paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34
        Next Page
Rotoman1 Monday, December 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ALL Trixies, Ion, Shocker
Marker Setup: I currently shoot a cobalt to black dm4 with predator (pure sweetness) w/halo, 68/45 w/shocktec ASA and hand made no-drop rail, and ultralite barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL frame would be sickness on this thing.
Strengths: Light weight,
Sturdy construction,
Looks good,
Price,
Fast & accurate,
nice stock features,
Weaknesses: No LPR,
Composite parts,
Some might see these as strengths.
Review: The Proto Rail is a ray of light in the dark world of low priced "high end" guns.
In the rail you get the quality of workmanship that I believe Dye has more than other manufacturers, at a lower price right out of the box. You get everything we have come to expect with our "high end" guns. Like eyes, different modes of fire, compact profile, clamping feed neck, Matrix speed and accuracy all in a light weight package.
You will not need to up-grade the Rail to make it perform optimally. There is no need for any QEV's, aftermarket boards,aftermarket bodies....

I'm going on a tangent here, Whats the point of buying a gun for $250.
then spending $100. on a board THEN spending $100. on a body.Then $50. here and there for this and that and what do you end up with???
A $500 or $600 ***. With that kind of $$ you could have bought a Shocker, or DM 4/5/C.

I mean who wants a gun that is going to need a new BODY?!
For the love of Pete!!

My point is, the Rail is very well made (no hoses). What you get for the price is really incredible. This is just a rumor I heard so don't quote me on this, but the composite materials used on the Rail are the same kinds used in the Glock semi auto pistols. I'm sure a few of you have heard of the legendary durability of the Glock. In any case, im not saying I'm a fan of plastic parts, I'm just saying they are of top quality plastic/composite
materials.
Conclusion: For someone on a tight budget or someone who wanted a really cool backup, this gun is for you. You will not find a better gun for the same amount of money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

tom spencer Monday, December 25th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Ion PMR is in a whole different legue)
Marker Setup: PMR
Blue proto backcap
NDZ blade trigger
14" Freak barrel with st!ffi tip
88ci 5000psi pure energy
Empire B2
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new trigger if you are picky about those things.
A new back cap sraight away
Strengths: Fast.
Good eyes.
Quiet.
Accurate.
Free sock and loads of other stuff.
Weaknesses: A little side to side movement in the trigger.
Back cap
Review: I got this marker just before christmas last year and i love it as much today as the day i got it. When i first took it out of the small foam filled bow was the weight. I thought it would be light just not that light. Other than a basic tube of a barrel and a very good manual you also get a whole set of allen keys with it a small tube of lube and a bag full of O-rings. After a quike scim through the manual i slapped in a battery screwed in a tank and filled it full of paint. Down to the field i headed with my shiny new toy. Over the chrono there was only 2+- fps wich i was impressed with even before the reg was broken in. I just stood there at the range puping out paint until there was nothing left to fire. i refilled and got playing. on the feild the gun turned in to a rageing killing machine mowing down men left, right and center. The stock barrel was reasonabley accurate but what me change was the fact that i had quite afew barrel breaks. i quite like the trigger espesially because you can make it so snappy but i know that a lot of people hate it but id try it before you buy a replacement trigger. The board is the same as the board in the PM7 it has four modes of fire NXL, PSP, Millenium and semi you can also cap the rate of fire, ajust the trigger sensitivity and dwell. One of the funniest things ive heard people say about my gun is when one of my team mates held it and said its a bit heavy. And i was like its a hell of a lot lighter than your you silly bugger.
Conclusion: A perfect gun if you only have $400 to spend.
Very very good gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 23rd, 2007 at 9:22 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

triggerhappy21 Friday, December 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smarts Parts Ion
Marker Setup: 2007 PMR, CCM Feedneck, XSV Drop Forward, Hybrid on/off and Smart Parts Freak Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck and Barrel
Strengths: Light, Fast, Looks, Board, Grips
Weaknesses: Feedneck is weak
Review: This gun is awsome. I love it, its so light compared to my WGP autococker. Its got a training mode on it (when the eyes are turned off). I don't like the airport so I got a Hybrid on/off put on it and I also put an XSV Drop Forward on it so, that its more compact. I'll post a picture of it, please rate it. I will go play with it and write more on this review.
Conclusion: Any way you look at it this gun is worth the money. Definetly get it if you have the chance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ear Friday, December 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion- ha.
Diablo Wrath- heh.
Ego- like the feel of the Rail more
PM6- Rail is lighter
Marker Setup: Proto Rail, stock except Shocker On/Off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Some say trigger, but I personally like the trigger
New barrel?
UL Frame?
Strengths: Light as hell
Fast
Can shoot from out of the box
Grips
Light, again
Price!
Weaknesses: Not made of gold?
My egg didnt keep up
Review: TESTED ONLY (Indoors)

