paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic / Tippmann X-7 Basic

Tippmann X-7 Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann X-7 Basic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann X-7 Basic
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 75
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $329

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The New X-7
• The most customizable marker ever made with a thousand different looks
• New magnesium receiver is extremely lightweight and durable
• New Cyclone EP (Enhanced Performance) system feeds up to 20 BPS
• New air-thru stock compatible system eliminates gas line under the marker
• New low profile, offset hopper for clear site line
• Modular shroud with four rails to add on sights and scopes
• AR15 style magazine with built in tool storage
• Picatinny top rail to easily add new risers, sights or handles
• Upgraded adjustable rear site helps with long range aiming
• Push pin design for easy field stripping and accessory add ons
• Includes maintenance pack, barrel sleeve, and gun oil


Caliber: 0.68
Action: Semi-automatic
Power: CO2, compressed air, nitrogen
Hopper Capacity: 200
CO2 Capacity: NA
Feed rate: 20 BPS
Firing rate: 8 BPS
Trigger: Standard
Barrel length: 8.5 inches
Length: 20 inches
Weight: 4.1 lbs. (without tank)
Effective Range: 150+ ft
Product Availability 
The Tippmann X-7 Basic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
sturmgeschutz33 Wednesday, January 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: X7 With Progressive (Smart Part) 14' barrel, Response Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response Trigger
Strengths: Loud, look sharp, accurate and is doing the job.
Weaknesses: Made of a composite is look like plastic. Too light. Upgrade Limited to X7 Trademark
Review: First If you want to put a progressive barrel. You must remove the decoration where you put the barrel. After that remove the screws and then remove the plastic spacer. Now you will be able to fix the progressive barrel. On the field, When i Shot the first time it was really intimidating for the other player. When a ennemy is shot is going to fall that is so nice cause the paintball dont explode it just very painful for the opponent. A other good point is the magazin where you can put your allen key. Very useful when you need to adjust the fps of your gun. cause when i buy it the fps was at 347. Hopefully I didnt play in my backyard cause my friend mask only support 300fps. Good Accuracy The only thing you can upgrade witout the x7 mark is the barrel and you can add bipod to that barrel if you want.
Conclusion: Good Gun When upgraded
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

king cj Saturday, January 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Orion
T98 Custom
Marker Setup: Basic Format -- accesories come out in 2 weeks (stated 1/6/06)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I will get the air-thru stock, vertical grip, and another barrel.
Strengths: Accuracy
Looks
Distance
Weight
Weaknesses: The hand grip is a little aggrivating to use.
Review: I just got this gun and have used it constantly in woodsball wars. The gun has a total distance and accuracy dominance over everything else out there. The different styles are also good for personal interest. I have not encountered any leaks, chopped balls, or bursting in the barrel yet. I think this is the best gun for woodsball on the market (and I will be using it for speedball also).
Conclusion: I reccomend this gun to any woodsballer. This gun is good in performance and looks. I have such a wonderful experience with paintball that has now increased with my X-7.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Rattenfanger Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, 98's, SP8's, IONs, you name it
Marker Setup: A5, remote, Vortex mod, Howitzer bolt, e-grip, 92" tank, OPSgear UPM kit, rickochet hopper, tons of paint
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell, E-grip, air thru stock, double trigger.
Strengths: Good platform, Light, Solid feel, gets better with time
Weaknesses: Lack of accessories ( for now), Price, Goofy mag/toolkit thing
Review: I got one yesterday and played with it thru the day
It's a hell of a lot lighter than my A-5, especially when you count all the mods I have done to the a5
When I first got it and hooked it up to my remote line it sounded like it had an internal air leak. I killed the air via my slide check and tried again. The air leak was gone. I think it was bone dry inside and pressurizing the marker for the first time pushed oil to all the seals in the marker. The first few paintballs chrono'ed in the low 300's so I cranked it down.
The new safety is great, more like the real thing again.
It's been a long time since I had a pure mech trigger so this took a bit to get used to. I like the feel of trigger, it takes about 3lbs of pressure to get a pull, which is fairly realistic, when compared to a real gun. This is a good thing, because it helps to conserve paint.
Usually with an e-grip or my Ion or sp8 I can blow thru 600-800 rounds per game.
It's fairly accurate, but being a brand spankin' new marker it needs to be worked it over time.
The offset hopper is nice but the lid kept on popping up, again it needs to be worked in and no problem there.
I'll probably loose the stock sights and up on a red-dot site, that's just my preference.
Off the field observations:
When I got it home I stripped it down and here is what I found...
Barrel: Stock -ka-ka what one would expect from a stock barrel. I tried to replace it but the smart parts linear barrel is too large to fit thu the forstock. The coke bottle shape won't fit thru the front or back of the forstock. you can rmove the spacer ftom the front of the grip, but I wasn't going that route yet...
The X-7 does accept A-5 threads, so I guess I need a new barrel. Definitely have to replace.
Forstock: heavy gauge plastic, secured by two locking pins. Rail City! i slapped my forgrip on it and now it looks evil.
Main body: Nice and light, I have a later serial number 000267xx, so this wasn't the first batch that were rushed to market.
There were some complaints about burring and poorly machined internals, I didn't see any thing like that so I will probably polish the internals, as usual.
The New Cyclone: other than the piston tube (which are vented) and the new cyclone paddles, it looks pretty much the same as an a-5.
Internally it's different but I didn't want to yank it apart, just yet.
The Trigger group assembly: totally different from an A-5, much sexier, due to the new safety switch and other things not cross compatable with the A-5.

