paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
overloadpwn Tuesday, November 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Smart Parts Ion is similar in weight and "kick". I would still go with the PMR over it though.
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail
3000 PSI Normal Tank
Velocity Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" Dye Boomstick
Carbon fibre tank
Feedneck
RAPS asa
Back cap
and if you have the money an UL frame
Strengths: Its fast, the triggers sensitive, sexy body and very light.
Weaknesses: Plastic trigger. People say it bends but only if you pull down hard.
Review: It is a great gun for beginers who have been playing for a while and start really progressing. If you feel like you need more then its a good idea to instead of bying a more expensive gun then to just get a Ultra Light frame. After that your set. The body is really nice and the trigger isn't that horrible. It really grows on you. If you don't like it you can drop $30 on a new trigger. PS if you ever have troubles with it and you live in the GTA take it to Premium paintball in pickering. In conclusion the guns sexy as hell and shoots faster then Paublo trying to get over the border.
Conclusion: Get it and use it well!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

fittzzy Friday, October 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini
Marker Setup: Pmr
-virtue board
-virtue eyes
-14 inch proto 1 piece barrel
-14 inch freak junior barrel
-Blue magna drive
-Crossfire 68/45
-New stock bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL!!!!!!!!!!!!!

and possibly a new bolt...
Strengths: Price,Speed
Weaknesses: RELIABILITY, build, bolt cracks if your unlucky
Review: The Proto Matrix Rail is a great gun for the money your spending, but it became a nightmare for me at least.

I had the gun for a while and suddenly it started chopping paint like a-
well you know... Upon inspection of the bolt, my bolt literally cracked in half. No joke jagged metal and all. So I called up Dye and turns out they had outsourced to have the bolts made, and no surprise here the bolts wheren't made to par. Luckily Dye replaced the bolt free of charge. Which was great and all cept for the fact that it took 2 weeks (send the bolt out, and to get the bolt back) which kind of ruined paintballing for 2 weeks. And due to my luck the broken bolt had scratched up my eyes. Thusly I had to get new eyes for it. Which my local shop didn't carry in stock sooo, Another week for that. Luckily my hopper is awesome enough to feed balls quick enough for me to play without eyes. Even from the beginning the gun was a problem (we haven't bought from the store we bought it from since) the board came missing pieces like the actual button parts. Not the little plastic buttons you actually push but the BUTTON part the plastic part you touch is supposed to click... So I needed to purchase a virtue board considering the store didn't carry stock boards. So in all the gun ended costing more then I had hoped to spend. As for the gun itself. It's a wonderful gun on field. Shoots really fast. Bad on air but then again I was using a steely then. The stock Barrel was TERRIBLE so I bought a new barrel and it worked fine. The guns REALLY light, probably one of the lightest I've used since the Mini. It's okay for maintenance it's a spool valve so you have to use hex keys to send a swab through. But the bolt is simple enough, unscrew the bolt cap and the whole thing comes out.
Conclusion: All in all I got a good couple months out of it where it was working unbelievably well before it started falling apart. I would suggest this gun to beginners, but be aware you'll be spending more on it then you expected. It's fast, its bad on air, it's cheap and most of the parts crap out on you. So be prepared.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lam Friday, October 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion - Fairs a little better with regards to air efficiency
Marker Setup: PRIMARY:
Etek Ego (everything stock except for ASA)
NDZ on/off ASA
Empire B2

SECONDARY:
Proto Matrix Rail (stock board)
Dye Ultralite Trigger Frame
12" 2-piece Proto Barrel
CP (non-dovetail) on/off ASA
Dye minidrop
Trinity feedneck clamp
Aluminum backcap
Virtue Break-Beam Eyes (Red)
Evolution 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
In decending order:
Aluminum backcap
On/Off ASA (player's preference)
Feedneck (not necessary in some cases, however recommended)
(Virtue) Laser Eyes
Dye Ultralite Frame / Alternative trigger if you're keeping the stock frame
Virtue board (if you enjoy alot of settings)
Barrel (player's preference, not necessary)
Strengths: Accuracy
Durability
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Air efficiency - NO Low Pressure Regulator
Minor leaks - O-rings on bolt
Regulator sensitivity
Review: I bought this gun from Paintballdiscount.com about 5+ months after it came out for about $300.00 (refurbished in great/like new condition). Aside from being extremely lightweight, this gun is easy to maintain and has great accuracy.

First i'll start off on the Weaknesses:
The main problem that i've [personally] suffered from this gun (and to this day still continue to suffer) is with one of the O-rings on the bolt sail (the O-ring on the bolt sail, closest to the tail of the bolt). No matter how much i lube it up, it still continues to rub up against the can and eventually slip off, causing my gun to leak air.

A general problem with this gun (and in my opinion the most notable), is the Air Efficiency. Unlike it's predecessors in the Proto Matrix series, the PM Rail doesn't have a Low Pressure Regulator, and as a result is an air hog. When using a 68/3000 tank, i find myself refilling air after about a hopper and 2-3 pods (4 pods at the very most).

