paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic

Tippmann X-7 Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann X-7 Basic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann X-7 Basic
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 75
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $329

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The New X-7
• The most customizable marker ever made with a thousand different looks
• New magnesium receiver is extremely lightweight and durable
• New Cyclone EP (Enhanced Performance) system feeds up to 20 BPS
• New air-thru stock compatible system eliminates gas line under the marker
• New low profile, offset hopper for clear site line
• Modular shroud with four rails to add on sights and scopes
• AR15 style magazine with built in tool storage
• Picatinny top rail to easily add new risers, sights or handles
• Upgraded adjustable rear site helps with long range aiming
• Push pin design for easy field stripping and accessory add ons
• Includes maintenance pack, barrel sleeve, and gun oil


Caliber: 0.68
Action: Semi-automatic
Power: CO2, compressed air, nitrogen
Hopper Capacity: 200
CO2 Capacity: NA
Feed rate: 20 BPS
Firing rate: 8 BPS
Trigger: Standard
Barrel length: 8.5 inches
Length: 20 inches
Weight: 4.1 lbs. (without tank)
Effective Range: 150+ ft
Product Availability 
The Tippmann X-7 Basic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
                            
varqss Monday, December 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Marker Setup: x-7
j&j 12" barrel
n2
Strengths: The look and feel of this gun is perfect for milsim.
Weaknesses: A little pricey
Review: The gun looks great! Had a gas leak right out of the box... had to tighten the nut inside to stop the leak.. The gone now works well... the gas leak was annoying but the gun now works fine. Can wait to add the e-grip! It has a mean kickback which gives it the real feel. I would recommend tis gun over the A5 as it performs similar but is a little lighter and has alot of upgrades
Conclusion: Great looking gun that performs like the A5
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 7th, 2007 at 8:24 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Crashdummieyz85 Sunday, December 17th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: I use a tippmann 98 custom w/ the E-grip, a dye broomstick barrel, and a low pressure system.
Recommended
Upgrades:
e-grip, response trigger, possibly stocks and fore grips if you like that. (you can go on the tippmann site and it shows you all the possibilities)
Strengths: Light
Customizable
Accurate
Speed of fire
No need for charging (of battery)
Weaknesses: Price
Review: This gun is so customizable. It is extremely light, and can take a battle beatings like a tank. (don't test it just take my word that its strong) It is an amazing gun, and can shoot 15 bps easily. It is the only gun that has the air-thru-stock design. Again, it is so customizable. You can add stocks, carry handles, fore grips, barrels, e-grip, response trigger, double trigger, and mock mags. Like previously stated, you can make an mp5, AK-47, m-16, and m-4, all just with upgrades. On the official Tippmann site it states that all of them [upgrades] will be out by January 2007.

Give props to Tippmann for making (in my opinion) the best mechanical marker ever!
Conclusion: It was said before, but i completely agree, the A-5 upgrades will soon be knocked of the stores list, replaced by X-7 parts and upgrades. Over all, i think it is the best mechanical marker. But it is not a beginner gun due to price. This is a great gun and i recommend it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 17th, 2006 at 2:44 pm PST
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

bigmoney12345 Sunday, December 17th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
98 C
Marker Setup: X7
Recommended
Upgrades:
None out YET, coming soon
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Rate of Fire
Customizable
Weaknesses: Price
Review: Wow, what a gun... if you like any mechanicle marker this one will satisfy you like no other. I've been using it for a month and I havn't had a single chop or other problem. Out of the box is is pretty much the same as the A-5, but i think its a bit more sturdy. Otherwise if ur thinking of gettin a new A-5 dont because like one of the other reviews said its going to replace the A-5. All of the options the4 A-5 has are being moved to the X7 plus more (because its so new i heard they wont be availiable untill Jan 2007).
I thats not enough, HAVE YOU SEEN THIS GUN?!?!
Conclusion: I reccomend this gun to milsim and maybe tounament players who like reliable mechanicle markers. If you value appaerance and performance, this is the best gun ive ever used. It also can be make to look nearly identicle to a variety of real guns like te Ak-47, M4A1, Mp5, G36, M16, and more are on the way.

Let me just add that yes it is functional for me because i play woodsball 99% of the time. I dont like the electro guns and if you like a sturdy realistic marker that can still compete with any electro marker, this is your gun. Although there is not much availible for it yet, keep in mind that it was only just released and it will end up with equal or more upgrades than the A-5.
Good job Tippmann on making the next ultimate mechanicle marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 30th, 2006 at 11:37 am PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