Conclusion: On the whole, I like it.
I wil be selling my a-5 and replacing it with the X-7 as my primary woodball marker.
Just need some mods and aftermarket stuff for this platform.
A-5's will probably become phased out over time.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 8th, 2007 at 6:51 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

reb cpl Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month38 of 41 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 68 carbine, A5, 98, 98C, SL68II
Strengths: Weight, adaptability, aesthetic value, performance
Weaknesses: Hopper, air line.
Review: Pros:



The weight. The X7 is a larger piece, but the lightweight receivers make the marker a lot lighter than it would seem to be based on its size.


Stripping: It is as effectively simple as the A5 in breakdown and field stripping. The magazine well, while being a new addition, is also simple to remove.


Cyclone: Cycles faster than the old A5 model, excellent addition.


Select Switch safety: a beautiful addition that will make milsim players very happy. Simple in operation, and ‘real world’ design makes this a very desirable feature.


Adaptability: The coming upgrades and modifications for this marker make it extremely flexible in terms of aesthetic marker setup, again very pleasing for milsim and scenario players.


Barrel shroud/sight rails: VERY simple to add modifications without having to dismantle the marker. The shroud can also be removed quickly and easily via two pins. This piece can be removed with modifications still attached, adding speed to the breakdown process.




Cons:



Sight system: Completely useless. The rear sight provides no real usability. The notch in the pin is too shallow to be helpful when used in conjunction with the front sight post, and the system itself, while being neat to look at, doesn’t do much for the aiming of the marker. I found myself ‘spot sighting’ when firing, which is shooting one or two rounds for placement, than correcting the marker visually and without the use of the sights.


Fixed Gas Line: With the addition of the magazine well, the gas line has limited ability to be altered. Where the tombstone adaptor connects to the power tube, with the well there, there is no standard connection fitting there that would allow for the use of something like a LP adaptor or an expansion chamber. It looks as though the only practical adaptation for the air system is the X7 tailored gas thru stock. Without the magazine well, customization of the air system would be easier. Even running a remote line would be tough, unless run first from the tank adaptor.


Barrel shroud/ported barrel combination: While easy to remove, the barrel shroud is difficult to actually take apart should it need to be cleaned. With a ported barrel being stock, if a ball breaks within the barrel and paint makes its way through the ports and into the shroud, the only way to tear it down is to remove it and dismantle the shroud via the 4 screws.


Hopper: Despite being lower profile, the hopper is somewhat difficult to work with. In order to lower the profile, the hopper has been elongated with the feed neck no longer centered. If shooting at a flat angle, this is no problem, but if shooting at even a remotely downward angle, the rounds within the hopper will stack toward the front. The only way to fix this is to tip the maker up in an attempt to refill the cyclone feeder housing. If the hopper is full, there isn’t much of a problem since the rounds at the rear of the hopper will fall into the housing, but with the cyclone’s rate of operation, keeping a full hopper all the time will be difficult. My initial tests of the marker with resulted in several blank firings because the cyclone chamber was empty, as I was shooting downhill.