The reason i added that the Regulator's sensitivity to the "Key Weaknesses" list is mainly because if you're not constantly/actively chrono-ing your gun, or when you decide to take it apart for maintenance, you could end up turning your regulator to the maximum and easily blow your solenoid if you're not careful (which is a hassle).

Strengths:
To my own personal experience, i've used old paint at about 260+ FPS with minor curve. As for ball breaks, i'd say MAYBE 1 per every 125-175 shot, depending on how high your gun is chrono-ed of course.

The Durability of the gun is simply outstanding. Even though it's a successor/branch of the Proto Matrix series, it's a Dye subsidiary nonetheless and you get what you pay for with regards to quality and customer service.

Maintenance on the gun is probably one of the easiest that i've encountered on a Spool valve gun. Taking apart and lubing the bolt is probably one of the easiest things to do. The only hard part, if anything, is matching up the right size O-rings, especially for the Bolt Sail.

Upgrades:
I would definitely recommend getting an Aluminum backcap off the bat. I personally have never experienced the stock backcap being stripped, and i certainly didn't want to take the chance.

It's not really necessary, but i also suggest getting a on/off ASA simply for the convenience. The stock ASA did show some signs of becoming loose after a day's play, which eventually became annoying.

The Feedneck really didn't cause that much of a problem at first, but because the composition of the feedneck, it may not seem as though it would be as sturdy as preferred with some hoppers/by some players. But i must say, this stock feedneck is by far better than a stock Ion feedneck, lol.

Laser eyes are suggested because for some reason or another, Proto eyes haven't been very reliable and have a tendancy to malfunction in my experience. I usually play with the eyes off, but it is nice to play with them on every now and then for that extra added support.

One of the most popular upgrades for any Dye/Proto Matrix marker, the Ultralite Frame is certainly an upgrade worth noting. When i bought this item and put it on my marker, it did seem a little heavier as opposed to the stock frame. The feel of the frame is extremely comfortable compared to the stock frame. The reason why i would purchase this frame is not only for its asthetic contribution to the marker, but also for the buttons that turn both the marker and they eyes on/off. As opposed to the composite stock frame, the Ultralite's button's are metal and will stay on the frame when you perform maintenance within the grip. I found that it was quite an annoyance that every time i took off the grips to replace the battery and the buttons would come out of place (which was a pain to find and re-place). In addition, the red/black wires that lead to the battery harness and the board also caused a problem for me because they would come out of the white adapter.

I don't really find it necessary, but if you so choose, a Virtue board will substantially increase your average balls per second. The reason why i choose not to is because the stock board is the same that's in the Dye Ultralite Frame and the Proto Matrix 7.

The least important upgrade (in my opinion), was the 11" stock barrel. This really isn't necessary to upgrade, unless you plan on upgrading to something over 12".
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker for anyone (preferably a non-beginner, novice-intermediate player) that's into something fast paced like Speedball, etc.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 17th, 2008 at 2:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

marinepaintbalr Wednesday, August 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
smartparts sp1:ok a little big
spyder mr1:sucked
Marker Setup: proto matrix rail

All stock but a custom roller trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good upgrade for this gun would be a roller trigger but the stock trigger is fine
Strengths: Doesnt waist air shoots fast looks relly cool
Weaknesses: There is no weaknesses that i have found for this gun
Review: This is a great gun for the price and works great. It is easy to take the bolt out and clean. It dosent need any upgrades because it works great but i like to shoot fast so i got a roller trigger. The best color i think for this gun is the dust red but the dust olive is cool. But if your willing to pay a little extra you can get the pmr special with all metal parts which is nice.
Conclusion: I have to say that this is a great gun and that any one who wants a good gun should get it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tangible Bullet Monday, August 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Proto Rail. Upgraded CP feedneck and CP backcap.
Empire Reloader B with Rip Drive.
72/3000psi Aluminum tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A clamping feedneck, and a new backcap.
Strengths: Lightweight.
Accurate.
Small profile.
26 BPS.
Walkable.
Simple board.
Hyper 2 Regulator.
Price.
Weaknesses: A bit loud.
Plastic back cap.
Feedneck.
Review: I love this gun. I bought it used from ebay for only $160, so price definitley wasn't a bit of a problem for me. The first thing I noticed about it was just how lightweight it was. This gun has a very small profile. So I put the battery in and started playing with the board. Man it's one easy board to use. Very simple. Dye made a great manual for it, so there wasn't very much confusion about anything.

I aired it up and took it outside for some test firing. Wow this gun is accururate! From about 60ft. away, the spread was only about 5in. wide. It's also extremely easy to walk the trigger. The gun was a little bit louder than what I'm used to, but that's not much of a problem.

