paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic

Tippmann X-7 Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann X-7 Basic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann X-7 Basic
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 75
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $329

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The New X-7
• The most customizable marker ever made with a thousand different looks
• New magnesium receiver is extremely lightweight and durable
• New Cyclone EP (Enhanced Performance) system feeds up to 20 BPS
• New air-thru stock compatible system eliminates gas line under the marker
• New low profile, offset hopper for clear site line
• Modular shroud with four rails to add on sights and scopes
• AR15 style magazine with built in tool storage
• Picatinny top rail to easily add new risers, sights or handles
• Upgraded adjustable rear site helps with long range aiming
• Push pin design for easy field stripping and accessory add ons
• Includes maintenance pack, barrel sleeve, and gun oil


Caliber: 0.68
Action: Semi-automatic
Power: CO2, compressed air, nitrogen
Hopper Capacity: 200
CO2 Capacity: NA
Feed rate: 20 BPS
Firing rate: 8 BPS
Trigger: Standard
Barrel length: 8.5 inches
Length: 20 inches
Weight: 4.1 lbs. (without tank)
Effective Range: 150+ ft
Product Availability 
The Tippmann X-7 Basic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
tippmannx7420 Friday, August 12th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have a tippmann x7, bt4 banshee, bt tm7 and kingman training eraser
Marker Setup: x7 with everything but metal lightning rod and metal cocking pin

also i put a bt 1913 barrel and have the flat line but the 1913 looks a lot better
its got the e-grip
and the 6spot stock
and red dot
Recommended
Upgrades:
bt 1913 or flat line for sure
you dont really need the e-grip but if you do get it then get all the upgrades to handle 20+bps
squishy pads
Strengths: It is solid
Weaknesses: It is big and loud
Review: its a nice gun it wont let you down
with upgrades it shoots where point
I have not had any chops in it and i have shot well over 6000+
it does get heavy with the tank hanging off the back ,with a stock, full hopper and longer barrel
if you want a sick full custom gun that looks pimp and wont let you down other then your 9v battery might die on you go spend $1000 get all the mods to make it shoot the best and make it look how you want
easy to clean and replace o-rings other then they are $15.00
Conclusion: This is one bad ass mutha
9 with all the upgrades would give it 10 but it gets heavy after a while
out of the box i give it a 7 because it does not come with a stock and it comes with a crappy 8 inch barrel

this gun is well worth your money if you put a lot into it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bandit711 Tuesday, February 23rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
custom 98
brass eagle triad
stingray
Marker Setup: Flatline
X36 carry handle
colapsible car stock
red dot sight
cyclone ratchet
double trigger
aluminum blow tube
one point sling,
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cyclone Ratchet
Sqishy Paddles
Flatline or Apex
Strengths: Ruggedness, reliability
Weaknesses: Hard on air at 700-850psi operating pressure.... only problem
Review: Made from hard plastic and magnesium, probably the most heavy marker out there, lots of rails for all you gizmos impresive looking and feeling, very resistant closes thing to the real thing. The double trigger is a wast of money looks good cause it's not stock but is in the way and useless it will only slow down your rate of fire if you don't have e-grip of response trigger

With the sqishy paddles i never had a break on like 10 cases of paint ... always fresh paint.... after 100 cases of paint you might need to replace your tombstone.... Blow tube mods are also a wast of money... all you need is Good paint, Ratchet A.S.A.P, Flatline, and Sqishy paddles and you'll be like the king of the Field when your not Gone for More Air

The Flatline and Apex Both Have The same distance
Conclusion: Very reliable if Upgraded Ratchet in Cyclone
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 23rd, 2010 at 6:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nikitad Wednesday, February 17th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom And 98 custom platinum
Spyder Sonix
Marker Setup: x7 Marker
16" Barrel ( Super accurate Highly recommend )
Carbine stock
Fore grip
Tactical Flashlight
Response Trigger
Remote Line
Camouflage America Soft Paddles (Never had a cyclone chop)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel 14" or 16"
Soft Paddles (or squishy paddles)
Response Trigger - Its amazing
Strengths: The upgrades
The New Cyclone
Accurate
Easy to dissasemble
Weaknesses: Some may not like how its like 3 pounds cuz theyre babies
Review: Ive been using the x7 for a while now and its great. The gun is a decent weight with all my mods and it shoots SUPER accurate. I havent even tried using my stock barrel cuz the 16" is so good with this gun. I also like it better than the 98 custom because its a bit heavier than the 98 custom and the 98 makes you feel weak using that light of a gun haha. The gun if it ever chops it tends to have barrel chops instead of inside. Alot nicer for the paintballer. This gun also has TONS of upgrades. It may be a bit hard to find but its possible. and the fact that it has so many tac rails is awesome! The gun is a beast. I recomend it over any other woodsball gun.
Conclusion: This gun is amazing if your a woodsball or scenario player. Its got so many mods and you should get it instead of the a5 because of the fact of if you want a shoud for it its tones of money and just worth it to get the better gun, It almost never chops and its better on air than the a5