I picked one up after saving up some money. Got it for 362 dollars off of PbNation. This thing was set, and was shootable out of the box. Man this thing is light. This is lighter than the PM6, which is nice. The anno/milling was awesome, no flaws whatsoever. I looked at the bolt, which was already lubed. The eye setup was nice, no more clumsy wires like on the Ion, it only had a small 'eye strip'.
REBALL TESTING: I aired it up, and because I havent played yet, I grabbed some reballs and loaded up my Egg. The stock setting was 285 FPS, and I almost put a few holes in my pillow where I shot it. It was fairly accurate, and seemed consistent (NOTE I didnt have a chronograph at the time), and the reg is not broken in yet. I noticed I was outshooting my egg, so that means I'll have to get a Pulse or Velocity (I refuse to go back to Halos). The eyes seemed to work flawlessly as well.
WEIGHT AND LPR: The gun was very light, the only markers lighter are the Invert Mini and the PM7. But give a take a couple ounces, and they are the same. Performance wise, it compared to the PM6, easily, but it lacks a LPR, which in some ways, it is an advantage (less to clean and mess around with). Many people have complained about the trigger, but I found it very comfortable and light. So light in fact, it seemed like it almost had trigger bounce.
POLYMERE PARTS: many people complain that there are too many polymere parts, but I would disagree. That is one reason why it is so light. The frame feels so comfortable with the polymere on the back side, and the feedneck is holding up well. I guess people always have to try and ruin a good thing.
PRICE: The price is a definite thumbs up. I got mine for 362, and it was the best paintball investment Ive made yet.
UPGRADES: As of now, I'm seeing many companies already making upgrades for the Rail. Virtue already has a board, eyes, and eye wires. Proto already has a new aluminum roller bearing trigger. Dye is also ready to release the PMR Ultralight Frame, which will make it even lighter. With all of this attention it is receiving, this will be a very popular marker.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a marker that is almost identical to many high ends, but less than half the price, pick this up. Proto has done an awesome job marketing towards the poor people, and unlike Smart Parts with the Ion, they have a true contender for one of the better markers this year. Pick this up!

Rating: 9, because I have only tested it, and havent seen it perform for days on end. Will change my rating once I have more experience with it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

TheHacker Thursday, December 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail
Pulse Hopper w/ Hybrid Quick Release Neck
Dye Ultralite 12, 14 and 16 inch Barrels
CrossFire bottle
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pulse Hopper
Hybrid Quick Release Neck
Dye Ultralite 12, 14 and 16 inch Barrels
CrossFire bottle 70cu in 4500 PSI
Virtue Proto M7 & Rail Board
Strengths: Priced Effectively
Very Accurate
Easy to Clean
Solid Rate of Fire



Weaknesses: Used composites
Bolt cap becomes real loose
Boltcap slot wears down after tightening
Review: I purchased the Proto Matrix Rail and was happy with it. So I decided to really put the product to the test. In the military we would test weapons by putting them through rigorous firing and training excercises. So I played 4 days out of 11 in games and ran drills another 3 days. I went through about 10 cases of RECSPORT to see what this gun was made of.

The first 5 cases went well with minor adjustments and tweeks. After that the composite bolt cap began to come loose every 2 pods of paint and required more tightening. After another 2 cases, the bolt cap became loose every pod. I then tried using blue locktite. That didn't help for long. Today's drill I am using teflon tape. We'll see how well that works.
Conclusion: The Proto Matrix Rail is worth the investment but will require some babying. I only hope Proto or Hybrid comes out with a ALUMINUM replacement bolt cap that wont come loose so easy. Another trigger might be nice too.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Zakushark Monday, December 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-gripped Tippmann 98: totally different marker in every way
Ion [tested]: similar, but worse quality and performance
Kingman Fenix [tested]: Not even close
Marker Setup: Black Dust Proto Matrix Rail
-Draxxus Pulse loader
-J&J Edge kit
-NDZ aluminum bolt cap
-Dye on/off