I would recomend getting a clamping feedneck so that you don't always have to use an allen wrench just to put your hopper in. I would also recomend a new backcap for the gun.
Conclusion: I would recomend this to anyone from beginner to intermediate.If you can find a great deal on this gun like I did, don't pass it up. This is a great gun. It's a tournament level gun for a third of the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tilldain Monday, August 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine,
Marker Setup: stock PMR with a throttle 71/4500, blade trigger, evo 3 with x board
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, trigger
Strengths: Weight, cost, bps
Weaknesses: None yet
Review: i got this gun after my spyder took a dump.

out of the box it was great, simple small box with manual barrel and rebuild kit right there.

the manual is great lots of color pictures and very easy to read they put a lot of time into to make it very easy to read and work on.

after reading thru the manual and putting it together and getting it set into the mode i want to play with it was time to shoot, i setup in psp ramp 5 pulls and then 3 balls per pull capped at 15.2 bps i believe, i shot a full hopper very fast extremely accurate.

i was playing with with some friends yesterday and one started yelling that we don't play full auto out here as i had him pinned in a bunker. he was shooting a ICD freestyle. also had the opp to shoot my buddy's new Timmy and it rocked but was very heavy compared to my rail. coming from a guy that shoots 1k +guns and has played pro he was very impressed with the PMR for the cost.

the barrel is a great proto one piece i had the opportunity to shot a 2 piece dye UL yesterday and i was not impressed with it most likely due to bad match from the paint
Conclusion: Fantastic gun for the cost would highly recommend to anyone looking to get into the sport for any type of game play. if your thinking about getting in and then upgrading later just get this gun now and save your self the money of buying 2 guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintMan21 Saturday, August 9th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman a5
Marker Setup: all stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
on/off
Strengths: Air
Weight
Speed
Weaknesses: None really
Review: this gun is great. i have the special edition one with all the alloy parts and i got it about a year ago. the only diff is the alloy and a 2 piece 14" barrle. My very first game i got some looks like, "hey a noob with a pmr" but when used correctly, you can be a domanant factor on the field. of all the time ive played iv nly broken 10 balls. the gun comes with a great manual with color coated eploaded views of the bold and such. very easy to read. this gun is super air efficent. i could shoot off 2000 rounds in 1 fill (45/45 tank). its lightweight, very little kick. now no gun is perfect sho heres the negatives. the kit dosnt come with all the prts needed to take aport the hyper2 regulator, so if you pop an o ring in there then your gonna have to do some shopping. the bold is a lil rough on the o rings so make sure you lube it up good.if you dont, it will rip, jam the gun and get the bolt stuck so you cant remove it. you would then have to you a stick or somthing to push it out where you could scrach it making it a $75 paperweight.one last thing is the trigger has some left to right movement but w/e
Conclusion: Overall i would recomend this gun to anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

frumpyman333 Tuesday, August 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cockers
Bob Long Guns
Etek Ego
Marker Setup: PMR stock.
CP .693 classic one piece.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and the UL FRame.
Strengths: Speed, looks
Weaknesses: No LPR, trigger frame.
Review: You can't get a better gun for the money. Under 300, fast, looks sexy, and is lighter than a mouse terd. Very consistent due to the hyper3 reg. good eye logic and the board is not bad for being stock. Very adjustable. the grips are comfy but the frame itself is lacking. What do you expect for under 300. Easy to maintain....i think thats it.

The gun is fast and shoots fairly straight with the stock barrel. i use my CP Classic .693 and its just fine. So no real need for any other upgrades. Maybe a better board later on.
Conclusion: Awesome gun. No complaints, great components, good eye logic and the programability of a high end board.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 25th, 2008 at 10:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballn2013 Friday, August 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
redz ion, invert mini, ion, evil pimp, a5.
Marker Setup: PMR-olive
PMI-70 ci 4500 psi
VL force
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feedneck,new bolt cap, and maybe a trigger.
Strengths: Speed, Battery life.
Weaknesses: Air leaks rubber trigger drop loose hard to get the bolt out.
Review: Well its a ok gun i personaly didnt like it but thats me red the weaknesses and thats mainly all i have to say... not the best gun but its ok.:) And the drop on mine kept loosining and air would leak out of the back. Also its an air hog.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Needs more upgrades than it should.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ftdrummwr10 Wednesday, July 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts eos, ion xe , auto cocker black magic, and the new auto cocker sr
Marker Setup: for this review only Blue proto pmr, halo 88/45 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper(a halo or evo 3 will do), 88ci tank (gun uses a lot of air), different barrel, change regulator, grease frequently, dont abuse this gun
Strengths: Great back up gun/ great for beginners
Weaknesses: Air hog
Review: Well i have only had mine for a month or so, and im toying with a couple different new guns. If you are looking to play a couple times a month this is a great gun for you, but i feel that the reliability of the gun isnt too great. If you look in the dye forums you will see that many people call this gun a air hog. This gun would be a great woodsball gun, but if you are into speedball id steer away from it.
Conclusion: Dont change your dwell time till you put about 6000 balls thru it, also dont take apart bolt unless you really need to work on it, it is hard to line up, and it is easy to tare o-rings.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media