paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic

Tippmann X-7 Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann X-7 Basic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann X-7 Basic
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 75
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $329

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The New X-7
• The most customizable marker ever made with a thousand different looks
• New magnesium receiver is extremely lightweight and durable
• New Cyclone EP (Enhanced Performance) system feeds up to 20 BPS
• New air-thru stock compatible system eliminates gas line under the marker
• New low profile, offset hopper for clear site line
• Modular shroud with four rails to add on sights and scopes
• AR15 style magazine with built in tool storage
• Picatinny top rail to easily add new risers, sights or handles
• Upgraded adjustable rear site helps with long range aiming
• Push pin design for easy field stripping and accessory add ons
• Includes maintenance pack, barrel sleeve, and gun oil


Caliber: 0.68
Action: Semi-automatic
Power: CO2, compressed air, nitrogen
Hopper Capacity: 200
CO2 Capacity: NA
Feed rate: 20 BPS
Firing rate: 8 BPS
Trigger: Standard
Barrel length: 8.5 inches
Length: 20 inches
Weight: 4.1 lbs. (without tank)
Effective Range: 150+ ft
Product Availability 
The Tippmann X-7 Basic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
dms80 Tuesday, March 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Platinum,Tippmann A-5 Basic & Smart Parts SP1
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7 Lapco 12" Snapshot Barrel & a Flatline Lapco, Cyclone rachet and paddle upgrade, New Designz bolt & powertube,red dot sight 2nd GunTippmann 98 Custom Pro Platinum Lapco Snapshot 12" barrel, Orange Howitzer Bolt, Rocket Cocker 2, red dot sight 3rd GunTippmann A-5 Lapco Big shot 12" barrel & Flatline, New Designz Bolt & Powertube, Lapco Cyclone feed upgrade
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel New Bolt Cyclone Rachet and Soft Paddles
Strengths: Looks Ability to customize
Weaknesses: PriceBarrel
Review: This marker is the same thing as an A-5 it is just more realistic looking and has more realistic upgrades for it. The A-5, X-7 and the 98 all have the same internal parts, so they all basically perform the same. The A-5 and the X-7 have the cyclone feeder, besides that you are paying for looks.
The X-7 is lighter than the stock A-5, and if you like realistic looking guns this is the one to have. You can recreate almost anything out of this marker just rememder you are paying for looks not performance, if all you want is a good gun for cheap buy a 98 with a cyclone upgrade for about $180 and get a new barrel and call it good.
Conclusion: If you are into scenario games and realistic guns this one is for you if not buy a cheaper gun for less money. No performance improvements just cosmetic.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 31st, 2009 at 7:16 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Buhju Thursday, March 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98
A-5
Ion
Tippmann Triumph XL
3 pistols
A bunch of cheap guns (less than $50)
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7
-Various Milsim Upgrades

-Tippmann 98
-18" Sniper Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Barrel
Strengths: Relatively Accurate
Highly upgradable
LP Hopper
Weaknesses: Price
Chops
Review: I got this gun and I thought it was pretty cool, until things started breaking. First, it was the cyclone ratchet in just over a month, then it was a push pin in about 3 months, after that a rail broke off of the front shroud, next the hopper fell right off the gun when i was shooting, then the ball latch went bad, and now the internals are going bad.
I realize that I probably got a bad gun or something but even still, the performance on the A-5 is as good if not better for a lot less money. There is also a very small upside to the x-7 over the A-5 as well. In my opinion, the X-7 is Tippmanns worst gun other than the Triumph line because it has the same internals as the A-5 at a lot more price and you can make the A-5 look like the X-7 if you want to anyway. If you are like me and you want to upgrade it anyway, why not start from scratch because if you like a mod that would require you to change out the stock x-7 mods then you took an x7, made it into an A5 then upgraded that. The X-7 is more convinent than the 98 but you can't beat the 98 when it comes to reliability. The slight difference in weight, cyclone speed and upgradability for me does not outweigh the price jump and I saw no difference in shooting performance between the stock A-5 and the stock x-7.
The one thing I do like, however, is the hopper on the x-7. It may not be the easiest to load but it is out of the way when using a sight of some sort. I also like how easy you can take it apart in comparison to previous models.

The main difference that I saw with this gun performance-wise was the fact that this gun chops paint far more frequently. The x-7 REQUIRES high quality balls and a chronograph. With older models you could shoot as hard as you wanted and they would be fine but the x-7 chops at high velocity. Also, some people like the cyclone, some don't but I really don't think it matters what kind of loader you have unless you shoot very fast or have trouble with your hopper jamming or something.

