paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic

Tippmann X-7 Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann X-7 Basic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann X-7 Basic
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 75
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $329

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The New X-7
• The most customizable marker ever made with a thousand different looks
• New magnesium receiver is extremely lightweight and durable
• New Cyclone EP (Enhanced Performance) system feeds up to 20 BPS
• New air-thru stock compatible system eliminates gas line under the marker
• New low profile, offset hopper for clear site line
• Modular shroud with four rails to add on sights and scopes
• AR15 style magazine with built in tool storage
• Picatinny top rail to easily add new risers, sights or handles
• Upgraded adjustable rear site helps with long range aiming
• Push pin design for easy field stripping and accessory add ons
• Includes maintenance pack, barrel sleeve, and gun oil


Caliber: 0.68
Action: Semi-automatic
Power: CO2, compressed air, nitrogen
Hopper Capacity: 200
CO2 Capacity: NA
Feed rate: 20 BPS
Firing rate: 8 BPS
Trigger: Standard
Barrel length: 8.5 inches
Length: 20 inches
Weight: 4.1 lbs. (without tank)
Effective Range: 150+ ft
Product Availability 
The Tippmann X-7 Basic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
hurleyhonda22 Sunday, April 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all high ends pretty much, other tippys
Marker Setup: Promaster, Vlocity, 72/3000, aka low rise, ndz on/off asa rail combo, detonator
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really but a stock makes it look good
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Fast cyclone feed
Pure secks
Weaknesses: Little big
Review: Well at first when I got this gun I thought it was pure secks. I threw a commando air thru on it and I was set to play. When I first played with the gun I was shocked on how accurate it was stock. And I was also surprised on how efficiant on C02 it was for having a cyclone feed on it. This gun overall is just uber pwnage. It makes gameplay easier due to the accuracy.
Conclusion: Overall Great product. I used to not be a fan of tippys but this gun showed me otherwise.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SHOCKERS Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann Model 98
Inferno
Epiphany
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7 with Remote Coil System
45/45 DXS Tank
4+1 Pack

Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Strong
Conistent
20 BPS feed
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got this around in January and traded the epiphany in because the epiphany broke and the board fried so i got this because it looked good and i wanted to be able to shoot it and see what it was like and i took it out today and i had a few ball breakages but that could of been the paint i was using though. Good Gun !!!
Conclusion: This gun is one of the best out there from tippmann and it rocks
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

thor's hammer Sunday, April 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c, Tippmann A5, and ATS At-4
Marker Setup: Tippmann x-7 w 10" j&j Performance barrel
Car stock
Red dot
HPA 3000/68
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately a barrel
others to personal preference
Strengths: Weight
Flexibility (mods/configurations)
Solid reliability
Weaknesses: Thin metal where trigger frame push pins insert.
Review: I Got this marker for Christmas and upon receiving it i was impressed by the weight( or lack thereof). I Frequently go to big scenario's where your on the field and in action on average of 8 - 10 hours. After that long, my modded A5 would get heavy(clip-sightrail-red dot scope). The x7 is lighter and I'm looking forward to the lighter load. Shooting accuracy is the same as the A5(because it is an A5).As always your accuracy depends on paint and paint to barrel match. I've played twice with this gun and enjoy the same solid reliability as my a5 and less weight to haul around. I am looking forward to getting the e grip when it is released. The only downside I've had was the fact that tippmann had such a lag time for releasing the stocks and mods and such.
Conclusion: Overall gets a 9 cause I'm a milsim player and love all things military(H&K 416)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 13th, 2007 at 11:16 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

S.P.E.D Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5

98 (alittle like it i guess)
Marker Setup: X7
Bangstix hammerhead barrel with mock silencer
M16 setup with rap4 flexi air car stock
Rico Hopper, Tac-cap
Frontgrip

vortex ratchet, lightning rod, howtzer bolt.

;)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Vortex Ratchet!, last ratchet you will ever need.
BETTER BARREL!!... anything better

And Any body mods that you think are cool
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: ok. my first tippmann to own. ive used A-5s and 98 customs but this is my first tippmann gun. it does it for me.. it broke balls... first .. but .. thoes were just the balls.. dont use weak. or old paint in it.. Its a big gun.. so its weight is REALLY good for its size.

