paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34
        Next Page
cory888 Sunday, December 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
pretty much every thing
Marker Setup: pmr,halo b,dxs 68 4500,empire kit,cp on-off(there isn't really any thing yet so ya)
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feedneck,on off, trigger
Strengths: Light, fast, accurate, cheap.
Weaknesses: Feedneck ,trigger.
Review: This is a baler gun.as soon as i saw it i new that i had to get it. $400 later, i am very satisfied. I love it.it looks tight its light its accurate its cheap.
Cons:when i got this gun i aired up then i could only get 1 shot out of it.so i took it back and they gave my a different one. right when i got home i started ripping. the trigger is not the greatest one out there but its good after some adjustment i was shooting ropes.i only chopped 1 but it was getting cold so it was not the gun.

edit:i went and played with it and i didn't have 1 problem all day.i was keeping up withe the dm7s Timmie's and all of those high end guns. this gun is just as good as any gun out there.it was accurate after i got it broken in.i was getting compliments from every 1 all day. i do recommend a new barrel and on-off as soon as you can get them. the trigger is just fine when u get used to it.i was using a empire kit and a ul all day. i really liked the ul barrel i could hit right were i wanted to almost the whole time.i chopped 3 times all day and i think that it was the paint or the barrel coming lose a few times but i really liked it and am glad that i bought it.

I did not have a crono so i don't know how consistant it is.
the barrel is ok for now but later u will want to get a barrel kit. i don't like the asa at all so the first thing that i got was a on off.the board is ok it only has 3 modes:semi psp and millennium.but i can ramp up to 30 bps!!! i love it


edit: i have played with the rail a few times. after the first time i went and got the new metal back cap and new ul trigger(not frame). i took out the trigger spring and it worked great and it helped the pull alot. but then out of no where a few days after i played the trigger started to stick bad. so i had to put the spring back in. so im not sure if it was the new trigger or what but i would recommend taking the spring out , but keep it so when it starts to stick you can put it back in.

i also found a hidden mode on the stock board. when you are in config. mode go to the yellow flicker and click the trigger 4 times and you are on NXL mode.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to any one it is awesome its cheap too and its ready to go stock..........................get it now i gave it a 9 cause i had problems with it at the beginning
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 31st, 2007 at 4:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

patton449 Sunday, December 10th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM6
DM6
Ion
Ion maxd
DM7
Marker Setup: I bought the gun and played with it 3 times
Strengths: Its cheap and light
Weaknesses: Weak body, trigger, bolt, everything doesn't shoot great
Review: I bought this gun, because i couldn't afford a pm6 and heard that it had the same modes of fire and was lighter and cheaper. well it was lighter, cheaper, and had the same modes of fire. But the gun is flimsy, i was acctually able to bend it with my hads, you could rip the back top hat off with it threaded on. didn't shoot real great becuase of the milling and the light body.
Conclusion: The gun was clearly made to try to take the markey for low end electronic markers for serious players that cant afford the better and more expensive guns, from the ion and smart parts. If the body was made stronger and had a better to hat, and was milled a little different, i would give it a 10 for sure. Proto matrix needs to make it stronger and sturdier, and mill it exactly like the PM 6/7. Also lower the price a little bit. If they make those changes and sell it for like 250/300 then they would take the low end electric market from the ion. I think that next years model will be sick though. but right now dont buy it.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
34 Comments - Add Comment

Himself68 Sunday, December 10th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
BKO
Marker Setup: pm6 w/ ul frame
Crossfire tank 64 3000
Stiffi
Redz 4.5 Pack
empire reloader b2
Strengths: Cheap
Looks
Weaknesses: You what you pay for
Review: rail=ion
pm6>shocker

dye (proto) trying to compete with smart parts in my opinon. They try to match the ion and do it. Better then the ion by a whole lot, but dont let this fool you. This gun compared to a pm6 there is no comparison the pm6 will blow it away. My pm6 is faster then dm6 but thats not here or there. The rail is a good 2ND gun not first. Kids who start off with ions or rails or something better does not know how to use it. I tech these guns almost every weekend at the shop I work at and I know this for a fact. This gun is good for a 2nd gun.

