paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  Last
        Next Page
atucker911 Saturday, January 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
i used a ego and one of the things the pmr can keep up with is speed.
Marker Setup: i have a pmr with a 14 inch cp barrel and a empire b loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel,trigger and a dye trigger frame
Strengths: The speed in this gun just stock is good it could go up to 30bps
Weaknesses: Leaks at first and the bolt unscreews its self in game sometimes.
Review: so the pmr is a pretty good gun. Its fast and pretty accurate with the stock barrel. It has 3 modes on the stock board it has psp ramping, semi auto and melenium mode.but when u r messing with the board the buttens fall out sometimes and its hard 2 get back in.
Conclusion: This is an all around good gun if you have 400 dollars get it it is very light 2. so this is one of my favorite guns i owened and its worth it. and its up there with the thousend dollar guns and its only 400 so i give it a 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 8th, 2007 at 3:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

manurulz Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion DM's PM's
Marker Setup: PMR , new so no ups
IoN virtue board warrior sl bolt, clamping feedneck, roller tirgger, virtue board
68/4500 carbon fiber pure energy, halo B/empire reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: The ROF, accuracy, reliablity, efficiency, looks, weight, price, it's basically a pm6...
Weaknesses: The price is too low =P
Review: Well i have a blue PMR and i love it.

Here are the Possitives-
-It shoot very fast, It's accurate, Reliable,Gas efficient
-Looks pro!
-Very light
-CHEAP!!
-great gun
This is the perfect speedballer gun and it's so cheap!
And here are the Negatives-
So far no problems.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for the price.. HOORAY FOR PROTO/DYE.
If you want lots of attention buy this gun A++
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Street_Balla_21 Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really
Marker Setup: PMR
Halo
68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lighter microswitch
ON/OFF
Barrel
Strengths: Small and light
Comfortable
Weaknesses: Heavy microswitch
No on/off
Have to open grips to program
Review: This is actually the first Matrix ive owned and i jsut got it today and i shot a few hundred rounds through it and it shot really nice but i didn't like how heavy the microswitch felt. I am used to optical sensors like on my Ebladed cocker but i am familiar to switchs like on ions and borgs and i foudn them to be a bit easier especially a NOX'd borg.

I intend on totally upgrading it soon i already put a 14in UL on it as soon as i got it so now i sporting a gloss black barrel on a dust black marker.

Going to be putting a UL Frame on soon and most likely a hybrid push button on/off.

Conclusion: In conclusion i will give this marker an 8 even though i love it because it didn't come with an on/off and the microswitch was heavy feeling.

Other than that i would suggest anyone whos starting off should ge tthis marker because its great.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

enc Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
A few spyders(not comparable) Ir3 comparible for its day, Fusion LE very comparable
Marker Setup: PMR, eye upgrade (not necesary but looks good), halo b and egg 3 (prefer the egg personal pref), dye on/off, 68/4500, empire 7 piece kit, ND slik trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Most upgrades are personal preference, but you can trick out your marker with everything. UL, feedneck, def a barrel, def an on/off, board is fine, trigger (some like the rubber I didn't), back cap when available
Strengths: Light, fast, Hyper 2, Accurate, Cheap, its a Dye
Weaknesses: Back cap, stock barrel, no on/off, all stock probs
Review: 2 years no pball, come back get PMR wonder WTH I was thinking being gone so long.

Now on to the review. After a month's use I think the Rail has lived up to some of its hype, once broken in the consistency was that of anything I previously owned.

I've put prob 5 cases of paint throught it so far some good (evil) some bad the bad being monster ball, a couple of breaks with the monster ball, eyes have been flawless both stock and upgraded, for those who speak so soon as to say the frame won't hold up (Glocks heard of em) if it really bothers you get the UL, they want you to spend your money.

The stock trigger is good it pulls nice a little slop but nothing really noticeable, I can't compare the kick to any other of Dye's products so I can't really comment on that, but compared to my other markers what kick.

The feedneck worked great and held both hoppers in place nicely, if you remove your hopper more that once or twice in a day while at the field WTH are you doing, then I guess you need a qlock.

Maintenace is easy, cleaning and lubing the bolt is a breeze, the reg required a little more know how, all in all pretty easily maintained.