Tippmann 98
-E grip
-APE rampage trigger
-2 piece J&J ceramic barrel
-Low pressure kit
-Empire inline regulator
-Cyclone feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Trigger [preference]
-ASA [preference]
-Aluminum bolt cap
Strengths: -Good to go out of the box
-Extremely lightweight
-Cost friendly (for a high-end)
Weaknesses: -Funky trigger
-Rubber grip frame parts
-Polymer bolt cap
Review: I was very excided when I first heard about this marker. Proto was making an affordable mid range high-end marker. Finally I could pick up a high-end with out totally breaking the bank! I was not disappointed when I opened it up, examined it, and then tested it in action the same weekend. However, there are a few key strengths and weaknesses that must be addressed:

Pros:

Good to go:This marker is good to go out of the box. It comes with a great board that is 30 pbs ready with semi-auto, PSP, and Millennium modes. It comes with a good, stylish Proto barrel; I just wish it was two piece so I could get different backs with out buying a new barrel or kit. The marker also comes with an adjustable ASA that you can set according to the pin valve on your N2 tank.

Wight: The first thing I noticed when I picked up this marker was its weight. I was astounded by how light and compact it was! I am used to my heavy and bulky Tippmann; so this markerís weight was a bit of a shock to me. It was definitely designed with the front-mid player in mind.
The biggest thing that makes the Rail so compact is that the regulator goes through the grip frame instead of the body. By having the regulator screw directly into the grip frame, Proto was able to significantly shave down the matrix body and make it thinner and lower profile. The fact that there is also no low-pressure secondary regulator cuts down the height of the marker.

Cost friendly: This marker is the cheapest Dye/Proto marker ever made. At a good $400, you are getting the same Matrix performance as say an M7 at half the cost.

Cons:

Weird trigger design: I donít know what Proto was thinking when they designed the Rail trigger. I mean, it is not horid, but it is ugly and hard to get used to at first. It is very rubbery and ďfatĒ, and feels awkward on the fingers. The trigger is not that big of a deal though, because it can easily be replaced:

Rubber grip frame parts: I was very disappointed that there was a big un-removable gray rubber part attached to the back of the grip frame. I planned on changing the look of my Rail by getting some red grips, red trigger, and red feedneck, and painting the eye covers, but found that there was a big gray blob that threw off the red and black look. Im hopin proto makes other grip frames.

Polymer bolt cap: HUGE design flaw. Not smart at all. You never make plastic part that will be getting a lot of wear and use. The threads on the bolt cap are easily strippable, in fact my bolt capís threads were factory defected and I had to call for a replacement. Im really hoping that Proto comes out with a metal part kit for the Rail.
Conclusion: Overall, the Rail performs extraordinarily well for its price. I am very impressed over all. Yes, there are a few bugs to be worked out, but that is to be expected for a first generation marker. Im giving the Proto Matrix Rail a solid 9 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 28th, 2007 at 6:48 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

florida26 Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hmmmm, pm6, ion, 06 ego, angel 1..........
Marker Setup: 05 Shocker
ndz stinger bolt kit
q-lock
ndz wave trigger
cp on/off
viewloader vlocity
45/45 crossy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Of course a new barrel kit, on/off, and trigger, and maybe a new bolt when they eventually come out.
Strengths: Light, fast (what gun isn't), comforatable, and fairly attractive.
Weaknesses: Kick, average stock barrel, and mantainence.
Review: I'm sorry that I don't own the marker, but I really wanted to put my opinion on here from what I experienced.

Pros

Light- Extremly light. Mostly because of the composites in the frame which by the way actually don't look unappealing.

Fast- It can shoot fast, but what gun can't keep up.

Comforatable- It fit my hands very well (my hands are about medium size). I had no problems at all holding the gun. The composite material was actually quite comfy near the back of the marker.

Attractive- For a $400 dollar marker, It looked really good. Most of the pictures online really don't do it justice. The composites in the frame really do match the body, unlike some pictures I've seen.

Cons

Kick- This was really the only thing that just totally changed my mind about the gun. Maybe it wasn't tuned right seeing as how it was a store marker, but it definatly gave me a lot of kick ( Almost comparable to a slightly upgraded ion). This dissapointed me, because I was really hoping it would shoot like all other dms/pms. I really couldn't hold a stream of paint steady.

Barrel- I'm going to give it the beifit of the doupt and say that the kick is what contributed to some of the inaccuracy. I have tried a proto one-piece on other guns, and it has been fine. So I'm not sure I should blame the barrel.