Mixed feelings:



Magazine/toolkit: While the toolkit is a good idea, many regulated games won’t allow for tools to be carried onto the field. This could eliminate the entire practical purpose of having this feature. It is, however a good effect for those who play scenario games or milsim who are looking for that ‘real feel’ in their markers. Overall, I’m leaning more toward this being a ‘pro’ than a ‘con’ Its practical use in an outlaw or pickup game will be invaluable, and the visual presentation of the marker is enhanced by it.


Barrel Shroud/Barrel combination: The shroud itself will only allow for certain barrels to be used with it. Thick barrels will not fit inside of the shroud, dictating that it be removed in order to utilize some after market barrel.






Conclusion: Overall Rating:



I love the thing! This marker is an excellent addition to the Tippmann line. The versatility of this piece is undeniably in line with all of the company’s other products. The rugged design is also standard with for Tippmann. The ease of use, coupled with many new and useful modifications will make this one a smash hit with anyone who takes their milsim or scenario games seriously. Shooting it is a blast, with a decent trigger pull and the enhanced cyclone system. Its drawbacks are outweighed by its advantages. New and practical features coupled with its excellent performance completely outnumber any of its faults. Kudos to Tippmann and SpecOps on this one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

X7 Assassin Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years104 of 115 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
My first marker in a decade.
Marker Setup: X7
Remote Coil
Red Dot Site
JJ Ceramic Elite Edge Kit
68ci/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrell
Go remote for weight
Maybe a stock?
Strengths: Looks!
Weight - see review
EH Cyclone feed
Durable
Upgrades availible
Weaknesses: None yet... If I was being picky, I guess the price and weight.
Review: Ok, if you read above you'll see that I am what you guys call a "newbie". All though my knowledge is limited, I also have an un-bias opinion that does not swing towards woodsball or tournament ball. I will however say, I am an older (32) male, and I went out on the market to find an paintball gun to play in the woods with some buddies and neighbors and that would withstand the abuse of hard pLAY. I looked for weeks online, and first off it is SO Difficult to find a un-bias opinion out there. Tourney guy hates woods guy and vise versa. Two different sports, two different players, and two STRONGLY different opinions. So just because this marker isn't as nice and as shinny as an electtric Angel, lets not post such strongly negative remarks towards it. There is no way this gun deserves a 1.
After using the marker a few times now, I got to say this is a very fine marker. It worked great on a sunny, mid 90's day in Houston. It serves its purpose in life... as a STRONG out of the BOX, Mil-Slim style, reliable, durable, fast shooting (with e-grip) marker. I'll try to rate the gun by category:

WEIGHT:
It is allttle heavy when holding the smaller markers such as the Spyder, Mini and even 98c. But they are smaller. When you consider the the size of the marker and that is comes with a magazine, front grip shroud, front site and rear site, cyclone feed and rails, it is light in comparison. The magnesium alloy used does make a difference, and it does give it a really sturdy feel. Love it. I give the weight a 10. There is nothing they could have done to make it lighter, but stripped it down. But strip it down and you have an A5. Again a 10.

ACCURACY:
I took it out of the box. Walked down to the end of the street with a few neighbors with there markers and after market barrells. Again, in comparison to them, it held its own. It was wicked accurate from about 25 feet. That is close, I know. I use a red dot site, and the paint ball hit dead on from that 25' range. When you shoot alittle further, the paint ball drops below the red dot s site, but is still in line. If you move out to 50 feet on, well the accuracy is no longer great nut its still really good. I read the reviews on the A5 barrell, and this I was told is the same barrell, and the A5 barrell didn't get rave reviews, But this one hits what you are aiming at from about 50 feet. Now when you go outside 75 to 100 feet, the accuracy suffers with the stock barrel. I did buy a JJ Ceramic Elite Edge Barrel Kit. This kit is amazing the X7 marker. And this has nothing to do with the gun, other than the ability to mount it. But you got to go out and get a red dot site. I took quick aim and accurate shots. Never, I mean never pop your head out the same place twice. One shot, One kill happened allot. No more walking your shot into your taget, just aim and shoot (when up close) and they are out. You'll here the opposing team scream to each other, "watch out, the sniper guy is over their somewhere" as I did. I would have to score the accuracy a 8 of a possible 10.

