paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail / Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Proto PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (164) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 337
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Matrix Rail features incredible 3D body styling, a new bottom line adapter, a new dual durometer adjustable feed neck, a new fully adjustable dual-durometer trigger, a new lower pressure bolt kit, metal logo inserts and a unique dual-durometer polymer grip frame with comfort grip for easy carrying and interchangeable trigger guard. We've designed the new Matrix Rail with the goal of providing you with the best performance at a reasonable cost.

Matching single piece Proto barrel
Hyper2 in-line air regulator
Anti-chop eye system
Composite eyeplate
150psi operating pressure with Boost Forward technology
Continuous three-dimensional contoured body design
Compact and lightweight body styling
Proto dual-durometer sticky grips
LED program control
Dual-durometer composite ergonomic 45 grip frame
Re-engineered 1 piece bolt system
Adjustable dual-durometer trigger sensitivity and rate of fire
Stamped metal insert logo
New Proto bottom line
Adjustable locking dual-durometer feedneck
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
chevyman2007 Tuesday, January 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Super Stock Autococker, Spyders
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail
Stock black
J and J Barrel
Halo B with Rip Drive
Dye Throttle 70cu/4500psi Peanut Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
There isn't much this gun doesn't already have. The only upgrade I would consider is a new barrel. Also you might want an upgraded board and/or ultralite frame.
Strengths: Fast, accurate, extremely light, small,easy to use and chronograph
Weaknesses: Battery fitting into grip, changing gun settings
Review: All in all, I think this is a great gun! Although, I think it shoots faster with the eyes off, they are great in many ways and very fast. I would recomend this gun to anyone who is considering a new gun. Whether you're new to paintball or an advid player, this gun gets the job done. The best thing about it is it is so cheap, for such a high end marker! But most of all, it is small and easy to manuver with.
Conclusion: Buy it! It's everything you could want in a paintball gun, and the price is so cheap! This is an extremely great marker with few flaws. But, certain flaws may pertain to your personal opinions also. This is an amazing marker, go look at one, you won't be disappointed! PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF THIS REVIEW HELPS YOU PLEASE!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 24th, 2008 at 4:45 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

$E@N880B Monday, January 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
not alot, but enought. I had some spyder thing first, then a MR2 with an egg2 and remote with 48 3000 air tank, really good gun by the way just not fast enough.
but now i have my beloved Matrix ;)
Marker Setup: halo B
68 3000psi carbon fiber wrap air tank
proto matrix rail
J&J 14" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
16" barrel, the 14" showed me little inprovement.
Strengths: light
F$%KING fast
Simple
Weaknesses: Air leaks
back cap.
Review: K, so this is my review. I bought the rail after my POS mr2 itself. I had alot of money floating around and decided to blow it on this amazing peace of work.
as soon as I got it I put air into it, ( you should check the air screw that is in the screw in part of the gun first Before doing so) and it leaked like a pig! The leak sounded like it was coming out of the frame. So I took the can( big fat part of the bolt) and took it apart, broken o ring. I bought some bigger o-rings form the store but the wouldn't go in. so my best advice is to take small amouts of plubers tape and put it in where the o ring sits. After that I ran about 5000 rounds through it at my friends party and no problems. it ran at about 23 to 25 Bps all day, sweetness i know.
Conclusion: Very good gun, and you don't have to pay over 800 to get it to run at peak proformance, i give my baby the below rating due to the leaking.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntb@ll rOx Friday, January 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Etek ego, Spyder vs1, dye dm7
Marker Setup: Pmr, halob rip drive, Virtue board, carleton tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
everything is personell reference I just gotta new board and it shoots like a dm7 or an ego.
Oh and a back cap if you strip it.
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Good looking
light
Weaknesses: Kinda hard to get it started up
Plastic back cap
Review: This is a very good gun and I use it all the time. Nothing is bad about it exept when you get it new you will have to do a few things then your set. Very soft on paintballs hyper 2 reg is the best in the world. With a virtue it shoots better than a stock dm7. People complain about the back cap about stripping it. I take very good care of the screws and try not to open anything unless it needs to be lubed. I haven,t stripped the back cap and also the eye covers are fine. ABout everything about tis gun is just amazing.


In the field: At the field this thing s just spectacular. I get lots of compliments. I can shoot 8-9 bps stock 12-13 bps virtued on semi. Stock is amazing and really doesn't need an upgrade unless your very picky and want the best things on your gun. I used to get 1-2 ppl out with a my first gun (spyder vs1) With this thing it's so lightweight that I can run faster with it up the field and I usally get almost half the enemy team out. The grip is very confortable and the trigger it easy on the fingers. Im giving it a 9 cus nothing deserves a 10
Conclusion: I recomend this gun to anybody thats looking for a gun at 270 but wants dm7 quality.
This is a beast gun and the price tag just makes you faint.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

justavillain Sunday, January 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM6
PM8
DM6
Minion 07
Marker Setup: PM8
J&J Edge Kit
Virtue UL board
CP On/off
CP Sling Blade Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL frame
Board.
Backcap
Trigger
Feedneck
On/off
Strengths: Price
Easy to use
Lite
Pretty Quick
Weaknesses: Changing o-rings
Eye ribbons
Switch wires
Need to change backcap
Review: Pros -

Price - the price for a Stock PMR is not too bad. For the price and what you get is pretty good.