Conclusion: Overall! after being away for a while the Rail has made me happy to be back and have a nice competitive marker for less than $500 (Canadian). If you want a really good marker that shoots great and isn't that expensive go for this. I won't say you won't be disappointed but if you are, you have issues. It gets an 8 because nothin is perfect. Who knows in another six months or so it may fall apart. We shall see.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 11th, 2007 at 7:31 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Inverted69 Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 with E-Grip
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Uhhh looked good to me!
Strengths: Light
Trigger Pull is short
Nice Milling
Good Board (PM7)
Weaknesses: Plastic Parts could be a problem if you dive a lot... kinda guessing
Review: Well I went down to the local paintball shop to look at guns there, when all of a sudden the new PMR caught my eye! Well pretty much I held it and it felt really light and compact, the only annoying thing I saw was the hose connected to the right side of the reg. so if you shoot left it may get in the way. The rubber grip actually felt nice, it helped my hand stick to the grip and not get so sweaty. The trigger pull was nice but I have to say I liked the Epiphany's better, just a preferance. The trigger felt kinda like an Ion's, in my opinion, it had the same mouse click kinda feel to it.

Strength's-
Nice milling
Trigger Pull
Good grip
Good board
Looks fast from the video's I saw...

Weaknesses-
Plastic Parts MAY be a problem.... guessing
Hose it connected in a weird position to the reg.
Conclusion: It felt really nice, but again I DID NOT SHOOT IT!!!!! Saw Videos (may not be accurate) and it looked FAST!!!! I gave it an 8 because I didn't have the chance to fire it, and nothing is perfect.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

koshapballa Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder electra with an egg and co2, shocker vision with vlocity, ion modified out its ass
Marker Setup: pmr blue black
dxs 68/45
proto 14 inch barrel
egg hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
possibly a new trigger
a new barrel
virtue
a new feed neck a metal one
ul frame if you want it
Strengths: Light as hell
Fast as hell
pretty accurate(with a better barrel)
Weaknesses: Too much plastic
Review: This is an amazing gun through and through. i got it off the wall and instanly notice how light it was i mean the hopper is almost heavier than it. its very easy to use and set to your liking. nice for players getting into tournament play. it has psp and millenium out of the box
overall its an amazing gun
Conclusion: Amazing cheap but good
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Frenchie42 Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Pmr,Black Flame Drop Foward,Red 14" Proto barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel is the most important.
Strengths: Very Light,Nice Design,Shoots Great.
Weaknesses: Besides It Shooting a little louder than most guns really none.
Review: Well When I Hooked up my tank i didn't know what to think but i didn't think proto would make a cheap gun. So i shot it and was amazed who cares about how loud it is it's a great gun and i would recommend it to anybody great gun nice look and is really light i love it i know i haven't had it for a long time i will tell you if it just falls apart on me but i don't think its gonna happen nice gun and it is not to bad a price. Feedneck works great trigger is nice, moves a little to side to side but nothing to make you change your mind about getting the gun, eyes are great. a little tricky to get a drop foward on there, easy to work on so easy a caveman could do it lol... A+ gun, it weighs less than my halo lol
Conclusion: If you have 400 hundred dollars and trying to get a gun get this one its an awesome gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

misfiter01 Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tons, Way to many to list. But this Thing keeps up with just bout anything right out of the box
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix rail
Dye UL Barrel
Dm6 on/off
Cp Rail
Clamping Feedneck
UL Frame +++ Virtue soon to Come
Recommended
Upgrades:
Backcap
Feedneck
cp rail
and on/off
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Light
Low profile
no chops at all
Price
Dye Performance
Weaknesses: Backcap
Plasticy look
Review: Well I recently baught this gun about lets say the start of winter break whcih was about 2 weeks ago. I was at my Local feild every single day over the break playing and practicing with my team. Well first off this gun blew away the competition because well the competition was mostly ions, but a few had virtues and it still wasnt anything to compare.

The Performance of this gun is amazing, the settings 30bps ramp right outta the box. Its amazing, the trigger pull pretty much sucks, without some work, for one you should take out the spring for your trigger thatll take away a lot of the stiffness to the trigger.

Accuracy..I WAS MOWING FACES!!! maaaaaaaaaan o maaan, the barrel provides GREAT stock performance.

Light/Low Profile.. IS GREAT not much bigger then the ion and sure beats the hell outta its performance but still this thing is pretty freakin light even with those ginormous metal tanks. I use a dye stubb and i love it.