Im not listing price under weakness because paintball is an expensive sport. so dont complain!

----------------------------Strengths-----------------------
-------------
I like the magnesium reciver.. its a nice touch, a pinch expensive but that shouldnt matter if your even considering this gun. It can give, and take beatings like a champ. The pushpin design is very handy..

The stock package i think looks REALLY nice.. (but im a big fan of the M4A1 so i had to) but its made to be YOUR custom marker, there is a few good mods out there.. and hopefully more to come.

The insides are pretty much a5, lol, but i do like the Enhanced Pnumatics cyclone thats in it. and the new safety is a GOOD! feature. i like it better. it already comes with a mag, and forgrip.

Internals are very straight forward like the a5.. soo easy to clean and oil up.
-------------------Weaknesses---------------------------
Well. there isnt much.. id say the weight of everyhing on the gun. but it IS a woodsball gun. i just would have expected it to be lighter with the magnesium body and all that...

some of the mods you can get are quite pricy also.

every time ive played with it so far ... ive heard an internal leaking*** but my friend that owns hitman paintball might be able to help me with that..
Conclusion: I rate the gun a 10 not based on alll paintball guns... Just on what i thought it would be before i got it.. its everything youd expect and more. its a good pro gun, or starter gun.

If anyone knows how to stop the minor leakage inside.. jsut comment on the rivew thankyou :)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

cavscout19d Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5 or Tippmann 98 with cyclone feed
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7 with a 14" barrel front m4 sight post, car stock , red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock , E-Grip
Strengths: Light
great cyclone feed
and lots of mods
Weaknesses: None that i seen
Review: Ok first off this is a great gun, and tippmann and spec ops did a very good job making it.
My team Hellions shoot this great weapon, if your into mil-sim like we are this is a must have since it fits the role of mil-sim to a T. After first using this great marker for the first time at CPX sports in Joliet, IL for the first game of the year on the 24th of march, i found this marker to be great with how well it fired how being dropped in the mud and being rained on it never once let me down. With it being the first ones off the line there is a few things that needs to be fixed, but u get that with any new gun off the line in the first batch and its nothing major .

Pros
- light weight
- lots of sweet mods
- Tippmann and spec ops made it
- cyclone feeds up too 20bps
- off set hopper
- any barrel for a A5 or pro-lite will work with it
- tool kit in the mag
- stock hand guard comes with weaver rails
- fire/ safety switch is sweet

Cons
- E-Grip isn't out yet
- Need to fire a hopper threw it to get the spring weaker
- some had a little peice in the cyclone break ( but mine is alright couldn't be happier)
- mods are for the most part all back ordered
Conclusion: But all in all this is a great marker, sure the cyclone breaks a small easy part that only takes like 5-10minutes to fix so did the A5 when it first came out . But it your looking for a good gun and love Mil-sim this is the gun for you cant go wrong with it and i give it a 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 28th, 2007 at 11:26 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

REvan223 Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year50 of 53 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Tippmann A5
Spyder Electra
Spyder Sonix
Spyder Classic
Spyder Compact
Ariakon Sim-4
Marker Setup: Primary:
Tippmann X7
X7 M16 Shroud
Tapco M4 Stock
Sling
E Grip
14" J&J
Jet Click Mod
Secondary Gun:
X7
X7 G36 Carry Handle
Response Trigger
Flatline Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
E Trigger
Stock
New Barrel (Flatline) or a J&J For accuracy
Strengths: Customizations
Looks
Feel
Performance
Weaknesses: Maybe Price For those who are on a Budget. =
Review: I've have used a variety of guns and equipment and nothing really compares to this gun. Tippmann has always come out with something good. They have always provided us with working markers that are reliable and that have many customizations. This is where the X-7 Flourishes.

Looks: Mostly opinion. But as soon as I walked onto the field everyone had eyes on me. Looks great. The magazine looks awesome too. The Sights are good. They are the regular surface sights. Very similar to what you'd have on an AK-47. Nevertheless adequate enough for paint ball use. The rails feel nice under my hands. The gun is relatively balanced when used in conjunction with a remote.

