paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic

Tippmann X-7 Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann X-7 Basic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann X-7 Basic
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 75
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $329

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The New X-7
• The most customizable marker ever made with a thousand different looks
• New magnesium receiver is extremely lightweight and durable
• New Cyclone EP (Enhanced Performance) system feeds up to 20 BPS
• New air-thru stock compatible system eliminates gas line under the marker
• New low profile, offset hopper for clear site line
• Modular shroud with four rails to add on sights and scopes
• AR15 style magazine with built in tool storage
• Picatinny top rail to easily add new risers, sights or handles
• Upgraded adjustable rear site helps with long range aiming
• Push pin design for easy field stripping and accessory add ons
• Includes maintenance pack, barrel sleeve, and gun oil


Caliber: 0.68
Action: Semi-automatic
Power: CO2, compressed air, nitrogen
Hopper Capacity: 200
CO2 Capacity: NA
Feed rate: 20 BPS
Firing rate: 8 BPS
Trigger: Standard
Barrel length: 8.5 inches
Length: 20 inches
Weight: 4.1 lbs. (without tank)
Effective Range: 150+ ft
Product Availability 
The Tippmann X-7 Basic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
swissblade16 Wednesday, February 20th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7 w/red dot sight
Strengths: Accuracy
Profile
Weight
Range
Looks
Cyclone Feeder
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: The Safety
Paint
The Sight
Review: The Tippmann X7 is an extraordinary marker. It has really nice accuracy with just the stock gun at reasonable ranges. Its profile is thin and the hopper is low, making it just that much harder to spot. The weight, when I first saw the gun i thought it was going to be a tank, but the gun is made from Magnesium and is really light. The gun packs a punch and can send balls for a fairly long distance, and still allow them to break on the target. The cyclone feeder works great and i have not have any problems with the mechanics of the gun. The gun can easily be taken apart. Looks, what can i say, its an out of the box scenario style marker. The price is a little high for new players but for anyone who has played before the price is not daunting. Similar guns can be sold for hundreds of dollars more, so $300 is not that much.

The placement of the safety can be a slight problem for those of us with big hands. It is right on the side and rather than being a push button it is more of a switch and if it is not all of the way on "Fire" then the gun tends not to fire.

The paint, now this one could just be me, but moving from my 98 which could fire any type of paint without a problem to this one just took some getting used to. This is not a big problem it is just that thin shelled paint seems to break in the gun a little more often then I would like, so thick shelled paint is needed.

The sight is another problem with the gun... the sight is very difficult to see through and doesn't help too much

The gun is an amazing gun in both looks and performance and I highly recomend it to any scenario players or those of those who have some experience paintballing. New players should not buy the gun unless they are positive that this is a sport that they can and will play often.
Conclusion: Buy the gun, it has quite a few pros, and very few cons.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 20th, 2008 at 4:16 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Runamuk Saturday, February 9th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, power tube (mine came split from the factory), I would recommend having an airsmith go through the whole thing before you have to use it.
Strengths: Aftermarket support and Marketing
Weaknesses: Cheaply manufactured, Fit of the parts are poor and the barrel is the worst.
Review: I have owned many markers from Tippmann over the years and have been satisfied with all of them until now. I recently purchased the X7 thinking I was upgrading from my A5. The first problem I had was paint breaking. About one in ten would break. I disassembled the marker, cleaned everything Inspected parts ect.. Still breaks. Turns out the barrel had a defect in the material that was snagging the ball. Ok, the store I purchased it from was very helpful and replaced the barrel. Problem two, the velocity would suddenly drop off as if the Co tank wasn't screwed in. This happened four times in the first day of use. I looked everything over and found the ASA had a sharp edge that was shaving brass from my bottle feed neck and sending the small pieces of brass into the air system. I deburred the ASA and cleaned out the valve and cyclone ram and that solved that problem. The third problem was the bottom of the cyclone feeder had such bad casting flash it would randomly break paint in the cyclone. I had herd of others having the same problem and all that was needed was to sand down the flash on the bottom of the cyclone. All of this added up to a very frustrating time with this marker and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
Conclusion: In preforming all the fixes and looking the parts of the marker over I could see the quality I had come to expect from a Tippmann marker was no longer. Maybe it is a sign of the times, or I just happened to get a bad one. At this point though, considering the cost vs. quality I feel this marker is one of the worst I have ever owned.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