of couse if your going to buy mods then itll cost quiet a bit but itsbetter to buy it over the a5, Also if your a speed baller dont go buy it. you can buy an expensive speedball gun for the price of the gun with all its mods. Over all its an amazing gun . Im giving it a 10/10 becuase its the best gun ive ever played with. BUT remember there is ALWAYS room for improvement :)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Loki33 Saturday, November 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None. This was my first marker.
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7
JCS Powertube
J&J 14" Ceramic
Tech T squishy paddles
Recommended
Upgrades:
Power Tube
Upgrade Barrel
Strengths: Easy to use and maintain
Durable
Great Milsim look
Weaknesses: Not as accurate as other markers
Review: I really can't say anything bad about this marker. Day in and day out it does exactly what it was meant to do. Have only had one issue with it and that was with the stock powertube. It broke the first time out. Replaced it with an aftermarket one and it's been shooting great every time I use it. Wouldn't give it up for anything else. Yes I have bought other markers since this one, but I still go back to it. You just don't have the same feeling when using something else. I have dropped it gotten dirt and untold amounts of paint on it and its still going strong.
Conclusion: If your in the market for millsim then buy the X7 or the Phenom. You will enjoy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NathanStruthers Thursday, August 27th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5, 98 Custom,
Marker Setup: X7:

-Flatline Barrel
-Also Use 16 "
-R-Trigger
-Car Stock
-Front Handle
-Stove Pipe Offset Hopper Peice
-Remote Line
-Red Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion Chamber is the first upgrade for any person using the R-Trigger or E-Trigger. My gun froze up before I got a Remote Line but the Expansion Chamber would work better. I do not recommend the Red Dot. It does not help you in the least bit. A long barrel is needed. The barrel it comes with, is terrible. A stock is nice for that extra accuracy, but then again is not needed for a very experienced player.
Strengths: Obvs. The body of this gun is a strength. There are so many. I recommend.
Weaknesses: The barrel it comes with.
Review: I love this gun. It works well and it is very good for intimidation purposes. The gun is on the heavier side, but if you get good upgrades that can work to your advantage. If you get light upgrades, the gun is very good for running up and killing everyone. Heavy gear means that you should hang back and shoot from a distance. I suggest this gun to a very good player that likes to be a sniper. Or a heavy gunner. The gun is very customizable and it works well and is SOO strong. I actually recommend this gun to anyone and everyone. It takes adaption time but you deffinatley will adapt fast.
Conclusion: Final Word:

I totally recommend this gun to everyone who wants an agile gun that is intimidating and strong.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

gumby13 Wednesday, August 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
'98 . A-5 .pro / carbine . Tpx
Marker Setup: tippmann pro-carbine
after-market barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Looks cool
good accuracy
light - ish .
Weaknesses: Expensive
breaks
air hog.
Review: Ah , the X-7 , the gun is the untimate barbie doll gun . you can dress it up a thousand different ways but ultimately I still view it with distain .
my fathe bought one , and for six months he fought the gun . every game he played something would break .
Now , I'm no 'cocker jock but i really don't like this gun . I switched out with my dad to try it and half way through the game it blew a seal . I was lucky to have my Tpx on me .
when the game was up i replaced the seals and went bac out , damn thing started leaking . after that I force my father to give me my carbine back .
Feel free to dispute this , but i was still unimpressed
Conclusion: If you want a dress- up gun get it , but I'll stick with my carbine and twin tpx's
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spak2424 Friday, May 22nd, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98, tippmann a-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann x-7 stock with pure energy 68/ 4500. Proto Matrix Rail. Evil Pipe System. Halo V-35. Pure energy 68/3000.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New gun!!!! Response trigger versuses e grip.
Strengths: Light for a Tippmann, Accuracy, Design.
Weaknesses: Bolt, Speed, maintenance,
Review: Great new design, very cool and very good for a tippmann. However, same bolt design as a 98 or A-5. Same kick back as the others if not worse. Seriously at the 300 plus level players expect more. It is the coolest and most customizable tippmann ever, but whats the point of spending that much money if the marker shoots as well as the 100--98?? The A-5 was awesome when it comes to inivations in markers in mil-sim, however the x-7 doesn't grow or build on it very well. Save your money. Buy an A-5 instead, unless you have the money to blow and make a pretty x-7 and don't worry about performance. Its sad when it takes over a hour to maintenance the silly thing.
Conclusion: Don't buy!! Get a 98 or A-5 and upgrade for the money. Tippmann seriously needs a simple bolt out the back design for simple clean up.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Vertigo_07 Wednesday, May 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98- while a great marker, it can't keep up with the X7
Tippmann A-5- the x-7's kid brother. good marker, maybe a little better for the pure amount of upgrades available for it.
Marker Setup: 06 Blue Dynasty Shocker SFT w/ 14" matching anno'd Freak barrel back (stainless steel inserts) and All American front, DYE Rotor Loader, DXS 48/3000 tank, Hybrid Gunslinger grips and SP Blackheart board

