paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic

Tippmann X-7 Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann X-7 Basic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann X-7 Basic
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 75
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $329

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The New X-7
• The most customizable marker ever made with a thousand different looks
• New magnesium receiver is extremely lightweight and durable
• New Cyclone EP (Enhanced Performance) system feeds up to 20 BPS
• New air-thru stock compatible system eliminates gas line under the marker
• New low profile, offset hopper for clear site line
• Modular shroud with four rails to add on sights and scopes
• AR15 style magazine with built in tool storage
• Picatinny top rail to easily add new risers, sights or handles
• Upgraded adjustable rear site helps with long range aiming
• Push pin design for easy field stripping and accessory add ons
• Includes maintenance pack, barrel sleeve, and gun oil


Caliber: 0.68
Action: Semi-automatic
Power: CO2, compressed air, nitrogen
Hopper Capacity: 200
CO2 Capacity: NA
Feed rate: 20 BPS
Firing rate: 8 BPS
Trigger: Standard
Barrel length: 8.5 inches
Length: 20 inches
Weight: 4.1 lbs. (without tank)
Effective Range: 150+ ft
Product Availability 
The Tippmann X-7 Basic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
TIDAKING Monday, August 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
AGD E-Mag Tac One w/ J&J Barrel, Dot Sight, and Q-loader
Tippy A5
Marker Setup: Q-Loaded X7, Apex Barrel, Red Dot Scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q loader. It gaurintees that you get a shot for every trigger pull and is much faster and more stable than cyclone.
Strengths: Sturdy Build, Cyclone comes standard, very nice out of the box. Even better with upgrades.
Weaknesses: Cyclone leaves you firing air alone sometimes, chops balls, etc. q-loader is much better.
Review: I absolutely love this marker.

Looks/Handling 10/10
The X7 is simply one of the most bad*** looking guns on the market. With a little creativity, two X7's will never look the same. Some complain about weight but I am 6'5" and 220 lbs so it doesn't bother me at all. Plenty of space for upgrades. Also, hands are not cramped like on A5 if you are a bigger guy.

Durability: 10/10
Very secure from what I can tell only a few parts associated with the cyclone that are unstable.

Simplicity: 9/10
It took about two times for me to fimilarize myself with the internals but I can now dissasemble and reassemble with it ease.

Functionality: 9/10
Fires consistently and suprisingly accurately without upgrades. With my Apex and Q-loader it's virtually flawless.
Conclusion: Great marker. I have a decent job so I set high standards on quality of products. Some may say the marker setup is a bit pricy but with steady income it is very affordable.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Breener Monday, August 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT-4 Combat
A5
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7 Egrip, 16" Stiffi Barrel, X36 carry handle, X36 foregrip, X36 folding stock, M16 assult mag (short), Squishy paddles
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-grip
Squishy paddles
New barrel
Stock
Remote line
Strengths: -Magnisium construction
-Durability
-Upgrades
-Cyclone feed
Weaknesses: -A bit heavy
-Price
Review: This is a very nice gun right out of the box EXTREMLY STURDY.

Points:

Feel: 2/2
very smooth feel natural

Weight 2/2
not very heavy maybe for weaker players but for me its good

Size 2/2
can make it compact or long to your liking

Cost 1/2
i got mine when it was new cost me 400 just for the gun worth it though and not crazy high

Accuracy 2/2
when stock it is accurate for an out of the box gun with upgrades major accuracy
Conclusion: Recommended for players beggining and experianced only rich begginers
I gave it 9 out of 10 (look at review) sturdy, strong, accurate , good feel, a bit pricy
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DELTA*26* Monday, July 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
TIPPMANN 98
Tippmann A-5
TIPPMANN Alpha Black
T-9

Marker Setup: 98
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock
barrel
e trigger
Strengths: Accurate
Looks good

Weaknesses: Not very reliable
CHEAP PLASTIC
Review: After using this Tippmann for a year and probably playing with it at least every 3 weeks I have to say I can give a pretty biased review.
"Tippmann" that is a word in the world of paintball that often accompanies reliable.
Unfortunately the X7 doesn't deserve that title. The 98 does, you can throw it in mud or neglect it for a year and will still function the way it was when you first played with it. The X7 on the other hand isn't of the same caliber. The cyclone feed system is too powerful or something because the PLASTIC pieces have stripped out on themselves on me and have caused it too jam. if any dirt gets into the internals the X7 won't cock correctly and you'll have too do it again manually. And too keep it in good working order i have to take it home at the end of the day and strip it down and clean it every time I play with it.
I don't know what Tippmann was thinking putting so much plastic in this gun, maybe it was special ops paintball getting into their heads. But heck if you want a gun that simulates weapon malfunctions the X7 is the marker for you.