Mantainence- Like any spool valve, it will have a great deal of keeping up to do. I know that some people don't mind spending the extra time, but for new players, this might be a bad thing. It would have been for me a couple years ago.
Conclusion: This is a great backup for any experienced player, but I wouldn't recommend it to a beginner seeing as they would have to keep up with the mantainence of a spool valve. It's your choice, and make sure you shoot whatever gun you choose before you buy it.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 16th, 2007 at 11:48 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

iroxorsnoobs Friday, December 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5
2K5 Timmy
Alias Timmy
ETEC Ego

Marker Setup: 2k5 Timmy
Empire B
Stiffi Switch Kit
Crossfire 68 4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly a new barrel
A new trigger if you don't like the stock one
Strengths: LIGHT!
Fast
PRICE!
Weaknesses: None!
Review: Wow is all that I can say...

This gun when you first pick it up it melds to your hands. It is incredibly light, so much so that it makes an Angel seem like a cinder block. The stock trigger is odd, it uses some gripping rubber sort of like the kind that you find on the guns grips but it works surprisingly well. LED programming makes it realy simple to change anyting you want on the fly. I loved this so much when I shot it that I can't help my self but go and buy one for myself!
Conclusion: I recommend that everyone that is looking for a cheaper backup gun or is looking to upgrade from an ION or gun around that price range should definitely look into getting one of these. For 400$ you can't beat beat what this gun offers.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 22nd, 2006 at 12:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bayareaballer Thursday, December 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom Pro, SP ion, ICD Promaster, LTD Wrath, Eblade Cocker
Marker Setup: Stock Black Proto PMR with dust clear hyper 2 reg (upgrades soon to come), Velocity, 4500 steel tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger(some love stock, some hate it), on/off, feedneck
Strengths: Fast!
Extremely light/small
Hyper 2 reg
Accurate
Looks!!
Great Price!
Ready to go stock!
Weaknesses: Trigger feels wierd
doesnt come with ON/OFF
Requires a lot of paint!
Review: I recently bought the Rail from my local pball shop. I had never shot the rail before and no intentions of buying a paintball gun when i went to the shop but when I saw it on the shop I had to try it. The owner had just received in and did not test it yet so we went behind the shop with the pmr and some paint. when I first held it I noticed how light and small it was. I began to shoot it and was really impressed how fast this gun was. It was shooting ropes on stock settings and with the stock trigger. We were all amazed. even the owner who plays with shockers and dm's. He took the gun and began shooting at a fence post, hitting dead on shot after shot. After testing this gun out i immediately bought it.
When i got home i started messing around with it in my backyard. I lowered the debounce down to 2 and capped it at 30bps and let it rip. This gun shoots amazing. There is very little kick and it is so consistant. It comes stock with a hyper 2 reg which is a huge plus. You can go out to the field with this gun just out of the box and you would be amazed. Im not trying to say it is better than pm/dm/6/7's, but it can easily compete with these guns on the field. It is lighter and smaller than any other pm/dm, and isn't very different in design either.
I recommend in buying a new trigger beacuse the stock one feels a little weird. You can still get it going really fast, but it takes some getting used to. I really wish it had come with an on/off but since it only cost $400 im willing to buy one. This marker is incredible! It's very fast, light, durable, easy to maintain, looks great, consistant, and all at a reasonable price! this is what i look for in a gun.
Conclusion: I would definately recommend this gun to any serious paintball player. If you cant afford a pm6/7, or even if you can, I really recommend you take a look at the Rail. I am giving this gun a ten, not because i think its the greatest gun out there, but for the price and what you get with it, you cant beat.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

burnballl Thursday, December 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
pms
dms
shockers (better)
Marker Setup: Primary Marker: Smart Parts Epiphany and q lock

Secondary Marker: Spyder Fenix Acs with dye grips, scenario dreams t board, and14 inch Stiffi


Other Gear: Halo b, Dye i3s, jt pants, jersey, empire gloves, 68cu pure energy fiber, 68cu dxs
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
trigger
Strengths: Fast
good looking
light
Weaknesses: Fad trigger
lots of plastic and rubber parts
Review: I was at my friends house and he just got the rail with a 88ci pmi tank so we gased it up dry fired on ramp and semi and then added paint. it was pretty good shot very fast for a marker of this price and it was very light my halo ekpt up with it pretty good and we were using my hopper kuz my friend only has an egg and i liked the overall feel of it but the trigger was a little sloppy and had an awkward pull to it but it shot accurate because my friend put his 14 in ultralite on it
Conclusion: Its a good mid level marker and it shot pretty decent just its very plasticy and not innovative at all but its a still a good gun for a good price so i give it an eight and all the people that are gonna complain about the eight i gave it well just stfu eight is a good grade
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media