Shooting: Firing this gun is identical to firing a 98c or a Tippmann A5. Accurate enough. Distance is about 100-120 feet. Not bad for a marker. However you do have the option of putting a flat line on it. Which is what I did before i even played. The flatline barrel provided distance that was superior to any gun out there on the field. People where getting so mad at me and saying that my velocity was higher. When I cronoed my gun fired at 285fps. Rule of thumb: The Flatline is very picky with paint and is useless in the winter (cold and paint isn't a good idea), so i suggest maybe using a different barrel in the winter or if you just want a better barrel. Anyways this isn't a review on the flatline. So what I'm saying here is the stock barrel isn't the greatest. It fires accurate enough, but there is alot better out there. So get a new barrel. Preferably as soon as you get the gun.

The gun actually has some recoil to it, not much, but some......Especially with a response trigger on it. It feels pretty sweet when firing. The E Grip is really nice and minimizes recoil alot. One thing i noticed that while running, if you don't have some kind of stock to shoulder or a grip to keep your gun steady, your shots will be all over the place. However I did get a vertical grip and im in the process of getting the stock. Even with the vertical grip my shots are way more steady and have tighter groupings when running.

Feel: The feeling of this gun is very ergonomic. In your hand it just feels "right". Very comfortable. To me it feels alot better than my A5, SIM4, 98c....or any other gun out there on the market.....That's pretty important because of the fact that ergonomics are on of the key factors in paintball that can reduce the time it takes to point your gun in the right direction.....

Features: There are rails everywhere on this gun. Good for putting a vertical grip, flashlight, laser, or anything else that appeals to you. Comes stock with a ring on the butt of the gun. Good idea to put a sling there. Cyclone feed is great. Supposed to feed 20 balls per second. I haven't been able to test that (e trigger hasn't come out yet). However there is no doubt in my mind that this marker can do it. I never had any kind of miss feed in any of my games. Only when I was low on ammo. down to 5 or 6 balls that I had miss feeds. Breakages: sure I did have them. But that was do to me crawling in the sand and having dirt go down the barrel. After the barrel was cleared it firing perfect again. Sights: Pretty good sights. Not too adjustable, but adjustable enough. You can move them up and down the gun. I have my front post moved back about 2 inches. My back post is moved up about 4 inches. Looks alot better this way and there is less stress on your eyes.

Cocking Lever: Off to the front left side of the gun. Completely out of the way from snagging on to something. Also the bolt is closed. This is good to keep the sand, dirt , and other debris from getting into the gun. Magazine Compartment: Storage for tools, lube, etc. It may sound stupid having this on your gun. But to be completely honest. You won't believe how much hassle it saved me. Not having to go in your bag for allen wrenches is definitely a plus. Plus the mag looks awesome and adds to the intimidation. It's nice to tell people that the mag actually serves a purpose instead of just for looks. When I get the question "Whats the mag for? You put paintballs in there?" I get to tell them what it's really for. On paper having a mag storage for tools may sound dumb to many, but its just plain practical.

Trigger: The trigger is a single trigger. You can get off about 6-8 bps firing on it. Despite what people say, it isn't such a heavy pull. It feels realistic. With practice you can definitely get fast at pulling it. I'm definitely want an E trigger I would like the auto fire capability. The safety on this gun is the most unique I've ever seen. It is a selector switch. All the way down is on hot. All the way up is safe. You can switch it from safe to semi very quickly. One game i forgot to take off the safety (don't know how the hell i did that) and the first time I saw someone and i realized i couldn't shoot, i just clicked down the safety and fired away. I did buy the response trigger for the gun. It does seem to add recoil, however they are pretty faulty if you have a leak. Sometimes they just stop working when you're low on air. But you can still fire on semi. Personally I think i'm going to buy an E trigger because I can use 3 shot burst and auto. Plus the three slot selector switch looks really nice.

Hopper: The hopper has a nice low profile. Is alot less prone to getting hit. It also does a good job of deflecting incoming balls. Contrary to the believe, you can hold 200 rounds in it.