The marker is cool looking and is accurate but that is probably all I can say for this marker.
Conclusion: All in all the gun is looks but no heart, and in my opinion needs a re-evaluation by Tippmann.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Patejl Friday, July 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
T98 custom Pro
A-5
Marker Setup: Tipmann A-5, Hammerhead Dominator barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
red-dot or any other sights
Strengths: Cool look for someone
Upgrades
Weaknesses: Sights
Price too high for what you get
Review: This is more an impression than review because I used X-7 only for 4 games, borrowed it from my friend.
Look - It looks nice, despite I find having fake "magazine" uselless and toylike. But someone might like it. It also helps if you wanna build up real gun like look. However, the plastics look sorta cheap and at close look, the marker does not look hmmm... real, dangerous...?
Weight - despite bigger than A-5 it felt lighter /update - it feels lighter only when up to 50 scenario paintballs are loaded. If the hopper is full it feels heavier and much less operable than A-5 - hopper is placed more front, bad balanced).
Trigger - dunno if because string or gas feeding but trigger after shot nearly kicks finger off it - never witnessed b4 with any marker, I am used to smooth and easy triggers with no feedback.
Sights - was a reason why I moved to tipmanns from Spyders - I need sights to perform well when shooting. While A-5 have HK sights, which work very well, X-7 has some odd small back sights. It is not much comfortable to shoot on target excersising only, always you have to partly concentrate on keeping front sight against rear sights. In a game, I always found myself shooting "front+sight-as-a-reference-then-adjust-after-first-pa
intball". Which is bad bad bad for me. So, if sights are a must for you, avoid X-7 or if you still like it, spare some more money on M-16 or other upgrade rail, sights or buy red-dot.
Bursts - with co2 you can set cyclone so that u r able to fire short bursts if really needed
Reliability - had problems with chops in barrel and gas consumption - it is still significantly higher than even A-5 (!) - despite chops are solved by readjusting cyclone (took lots of time for fine-tuning), gas is still problem for my friend. His 18oz last less than my 16oz (approx 500 rounds for me, 300-400 for X-7). But maybe he has just a lemon.
Accuracy - felt slightly better than A-5 stock
Conclusion: Not bad marker but far too pricy for what it offers atm. Definetely no improvement for you if you have A-5 already.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 25th, 2008 at 4:11 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mako426 Tuesday, July 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
No similar products used.
Marker Setup: X7 Basic
M4 collapsable/adjustable stock
5 1/2" JCS xShort Barrel (0.685 i think)
Flatline (Coming very soon!)
Front Grip
Red/Green Dot Sight
1" Sight riser
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket barrel
Front grip
Strengths: Very Mil-sim look
Comfortable fit with stock
Storage
Weaknesses: Weight
Stock barrel
Price
Front Shroud Uncomfortable on bare hands
Review: To start off with, i'm going to review the marker's individual aspects then review the marker as a whole.

This is an unbiased review as i've never owned a Tippmann before nor am I a fanboy of any other brands. (only played a few times before with spyders, etc)

I've only tested this marker and will be reviewing again once I get a few games in with it.

This marker is geared towards all out mil-sim and customizability (is that a word?). If you are looking for a marker that shoots fast or can be used for woodsball and speedball, look elsewhere. This marker is made for woodsball / Mil-sim.

Look and Feel:

Out of the box this marker was easy to setup. I purchased online in a 'package' with a stock, front grip, SP 16" barrel for under $400.

I would definately recommend a front grip or different shroud as the tactical rails are uncomfortable on bare hands and are rather sharp.

The push-pin assembly is a plus because all I had to do was pop the pins out of the backplate and install the stock. Same thing for the front shroud.

The hopper was snug when trying to fit it into the cyclone feeder but locked nicely into place.

When using certain aftermarket barrels that are thicker, you will need to remove the ring that lines the hole in the front shroud. This is accomplished by removing the shroud and removing the 4 phillips-head screws that hold it together. You gain about an 1/8" on each side of the hole which should be enough to use most wider barrels.

Performance:

I've only tested this marker with a few hundred rounds (and not premium paint either). Paint used was Stryker and RECON camo by gameface (cheapo walmart paint lol)

A full 20oz tank adds some wieght but I like the realistic feel of a heavier marker. The hopper clears the sight rail just enough for me to see through my red/green dot sight. (Stock iron sights are just ok) With a mask on, it is difficult to see the sight so I ordered a 1" riser which should solve the problem.

