paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34
        Next Page
PMR_freak Tuesday, December 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
egos, pm6, pm5, shocker, etek, timmy.
Marker Setup: PMR black
all stock
45/45
vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
cannot say, i have the trigger where i want it and it rips.
Strengths: CHEAP
fast
light
super small

Weaknesses: A contrast kit.
Review: First thing when you get the gun, its a small box really small. Open it up everything is packaged really nice and neat, comes with marker, barrel allen keys, dye lube, and barrel sock, owners manual.

When you hold this thing its really solid does not feel cheap to me at all, anno is great.
putting paint through it, this shots like a dream, fast,consistent, light, and tight.

This thing is really small, and way light.

Got my trigger set to where i like it and let me tell you, perfection.
still rubber and feels good.
Although the frame is composite, feels great in hands wont even notice it, the only thing is i got black, the body and frame are a little different in color.
Conclusion: Great gun for the price, would reccommend to any player looking to step up there game.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 26th, 2006 at 10:26 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bobtnt3 Monday, December 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, pimp, shocker, minion
Marker Setup: Ion, Virtue, Empire twister, Firebolt, QEV, Low-rise feedneck.......
Recommended
Upgrades:
None as of yet....
Strengths: Size/Weight....
accuracy and consistency...
Weaknesses: None as of yet
Review: I purchased this gun as a Christmas present, but it couldn't wait to get tested. My son was dead set on getting a Shocker NXT, but once the rail got in his hands the decision was made. The gun has great balance and the weight was unreal.....very light. As a front player the size and weight will be a great advantage. The consistency out of the box was incredible. I have a maxed out ION that I have been very happy with, but the stock rail made me understand just how good something else can be. The packaging and instructions were very complete. Gun can be maxed out at 30bp with stock board, but the consistency and accuracy using the PSP mode are more than enough for anyone.
Conclusion: Tremendous gun for the price. The size gives the gun a different feel in your hands, but can be gotten used to very quickly. A little noisier than expected, but no kick at all. I could very easily recommend this to all my friends and not feel bad about it. Get this gun!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Mzakflip40 Saturday, December 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine,
Marker Setup: Proto Rail
68/4500 Crossfire LP Tank
Empire Reloader B2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Feedneck
Strengths: Light weight, fast, affordable, easy to use.
Weaknesses: Absolutely none
Review: My first impression of this gun was, "wow this is light". This gun is super fast and can easily keep up with any $1000 gun. The eyed work flawlessly, and its so easy to program. It has a sweet body, and i love the Dye Hyper2 in-line. The rail is an unbelievalby good deal. The trigger may be made of a polymer, but its extremely light and easy to walk. Definately get this if your looking for a new gun.
Conclusion: I think Proto/Dye did a great job on this one. An affordable marker with great quality. Perfected.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

sthpark Friday, December 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month142 of 154 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP Ion with Blackheart board, Freak barrel, CP regulator, NDZ trigger, CP on/off.
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail with proto 2 piece barrel, Vlocity hopper, and Dye 70/4500 stubby tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
2 piece barrel
Strengths: Very light
Very fast
Compact
Accurate
Reasonable Price
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Ok, I've been playing paintball for about a year now, and like about a million other people I started with an Ion. My new gun senses where kicking in and I didn't want to spend an arm and a leg, so I thought I would at least give this gun a try, after all it is made by Dye.

The gun feels very good in the hands, its extremely light ( I was surprised at how light it was) its very compact, and the polymer parts don't seem to bother me. The stock board is pretty much like the response board by proto and it may be, haven't seen that in the features, mine is setup for 3 trigger pulls then ramping kicks in. The manual is very easy to follow and the settings seem to be fairly straightforward on how to adjust them. The marker has an anti bolt stick mode that is on by default, and the other modes are trigger sensitivity, dwell, ROF, and firing mode (semi, PSP, and Millenium)

Upon shooting the gun, I couldn't help but notice how fast it was, the factory setting is 20 bps according to the manual. The Rail was pretty accurate with some lower end paint (white box) and seemed pretty consistent, I don't have the chrono numbers, but I expect it to be more consistent when the Hyper 2 reg gets broken in good which takes about 2000 shots. The Rail had very little kick, not quite as smooth as DM's and PM's that I have shot but at a fraction of the price so its more than ok. To me it looks better than the PM 6, it has a lower body profile I believe and looks a lot like the PM 7. It definitely looks better in person and with a 2 piece barrel.

The gun is easy to disassemble, clean, lube and reassemble, very low maintenance, which is a plus.

The only complaint I have and its not a big one, is that there are a lot of allen wrenches and I couldn't find a way to differentiate between the sizes, not a big deal since I have a set of standard and metrics in a sized carrying sleeve, and also some of the screws are very tedious to get to, so patience is a virtue.