Update: May 26th 2008 I Purchased the Egrip for the gun about five months ago and i have to say that I am very satisfied. The fire rate is excellent. Very smooth and very reliable. Always turns on, changing batteries is a snap and the safety is excellent. However i noticed that in very high rates of fire such as 20bps or more the x7 chops. Probably because the cyclone can't feed fast enough. I just purchased and installed the Jet Click mod by Blackpoint Engineering co. and i have to say that the quality (physically) and i notice that it is much easier to physically "click" the cyclone feed. I haven't tested it yet however my inquiries on the product will be posted very soon.


Conclusion: Many manufacturers try to please their customers by making the guns look good. However many times these guns look nice (like real guns) but don't function as well. With the x-7 you get the best of two worlds. You get the function, reliability, and customizations, plus the looks. The price of this gun may not be what you consider "affordable" but this gun is indeed worth every penny. The things you can do to this gun are infinite.

If you're looking for a gun that can function great and look great.....here it is. This is the first time that I am 100% satisfied with my marker. Out of all the other markers i've purchased (spyders and ariakon)...this marker has actually fulfilled my standards.
Any questions? Send it to me....i'll be glad to answer any questions.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 25th, 2008 at 9:57 pm PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball_Ninja Thursday, March 1st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98C/Mod
A5
Every mech spyder ever made (not including newer 1s)
Marker Setup: Model 98 16" Progressive barrel 47ci 3000psi compressed air

For Now That Is.....
Strengths: Lightness
Customization Potential
Storage in Mag
Of course, cyclone feed
Weaknesses: Lightness
Look (just somewhat)
$$$
Review: OK, my friend owns this gun and i just got to hold it, and i tested it at another friends place, but i have to say while it is definitely still a good gun, i have to say this gun did not live up to all the hype. Its only advatages over the A5 were it's magazine/tool case, which i found both cool looking and useful, and the customizations that are available. while of course the 98c and A5 were both very customizable ( but not my mod98 =[ ), this thing was built for customization. Its many cosmetic parts make it look loke many realistic guns, my favorite being the mp-5 setup, and it also has the options of both an e-trigger (which i have not tested) and a response trigger (which i love). However, the stock look seemed a bit to tall for its thinness. Also, it is extremely light, giving it the feel of plastic.
Conclusion: This gun is nice for someone looking for a gun that they can make look extremely good with a reasonable amount of available firepower (response/e-triggers). However, if someone is thinking of keeping the look stock, i would recommend getting the A5, due to the pretty outrageous price of this thing.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 1st, 2007 at 7:30 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Curben Saturday, February 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c
PGP
PMI Pirahna
Marker Setup: PGP - Speedloader, Site Rail, Quick Change co2 knob, Laser, Velocity adjuster
98c basic with random accessories
X7 with Laser sight, Tac Light, Sling, Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Air, Dot Site, Better Barrel
Strengths: Durable, Modular, Higly Upgradable, Cyclone, And of course Looks Great
Weaknesses: Weight, Price, Cyclone
Review: I researched this gun alot before I bought it. It has now seen a bit of abuse So I can say what I need to with some more knowledge.

It has a few good points and a few not so great ones. Now really this is a number of different things on an a5. It has a slightly improved cyclone, modular design Milsim look, A number of modifications already designed for it by the manufacturer(s) and a bit more.

It also has some weaknesses,
So a point by point.
Cyclone: Revamped a bit with some improvements over th A5 Design, Still iable to chop certain paints under certain conditions. Any thin shelled or weak/cheap paint will not be liked. this does remove some versatility in your paint choices, but you dont want to be shooting none of that anyways :) . It is however a good forcefeed system that doesnt need power. However, it feeds on the air, so cold weather, fast shooting will start starving the feed system. Almost needs HPA

Barrell: Its a stock tippmann barrel, yeah, it will work but it could be better. not unique to this marker.

Modular Design: Excellent for a few reasons, You can actually feild strip this at the feild on any reasonably flat serface if need be down to a point you can clean it inside and out to a reasonable degree. full strip will still be needed, but you can get this back on the field quicker, and in better condition then alot of other markers i have seen played with.
Also with the Modular designs things can be switched out on a whim. want to go sleek simple? It has mods for that, want to go rugged and threatening? It has mods for that (mods sold seperatly). And looking at it the triggers can be easily alternated between stock/RT/Electro with just a few clicks and a swap

Air Through Setup: Since the stock is not released yet, I am not 100% sure exactly how it will run, but I can see the concept. First the Hose will run through the gun to the stock, I can see some of the channels for routing this, The great thing about the setup is it will quickly and easily eliminate the the stock hose and If I am correct this will be a quick Swap as well. It looks like 4 push pins removed, 1 screw removed and the hose is gone. Pop in the new hose replace the pins and swap the back plate with the stock.