I fired plenty of rounds with the stock barrel, 12" proto barrel and 16" SP tactical barrel.

Stock barrel was of course pretty crappy. Rounds curved everywhere at about 50 feet. The 12" barrel was quieter (more porting) and much more accurate but lacked distance. The 16" barrel was louder but gave more distance and more accuracy.

No breaks with the stryker paint. The RECON camo paint gave me two breaks with the 16" barrel but I was still able to shoot through it.

Upon screwing in a full CO2 tank I was noticing more CO2 spray than before. I think this was contributed to a lot of rapid shooting (just to see what it could do although the X7 isn't ment for fast shooting) and the fact that the gun was not yet broken in.

Accuracy at 100 or so feet was acceptable with the two aftermarket barrels but keep in mind that I have not yet had this gun chrono'ed in so i'm not sure how fast i was shooting. (will be reviewing again)

Overall:

The main thing that surprised me is the size of this thing. The pictures online dont truely show how large this thing is. I wouldn't be surprised if it was actual size (if compaired to an M4 variant of some sort). To me, this is a plus as i wanted a Mil-Sim marker for woodsball.

I've heard plenty of people say that the marker is made of cheap plastic. Do not be fooled. The receiver is Magnesium and the other parts are a durable plastic-composite. Perhaps not the nylon/fiberglass reinforced material you see on military/police service weapons but its still tougher than 'cheap ordinary plastic'

Im happy with my new marker so far and will be sure to write another review once I get some more time in with it.

9 out of 10 for now because I still need to test it further.

***EDIT 8/2/08***

I've had this out one time at the field now and will review it further.

Look and Feel:

Got plenty of compliments (mostly younger players 'ooooing and ahhing') , not important to me.

Heavy, heavy and heavy. I'll admit I haven't played in a while but jeeze this thing wore me down. With the stock and full 20oz Co2 tank I was actually tired of holding gun. I've got a sling to help with carrying it to and from the fields.

Actually wound up removing the stock and using the short barrel the rest of the day.

Purchased a 68/3000 psi carbon wrapped tank because of this. Will review later on with the new tank (this weekend :) )

Performance:

A combination of sub-par paint, higher humidity and heat caused 3 breaks in my barrel but no chops. Once I got the velocity dialed in accuracy was average with all 3 barrels.

I actually PREFERRED my 5 1/2" short barrel because I think the tighter bore worked great for close range.

I tried spraying paint by 'half walking' the single trigger. It was kinda funny, guys next to me just looked at me lol. Might have gotten 8 BPS...

Anyway the feeder worked well until I started to get low on Co2, then every other shot was a misfeed, forcing me to manually cycle the cyclone. Then i just ran out all together (nice fully auto machine gun sound too :) )

Leftover marballizer paint shot the best (of course) with nice accuracy, no breaks in barrel. Combat.68 paint was just ok (field paint) with a few stray shots.

New rating is 8 out of 10 because the marker is nice looking but not overly impressive in the performance department.

Already ordered the Flatline barrel for this baby. Will review that *hopefully* this weekend.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone who wants a good mil-sim marker. If you want mil-sim looks then go for this. However, be aware, this marker is heavier and slightly larger than most and if you are looking to customize this, expect to spend plenty of $$ as most upgrades are still at a premium price.

EDIT*** Weight is an issue with this marker it is large and heavy.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 4th, 2008 at 11:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bigbill7240 Saturday, May 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5      Spyder MR1
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7      J&J ceramic barrel      68/4500 crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel      Nitrogen
Strengths: Looks
Weaknesses: Cyclone feed
Review: The gun looks good, works great, and somewhat accurate with aftermarket barrel. The problems with the gun is, the cyclone feed system and the sight. The cyclone feed sprockets rub on the feeder housing, I spoke with other users of the X-7 and they had the same problems. Some of the people I spoke with even put the A-5 cyclone feed system on the X-7 to fix the problem. 
Conclusion: The Tippmann X-7 works great with aftermarket barrel, but the cyclone feed system needs work.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 17th, 2008 at 10:59 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Nephrak Saturday, May 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bt-4
98 Custom
Marker Setup: BT-4 combat with
BT rip clip
x7 low profile hopper
NCstar red dot sight
E-grip

Recommended
Upgrades:
not sure yet but probably the typical new barrel, a stock and remote would be a good investment also
Strengths: Looks beastly
Decent accuracy
a tippmann
milsim upgrades
Weaknesses: Ridiculous price
no different than an A-5
bulky
quality control,
Review: THe x7 is a great gun but It also has many downfalls.