Backup marker:
Tippmann X7 w/ Vortex mod, E-grip, 1x30mm Red Dot Scope, 14" Inch DYE Ultralite barrel, G36 folding stock, and vertical grip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-HPA tank. you just have to. It's an air hog.
-Better barrel. The stock one isn't shabby, but you'll be wanting something better. A DYE UL works AWESOME.
-Stock, preferably a folding kind.
-Foregrip. the mag just doesn't cut it.
-Red dot scope/sight, or laser sight. The X7's iron sights are almost useless.
-E-Grip. Auto response is a thing to behold.
Strengths: -DURABILITY
-ease of maintenance
-upgrades
-reliability
-looks
Weaknesses: -A little pricey for what you get
-"Iron" sights are useless
Review: I'll say this right off the bat. I'm a speedball diehard. How I ended up buying an X7 I attribute chiefly to my want to rebel against the speedball norm. One year and far too many upgrades later, It can hang with a DM, and still sees time as a backup/spur of the moment marker.

This should tell you something about its looks. It looks like a compact version of the HK416 rifle, especially with the shroud. There are quite a few cosmetic upgrades for it at this point, so what kind of modern rifle or subgun you choose to imitate is wide open. Installation of an upgrade couldn't be easier- just push out the pins, slide in your new part, and its good to go.

Performance wise, it's OK out of the box. The barrel is nothing special, beyond looking snazzy. You'll want a new one. The cyclone works great- this is the one part of the gun that should never be changed or fiddled with. After experimenting with all the cyclone upgrades, I've gotten the best performance with the stock parts. You'll have to replace the stock plastic ratchet every now and again, but drop the metal ratchet in, and your cyclone turns into a blender. Slap a good stock, barrel, foregrip for stability, an Egrip, and possibly a good sight, and you'll find this thing a good match for just about any speedball gun. Prior to upgrading the cyclone, I never had a chop with this thing. Air efficiency is where it falls short, however. The thing is an Air hog. This didn't bother me, as speedball games last all of a few minutes and a fill station was a few steps off the field, but in a longer outdoor game, this would necessitate buying a really big tank. I'd recommend something in the 88-90ci range. below that, make sure it's compressed at 4500psi.

The X7 is blessed with Tippmann's age old reliability. This thing will just work. it doesn't matter if it hasn't been cleaned since you bought it, nor if its been taken apart, fiddled with, and then hammered back into one piece too many times to count. It will fire when you pull the trigger. The magnesium body can take all the beating you can dish out in stride.

The only gripes I have with the X7 are its iron sights and its price. 300, for a gun that needs upgrades right out of the box, is a little much. Be ready to throw down at least 400-450 when buying this gun to make it really shine. The iron sights, advertised as helping to improve long range aiming, do nothing of the kind. You can't use them with a mask on, and they're next to useless without a mask. They're good for looks, but that's about it. If you're serious about putting a military looking sight on it, get a red dot, or better yet, a laser sight for mounting on the front rails.



Conclusion: If you're a mil-sim minded woodsballer who wants a gun with easy, bolt on upgrades and the possibility to behave like a real assault rifle, get the X7. If you're an outdoor enthusiast who wants a rugged, durable paintball marker with ample spots for a foregrip and sight, get this gun. It works great outdoors and in, and once upgraded, can easily out-shoot any other mechanical woodsball marker.

If you play speedball, and are looking for something a step above a rental marker, do not get this gun. The upgrades to keep up with your competition will run you the kind of money that could buy an Ego.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 5th, 2009 at 10:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

x7crew Tuesday, April 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: X7 with E-Grip Soft paddles for the cyclone feed system n 68 4500 N2 Ninja tank
Strengths: Looks very easy to use right out of the box feels very strong in hands.
Weaknesses: Didn't see any.
Review: compare to other makers that i saw n look to see if i can change the look to what i look there isn't any out there that can be made to look however you want. it is very easy to use my first day shooting at NYC paintball in NY i was able to setup my maker in less than 10 mins. during game play it was great just aim and shoot.
Conclusion: If your thinking about getting this maker GET IT
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Frunkasduck2112 Monday, April 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c, Tippmann a-5
Marker Setup: X7, E-grip ,16" smartparts progressive
Recommended
Upgrades:
techT upgrades(all of them)
Strengths: Relatively good rate of fire at full auto, durable, easy cleaning/ feild stripping
Weaknesses: Chopping, expensive to uprade
Review: i have heard the horror stories, cyclone failing chops every fifth ball, pretty much all i would say is buy all the techT upgrades for the cyclone and keep the velocity around 280-310 and shouldn't have a prob. i have only ever seen one X7 cyclone fail, out of the 8 to 10 guys that are local that use them in our feild ,and it was bought on launch day.
Conclusion: no real complaints,have used better guns, but this one aint terrible .would not reccomend it for speedball, cyclone sticks out like a sore thumb. awsome for bushball. definently uprgade barrlel. For newbs, maybe start with something cheaper, 98c or an A-5, if ya got the cash though go nuts and get the X7.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media