SuicidalRevolve Tuesday, January 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 (Tested)
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7 with Red-Dot sight and custom stock, with custom sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
DEFINITELY a new barrel, perhaps new internals, better sights, stock, and remove rails on the side of the shroud if not in use
Strengths: Weight
Durability
Reliability
Ease of use
Ease of maintenance
Customizable
Milsim-looking
Weaknesses: Price
Stock barrel
Stock iron sights
Review: A lot of controversy have been going around this marker; some good, some bad. But overall, this is a great marker. Nothing more, nothing less.

First of all, the accuracy with the stock barrel is pitiful. Simply pitiful. Topped with THE crappiest sight system I've ever seen, it does not help.

However, with a slightly longer barrel - Let's say a 10-incher - can dramatically increase its accuracy. Topped with a decent sight system, this gun will outperform many guns. As long as your Red-Dot sight doesn't break, that is.

ACCURACY: 7 w/stock setup, 9 w/aftermarket barrel
FACTORY SETUP: 5

The durability of the gun is just like the Tippmann quality... Rugged, reliable and virtually indestructible. You can get the AK-47 (Looks more like the 74, but whatever) mods and you can do pretty much the same thing to the marker as its real-life counterpart and will handle the same way. YOU CANNOT BREAK IT ON ACCIDENT. It's just not possible. I've heard some reports saying that the magazine breaks when hit, but that never happened, so as long as you take care of the whole gun things will stay intact.

DURABILITY: 10

The upgradability of the gun is incredible. What some markers have to get after purchase already comes with this gun. Military standard Picatinny Rails COVER this marker, making this the prickliest gun I've ever touched. And here's another thing: It comes with a removable shroud that could be tweaked just the way you want it. Some also complain that the shroud doesn't allow users to mount thicker barrels, but if you remove the ring that lines it thicker barrels could easily be mounted.

As mentioned on "recommended upgrades," I recommended the users to remove the side rails if they are not in use. Why? Because it hurts. The ends of those rails are like knives, and I've cut myself handling it. Plus, it allows the shroud to be held more like a rifle, if you like that kind of feel. After all, this gun was made to fit your needs.

Picatinny rails mean one thing: ACCESSORIZE. If you can put it onto a real gun, this gun can probably take it too. Want a vertical grip? Buy one. Mount one. Want lasers? Mount it. Want a bipod? Stick it on! Want a microwave oven? Put a rail adapter on that bad-boy and put it on. Anything that have a Picatinny or Weaver threading can be put on this gun.

UPGRADABILITY: 10

Reliability of this gun is impressive. The only ball break I've had was after using stale paint for velocity testing and backyard shooting. Never has a ball broken inside my hopper. Never. If you wanna get picky, sure, you can complain about this gas-guzzler of a gun... But I've gone 3 games without refilling my 24Oz. tank. And I even had some left over to do some messing around.

RELIABILITY: 10

Affordability is not something this gun is very good at. Priced at $300 on Special Ops and ActionVillage, this is currently the most expensive Tippmann gun. But you know what? The Cyclone EP is much faster than the A-5's, and the shroud and the rails would cost you an arm and a leg. If you want to get an A-5 and spend another $150 to get where the X7 is, go ahead, but this gun is worth the price in my opinion. So affordability, not so much. But Bang for the Buck factor? Definitely a 10.

AFFORDABILITY: 7
BfB FACTOR: 10

Appearance is vital to a product. A marker might be EXCELLENT. But if it looks like a piece of turd, then who'll buy it? The moment I saw this gun I was in love with it. And this has been my dream gun ever since I got my Spyder. If only I got this baby before the P.O.S. marker...

The love for milsim may or may not persuade a consumer from buying this gun. A lot of my friends complain how ugly it looks because of its rails. I say it looks practical. And it definitely looks sexy. In my opinion. But the important thing is that you have to have the guts to go against speedballers bashing the looks of this gun. Or for any milsim/Tippmann marker for that matter. Sure, this gun is not the lightest. Nor is it the smallest. And it definitely isn't the fastest. But if you take any of the $1000 speedball guns out in the desert... better go sell your kidney to get your gun repaired.

