by this thing it is good for all tornament and everyday ballers.get-r-done!!.
Conclusion: TANK SHOW buy it if u got the cash.ya u can use this thing for every type of game play.so 10 is in order
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 24th, 2007 at 7:09 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

young66 Thursday, January 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion(worse)
autococker(worse)
all spyders(worse)
pm6(same)
dm4(same)
Marker Setup: sp ion
all american barrel
sp feed lock
sp qev
shocktech on off
cp reg
ndz body kit
vlocity hopper
45/45

GETTING A PMR SOON!!!!!!!!!
Recommended
Upgrades:
ul barrel
trigger
feedlock
Strengths: Fast
Light
Light
Customizable
Can compete wit any 1000 gun out there
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got this gun last week and my local store. I test fired it and I loved it. I bought an on off, feedlock, barrel, and a trigger wile I wus there. It shot sweet with that UL barrel and trigger. It was awesome. I went to my local field to play with it. There were people with dm6's and pm6's. I mowed their faces with my pmr. I told you that this gun can compete with 1000 guns. I got tons of compliments about it. Before my last game, I got a UL frame on it..I played with it and it was so awesome. The trigger is soo awesome, it is lighter, and it feels soo good on ur hand, and it makes ur gun look like a dm6!!
Conclusion: Get this gun!! U will love it. It can compete with any 1000 gun. Plzz dont get an ion, jus save another 200 bucks and buy this beast. Trust me, U will love it. I hope this review was helpful..
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

NoCowsEver Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ions, Minis, Fusions (all only tested)
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail
Eggy III
Pure Energy 72/3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
It's great stock, but could use a new barrel. Also, a UL trigger frame would be nice (if you're willing to dish out that much money).
Strengths: Very good, even stock
IMO best gun in the price range
Fast
Light
Weaknesses: Lots of polymere (comfortable, but can rip)
Back Cap unscrews if not in PERFECT alignment
Review: I had been looking for a new marker, an upgrade from the garbage I used to have.

Well, my eyes caught the PMR. I did my homework on it, and test fired it at the local pro shop. Although the trigger is also made of polymere, it has a feather light pull (even at factory settings.)

I immediately fell in love with it, and decided I had to get one. I got one that same day, and brought it home to test fire (with paint). I did, and was very surprised at the accuracy of the stock barrel. Even with about a case shot through it, there was not ONE break. The eyes seem to work very well!

EDIT:
After using it a bit more, I ran into a very minor problem. I seemed to be chopping EVERY ball, and it looked as if i was shooting hot (yet the chrono only read about 280). After checking it out a bit, I discovered the back bolt cap may unscrew itself if it's not aligned PERFECTLY with the bolt. Although this is a simple fix, it can cause major problems if you don't recognize what's causing it.
Conclusion: A great marker for any intermediate-level player! I give it a 9.5, rounded up to a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 9th, 2007 at 2:47 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Blindside81091 Monday, January 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Dye, adn Proto markers
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail - Halo B - 68Ci, 4500 Psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ultralite Barrel if u dont like the stock one
Dye ASA on/off
Ultralite Frame.. if you don't like the stock one
Strengths: Read in Full Review Below
Weaknesses: Trigger Moves a Little left and right... but it that doesnt affect anything
Review: - Gun is Very Light
- Stock Trigger isn't bad, you jsut haev to get a feel for it
- Does not kick at all
- Very consistent Velocity
- Feedneck works great ( i havent lost my halo yet )
- Easy to Clean and Lube Bolt
- Board is REALLY easy to program
- Board is amazing.. Better the the PM 06'
- Barrel is A One-Piece, accuracy is not bad ( shot 20 balls all within 6 inches from eachother at 100 ft away )
- Haven't chopped a ball yet
- Comes with everything you will need to fix / maintain gun
- Comes wiht 2 of every O-Ring you will need
- Comes with Dye Sticky Lube
- Hyper 2 Regulator comes stock ..
- Eye Logic is Amazing
- Perfect for any player
- Even comes wiht replacement Ball detents




I got this gun not to long ago...

I was so ready to get this gun and shoot it... A few days later i went to the local field and filled up my tank and went to the chrono.. it shot 280 - 281 - 280.. i was so amazed by this the PMR came stock on 20 BPS .. The Trigger took a little getting used to, but once i played few games the trigger became easier to pull. The lightness of the gun with a full hopper and a full tank made playing alot easier... The gun was shooting so nice no kick or anything. Being a front player it made a big difference in manueverability.. We played a few games of x-ball on ramping... My PMR was on 15 ramping, and the marker was still cycling so smoothly no kick or anythin...