I was hesitant about purchasing this marker at first, but Im glad I did. It truly is a lot of performance for the price, Im not sure of another marker that is close to the performance of this stock. So, if your thinking about it, just get it. You don't need to spend an arm and a leg on a high end marker, this is high end performance for the price, and the biggest thing is the person behind the marker, not the marker itself.

Hope this review was helpful


12.8.06
OK, just to update, I have decided to go with one of the new metal triggers that have just come out, and upon installing it I decided to remove the spring behind the trigger, which lightened the pull on the trigger greatly (not that it had a hard pull to begin with). I like the feel of the metal trigger better and it seems to provide more area for two fingers and without the spring is much easier to walk. I havent read anywhere that this will effect the warranty, just that it may wear on the microswitch more, so you will have to be your own judge.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to beginners and intermediate players and to serious players not wanting to drop a house payment on a marker. Nothing is perfect, so 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 8th, 2006 at 4:37 pm PST
I found this review  
42 Comments - Add Comment

PMR_1777 Friday, December 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts ion/ shocker/ e-tek ego/ 05 dark timmy/ vs3/ dm5/ dm6/ pm5/ pm6/ diablo wrath/ spyder imagine
Marker Setup: Pure Energy 68/4500, Halo V35 /rip, cp barrel, cp on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, I guess later a Bolt
Strengths: Freaking fast, extremely versitile board, amazing gun for the Price, accurate, consistent
Weaknesses: None that I have found I guess the bolt that's about it
Review: First time to use the gun i was very impressed it definitely keeps up with the expensive markers i would recommend this gun for any type of player it is extremely accurate and fast right out of the box.....all around great gun....it is a complete head turner and you wouldn't expect such a great gun for that price.....it is just lk the pm6 or pm7 no kidding!
Conclusion: I would say that anyone should buy this gun....No matter what skill level
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 28th, 2006 at 7:03 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

InfernoFrontman Thursday, November 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Ion would be the closest, and the Pimp.
Marker Setup: Black PMR, Black Pulse Loader, 68/4500 PMI Tank (w/ Black NXe Tank Cover)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Strengths: Fast as hell, made by a great company, good eye logic, many upgrades available.
Weaknesses: Trigger seems a bit loose, lots of polymer.
Review: Well I picked this up from PBL a couple weeks ago and when i opened the box the first things I noticed were the beautiful styling, and the small profile. This marker is very efficient, insanely accurate, awesome price, doesn't chop, and it's an all around great marker. This marker is the better alternative to an Ion in my opinion, and is a great entry / mid level marker out of the box. Performance wise it is super fast, I'm guessing because it has the same board as the PM7, and is light and tight. It is extremely easy to adjust the settings, very user friendly. Another thing is that it is very, very easy to maintain. It does require alot of lube until it is fully broken in. An aluminum feedneck and trigger would come in handy with this marker, but nothing too huge. This marker shoots with the best of 'em, A.
Conclusion: For the conclusion, heres a summary of all of the things needed to make a great marker.

Speed = 10.0
Profile = 10.0
Accuracy = 9.5
Efficiency = 8.5
Price = 10.0

Total = 9.6 > 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Jenou Monday, November 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month86 of 97 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion
DMc
spyder Pilot ACS
various timmys
Marker Setup: proto rail with hybrid ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL frame
UL barrel
New ASA
Strengths: Fast as hell
secksay
light as hell
great value
Weaknesses: It varies with individual preference. Some dont like the plastic on the feedneck.
Review: When I first got this gun, I was at my field playing. I had ordered and paid for it in full like three and a half weeks before. The owner comes to me after a game and says, "Hey! You want your gun or what?" I stood there for a second before dashing into the proshop and tearing open that box. It was very well packaged. When I took it out and screwed the barrel on I was surprised at how light it was. I mean, I had expected it to be light, but this was ridiculous.

looks---very nice. very very nice. I'd say this ties with the PM6 in terms of looks. I'd also say that it looks better than the new PM7.

performance----When i first took it on to the field, i took some test shots, and this thing fires great. This is one dirty marker, I'll tellyou right now. I was rippin faces like a psycho with this machine. Just as accurate as any DM, my baby shot lasers all day until it started getting cold. That day it got to about 34 degrees fahrenheit and everyone was getting mad bolt stick. I took it in and applied some new lube, let it warm back up, and it was tearin for the rest of the day.

electronics----Just to let all you know, the rail has the EXACT SAME BOARD USED IN THE 1000$ PM7.

user friendliness-----I kid you not when I say that a dyslexic monkey could set the board. It was unbelievably easy for me to set the board to either semi, Millenium, or PSP. Also, you can set the Rail's rate of fire anywhere from 10 top 30 balls per second. Thats right. 30 BPS baby.

maintenance----incredibly easy to clean and lube. Just like any matrix, just unscrew the back cap, and the guts come out.