Easy to use - 2 buttons makes gives you all you need for the in game use, while a simple 2 switch dip switch allows you to change the modes.

lite - it's a lite compact maker the composit frame is pretty light and doesn't feel too bad, the UL frame is a tiny bit liter though

pretty quick - Same board as the M7, has 4 different firing modes and is pretty solid speed wise after a new trigger is installed, or at least the trigger spring is removed

Cons -

Changing o-rings - some of the o-rings in the bolt carrier are a pain to remove. The main ones that cause the problems though are easy to replace

Eye Ribbons - need to fold them over and sooner or later it gets to the point where it's almost braking the board (I did brake my Virtue board like that)

Switch wires - major weakness here, I went through 3 switches in about 3 months, it's redicolous. The wires are so weak on all of the connectors like this.

Backcap - the plastic back cap is a pretty much a need to replacement. They strip out if you're not use to the way Matrix's asm/disasm.
Conclusion: If you're new to the game and want a cheaper marker that is pretty quick and can upgrade to a very nice marker then up the stock frame/board to the UL frame and make it a whole different marker really.

7 out of 10
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BobshoBob Thursday, January 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, really.
Marker Setup: PMR
-Custom Products 2k5 ASA
-Dye UL Barrel
-NDZ Back Cap
-NDZ Blade Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:

-aluminum back cap
-On/ Off ASA
-Barrel
-New trigger
Strengths: -Very light
-small
-Fast
-User Friendly
-Very Upgadeable
-Reliable on cold days
Weaknesses: -Some possible leaks
-many plastic parts that can cause problems
-ASA could defenitely be better
Review: Ok. I got this gun about a half a year ago. Let me tell you, this thing absolutely rips and can send a full team to the dead box. There are both pro's and con's about this gun.
CON'S
-There are many plastic parts on this gun including the trigger, back cap, feed neck, and eye plates. My biggest concern is the back cap. Because of its plastic threads, it is easy to strip if over-tightened. Also, it may start to unscrew in the middle of games. So just get the New Designz upgrade. Its a very good idea. The trigger and feed neck can also be replaced but its not absolutely necessary.

-The stock barrel is ok with the right paint. It does have a large bore size so its not very accurate with lots of paint. Spend the extra money and get a UL barrel by Dye. Its accurate and light so its the perfect match.

-Finally, It has a straight through ASA. You may want to look into getting an ON/OFF ASA.

PROS
-This gun is light and fast. Matched with a VLocity, this thing is unstoppable.

-The stock board is fantastic including Semi, PSP, Millenium, and NXL modes.

-It looks bad ass and definitly intimidates the other team.

-It is pretty air efficient as long as you have a good tank and fix the back cap problem.
Conclusion: If you're looking for an affordable gun that can keep up with the DM's and EGO's, this is it. Its perfect for intermediate players and is sure to impress. After you buy it, have fun looking at all of the cool upgrades you can get. Buy this gun. You wont be sorry.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 17th, 2008 at 2:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mater Thursday, January 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts ion
Marker Setup: i have a new designz trigger (red), i use a 2 piece freak barrel (black), i have a halo hopper with v 35 board(red), and a 68/4500 crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would recomend a aluminum back cap, 14inch 2 piece barrle and new trigger.
Strengths: This marker is very fast, very light just a all around good gun
Weaknesses: The back cap strips out easily, lots of plastic parts and also the wireing harness
Review: I have used many guns like a dm4, ion, etek, promaster, impulse and others but this gun was one of my favorites. This gun is very light and fast (30bps). This gun is perfect for begginers to intermidiate or even pro players.
Very well made gun besides the internal wireing harnes and the back cap. The battery wiring harness is poorly made. Breaks very easily. But still a nice gun and definatly worth the price.
Conclusion: If you buy this gun spend the extra 18.99 and buy a back cap.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BlackSushi222 Tuesday, January 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
-05 Superstock Autococker
-Karnivor
-DMs, PMs, SLG
-Shockers
-Egos
Marker Setup: +Proto Matrix Rail
-Warrior Backcap
-Warrior On/Off
-CP 2 Piece Barrel .689 back, 14" front
-UL Frame
-Virtue Eyes (Red)
-Halo B Rip drive
-48/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
New aluminum backcap
New Barrel
Strengths: Read Review
Weaknesses: Read Review
Review: Key Strengths
-Light
-Compact
-Little kick
-Few parts
-Under Dye's great customer support