Many say that this gun is like the Ion.. but it's nothing like it.. the ion has kick the PMR doesn't...

There arent many differences between the PM7 and the PMR

The main differences are
Pm7 has a LPR ( low pressure regulator) ASA On/off and ultralite frame.
PMR: Body is smaller then PM7 but doesnt have LPR - ASA On/off or ultralite frame
Conclusion: I reccomend the PMR for anyone.. This is the best gun that i haev ever seen that wont leave a hole in your wallet...

If you are lookign for a gun that is reliable and is worth the price... the PMR is for you
Amazing Gun + Amazing Price = Worth Every Penny
^ Simple Math
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

bigmat Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: pmr, eggy 3, 45/3000 psi steel tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel
Strengths: Small, light and fast
Weaknesses: Nothing yet
Review: Well, this gat rocks. its super light and small. my friend has an epiphany and its noticeably lighter and looks smaller. it chopped the occasional ball, but seemed to be very accurate most of the time. again, the occasional ball curved , but when something goes wrong, its something un-important and only happens on occasion.
Conclusion: For a sikk price, this gat is a must. tons of peeps at my field where lovin it and wanting to try it. oh yeah
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

06cruiser Saturday, January 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder VS2
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail 07, DXS Pulse, J&J 14" Ceramic
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a better and longer barrel. comes with a 12"
Strengths: Very fast rate of fire, easy to configure and maintain, and very light.
Weaknesses: No ASA
Review: Okay I bought this gun today and got the velocity set right, etc. I took it out on the field with a gravity feed loader, the eyes worked perfect and everything, but of course with the shake and bake hopper it couldnt fire very fast. So, I hooked it up to a DXS pulse, and oh my god. for 400 bucks this thing will rip through paint in no time and never chop a single one. The gun ran perfect, and this was during the break-in period.

The battery (standard 9 volt) is supposed to last through 40,000 shots so it lasts quite a long time. The trigger is very sensitive, and can be configured with different levels of sensitivity and rates of fire all the way up to 30bps. The gun itself is very slim and very light, and has awesome styling. The feed neck is low and clamps down on the loader Very nicely. The barrel was surprisingly accurate for a 12" stock barrel. Pretty much.. everything about this gun is awesome and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a gun in the $400 price range.
Conclusion: BUY IT. If you want a GREAT gun for $400 and not $1000, Get This Gun! You will be very satisfied, I know I am.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 22nd, 2007 at 12:08 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Nolig23 Saturday, January 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I owned a tippy 98, and a mech cocker...I've shot an ion before and none compare.
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail - Halo B with Ripdrive - NDZ boltcap - Nitroduck 88/4500 - Evil Pipe kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
metal boltcap should be among the first mods. other than that a barrel kit and a feedneck.
Strengths: This gun is light, fast, and fairly accurate.
Weaknesses: Rear boltcap, i've heard about it backing out.
Review: I bought this gun about a month ago and I've played with it enough times to know that it is a great gun for the money. It's light, fast, and fairly accurate. I was previously shooting a mech system x type x and although I loved that gun I feel this is a huge step up for me. I highly recommend this gun to anyone. Don't let the polymer trigger frame scare you, it's very sturdy and definitely doesn't feel like it's going to break easily.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun to anyone looking to get an excellent performing gun but not spend an arm and a leg.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

allgunsblazing Saturday, January 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Abomb Intimidator
Bob Long 2K5 Intimidator
Dye Dm6
Proto Matrix 06
Marker Setup: Proto rail
Empire barrel kit
CP on/off
Victory Boarded Halo
Red UL trigger
Red virtue eyes
Red Eye plates
Red buttons
Red hybrid traitor back-cap
TectT l7 bolt

Tippmann 98 Custom
G36 Foregrip
Ak mag kit
Freak barrel
Car stock
Remote line
Polished internals
Lightened Trigger Pull (pen spring mod)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a Ul Frame
Barrel
Carbon Fiber tank ( to take full advantage of how light the gun is) not totally nessicary
On/off
Strengths: Light
Price
Fast for what you pay
Weaknesses:
Frame (read review Body )
Cheap wiring
Review: When i first got my Rail i was excited, it being my first electro, having only owned a tippy before it.. However right out of the box, the airport (or so it says in the manual) where the tank screws in had a leak. The local shop owner who i bought it from, fixed it with a spare part he had around from his Dye. After that problem was fixed, we opened it up to set everything up , and i was actually dissapointed in the way the wiring was set up. Short wires, Easy to pinch. However, that won't be a problem if you handle your gun with care when taking in apart.
With the gun ready to go, we gassed it up and did sum prelimary test shots with it, and found the stock barrel to be not bad with a decent paint-bore match (of course). Setting the Halo on level 6 (fastest setting) we preceeded to empty hopper after hopper out of the rail, firing it until we had maybe gone through a case of paint ( break in period for the reg is 2000 shots).
The gun has 4 modes of fire
- Semi Auto
- Psp Ramp
-Capped
it also has a hidden mode (in configuration mode for firing modes, pull the trigger four times), NXl full auto, after two or so trigger pulls the gun bumps up to your max rate of fire that you have set, and continues to shoot full auto until you let go
theres a vid on youtube if you dont believe me...