Please don't compare this to an Ion or any other "speedball" gun because they are different guns, used by different players, in different environments, with different objectives, and so on. . .
Conclusion: In my opinion you should get an A-5 because they are cheaper. The x-7 is essentially the same gun that just came partially upgraded for you. Also, don't be fooled by Tippmann saying it is the most customizable gun ever. This only pertains to parts that Tippmann made. There are thousands of A5 parts from other companies.

I am rating this based on it's comparison to other TIPPMANN guns, not Ions or my personal struggles with this gun. I give this gun a

10 - cleaning
5 - overall performance in comparison to other Tippmanns
2 - overall price of gun and upgrades
3 - overall simplicity of use

Simply put, after using of many different types of guns, I wouldn't say the X-7 was my favorite.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 26th, 2009 at 2:26 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

taboshnic Sunday, February 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
a-5
tippmann triumph ext
98 custom
proto slg 09
Marker Setup: tippmann x7
response trigger
collapsible carr stock
ak-47 apex barrel

-or-

proto slg 09 ultralite
empire b reloader
virtue crown
proto 2 piece 14" in barrel

-or-

tippmann triumph eXT
proto 1 piece 14" barrel
(back-up)
Recommended
Upgrades:
response trigger
stock (of some sort)
apex barrel
Strengths: Reliable (won't break down)
fast (with response trigger or e-grip)
customizable
Weaknesses: Price (I got it cheap though)
weight (only if you're a weak)
Review: I love this gun. I definitely suggest at least to get a response trigger or e-grip, otherwise it's no better than a 98 custom. One thing I love about it is that if you want your gun to look a certain way, you can get it to look that way. It is a heavy-duty gun and you would have to throw it under a car to break it.
Conclusion: Dude, buy it! Get it with automatic in some form. The best possible gun for woodsball or scenario play!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Calculon Wednesday, February 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts SP-1
Smart Parts SP-8
Tippmann Pro-Am
Tippmann Pro-Lite
Marker Setup: X-7 w/ E-Grip
Opsgear 12" G36 barrel
Freak kit w/ 16" tactical barrel
Tech T Squishy paddle
Tech T Vortex ratchet
X36 handle
X36 folding stick
Orange bolt (tried for a short time)
ND aluminium power tube (tried for a short time)
Polished internals
Cut power tube
Cut ball detent
PE 72/3K steel tank with PE remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
APE Rampage board (big time - see review)
Tech T Squishy paddles
Tech T Vortex ratchet
any good, short and smooth barrel
hard-shell paint (see review)
Strengths: Reliable
Super easy to maintain
Comes with own loader
Weaknesses: Kick
Hard on brittle paint
Not as accurate as true electro
Review: I bought two X-7s this year and sold them both. Not because they are bad guns but because I did not understand how to use them. I was too focused into making my X-7 perform like a true electro-pneumatic gun.

The main strengths of the X-7 are :

-built tough, very low maintenance. They are the 'Kalashnikovs' of paintball. For maintenance you can easily split the two halves in 30 seconds time. Just a few drops of oil here and there and maintenance is done.

-comes with the Cyclone, so no need to get an expansive loader or to fiddle around with batteries. Also the Cyclone is low profile.

-Very customizable: can be turned into a M4, UMP, MP-5, etc very easily.

-Since it runs at 850psi at least there's no drop-off

-Tippmann has awesome customer service so you buy piece of mind when you get a Tippmann. Also due to the popularity of the gun you can find parts for cheap everywhere.

What's not so good:

-quality control is iffy at best. Lots of paint overspray gets inside the gun and sometimes balls may rub against that causing breaks. Lots of rough edges as well, which causes break. So polishing and sanding down those edges is not an option.

-The gun kicks a lot. Some people love that, whatever. The gun is very rough on tournament-style brittle paint (like RPS Evil or Draxxus Gold) and will turn into a blender if you use any. Must use harder-shelled paint like Draxxus Blaze. Then no problem.

-All things being equal (using same fresh batch of consistently round paintballs, same barrel, same air source) any gun with speedball internals will be more accurate. I know, I tested. Using the same components I mentioned above I would get +/- 5 fps at the chrono with my SP-8, then +/- 15 on my X-7.

-The stock ratchet often breaks. Get a Tech T Vortex ratchet just to prevent that.

The stock E-Grip is total crap. First of all to turn it on or off you need a small object like an Allen key or a pen. And you must turn it on and off before and after every game otherwise it will drain your battery in no time. Also after a few games the stock E-grip just died on me. Tippmann repaired it for free, but I still had to pay for shipping (so not so 'free' after all!). I HIGHLY recommend the APE board.