Magazine: I dont know completely how i feel about this one. Its is a cute feature having the tools with you. But most feilds wont allow that. Mine was OK with it and it was handy having it there. It is also a resin(composit plastic) and as it doubles as a "Handle" by myself and others who use it. Or also a "stand/Tripod" it is a small concern. Also It is a little tough to lock into place, this could cause it to drop/be more fragile if someone isnt aware. I heard of a mag exploding from a shot, this i can only see if its not locked in properly. Also, I have heard that a Mod Mag will not have the tool storage.

Body: this is a hard one, The body is a magnesium alloy, since its millsim there is more to it then a normal body would have the magnesium is lighter, but more expensive, which is likely the factor driving the cost up. Beyond that it is quite durable and does prevent the gun from being TOO heavy, I will say it has a descent weight already, but any morwe would be too much. and all in all it still seems lighter then many Mil Sim modded guns i have held.

Internals: Well, Its a tippmann, same internals, not much improved though the powertube is pre-ported for later mods. Never liked the plastic powertube in the 98 either, but too cheap to change it for now.

Feild Stripping (Assembly Dissassembly): Clamshell design tipman , but w/o the annoying flying spring clip for the feed tube. The other issue is the spring for the cocking lever is just a bit longer then its channel and once you put the halves together you need to reach in and push the spring back. Those allen wrenches in the magazine work well for that.

Hopper: Hopper is low profile but will twist INTO a carrying handle. A better way could be done, Its is a nice hopper overall. with descent capacity 200+ rounds

Other, Misc: It has plenty of rails for toys thios is good. Clips for a sling (sling is useless with a tank on however). If a ball does break there are Ports in the foregrip that spit paint INTO the foregrip and that foregrip uses really small screw to come apart and clean (Just dunk it in water). Trigger is a descent pull not too much not too small, I personally got up to 9 bps though i average 5


Conclusion: It is a decent and solid piece with only a few drawbacks. If you have an A5 its not worth upgrading in most cases, but if choosing between the two, The small improvements better be enough for you Or you need to want a mil sim gun in order to justify the price.

It is worthwhile as a milsim gun and will be easy to take care of. It is a specialized marker however and you need to be sure that its intention is is matched to your playstyle or you will be quite dissapointed.
If you wnat a non electro Milsim that does the look well, and will be durable. Then this is the gun for you.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 17th, 2007 at 6:20 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

unlikelyhero486 Wednesday, February 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra -Reliable but chops a lot w/o ups
Spyder E-99- Quick, but if you don't install an ACT bolt and/or eye you'll chop like no other. I found myself just about never using the speed it's capable of.
Tippmann 98 (reliable. gotta give it the props.)
Marker Setup: 1. X-7 Stock, w/HPA tank on remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrell
Replacement Mag
Remove those damn rails on the grip!
New Sights
New mechanical bits for the cyclone feed (explained later)
Strengths: Feel (When modified)
Control (explained later)
Reliability
Looks
Upgradability
Simplicity
Weaknesses:
cheap mag.
Sights
Need a strap to brace against
FREAKING CYCLONE FEED!!!
Review: Okay, so I'm probably gonna get flamed by the Marmon, but I don't care.

I play Woodsball exclusively and for that kind of play this gun is excellent. if you bought this gun and want to play speedball with it, chances are your mother dropped acid while she was pregnant with you. IT'S SLOW out of the box.

It has a single trigger, and I had my reservations about that, but I prefer taking three quick shots as opposed to drilling a trigger.

The feeder is reliable. after suing the questionably reliable spyders, it was a refreshing chage to get that "Pull the trigger, shoots every time" deal. Hey, It's a $225 marker that comes with a hopper (the hopper itself is horribly fragile feeling) and feed system (which I do like) worth 50 bucks. That's 50 bucks you would otherwise have to spend adding ACT to any other marker. I've played with all manner of spyders before, and I must say that even though I was using revvy's, I finally just gave up on my E-99 Avant's ability to sustain rapid fire for more than 2 seconds. The cyclone feed (this is my first tippmann) was a refreshing change of pace from having to clan out my chamber 3 times a game.