APPEARANCE: 10

Ergonomics decide how long a player can carry around his weapon for prolonged amounts of time. Although big and blocky, the X7 can be lugged around for literally hours without tiring me out. Compared to the A5, it feels much lighter. Why? Because it's balanced. Also, many features are set-up so that it feels right in your hands.

ERGONOMICS: 10
Conclusion: I definitely recommend this gun to any player that asks me which marker they'd like to get. Aside from a slightly hefty price tag, this gun is just too great. Sure, the stock barrel is crap, but so is a lot of guns.

And don't be fooled by people saying it's just a more expensive version of the A-5. Sure, it's more expensive, but the improvements are much greater than they say. So grab your piggy bank, smash it into pieces, and head to your local sports store today! Or anytime sooner! Or whatever!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Srg.Pepper Saturday, January 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann a5,Egrip,Xchamber,Flatline
Recommended
Upgrades:
A refund
Strengths: Light

Air through body

Accurate

Its a Tippman
Weaknesses: "Chuncky"

Loud!

Over-rated
Review: Looks like an A5,shoots like an A5,and handles like an A5. This marker is but a dressed up billboard for Specialops paintball. I used this marker for 2 days in the woods,only to find its just a beefy imitation of the beloved A5 marker. What really upset me was that Tippmann and Specialops made the marker out to be "The most customizable marker ever"-whitch is simply not true. The fact of the matter is that the A5 is much more customizable than the x7 will ever hope to be. But aside from the advertisment of the marker,the performance was impressive. It has a satisfing kick to it,and is lighter than the A5. It wont let you down 90% percent of the time,decent accuracy,and as a nice gasthrough line if your using an air-thru stock(witch is only sold by specialops as far as I know). So as far as being a marker that gets the job done,its that and more.
Conclusion: If your into sights,red dots,etc.,or are just a total scenario player,this might be worth buying. But otherwise,stick with the A5,this marker just doesnt live up to the hype that Tippmann and Specialops gave us. But as far as the function and reliability of the marker,it passes in that department.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

WilhelmSchulz Friday, January 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C, fair but not as good
Marker Setup: Colapsible stock, 14 inch barrel, M-16 sights (both fron and rear)
Recommended
Upgrades:
a stock of anykind, and a longer barrel
Strengths: Reliabilty, shooting speed
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: When I played my first game of paintball I used a Tippmann 98C, and I was hooked so I went and bought a X-7. The verry first time I played I got lots of oohs and aahs. My gun was repeatedly banged slammed and acdently droped(verry hard I may add) and it still preformed wonderfully.

Acccurcy:
With the stock 8" barrel accurcy is fair, I could hit targets out to about 15 yards. The 14" dubbled that.

Shooting speed:
Although its a woodsball marker I can still crank out paint at nice rate.

Reliablity:
In one game I slammed into a bunker so hard it knocked me silly for a bit. Balls where broken in the hopper and the clip poped out. But the gun still worked flawsly.

Weight:
This is its only weakness. The first day I used it the arm that held the pistol grip the elbow was sore. The gun weighs about 3-5 lbs. But I got used to it after a few more days.

Looks:
I had it said to me that this gun could get you shot in a well lit alley. The gun just looks mean! Gets me lots of oohs and aahs whenever I play.
Conclusion: If you love woodsball and want a mean looking marker the X-7 is the way to go!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mw98 Thursday, January 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Promaster, Tippmann A5, Custom 98, BT-4 combat, Tippmann Pro Carbine
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7
Response Trigger
Tiberius Rifle Scope
M-16 Apex Barrell
3 Point Tactical sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response Trigger
Tiberius Rifle Scope
M-16 Apex Barrell
3 Point Tactical sling
Howitzer Bolt
Strengths: Accurate
Ease of Use
Reasonably Light
Mil-sim
many Mods
Weaknesses: Price... if you're picky
stock barrel
Review: I picked up this gun from Badlands. I have loved it ever since. It fires great and has several good mods which can be used to improve it. My 2 favourites are the Response Trigger and the Apex Barrel.