Conclusion: GOOD 2nd GUN FOR THE WEEKEND PLAYER BUT DONT THINK YOUR WALKING IN A TOURNAMENT AND WINNING WITH THIS. RAIL>ION. I give it an 7 because it is an excellent gun for the weekend player.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment

sweetcell Saturday, December 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, Egos, Epiphany, Tippy's
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail
Evlution 3 z board
Pure Energy 68/4500 psi w/ rhino cover

--------------------------------------
Dye I3 Invisions
NXE 4+3+2 pack w/ locklids
Empire pants
Dye ironmen jersey
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a ul barrel...thats about it this gun is perfect stock
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Looks
Design
Speed
Durability
Reliability
Speed
Speed
Speed!
Weaknesses: Polymer on the trigger but it doesnt bother me at all
Review: This is amazing. Proto has done an unbelievable job on this. SOO EASY TO PROGRAM BOARD AND TO DISASSEMBLE! Wow, if you dont get this gun at this price, you are retarded. Get this for a backup or for a novice-intermediate player. Dont even think about the ion anymore, the pmr owns it for just 200$ more. YOU CAN RAMP AT 30 BPS !!!!!!!!!!!!!
but dont do it ramping is for noobs but its fun to ramp dry fire =)
Conclusion: GET THIS GUN and a pulse or Vlocity or Halo B/rip or even an Egg 3.
This gun is perfect for tournament play.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 10th, 2006 at 7:03 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nastytyphoon Saturday, December 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autocockers, imps, shockers,angels,timis,system x,you name it
Marker Setup: olive green dust system x nme le , ruby red halo-b with ripdrive , empire fuel 72/4500 pis low pressure tank ,12 inch freak barrel stainless steel back 05 all american front, was board included
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bagger (thats me)always says the barrel kit is always an upgrade
Strengths: Price
fast
reliable
I think its just like a 05 proto
Weaknesses: It dident come out sooner, nice marker
Review: What can i say about this gun.... proto put out a low cost marker for people like me who can stop collecting guns. we all know that decent guns arnt cheap, but this proto rail blew my mind go check them out a.s.a.p and bring your wallet cuz once you pick it up you wont want to put it down.
Conclusion: You got to go check it out for yourself word cant describe this gun its just perfect, it looks like a dm6 and acts like a pm5 at a price thats unbelevable!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

maxmonster Friday, December 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
my old spyder nothing compared to it but still reliable
Marker Setup: spyder compact 2000, esp trigger frame, blade trigger, shocktech bolt, cp reg, cp drop, teardrop barrell

proto rail , still stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger for sure
Feed neck
Strengths: Speed
Light
HYPER 222222
New bolt
Weaknesses: Trigger feels wierd
Review: Well i finally got this mother yesterday. at the shop i asked if i could see it and man was it light! literally go get one of those propel water bottles fill it about half -3/4 full and thats how light it is. so then i decided to get it. they let me shoot it in the shop and there were like 5 other people in there. once i started to rip everyones attention turned towards me. it was a bit louder than i had expected but once you start going sound is a bit lower. while paying my mom asked since we were paying in cash do we get anykind of discount, we were already getting it for 380. but i also bought a new board for my egg. it turned out that i only had to pay 400 for everything. so when i got home i had to do a biology lab, after finishing that in record time i messed around with the gun it was akward at first since i stopped playing for 2 years everything was really easy to learn, from setting up ur trigger sensitivity, shooting mode, dwell, and rof. only bad part is that u gotta open up the grip to go into config mode kinda a pain in the butt other than that and the trigger its nice. the trigger has some side slope to it but i rather like it because i love the feel of my trigger right up to the trigger switch so tapping it on the side rather works well for me. as for shooting it i have yet to really see how accurate it is... no money for paint... but dry firing... man i almost peed my pants... i do recommend relubing the gun first before testing it out because my gun did leak from the bolt, so relube it and relube it GOOD like put a glob on every 2 orings like | | that much
its kinda a gas hog right now but i havent gotten the chance to really adjust my dwell. id say i got about 800-1000 shots right now... not too great but just need to set my dwell so no problem really. and make sure to put some more of that white tape stuff they use in like plumbing on the hose connectors... the stock ones looked crappy.

