paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  Last
        Next Page
haggggard Friday, January 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
invert mini, ion pro,bob long intimidator
Marker Setup: halo v35 with rip drive, pure energy tank, redz pepperstickz barrels,dead on paintball drop forward,tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel and feedneck
Strengths: Small,light.
Weaknesses: O rings break easily
Review: I got this gun for christmas this year and i loved it best gun i ever got my last gun was a ion razor and i didn't like it so i got the pmr. Ive only had trouble with the o rings and the air regulator. This gun shoot really acurate but its a little loud this gun like never chops paint only like 3 balls out a 2000 well i got the bore sized and a new 16 inch barrel so it never chops needs a lot of lube
Conclusion: This gun matches my hotness
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

tviz Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Its deffidently not a tippmann, its not quite like a super high end such as an ego, better then the ion. Perhaps other mid ends?
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with:(backup)
Teardrop barrel
68ci Crossfire Air
Reactive trigger
Camo kit

Proto Rail (main)
Stock blue
Pulse
Recommended
Upgrades:
All guns except super high end will need a barrel. It needs a good hopper to reach its full potential. Probably not a UL trigger frame unless your stock one breaks.
Strengths: Cost
Realitivly good stock
looks cool (my blue one is dead sexy)
Weaknesses: Barrel is OK but no mid ends come with a good one.
Trigger frame defect.
Review: *** I literally just got it and it only has a hopper thru it so this WILL be updated***

You get allot for your money here, that is assuming you donít mind the composite parts, which I donít mind, so I didn't put that as a negative. The composite parts are lighter than aluminum so it's really not bad assuming you donít hate composites.

=====THE GOOD=====

Plastic is good when used responsibly, (I would say they used it pretty responsibly)

It has a lot of firepower=30 BPS max on the board stock with a cycle rate that will match it, although putting it that high is likely to result in chops unless you do some fine tuning and upgrading. 26BPS is what most people set it on.

I think its looks really good, very opinionated here thou.

Itís easy to take apart and lube, also the wiring inside the grip isnít as bad as everyone says it is.

Composites are lighter then aluminum, this doesnít mean that you might not want to replace them when you get the money however. Although I would say the performance of them is very similar to aluminum.

The ASA is adjustable 1 Ĺ inches either way. Well, so they say, its adjustable but if you put it too far there not enougf to hold onto for it and you risk breaking it event thou this part is metal.
=====THE AVERAGE=====

The kick and the noise are what you expect, itís not a $1000 gun so there is some kick and some noise but itís not bad at all, I have not tested air efficiency yet.

=====THE BAD=====

There is realy nothing truely bad about this gun unless you hate composites.

=*=*-**=*-* UPDATE #1*=*-*=*-*=*=

FACTORY ADVERTISED STATISTICS

I desided I will add in the factery advertised statistics, I will also comment on them.

Matching single piece Proto barrel ----Its desent for a stock barrel on a mid end

LED program control---Great for gun On/off and eyes on/off, but to change modes and such you have to take the gun apart (not very hard) and flip a swich to put it in configuration mode.

Hyper2 in-line air regulator---Not broken in compleatly yet but it works well giveing me a +-5 so far

Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame and Anti-chop eye system.---The durometer stuff is great, its a sticky grip on top and harder on bottom, The anti chop eyes work well.

Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system---I am no bolt master, but the gun works well in general so its probably prittey good.

Composite eyeplate---Works fine, no comment

Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire 150psi operating pressure with Boost Forwardô technology.----- The trigger is nice despite some wobbel and bend if you push it realy hard (dont worey it wont break). 150Psi operating pressure is standard in high ends without a LPR like the rail, and the Boost Forward is once again technical bolt stuff but i will assure you it works well. I think it saves some gas

Stamped metal insert logo Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design,New Proto bottom line Compact and lightweight body styling
---As stated earlyer the gun looks realy cool

Adjustable locking dual-durometer feed neck Proto dual-durometer sticky grips---The feednecks only weakness is it lacks a lever(its an allen key) which i dont mind, otherwise its good. And once again i love the dual-durometer.

NOW FOR THE FIELD TEST

=======THE GOOD =====

The air efficiency I cannot fully judge yet but it seams pretty good, out of my 68,3000 it seams I am getting a hopper and at LEAST a couple of normal sized pods, which is good, since its not broken in yet.

Itís just as fast as they advertise and was keeping up with all the DM's, Egos, Angles exc.

No problems other then that stated in the mediocre.

=====THE MEDIOCRE===== (and things that went wrong that arent the guns falut)

Upon using it I saw the bolt cap problem of it loosening but I tightened it and it seams to be ok, I plan to get an aluminum one anyways. I wont take points off for it.

I was having problems with paint breaking but I doubt it was the gun as it was muddy has hell and I was constantly getting shot in the barrel making a combination impossible to clean on the field. So I cant really judge this yet either although it was good in test firing with no breaks.