Modes can be a little tough to change, as im always worried about the wiring, also the switch for configuration mode feels a lil flimsy, im hoping the UL frame won't be put together the same as the stock frame.... (anyone with one, can you tell me?)

After owning the gun for about a month or so, I found another small problem, the material that makes up the grip frame has begun to almost flake away where the top screw is on the grip frame, resulting in the threads being stripped, not a big problem, but one none the less.


I didnt have time to finish this review in on sitting...

The Trigger can be a little wierd for some people at first, im not a big fan of it, as it wobbles side to side, which i find annoying. However i can deal with it until either more companies come out with aftermarket triggers, or more stores start carrying them. A Ul frame would fix this, but its just a personal preference.

The stock barrel isnt to terrible with a proper paint-to-bore match, however, it can be picky with smaller bore paint.(DUH) When i first got the gun, after we shot the case of paint i went to wallyworld... i know, in our town its one of the only three places you can get paint... the other one only has boxes of 100 balls and thier even worse, and the guy at the field where (i got my gun) didnt have any on hand.. but i got a case of monster balls, which usally have no problem with my freaked tippy. These ball tend to be relitivly small bore, so the accuracy wasnt the greatest, but the gun had no problem shooting them, and shooting them, i only broke on ball, which was my fault, i accidently turned the eyes off, and my halo was set just a lil to slow. To clean the broken ball, all i had to do was run a squeegee through the barrel, and to clean the eyes, i used some keyboard cleaning air 9 the compressed stuff) to get the paint out of the eyes, the ran a squeegee through the whole gun , not a big thing .

The back cap seems to thread out after a lot of firing, and begins to leak air, even when im not shooting the gun. This is simply corrected by hand screwing it back in though.

Even with the small problems that come with a marker such as this ( well known company , entry priced marker) The pros out wheigh the cons .


*EDIT*
Have since added a new UL trigger, red virtue eyes, l7 bolt, hybrid traitor back cap, new buttons and new eye covers.
My PMR is beginning to go a little wonky,the trigger micro switch cuts out when I pull the trigger faster than 10 bps, ( p.s it is a new battery) and my battery cable that connects it to the board is almost broken, very very cheap wiring.
I have only got about two pods and a halo out of a 47/3000 tank at best . im going to upgrade to a larger tank and a new regulator, as i have had nothing but trouble with the hyper2,
( i have maintained it btw, cleaned and greased and checked all o-rings)
Conclusion: Light , Fast, cheap, a lot of marker for the money. i don't want this review to turn into an ion vs. The World debate, so i WON'T say get it over the ion, but defiantly check it out.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 28th, 2007 at 3:31 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tyler012 Saturday, January 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
all the dm nd pm markers out there. ego's, etek's, angles. almost everything made
Marker Setup: pmr with 14 inch stiffi hybrid rail and dye airport on/off.
with egg2 and 68/3000 nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel probly stiffi or dye ul.
dye dm roller trigger
new bolt
new board
Strengths: Light
Fast
Cheap
Weaknesses: Trigger
Gas hog
Review: The first time i got to go out and play with my rail at the crono i shot 258,258,259. That supried me because the thing was only 400. But i can only get about 1 hopper and 4 pods before i have to go fill up. I play front so that usually isnt a problem but it can be. With the stock barrel it shoots like crap, i couldnt hit anything at all. But when i put on my stiffi i could easily drop balls on the back players even if i were across the field, so one must is that you have to get a new barrel. The gun didn't chop the whole day barrel or breach. The eyes work great. the only problem is that when i got it the eyes wernt connected? That was frustrating to say the least. But so far that is the only problem i have had with it. Ok i lied i remembered that when i tried to pull the bolt to clean it the back bolt cap cracked. But both of those things are cheap and nothing big to worry about
Conclusion: It is a very light and consistant gun that can rail if you have the right adjustments made to it. I would suggest the gun to anyone, it is easy to use and fun to play with.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media