field test:
well today i took it to play with. no problems at all. i used my friends freak and the stock one both just to test accuracy. freak was a little more accurate. enough to tell a difference. but for the stock barrel it was quite accurate i must admit i did better with the stock barrel surprising i know. if theres some gunk in the barrel itll clean itself its pretty cool but accuracy is hindered just a bit you will notice some balls veer to the left and right a little. its pretty good for stock. with everything tank and hopper its quite heavy prolly like 3-5 lbs? but i could manuever around quite well. well i thought i did good since this is my first time back from a 2 year break. the paint i was using was supposedly quite brittle. but NO CHOPS whatsoever. i am glad i got this gun 400 bucks for a reliable, fast, accurate, and pretty light... yeah gun. reeeaaall nice i love it. just be careful of the battery harness... mines about to break. i can see it. just drop like a couple of bucks on a new one. lucky seems to do nicely. cleaning my gun would have been better if i wasnt shot in the gun so many times. but its easy just take your time on it dont rush things o ya battery lasts forever too... still using the proto battery
Conclusion: Overall this gun is a great gun for those who want awesome performance for really cheap. light and very manueverable. prolly with tank and hopper only about 3 pounds lighter than my spyder ha yeah its a great for those who want to step up their game and get a new gun.
GREATTT GUNNN!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 6th, 2007 at 9:44 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

bendore Friday, December 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Mini
any Proto
Marker Setup: PMR
Empire Fuel 68/4500/crossfire peanut
Violocity Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
UL Frame????
Barrel Maybe
On/Off
Strengths: Fast
Light
Small
Weaknesses: Trigger
No On/Off
Review: Otay this gun is one of the nicest guns I've had so far. Its capable of 30 bps. It has ramping strait out of the box. Easy to change the modes of fire. Fast I got to 15 bps. Lightest gun i've held since the mini. Its made mostly of plastic but who cares just the frame is but its what makes the light. Very small easy to feild strip and to clean. Easy to read manual. This and the PM7 are the only two protos with ramping out of the box. Its pretty much like a PM7 just with a rubber trigger and more plastic. I like the triiger but may be hard to walk may need to shoot a couple of times. The feed neck i found that will fit the violosity hopper out of the box
Conclusion: This is my first proto and i'm happy
BUY IT
Its the best for the money
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 14th, 2007 at 6:45 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerking7 Thursday, December 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6, PM6.
Marker Setup: Dye Iron Men DM6 with a Empire B2 reloader and Crossfire 80/4500 Peanut
Recommended
Upgrades:
Metal parts kit, barrel if needed and trigger, bolt
Strengths: -lighter and tighter than previous Proto markers
-More bang for your buck
-Fast
-small
Weaknesses: NOT MANY
-Composite parts
Review: I first tested this gun at a field when when my back up gun (05 Alias Intimidator) broke. I didn't have my regular Dm6 with me and still had paint and daylight left so I wanted to keep playing. I happened to notice the PMR on the wall and asked if There was any way I could try it without buying it. The guy brought me out to another player and he told me I could use it for the rest of the day. Here's how it went:
What is has:
-the gun itself has a beautiful 3D body design and a really good ano
-Its size is perfect, it was a very nice and low profile
-The stock board is very fast and comes with more modes than you would think
-It can keep up with almost any other high-end marker
What it needs:
-a new bolt. The stock proto bolts are kind of cheap
-metal parts. The composite has a tendency to get stripped
-AND if you really want it a board and a UL frame
Conclusion: I give this gun a 9 out of 10 for its price performance. The only reason that it isn't a 10 is because it doesn't have metal parts Proto sort of cheaped out there
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zerokid1 Thursday, December 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys,Egos,Pm6,Dm6 many more.
Marker Setup: Proto Rail-stock-
Halo B With rip
72 3000 pure energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Fast
Light
Accurate
Good Looks
Weaknesses: Trigger for some ppl but not for me anymore.
Review: So i got the gun Open it up was nicely Packaged. So i take out the gun felt very light