When I got this, I thought: I want a great gun which is easy to use, can help me in battle, and which I will be able to mod up. I came to the conclusion of buying the X-7. This did not disappoint. It is SO easy to use that a monkey could do it. In addition, it is great on the battlefield stock, but it is so much better with Mods. The only thing u must change is the stock barrell (it's pretty bad). Personally, I like the APEX barrell, but that's me.

Anyways, I played today and killed at least 15 people over 7 rounds with the gun. I'm more of a rusher and frontline person, so it even works for me. It's not nearly as picky as electric guns and with the R-Trigger, it is almost as fast and more accurate with the APEX barrell.
Conclusion: Get this gun, it does not dissapoint. Great for all battle roles. It's my fav. gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

boner man Sunday, December 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98custom, pro lite
Marker Setup: some 14in. barrel, trinity side folding stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
bipod, dot sight, new internals, remote line
Strengths: Power, Reciever, Customization Capabilities
Weaknesses: Mostly plastic, defective out of the box, expensive parts
Review: I am new to paintball, was gonna buy 98custom. But, at the price i got this for, i couldnt resist. So i buy the gun, open it up, set it up, put the tank on, load it, and bam. First shot was perfect. Then i go for a second shot and plegh... I realize the cyclone feeder isnt cycling and i gotta manual advance it. So i must have angered the gun because it clearly refused my cheap ammo by spitting it out and draining allll the air through the barrel. However, i must say just how cool it is to listen to $4 worth of co2 sound like 30 firecrackers going each after the other while you helplesly watch. The stock barrel is awful. The parts, everything for the gun is so expensive. Its like $60 for three cyclone feeder metal parts. The gun is a bit long for indoor scenario. If you want close quarter, have a folding stock and stock barrel. It is not a great gun for really anything in particular, but its decent. All the internals are plastic. Without a remote line 'tis a bit unbalanced.
Conclusion: Should you not be a millionaire like me, it may be too expensive upgrade.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

huvi33 Wednesday, November 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman model 98 was my first marker, I still have it b/c is very reliable, unlike my expierience with the X7 model.
Marker Setup: tippman model 98 with an 18" barrel, and a stock spyder pilot.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The marker looks great as it is, without needing to upgrade, but the e-grip should be seriously considered. If you are buying it? buy it with the e-grip already. If you buy it as an upgrade later, you'll end up paying more.
Strengths: Looks, good balance feel with tank on marker.
Weaknesses: Not reliable. 2 new x7 started leaking after a few games.

Review: ntThe price for the stock model made me wait a while before deciding to get one, but I justify it by saying to myself, that I would save money if I wanted to customize an A5 to have similar looks.

I played with it the 1st time and it went perfect. My happiness and exitment came to a small disappointmetn the 2nd time I used it. It started leaking gas in the middle somewhere?, I immediatly switch to my reliable model 98, and was able to finish the day of game.

I tried to disassemble it and fix it without success. I took it back b/c I still had my receipt and was under the 30days from purchase date. I got the 2nd one, with another 30 days to try it. Eager, I took it to the field, after the 2nd game with another brand new x7, I rest it the marker on my legs waiting to start the 3rd game when all of the sudden, Pufffff, a loud noise followed by a real hard and heavy leak. I quickly disconnected the CO2 tank. Tried to tweak it, but to no avail. The 2nd brand new, out of the box, marker was out of business with a mayor leak, also from the middle or internal section. Thank god for my reliable model 98.

What I liked:
-looks, good balanced feel to it.
-hopp erto the side makes it easy to see over the marker
-low profile hopper is easier to hide, and gives less "target" space to your oponenets

What I did not liked:
-plastic tool holder/magazine comes out easy. If you play in the woods, you may spend some time looking to find it (if you do). Being plastic I can see how it would erode away the edges with time and use; to the point where it may not click in place anymore.
-Cyclon feeding part made out of plastic. It looks weak and I can see how it would break easily.
-Over priced for the basic model
-Cyclone feeder will stop working with a 1/4 of the CO2 tank filled. When it was not working b/c of the low tank, I used the tank with the 98 and still shot 2 almost 3 hoppers with what was left on the tank. When you're in the woods, you want to maximize your gas usage.
-If you tilt it to the right, it will miss feed and/or fail to shoot. You have to keep it straight up. May be you can tilt it to the left for a few shots.
Conclusion: I think tippman over promised and underdelivered with this model.