For everyone who says that this gun's not worth the price (Marmon) then here's my thought process while buying this gat:

I was origionally not gonna go for the flashy new model and stick with an A-5, but A-5's were selling online everywhere for 230, and when I went to buy tem, everyone wanted to charge me upwards of 20 bucks for shipping, and forget the Player's Edge by my house. (275 for an A-5? come on people) so the price was basically $250 if I wanted to go that route. Now special Ops Paintball (Dodges brick thrown at head) gives me free shipping on the new X-7, which promises lots of upgradability (by the way, A-5 thread barrells and even some a-5 stocks will work on the x-7), so I could go the $250 a-5 route, or the $275 x-7 route. hmmm... that's a tough one.........

Anyways I take this thing out of the box along with the V-Force Shield i ordered with it (YAY! I LOVE BUBBLE LENSES!) and here's my reactions:

I do not like this mag. It's made out of the same stuff McDonalds uses to make it's toys, if I was to judge by its feel. *shiver* terrible. it also sticks past the bottom end of the trigger, eliminating some of the low-profileness. so I leave it in the Puma Bag that I strap on (lol the elastic bottle holders on the side make it a 2+1 air tank pack that can hold whatever I want)

The sights are... questionable. the question is: "what the hell, man?" they're hard enough to use without a mask on... forget it.

I hate those rails on the side of the shroud. I can't Imagine what I'd want to put there, but they're removable and It's nice that SO and Tippmann would have the courtesy to let ME decide what I want on MY gun.

*EDIT* (September 27, 2007)
Okay, so here's the skinny on the x7 after having used it for a while now.
Still a reliable gun, The stock trigger tends to jam until you've taken the gun apart and oiled it a few times. The leaking is no longer apparent after reassembling the marker and using it for a while (Keep it oiled!) Also, as a lot of x7 owners are finding out, Tippmann/SO decided to F*^& us with the cyclone feed. The flipper bit at the bottom that cycles the feed is made of cheap plastic not worth a damn. It broke on me last week. What you need to do is replace it with the Tech T Vortex mod or at least the Tech T lightning rod, or I swear to you it's gonna die. at least now the mods hae hit the market. It was a good idea to start with, but SO really messed up on the releases. I'll fix it, and I'll have a badass gun, no thanks to SpecOps. Kiss my you know what, tippmann. You've lost yourself a customer.
Conclusion: Hey, I'll be the first to admit I'm not a paintball expert, but all encompassing, I really can't dis the gun. It's a nice change for people who don't do the whole Machine gun thing, who'd rather play three-shot Rainbow Six Style. that's me. I'd reccomend having backup in an intense scenario though. you don't have the ability to lay down the paint until the response trigger/egrip come out.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 27th, 2007 at 8:14 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Kythus Thursday, February 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, flatline barrel, offset rail adapter, red dot sight, specops handgrip, car stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Any stock for more stable shoting
Strengths: Easy upgrades
Weaknesses: More hype than substance.
Price.
Review: I had the opportunity to hold this gun at my local store. It has a nice military look to it but no appreciable difference in feel over that of my A-5. As to being a lot lighter it didn't feel any different, in fact it felt a little bulky.

The owner of the store offered to weigh it and a stock a-5 and told me the X7 was in fact a little heavier. probably due to the extra cosmetics and the magazine. Either way if you are looking for a featherlight marker the X7 is not for you.

I would recommend this marker to folks looking for a tactical looking gun right out of the box. I like the idea of so many upgrades available but in practice with a little research, the Internet and a credit card any 98 or A-5 can look almost the same. This will make it easier however for a parent or wal-mart shopper to get their gear without much hassle.

Conclusion: I find this marker a decent addition to the Tippmann line if only for the look cool factor which will definitely appeal to a lot of players. Unfortunately I like gear that improves the performance of my marker way more than simple cosmetics. If the technology was revolutionary, or the gun significantly different in operation than my trusty A-5 I would give it a higher rating.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media