Key Weaknesses
-Composite plastic
-Efficiency

Traded this gun for my upped to the max 05 Superstock. IMO it was a hard trade, but I gave in and tried the PMR with a UL frame but no eyes. Oh man was I happy I tried. This gun simply rips, its light and very compact. I thought my autococker had little kick, but this, what the PMR gave me was pure awesomeness. I got it with the UL frame so it had a great feel to it, I heard the stock frame wasn't that bad but not excellent either in maintanence and feel. When maintanencing the gun itself, it was very easy. It only had 4 main parts: The barrel, the body, the frame, and the regulator. The bolt comes out by unscrewing the backcap and is simple to lube and play. I never called Dye for any problems, but from what I hear, customers were treated well. The craftsmanship is great, the milling is very sexy. The regulator is the very nicely made Hyper 2, you know its efficiency so its a keeper. The ASA is screw in, so upgrade it to a On/Off at your leisure. Keep the stock feedneck unless you got a bad one, this one is not going you let your hopper come off when you don't want it to.

The downsides of this gun is the composite plastic im seeing. Since I had a UL frame, the composite eye covers and feedneck wasn't a problem and I kept them for a lighter weight and they work. This cannot be said about the backcap however since it is very easy to strip. I immediately replaced it with an aluminum backcap, and you should too.
The other problem is the efficiency. I was always able to tune the efficiency of my autococker and other guns, but this gun doesn't have that option. Almost nothing can be done, except of a tophat mod I heard about, but other than that you need to suck it up and probably get a bigger tank. To tell the truth, im using a 48/3000 and I probably get a hopper and almost 3 pods. Not bad, but I always have to refill after a game and a rerun, but hey, I got all day air. The stock barrel is quite accurate and quiet. I liked it until it gave some chops here and there, so I replaced it.
Conclusion: Overall this gun deserves a 9. 10 is perfect and I believe nothing is perfect. I recommend this gun to anyone who can spend in the 200-300 dollar range. It is definately a treat.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyedyedye Tuesday, January 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
a-5,trilogy,vibe
Marker Setup: pure energy 68,red pmr,richochet rhino,cp 2 piece
Recommended
Upgrades:
back cap(see review)
Strengths: Super light,fast,easy to use,great on air
Weaknesses: Plastic back cap
Review: Ok so out of the box the rail was very nice,i put the 9volt in and all the electronics worked wonderfully.(FIELD)I showed up my local field and aired it up and turned eyes off and pulled the trigger and nothing,so i turned the velocity up and she started firing,at that point i was relieved because ive heard of leaks out of box,I had absolutly no issues at all with the rail.The modes are really easy to change and i was surprised at how nice the stock trigger is.So after wards i cleaned it and the plastic back cap crossed threads on me,So that was the only thing that went wrong,Its plastic so its not that big of a deal and a new metal back cap is good to have.All in all it was very very easy to take apart and lube,The instruction booklet was very useful and i made sure to study it and that helped out alot.
Conclusion: I really love my new rail lol
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xsvboy Sunday, December 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5
Marker Setup: PMR
evo 2
stock everything
Recommended
Upgrades:
Prolly a new trigger and maybe a new feed neck cause my friends broke the first time he played with his pmr.
Strengths: Cheap but really good and reliable doesnt need many upgrades unless you just want them
Weaknesses: Havent found any..
Review: I have had a pm5 and a freestyle and I like this gun more than both of them combined cause it is cheap with the performance of a more expensive gun and it is light and I love that. The stock board comes with psp ramping which is what I like to use but thats just me. I love this marker and would def. recomend this to anyone looking to buy a new gun with little money.
Conclusion: I think anyone looking for a new cheap gun should get this gun because it is cheap and it gets the job done.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cdev1995 Sunday, December 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Not many
Marker Setup: Proto rail
clamp feed neck
egg 2 hopper
48 ci/ 3000 psi N2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
different feed neck
Strengths: This gun is fast, quiet, and reasonable priced.It's also very easy to clean.
Weaknesses: The feed neck can be very annoying
Review: Overall this is a great gun. Its fast, quiet, easy to clean, and reasonable priced. i bought it brand new for 250$ off www.zephyrpaintball.com. This is a great gun for someone who is pretty serious about the sport, and is also good for someone who is not as serious about the sport, but is looking to get into it. I would recommend this over an Ion or a PMI any day! This is going to be my gun for a while beacuse it 's soooooo easy to maintain that unless you try to break it, you basically can't. if Proto ever comes out with any other rail products i'll be the first to have one
Conclusion: Great gun! Buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (34):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media