============================================================
=====
SEVERE COLD WEATHER INFO *new update* Dec. 14th 2006
============================================================
=====
Okay, well I went to a tournament a couple sundays ago. IT WAS FRICKIN !12 DEGREES FAHRENHEIT!!!! So i was using the rail all day, and for the first game, it worked okay. Anyway, here's details:

PROS::::::::::::::
*Even though it was making milkshakes every so often, It wasnt completely out of comission like my captain's DM6. While the rest of my team resorted to their crappy back-up guns, I could still play games fairly well with my PMR.
*Through all the chop damage, the PMR;'s new bolt system was incredibly easy to clean. As for My captain's DM6 and PM5 (his back up **OOC too), and my co-captains DM4, Their carnage was much more severe.

CONS::::::::::::::::::
*WHen the DM's actually shot without milkshaking(hardly ever), they still retained their accuracy. My gun was shooting in the cold, however the paintballs were flying everywhere except where I wanted them to. I put on my co-captain's UL barrel, and it pretty much did nothing to improve the catastrophe.

SO BASICALLY::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

-The PMR will out perform a DM in severely cold weather.
*however you'll still lose some hair before the day's through
-The PMR will lose accuracy in severely cold weather.
*but at least its working. The DMs were in a coma for 99% of the day.
***NOTE***in warmer weather, and inside, the rail has comparable if not
better accuracy than previous matrixes (05 down)***
-The PMR's bolt was very easy to clear of carnage
*My captain gave up cleaning his DM6's bolt after the fifteenth minute.

============================================================
=======
Conclusion: In conclusion, this baby's a gat no doubt. And for only 400 bucks, its great to know that I can get a great gun for a price I can afford. I mean, not everyone's parents'll run theirselves to the proshop and blow a two months' salary on a marker.
============================================================
====
UPDATE *DEC 12th 2006
============================================================
====
Now that I've seen it in the cold, and wasnt necessarily impressed, I can say that it at least worked. But a matrix is still a matrix in my case, and sub 35 degree weather is baaaaad juju for matrixes. Dont get me wrong. The rail is a great gun, better that most previous matrixes, and the best gun period for the price tag, but you're better off with a spyder or even a freakin tippmann when old man winter rolls around.

******for this I lower the overall score to 9.
============================================================
=======
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 19th, 2006 at 5:25 pm PST
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

Carson the Fett Saturday, November 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Matrix any series and a couple of timmys, but the only to compare the rail is the Dyes. They fire the same, but don't have the same modes (the Dyes have more if you got the right board)
Marker Setup: I have an Ion with a blackboard, superfly bolt, saw trigger, 360 QEV, a stock reg (sadly), a freak barrel, and a drop forward with an On/off ASA. My Dye Matrix has a TDA board and a drop forward with an On/off ASA . I also have the Proto Matrix Rail with everything stock. I use a Halo B hopper and a 45/45 carbon fiber tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not too sure yet maybe a new barrel if its your choice. I also took out the trigger spring which makes it fire slightly faster, I can notice a better performance without it.
Strengths: Very consistant, and very accurate. Fires like a beast. Light weight
Weaknesses: I don't see any weaknesses yet.
Review: I love this gun. It felt great the first time it was placed in my arms. Its sleek and sexy and it can be just as naughty too. It has a great firing rate and out of playing for 6 hours straight I think I chopped one ball (which was my hoppers fault because it couldn't keep up with my gun). Its accuracy is excellent and it can definitely keep up with the high riced guns. I'd say for the style, performance, value, and build $400 dollars is the best price you could get for a gun like this.
Conclusion: Buy this gun it is a great investment and a good gun to have in your collection
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

terrorizor Friday, November 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann custom pro, tipmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: 16" all american barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: CHEAP, ITS A PROTO, and its a great gun for the cash very light
Weaknesses: Still none
Review: This gun is a great gun for any one who plays paintball i would reccomend it because 1. now own and use one and it works great 2.its is a good gun for beginners or intermedite and experets. 3.its extremly cheap for the quality of it 4. its a proto
If you over presserize an o-ring falls off the bolt so if your gun leaks check your bolt for any o-rings that might have fallen off and TURN YOUR VELOCITY DOWN
Conclusion: I would reccomend getting this gun it is a great gun and will keep you happy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 7th, 2006 at 2:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

akadethklok Thursday, November 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm's
protos
Marker Setup: (UM) 03 viking with WAS 2.0 board .693 14" stiffi, stock halo, cp on/off 45/45 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
ul frame maybe, better barrel
Strengths: Like a proto
Fast
Cheap
Under 500$
Weaknesses: Trigger, barrel
Review: One of my teammates let me shoot his rail for a few games and man is rocks. It is much better than any upped ion (and I should know i have owned 3). It very light almost perfect stock but the trigger is hard to stroll with but easy to walk. For the price it is perfect for the beginner players and a great backup gun.
Conclusion: Get this over an ion you won't be disapointed with it at all
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media