Lets get the good out of the way,
it looks kick ass no question there its all black and spiky and bulky and....um...milsimy? ( is that a word?)

Its got what all tippmanns ( and ben tippmanns!) have reliabilty, good service and looks like it could withstand getting run over by a truck. It has a multitude of milsim upgrades all that can bought in a little baggy that says X7 on it. Decent accuracy, scares the rec balls noobs and it can be turned into one of the scariest look paintball G36s you have ever seen.

Okay the bad. The price, i mean come on it costs $320 ultra-basic and if you look beyond the bulkiness it looks shockingly similar to a another tippmann gun...kinda like the 98? no....wait the a5? no- wait ITS THE SAME GUN. yes thats right except for the shroud, except for the better cyclone its an A-5. Thats all it is, a slightly better, bulkier and cooler looking a-5. (I know so many people have said that but don't flame me because they have all of the same features and handle all to similarly, I bet there all plenty of improvements just many too subtle to make it worth $320.)
Okay fine i can live with that at least it has picatinny and all these crazy milsim options.
oh....wait...... doesn't that remind you of our little model 98 underdog friend the bt-4? it comes entirely cover in picatinny and though it has less pencil and paper options it has more upgrades than the X7. yes I said it!
The X7 isn't winning the milsim marker category by a landslide or anything. Its just on par, the only difference is that is has the most tippmann made accessories. and having used all the above similar products i conclude that i simply find no difference in performance except for a few nifty things that already come on an A-5 for about $ 110 cheaper

P.S. i'm being generous by not adding that its way bulkier than both of those

P.P.S oops
Conclusion: Its a good solid woodsball marker but people need to see that they don't have pay that much for quality. but even because all of these factors i have to rate fairly in what it was trying to succeed and it did. i would have given it a 9 but due to people claiming some ( not all, i bet your X7 works greats!) there a quality control issues i give it a 8
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 17th, 2008 at 8:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dinos66 Saturday, April 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The Tippman 98 is a much more dependable gun.
Marker Setup: ION
Redz Pepperstickz 6 Piece Barrel Kit
Dye Hyper 3 Inline Regulator
Ricochet Apache hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, maybe a remote since the gun is too heavy.
Strengths: Looks
Infinite mods on its looks
Weaknesses: Loud
Inner mods will ruin it
Very heavy
Slow
Review: I have to say that i don't actually own the gun. A friend of mine does. However i've tried it myself several times mostly attracted by its looks.
The gun works fine until you try to upgrade it, we bought a response trigger which actually messed up the, if you can believe it, PLASTIC cyclone feeder. We never suspected that to be the problem so we bought an E-grip to replace the supposedly problematic response trigger. When that didn't work, we dissasembled the gun and found out that it was the plastic cyclone thingy that caused the gun not to fire any rounds since nothing was actuall was fed into it. So we bought an aluminium cyclone thingy and the gun worked fine for a day or two. Then it just stopped shooting again. So we sent it to the Tippman service guy who has the gun for 2 months now and still hasn't found what's wrong with it.
Bottom line, I have to admit that it worked when unmodified but as soon as the "infinite mods", as advertized by tippman, took place all hell broke loose.
Conclusion: Buy the gun but don't try any mods on it, except if the mods are on its looks.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

heavywep101 Friday, April 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann A5, similar i prefer it.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with Opsgear Saw kit
Spyder MR3
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock, flatline
Strengths: Increased cyclone speed,cheep upgrades
Weaknesses: Not that many looks, somewhat limited.
Review: well my buddy has an X7 and he has let me use it off and on for about a month now, it has worked great, all the times i have used it, but i still prefer the A5, what other gun can you turn into A Browning .50, come on!
vewrtually no ball breaks and i was happy about the weight, but it is really limited in looks.
Conclusion: i would recommend this gun to a first time tippmann buyer, but if you have an A5 i would reccommend sticking with that, the slightly increased preformace of the X7 is no match for the A5s upgrades.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ZzZTIPPMANNX7Zz Monday, April 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom and tippmann a5 They dont even come close
Marker Setup: Just a Basic x7
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline or other barrel stock
Strengths: Very accurate right out of the box
Weaknesses: None
Review: Very good gun everyone should buy it he he he he he he he he he he he he he he he he he he he ehe he ehe heeh hehe heheh eheheh he he he he he he he he he he hye he ehehe heheh hehe he he eh
Conclusion: Awesome gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media