MORE UPDATES YET TO COME!!!
Conclusion: Its the best thing you can get for $400. 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 19th, 2007 at 4:32 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pmrowner123 Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Proto matrix rail/ halo b/ pure energy 88 4500 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new on/off asa.
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Cheap
Overall good gun
Weaknesses: A little to much plastic.
Review: Well i have only used this gun once so far. But it was an extremely good gun. Never chopped once. Very fast and Extremely accurate. This is a perfect gun for a new tourny player or someone that can't afford any other good gun. The only thing i would say to get upgraded is the asa. And maybe a new feedneck. The gun does have a lot of plastic but personaly i dont care at all. I wouldnt even of figured out it had a lot of plastic until my brother pointed it out.
Conclusion: A+++ gun. perfect for anybody. extremely recomended.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nepb1 Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
pm6 , ego, alien, angels, dm's, all the high end gnus
Marker Setup: PM6 ul barell ul frame w/dye throttle stubby and Draxxus Pulse
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ul frame maybe...a new trigger. deffinatly a new barell. new asa and feedneck
Strengths: Easy to shoot fast
really really light
just a great gun for the price
Weaknesses: All the rubber stuff on it.
Review: My teammate bought this gun and i used it at practice. once i picked it up it was incredibly light especially with a steel tank. i shot it and you can shoot really fast easily. if i hadnt bought a PM6 i would have got this thing without and hesitations. has the BOB operation just like every other proto which makes cleaning alot easier. has no lpr. when i shot it it never chopped and it was pretty accurate for the proto 1 piece. It was pretty much ball behind ball on target except for a few that curved off minimally. in my opinion this will work better than the other guns out there for 450 and 400 ( mini and epiphany).
Conclusion: buy it if you are upgrading from an ion or any other gun around those lines, and you are starting to get into tournament ball. buy it for a backup if u have the extra cash. get a new barell, on/off, and maybe a UL frame or buy a new trigger. also, get a new feedneck. giving this a 9 out of 10 because no gun is perfect
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evilempire90 Tuesday, January 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
ion(friends not mine)
Vs2 & 3
Custom 98
Marker Setup: Proto Rail
Hybrid Asa
stock everything else
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Back Cap
Trigger(preference)
Asa
Virtue board( major ownage)
Strengths: Fast and Fast
Light!
Cheap
Same board as Pm7
Accurate
Weaknesses: Back Cap( be cautious wit it)
Review: Its very good and consistent i went through bout three boxes and got a couple of chops (due to cold), the trigger is something to get used to just need to practice wit it, also this marker is light, my arm wasn't sore by the end of the day with this one

i would recommend a back cap though cause it is plastic and can strip easily which happened to mine , they have started making aluminum ones though so upgrade on that

its fps is pretty good at chrono it was around a 5fps from the first shot due to the reg not fully broken in

the board is good the same at pm7

i put my hybrid asa on it so that's a plus if upgraded form stock

the feedneck is good dint need to sand down my empire b

other than that no probs just a reminder be cautious wit back cap
Conclusion: The Pmr is a fast, reliable ,consistent, pretty good out of the box gun
recomended for startin out tourney players like me other then that just be cautious wit the plastic parts. i rate this a 9 cause u need to be careful wit the plastic parts and dont strip the back cap other then that its good!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Foundation Monday, January 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Tippmanns-NOT EVEN CLOSE Eclipse Etek Ego-Bout the same PM7-Same
Marker Setup: Proto matrix rail, ultralite, maxflo, virtue eyes, virtue board, dye throtle, Pulse
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virute is a must the stock board isnt to responsive. Max flo to get maximum ROF and shots per tank.
Strengths: Light, Accurate, FAST, FAST, FAST, easy maintenence
Weaknesses: Needs some upgrades to work at full potential, stock board is not very responsive.
Review: I got this gun 2 weeks befor Christmas and have to say its the greatest gun ive ever used, its light and incredibly accurate not to mention ready to go outda da box, worth every penny. There arnt alot of upgrades out for it but once they start coming i beleive this gun will be able to be upgraded to the status of a PM7.
Conclusion: Everything the aspiring paintball player needs at an afordable price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

CE0521 Monday, January 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
uped Ions
PM6
PM7
DM6, yea believe it or not, a DM6!
Marker Setup: 2007 Proto Matrix Rail
14 inch ultralite barrel
ultralite frame
NDZ clamping feedneck
aluminum bolt cap
Halo B w/ rip drive and a V35 board
PMI 68/4500 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, bolt cap
Strengths: FAST
CHEAP
accurate
VERY light
Weaknesses: TRIGGER!
Reprograming the board (have to take off grips to reprogram)
Review: I've been playing paintball for 2 years now and never have I come across a better marker at such an affordable price. The rail is a high end quality marker at a low end price. It is perfect for anyone who wishes to enter a tournament at a beginner level. I used it for the first time three weeks ago (becasue I was borke =/) and I was amazed at how fast, light, and accurate this marker is. The one weakness is the trigger. It may just be the way i walk, but I find it just a little difficult to keep at a steady pace with that tirgger. I recommend the new edge trigger made by proto. Its lighter and faster AND not plastic. Other than that, everything about the gun is perfect. The feedneck is OK, as well as the barrel and reg. If you have the money, GET IT!!!
Conclusion: This is an absolute perfect marker for those who can't afford a DM or a shocker, but still want to have a good and respectable marker. It's the best $400 dollar investment I've made and you should consider this marker as a choice if your looking to buy a new one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 26th, 2007 at 8:26 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

aimeagle21 Monday, January 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion's, pm5, dm4/5/6, shockers,
Marker Setup: Rail
Violent trigger
cp on/off
dm6 feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Trigger
On/off
Strengths: Small
Price
Looks
Speed
Consistant
Board features
Weaknesses: Trigger
Lack of on/off
Review: I have now had the pmr for a little more than a month. I have put about 6000 balls through it without any problems.