Squishy paddles from Tech T is a good idea (and cheap) to prevent Cyclone chops. Although some now boil the stock paddles to make them softer on paint. Never tried it. I also recommend a rather short and smooth barrel (maybe 8"-12" max). Forget those 16-18" monsters they will actually hinder the performance of the gun. A smooth barrel will be easier to clean and if shorter will be less likely to cause barrel breaks. Opsgear and Lapco are good choices. Also make sure you overbore, that is that you pick a barrel that is much larger than the paint you are using. With Tippmanns it is often a good idea to pick the largest bore you can find (usually around 0.690-0.695)

Also forget aftermarket parts like bolts and power tubes. They're absolutely useless. Get a Tech T Lightning rod or QEPH if you want to be able to shoot 15-20bps, which I really don't recommend on any Tippmann anyway. So they're kind of useless.

One last thing: I HIGHLY recommend setting velocity in the 250-270fps range. Tippmanns perform much better within that range. You may lose a few feet of distance but your shots will be much more accurate, and you will prevent a lot of chops/breaks.
Conclusion: The main reason I see to get a Tippmann is if you play a lot of milsim-scenario games where you have a limited amount of round per player. If you want a "paint thrower" with milsim looks get a true electro-pneumatic (SP-1 or TM-7)
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 18th, 2009 at 5:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AvidJman Thursday, January 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
TippmannA-5- Solid marker...
BT TM7- Not worth the money, cheaply made...
Marker Setup: TIppmannX7
MP5 Shroud
BSA Optics Red Dot Sight
Remote Line
62/3000 HPA Tank
MP5 Mag Well
MP5 Clip
Tiberious Sight Mount
Carbine Stock
E-Grip
Full Vortex Mods
Lapco Soft Paddles
QEPH
Lightning Rod
Recommended
Upgrades:
Squishy Paddles
E-Grip
Strengths: Very Strong Marker
Cyclone Works Great
Shoots Straight
Somewhat Light
Weaknesses: Not good for speedball as it can be a little bulky for the tight courses
Review: TheTIppmann X7 is a very reliable and solid marker, i have never had a problem with this marker before and have owned it for two years now.

The Cyclone NEEDS Softer paddles as an upgrade or you might chop at high BPS or cold weather.

This marker is very customizable and can shoot very well at high BPS.

I prefer this over my TM7 because it feels more solid and well built. Some people think that the X7 is just a glorified version of the A5 but it is NOT. The X7 piston housing is much better,and the cyclone can operate faster. It has way more rails to add on scopes or sights, or anything you want! I love this marker and would never get rid of it!!!
Conclusion: I HIGHLY recommend the X7 over any other markerbecause it looks great, very customisable and is very reliable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tomreis48 Monday, December 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c, Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: E-grip, straightline barrel,flatline, mp5 stock, remote line, front foregrip
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-grip,
straightline barrel/ anything other than tippman,
squishy paddles,
lightning rod cyclone piston rod,
alu upgrade ratchet in cyclone feed.
Polish inners
Strengths: Durable
Easy to maintain
Simplicity
Appearance
Upgradability
Weaknesses: Upgrades stupidly expensive
Cyclone feed is a joke - upgrades are a must
Accuracy
Price
Review: On first impressions the X7 is a good looking marker and dont get me wrong the cyclone feed system is an excellent idea. However my very first outing with this gun was riddled with problems... all pointing towards the cyclone feed system. Now, balling chopping in any marker is a pain in the neck at the best of times but when it happens every 10 balls you start to wonder if actually throwing the paint is a better way of getting people!

According to most x7 owners this is mainly down to either the paint or the shear violence of the cyclone motion against the paint. The only paint I could seem to fire sucessfully is the winter stuff but anything designed for warmer weather blends like a frog. The cyclone motion can be softened by buying squishy paddles which seems to cure the problem but then I faced the reliability issue! You then need to upgrade the piston and ratchet as when you try and fire more than 5bps the plastic standard parts turn into sponge (which typically I found out in the middle of a walkon). This makes things get expensive. My brother had a better day using a 98c

After all the chopping issues finally went away I then addressed the accuracy as the standard barrel couldnt shoot an elephant at 10 paces. After much deliberation I reluctantly upgraded the barrel to the new staighline system, which may i add blows the pants of the flatline. But that was another £130.

Maintainance is very easy and the push pins are a very practical way to swap bits round quickly on the day.

I can confirm this is probably one the most customizable markers around by my god you've got to be loaded in order to get it the way you want. All the tippmann bits I bought are made from this nasty feeling plastic and usually cost way way too much for what you get.

I have now sold my X7 as the cyclone feed finally got the better of me, I would have kept it if tippmann weren't so self righteous and allowed a nomal feed system to be fitted.