so i adjust the pressure and turn it down about 1-3 turns even though its already at 150psi its good to still turn it down before use.

so i air it up to see if everything is ok before i go to the field. had a leak...was coming out

from the back so i take out the bolt and change the back o-ring and problem fixed!.

so i go on to dryfire it to make sure it will shoot ok and was perfectly fine.

so i go to the field get paint and what not and go to the chrono and bam velocity-281-282-281-283-282 - was amazing!. so i got back get all my stuff ready and wait till the game. refs call us i start walkin first thing comes into mind wow this thing is very light could walk all day like this.

so anyways i pass the chrono without any adjustments and make my way to the field

had a blast everygame the gun shot amazing no chops no nuttin and was rippin with a stock barrel...didnt have any problems shot as fast as i could and every shot would be the same shot as before (owns). Had an amazing day at the field velocity stayed the same shot great got about 2 ppl out each game witch is pretty good first time.

Trigger= To tell you truth it wasent that great at first but as days past it got lighter n lighter somehow cause of practicing alot walking the trigger but soon we will have upgrades for trigger and it will be fine.

FeedNeck= its fine doesent bother me at all fits hoppers easy. just use it till u think its time to get a new one.

is this gun like an ion?= Not even close like some ppl say i had an ion and it dont even shoot like this gun my velocity on ion was like 290 270 280 kept jumping up and down
this gun is way better then the ion, Way Lighter, Faster, Better Performance, velocity is way more consistent. Will Update Once i try the new ion . but way better then the first ion. better reg better parts.


this gun is defintly awsome for the price if you're looking to get one i say GET ONE!
Conclusion: Great gun for the price ,
Shoots good,
Buy one you will be happy.
Gave it a 9 since u need some upgrades.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 12th, 2006 at 11:35 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

DevilDucky Thursday, December 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ION
Marker Setup: PMR, Empire Reloader B, Nitro Duck Tuff Skin 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL Frame, Possibly a 2 piece barrel, on/off asa
Strengths: Fast
Light
Accurate
Price
Weaknesses: Trigger wobble and some of the polymer parts possibly having durability issues.
Review: Alright first thing I noticed when I picked up this maker was that it weighs next to nothing it's scary to think what thing will weigh with a UL Frame. I then opened up the manual and found it very easy to fallow. The board has pretty much all the settings you could ever want.

Now for the fun part I locked in my tank and loader and fired this bad boy up and everything was nice and tight no leaks. I took it out and fired off a hopper full and 6 pods and wow did this thing perform not a single chop. In my opinion this thing shot every bit as well as you would expect out of Proto. Definitely a top flight maker!!!

Now for what I didn't really care for, the trigger it has a little wobble which I can see getting worse given the nature of wear and tear of polymer parts definitely going to upgrade to and aluminum trigger

Conclusion: This marker is great a lot of high priced features in an inexpensive package. This maker is great for anyone starting out or that doesn't want to break the back on a new maker. I think Proto has really got something here. I have no doubt that when the after market support picks up for the maker you are going to have an awesome base to completely trick out.

I would give this maker a 10 but I want to see the long term reliability with the polymer parts.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 7th, 2006 at 7:42 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media