Space Lord Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months25 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7
J&J ceramic 14" barrel
E-Grip
Verticle foregrip
X36 grip rail
9mm mag well
9mm curved mag
X36 folding stock
PCS single point tacsling
Pure Energy coiled remote
Pure Energy 68ci/4500psi HPA tank
Dye Rhino tank cover
Canti mount for sight
Adco red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
E-Grip
Strengths: Looks
Feel
Durability/relaibility
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Loose hopper
Review: Good solid feeling gun. Has a somewhat realistic feel to it. Feels very solid and should stand up to typical gameplay i.e. accidental bangs and scrapes. Don't get stupid though, it's not a hammer, folks! If you want a solid mechanical blowback with great Mil-Sim looks, this is your gun. The trigger is typical Tippmann, which leaves one wanting after being used to a nice electro double trigger. The forthcoming e-grip will definately add to the feel of the gun with its external fire mode select. Don't get me wrong, the trigger is as reliable as the day is long. But if you're used to say, an Ion trigger, the Tippmann trigger feels low performance. Everything else feels rock solid as well. Nice tight pushpins, and through-body stye bolts with metal nuts to make it basically bullet proof. (note: the X-7, although tough, should not be used as bullet proof armor. Before you try, do a Google search for "Darwin Awards")

Update 12-24-2006
Well, I've shot some more paint through it and the trigger's getting better, and the gun's starting to get more and more broken in as it's used. Consistency is improving as well. On a side note, I've had problems with the gun leaking (somewhere in the general area of the powertube), but when I removed the air and reattached it, the leak was gone. After the second time this happened, I tore deep down inside the gun. There was quite a bit of powder coating debris inside the gun from the manufacturing process, and some very thin metal shavings. These shavings came from the process of machining the valve, but the edges or "flashings" were not removed. I found two loose metal slivers in the tombstone area, one in the valve, and one in the power tube. I took the back edge of an exacto knife and removed all of the still-attached flashing from the valve body, used some plastic-safe aerosol brake cleaner to blast/flush all the machining/powder coating debris out of the inside and from all internal parts. After using liberal amounts of marker oil and reassembling, the gun seems to now be leak free. My dealer said Tippmann had less than 500 to go out on their first shipment, and as my serial number is 0000338, my guess is the lack of finishing work was an oversight in their desparate attempt to get some product out on the shelves as they had promised. This experience in no way affects my overall opinion of the marker. Aside from leaking a small amount of air, it never missed a beat and still performed reliably and consistently.

Update 3-8-2007:
Well, it still doesn't shoot as accurately or consistently as my Ion. This is with the J&J barrel on the X-7 vs. a box stock Ion. I'm going to try to polish the internals and see if that helps. But for now it will take a one point loss. Also worth mentioning is the loose hopper. I added a layer of duct tape to the base, and it tightened things up considerably. Not a big deal, but worth the mention, nonetheless.

Update 9-9-2007:
Finally have it working like I want it to. The above setup is fun to shoot, and shoulders quite solidly. The 9mm mag also was a major improvement, just in the fact that it doesn't try to fall out all the time like the old one did. I haven't polished the internals yet, yet the accuracy seems to still be improving.
Conclusion: If you already have an A5, this gun is a nice upgrade. However if you were thinking about getting an A5, do yourself a favor and get the X-7. Industrial sources state the X-7 will eventually phase out the A5, which of course means less A5 parts.
Tough, simple air system, looks mean, not perfect but good enough for me. I'm gonna give it a 9. The accuracy and consistency has really started to come around, good enough to easily hit a pie plate at 30 yards. Not to mention the E-Grip has added a whole new dimension to shooting. With the remote, vertical foregrip, folding stock, and red dot sight, the whole gun is a joy to shoulder and snap onto target with confidence. Origionally I had rated this gun at a 7, due to lack of consistency. Well now it's quite accurate and consistent, so that bumps it up to an 8. But hold on, with some carefully selected mods, this gun shoulders like a dream, which adds a point in my book. I'll now give the gun a 9.

Final recommendation? Get a remote setup, and some mods to make the gun fit YOU. I love it!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 9th, 2007 at 9:39 pm PST
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

SPShocker135 Sunday, December 10th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested15 of 52 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5
Tippmann 98 Custom & Custom Pro
Marker Setup: Smart Parts red NXT Shocker with Freak Kit, PMI 45/4500 LP tank, View Loader Vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-Grip, or if you want to make it tactical, a longer barrel and a stock
Strengths: Looks, places to mount scopes and other things, very customizable, accurate, low profile
Weaknesses: Slow trigger, hard trigger pull, still pretty heavy, feel
Review: I tested the Tippmann X-7 at a tournament in Springfield, MO, and I cannot say I was very impressed. It is a lot like the A5, just a lot more expensive. I can see someone using it for tactical games, but a definite no for speed-ball and small woods-ball courses. The accuracy seemed about the same as that of the A5 or the 98 custom, but I like the feel of both the 98 custom and the A5 a lot more than i like the feel of this gun. It looks pretty cool, but I see no difference in performance between the A5 and this marker. I guess this marker would be pretty nice to put a bunch of stuff on it and used it for tactical, but I don't really care for the stock model.
Conclusion: If you have a 98 Custom or A5 and are thinking about going to this model, don't. If you want a new gun for anything BESIDES tactical play, I strongly recommend and ION. They are cheaper and just all around better IN MY OPINION.. and for all you people complaining about me talking about an Ion like I said its just my opinion.. chill out. I am giving this marker a 6 because there is nothing totally horrible about it, but nothing great at all eather, especially for the price.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 15th, 2006 at 3:17 pm PST
I found this review  
32 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media