The good-

Speed- The pmr is just as fast (in fact faster) than all of my dm/pm's, ego's, shockers. I have golwaved it w/ paint at 24bps w/ sync'd pulse. Speed is not an issue for the pmr.

Looks- imo the pmr is really nice looking. It shares it's body milling w/ the rest of the dm/pm line. The anno is nice and the plastic parts really don't take away from the overall look of the gun.

Consitant- Hyper2 reg and dwell adjustments along with a good paint to barrel match give me +-4fps.

Board- No need for an aftermarket board on this. The pmr gives you 4 (yes, 4) modes of fire w/ semi, psp, millennium, and nxl. The dwell is completely adjustable as well as the rate of fire cap. The debounce (or tigger sensitivity) is a great feature to eliminate bounce. Simple programming w/ the dm/pm dipswitch's and the trigger. If you didn't know this is the same exact board as the pm7.

Size/weight- The pmr is a small, light , and tight gun. Lighter than my dm6's and ego's. If I am not mistaken and I am not the pmr weights in at 1.94lbs with barrel, reg, batts and stock asa.

PRICE- I got mine NIB for $350 shipped so I am very happy w/ that!

The bad (if you can call it that)-

Trigger- has a decent amount of side to side play and I personally like a lot of pre pull and the design does not allow for a lot.

Asa- I only like on/off and the stock airport does not have this. So, I don't like it.


On a side note- I have heard many people rant on about the lack of an lpr. This is really a non issue imo. The pmr operates nicely at 150psi or a touch lower so kick is not really an issue (yes it does have kick than a dm6). The ability to shoot brittle paint has not been an issue to this point for me. I sold my SL66 and bought the pmr/pulse w/ rf/jt teams/cleats and still had $600 leftover. I DO NOT regret selling the SL one bit.

Maintenance- Much easier than the dm line and pm5-7. The design of the internals is not the same as those guns and thus has many fewer orings to worry about. Along with no lpr to worry about.



Conclusion: For the price it is hard to beat really. Sure you can find used pm6's for as low as 400 now but I just don't like the 12-15 orings on the dm/pm line of guns. The pmr is fast, light, small, good looking, and reliable. The pmr get's a 9 from me only because of the trigger and lack of an on/off. You will not regret buying on of these.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

LiGhTnInG57 Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ion, torid x, a5, 98, evo
Marker Setup: pmr
72 cu/3000 psi tank
evolution 3
roller trigger
alloy back cap
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
barrel
backcap
Strengths: Fassssst, pretty accurate, light, pretty good eff.
Weaknesses: The damn backcap!!1
Review: When i got the gun i was really excited. It was so light and small it seems sooo perfect
Took it to my backyard and shot a little adn DAMN that thing was freakin fast and accurate. When i took it to the arena i got a few games in and then the gun started screwing up a little... It took me a while to figure it out but the damn back cap is made out of plastic and it got stripped and it took me out for like half out tryin to fix it. I had to buy a new back cap and when i installed it, it wouldnt screw into the gun.....o S**T that was pretty bad but some guy look at my gun for me and the was a torn oring, he replaced it and the gun was working. Damn this thing is crazy... 30 bps 4 firing modes...what more can u ask for. Just put in like $ 50 for a backcap and a triiger and boy u are good to go!
Conclusion: I would def. get it because of the price and how amazingly this gun performs. IT IS SOOO SICK!!! i mean 400 dollars.....whats the harm in that for a gun this good
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 26th, 2007 at 5:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PMR FoSho Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse a lil
Epiphany
Ion
Marker Setup: SP Ion w/ SP Body Kit,CP Sling Trigger,Q-Lock Feedneck,2 Piece AA Barrel 16in.
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL Frame,UL Barrel, Feedneck and I would reccommend a UL or Edge Trigger
Strengths: The Board,Barely Chops,Smooth Trigger Pull and Lightweight Design.
Weaknesses: The stock trigger feels weird to me.But it could be ok for you.
Review: When I went paintballing with my friend looking for a 3rd player for our team we met a guy who let us use his PMR a couple of round and it worked like a CHARM!!!The thing didn't chop once!You can also set the ROF to 30bps which to me is excellent for a $400 gun.Another thing that i liked about it is how accurate it was even with the stock barrel on, i mean i hit a dude through a crack in between two bunkers.
Conclusion: So if your look'n for a very high end gun for a very low price pick up a Proto Matrix Rail for yourself.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media