Conclusion: In my opinion if your rich and your only concern in paintball is looking cool on the field then this is the marker for you, however if you want a gun that fires balls instead of eating them get a marker without a cyclone feed.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

banjo1017 Sunday, December 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman a5 and Alpha Black
Marker Setup: Tippmann x7, Flatline barrel, CAR stock, M16 carry handle, and Front grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a egip if you like to shoot alot, and Flatline
Strengths: Solid body, custimizeable
Weaknesses: Not that many third party upgrades
Review: I got my X7 from some kid is school with the flatline and stock for only 200. So before I gave him the money I tested it out. He said he only used it once in his back yard and never played a game with it. I bought and and now love it. The gun looks great and is surpiseingly lighter then it looks. Its very easy to put upgrades on the gun and take them off.
Conclusion: 1.If you dont shoot to much then the basic x7 is great. 2Ever thought some people hate the removeable mag I find it very helpful due to the fact that you've got your tool right there with you should you have a problem on the feild.
3. Gun looks cool and very reliable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bob the great Monday, December 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder MR-3
Marker Setup: X7, flatline barrel, remote line, hpa tank, e-grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
definitely flatline, probably remote line, e-grip for sure
Strengths: Egrip, Flatline has great distance and isn't paint picky, reliable, durable
Weaknesses: Hard to turn on and off (requires allen wrench)
More expensive as a beginning marker
Review: I sold my mr3 to a friend and got this gun and all of the extra stuff listed in my marker set-up for around $550. I think that it was worth it, because the flatline for this gun is better than the one for the A5, the egrip works really well (the only problem is that it lets you shoot way too much paint) and I have fallen on this gun numerous times, without it showing any wear. The gun is easy to maintain, and, as I said before, is very reliable and durable. If you want a military looking gun that can scare anyone on the field, this is the gun for you.
Conclusion: This is a great marker for someone who is willing to upgrade it. It is still a great marker for anyone, though
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CAMBODIAN Monday, November 3rd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom
A5
Marker Setup: Tipp X7
Flatline
E-Grip
Queph
Soft Paddles
Trinity Stock
Polished Internals
Alu Power Tube
Recommended
Upgrades:
Polish Internals
Replace Power Tube
Flatline/Apex
Remote Line
E-Grip
Strengths: Easily modded.
Easy to repair
Availability of parts and info
Tough
Weaknesses: Heavy
Needs mods to keep up with other markers
Wont run on Co2
Review: Ive had this marker about 12 months now and ran about 10,000 rounds of paint through it with varying success.
Now i know that some people will disagree with me here but here is my 1st bit of advice with this marker....
Dont use it on Co2!
It jams and freezes the valve seals. Which in turn causes heavy wear. Here is why.... When i first got it i went to a walkon with it as standard. No mods whatsoever and seen as i bought it as a package i got a Co2 tank with it. For about a half hour all was going well and it was firing as fast as my finger would go. But as i was firing away it started to fire as though in auto (bearing in mind i only had a standard grip on it this came as quite a surprise) The Co2 had frozen the valve pin and hammer. I only found out what was causing it when a guy lent me his spare air tank. (Dont know your name sorry bud but thanks) I got the marker home and did some further investigating only to find all of the seals in the valve housing had chunks missing and heavy wear.....

Some other things worth mentioning would be:
Hopper - Balls dont fall into cyclone as well as would hope but this is due to the low profile.
Barrell - needs replacing. Ok for close quarters but its no Hammer Head.
Sights - Useless (but arn't most sights on a paintball marker!)
Thirsty on air - Ah well its free!!! lol

Its been over a year since and Ive spent a few quid on the X7. But all in all this is the only gripe i have with this marker other than the weight. Its never let me down and shoots as true and as straight as most other markers costing a lot more.
Its been wet, covered in mud, sand and other un-mentionable gunk All it takes is a little clean and youre away again.
Weight - Bit on the heavy side
Conclusion: Overall its been an excellent newbie marker.
Able to strip and maintain with little mechanical knowledge. (just dont get the cocking spring and hammer spring mixed up)
versatile
Easy to mod
Would recommend this marker to anyone looking to get into the scenario game

Have given 8/10 as In my opinion there is nothing perfect in this world
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

frontplaya75 Tuesday, October 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I borrowed my dad's x7 to try it out
Marker Setup: X7 with vertical grip,flatline barrel and red dot sight on side rail
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel and new spring or commando stock if you wanna play remote.
Strengths: Looks
Versatility
Rugedness like all Tippmanns
Weaknesses: Weight
Price if you are on a budget
Review: Ok, this is an awesome starter marker. it's simplicity is a key factor to it's success. It's very quick and easy to maintain. Personally I would suggest you to buy a spring changing pack
for a smoother trigger pull. To do that remove the backplate or stock and a sping and pin will pop out.Replace the spring and put in your stock or backplate.

Conclusion: This is a very solid gun. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND IT FOR WOODSBALL OR SCENARIO ONLY!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media