LED Display/Eyes: The Led is really easy to use, push on, push 2nd button for eyes off.
But to change the modes, that can be a bit hard to get use to. Ive been reading these reviews on how there pmr keeps chopping well, ive put probly a good 7,000 pballs through mine and havnt had a break or jam.

Weakness: Guys who get there gun right outta the box and TRY to put it on PSP or Millenium mode, it wont work Due to the fact the gun hasnt been broken in the noid will seem like its bogging down. Break your gun in and then try it, itll work great.

Internals: Its wow. Very easy to clean very easy to figure out. There are a couple O-rings on some on the internals that make you wonder..why the hell..would you put that there.. but eh it works in the end i guess. HOWEVER during Breakin process i did blow quite a few o-rings.

Problems and uh-ohs.. Well out of the box, my back cap was completely messed up, it was alrdy cross threaded and wouldnt even screw in. And then next, youll probly get leaking from your hose, easy fix could be cut to long or to short, or you might need some Tefflon tape. It does take awhile to break your reg in, but as it breaks in youll notice an increase in your guns performance. Biggest problem i had was leakage!! Either blowing an o-ring or leakage from the macroline. BUT guys the best thing you can do is read your manual..i know..it takes time but its really worth it, and get use to your gun.. And another thing if you turn your FPS below about 185 your guns will start leaking internally. AND!!! PLEASE turn down your velocity before you use your gun.. before you put air on it because you will might be in danger of blowing your reg.

I repeat again, dont try different settings right out of the box because the gun hasnt been broken in and it will most likely bog down on you. Dont think the gun is crap because of this, you simply havnt broken the gun in yet.

But really you cant go wrong with this gun, The ups that are coming out for this gun will make it shoot just like a dm6, dmc, shockers, eteks//other egos. its amazing, if you havnt herd the UL Frame is Already out, there is a Tadao board coming out along with a virtue board, and then there are color kits also to replace back cap,eye cover,feedneck etc.
Conclusion: This is a GREAT GUN!!! i did have some trouble but it wasnt really anything to complain about.. My friend baught a 05 shocker for like 700.00 *he got ripped hard**, This thing kept up. Im telling you with the upgrades that will be coming out, this gun will be able to pass the dm6 and pm7 and some egos performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 6th, 2007 at 5:10 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

annaNDAleRipPer Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm6, ion kinnda
Marker Setup: pmr, halob, crossfire 68/45, all american 14

backup:ion,vboard,veyes,360qev,L6,saw trigger, qlock,flame drop foward, 68/4500 crossfire,rikotche, all american 14inch
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger, new barell, new feedneck,
Strengths: easy 2 get a high bps, LIGHT!!!
Weaknesses: The screw 2 tighten the asa is inside the handel
Review: When I 1st picked up this gun I thought it was gonna be heavy and i was like holy **** this thing is light.When I shot it it was easy 2 get 2 get 10 walkin the trigger.The thing I didnt like is when I was trying 2 change the batterie the buttons would fall out and it would b hard 2 get them back in. I would get a new barell becuase this 1 is about 8inches i think.
Conclusion: I would recomend this product if u want like the lightest gun out there right now I think it is and a really fast gun. Im giving it a 9 because of how u tighten the asa set it back 1 #
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

radiationchild Sunday, December 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
vintage matrixes- proto rail is much light and better (my opinion)
PM5- get new trigger and barrel and should be just as good
bob long defiant- proto rail is much more worth the price
Marker Setup: PROTO RAIL paintball gun
halo B
dye ultralight
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel- its alright stock, but should be upgraded eventually
trigger- personal prefrence, can be adjusted
feedneck- I reccomend getting a clamping feedneck
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I love this marker, A BIG BANG FOR THE BUCK


PROS:

light- incredibly light even when using a halo loader
accurate- pretty accurate with stock barrel, but I reccomend upgrading it
fast- this thing rips right out of the box
maitenence- incredibly easy to lube, clean, like most matrixes, unscrew back cap, out comes the bolt
reliable- nothing went wrong, no problems, or anything


CONS:

efficiency: well not really, but it could improve, I still must consider that I'm using a 45/45 tank
polymer parts: personal prefrence, I'm fine with the parts
Conclusion: this gun is great, I think that it is totally worth the money, this gun is really unique, in the good way, its garrentied because its a matrix by proto/dye
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 1st, 2007 at 3:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media