I though it was my bad luck until another friend got one with the flat barrel and an e-grip. He's lasted longer, but evetually ended up leaking. (by longer, I meant like a few more weekends with it)
I would caution my friends if they were bent in buying one. Defenetly I would not recommended.

Time will tell, but I think this leaking problem is a design flaw of this marker.

What I loved the most about tippman brand, was its reliability, but my experience with 2 brand new model x7's has led me to skeptisism with this particular model (x7).

Looks alone won't win you any game. If you like tippman, stick to the true and tried models 98 and/or A5
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spiderspawn Friday, October 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom
A5
Spyder Image
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom
32 degree carbon fiber barrel
expansion chamber
car stock
RT
-------------
X7
Remote
72 3000psi tank
Apex Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Still have to try the RT and Egrip for it
Stock (air-through)
Barrel
Strengths: BEST mil sim ever!
Low profile
different combinations for your look
Weaknesses: Only thing I am having problems with is the trigger springs
Cost of modifications
Review: I have been using this marker for the last 6 months, and I love it! The feel, the looks, the number of mods you can do to it, the whole package for it, is awsome. You can take it apart and put it back together without any problems.
The only thing I have problems with is the trigger. after using it a few times, by the third month ( I play about once a month and always clean my stuff between games), I started to miss fire. I would pull the trigger and nothing. my bolt was all the way back, air was on, safety was off but still I would pull the trigger and nothing. I found out that I had to push the trigger forward in order for it to catch inside. I replaced the red and blue springs and also the trigger spring and it will be good for a few more game days. Then I need to do it again. This is my only complaint about the marker.
UPDATE BELOW
Conclusion: Replace your stock trigger with the RT or E-grip for it. Even though I have not use either trigger, I am betting that they both will work better than the stock trigger. Either that so stock up on springs.
UPDATE 10/13/07
I was just over at the Tippmann Windy City Classic at CPX. I asked the question of the trigger problem. What needs to be done according to the rep. is to file the top of the metal spring retainer on the trigger itself at a 45 degree ange. You don't have to take much off but some of thier batches came a larger than what is required.
Thnaks Tippmann!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 13th, 2007 at 2:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sharpfhshooter Monday, October 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts ion
Spyder electra ACS 05
Tippmann a-5
Tippmann 98 custom
Spyder compact
Marker Setup: Flatline barrel
Response trigger
x36 folding stock
3000 psi nitrogen tank
Remote coil (without slide check)
Port n' polish
JCS jet click ratchet and shaft
Recommended
Upgrades:
The barrel!!
Better trigger
Port and polish
New cyclone internals
Strengths: Weight
Looks
Speed
Durability
Rails
Easy to clean
Durable
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Air efficiency
internals are poorly treated.
Review: Right out of the box the gun looks very nice, but much is needed if you want it to work well,
lets go with the pros and cons.

PROS:

The gun looks really cool

Cyclone work efficiently and pretty well out of the box

I never chop paint, ive read and heard of people chopping paint with their X7s.

Easy to maintenance, the push pins make disassembly a lot easier.

Rails allow you to attach sites and other cosmetics to the gun.

Extremely customizable.

Very durable.

CONS:

The cyclone stock parts are plastic, you may want to change those parts for better ones.

It wastes air like crazy, I could probably get 600 shots out of it.

Internals are horribly treated, port n' polish is a must have! Ive noticed a lot rough edges. Also, the inside is very dirty i recommend that you clean,oil,and port n' polish the gun.

Conclusion: Basically, i give this marker an 8 out of ten because of its durability, customization, works, and all the other things you can add to it.
Its a very well made marker that is meant to take a beating, tippmann did a pretty good job, but they could've done a way better job with the X7.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 16th, 2008 at 8:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media