LOOKS:
Nothing looks better. In eyes of the beholder i guess. I would give it a 10, but this is totally subjective, so I will not account for this in my rating.... Wait a minute. I purchased the gun because of the looks. Looks is a factor in almost every aspect of life and this includes paintball. Just look at the aftermarket industry and the mods out there to make you marker look more Mil-Sim... Out of the box this gun looks great. The X7 started a trend that you see allot of other companies following suit again. They want realism and Mil-Sim. X7 started it. I will include it in the final rating and as mentioned before, I have to give it a 10.

UPGRADES:
If you seen Tippmans website, you then know it has tons of upgrades. What else..10

ACCESSORIES:
Mag - This marker has a built in storage in the shape of a magazine clip. Not exactly a great idea, but is innovative to say the least. The mag does fill alittle flimsy when extracted and opened. Not an issue since when it is in the gun, it feels as sturdy as the rest of the gun. time will tell.
Air thru Stock option - There is a feature for a Air Thru Stock option. From what i read it is another industry first. And when you see pictures of others markers with stocks and remote coils, you understand the reason behind their thinking. Very nice option.
Offset Hopper - Another great option is the offset hopper. I allows room to install a red dot or scope directly on top of your marker without and offset rail. I have a 1x30mm red dot, I looked at the 42mm but it may be too big to install directly on top with the hopper right next to it. The 30mm is aleady touching the hopper.
Adjustable sites - Also the stock sites on the X7 are adjustable. They seem to be pretty adequate as well.
4 rails - I comes the rails on the top both sides and bottom. I installed a grip on the bottom shroud rail. and for night games, I mount a Tac Light. It is nice to have to option to do what ever the hell I want. X7 started this, now your seeing allot of other companies follow suit.
Safety - the safety is a switch rather than the typical button, which really adds to the mil-sim look.
That about does the option and accessories of the stock X7. As you can see, plenty to see. I got to give this section a 9 out of 10. I would have loved to see some type of expansion chamber as the Magazine Clip. I hate to add one and ruin the looks. 9

I have to say, this marker loves air. I have a 68/4500. tank and I would refill it after two hoppers, about 800-1000+ balls. When I used CO2, the guy behind the counter got to know me pretty well. I didn't know this, but maybe you A5 owners do, when the air is low, not out but just low, the Cyclone Feed System shuts down completely. I had to finish one game by using the Manual Advance Lever on the side. This acts as a pump in a since and each pump loads a single shot. I got hammered that game. Is there a air gauge you can put on there to tell when it is running low??


Good gun, plenty of fun. The marker has lasted me three years without any issues. It is durable and dependable. Exactly what I was looking for during my first search for my first marker. I couldnt have been more pleased.
Conclusion: I saw this marker online. I hold no bias, loyalty or Alliance with any company or team. I can care less to try to prove to the public and justify my purchase. I just hope you can get a honest review about a marker that is a SOLID WOODS PLAY MARKER. You will not be disappointed if you buy this marker. It is not a shinny light weight, light trigger, ramp feeding electro marker... But it is neither priced like it or meant to be one either. Again it is made for and MARKETED for the woods and for rec players like myself. Sure there are better markers, read reviews on high-in guns, but this one grabbed this "newbies" eye out of the hundred of other markers I had to choose from.
I'll give it a nine. If the accuracy was as tight as the dreams I had about it, I would of given it a ten. But this is paintball, not laser tag. So I should have expected the shots to be off alittle from some distance out.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 2nd, 2009 at 11:02 am PST
I found this review  
35 Comments - Add Comment

cjpomeroy Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Tippman A-5
Angels
Cockers
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
WAS Egrip
J&J Edge Barrel Kit
Flatline Barrel Kit
Vortex Cyclone Feed
Red Dot Scope
Carbine Stock
88ci/4500psi Carbon Fiber Pure Energy HPA on remote
My rating scale defined
10- Oh my god this thing is awsome, drop what every you are doing and go buy one
7 - Good piece of gear
5 - Does what it is suppose to do
3 - Doesn't live up to advertised features
1- If you insist on buying this item, you should just send it to my paypal account either way your are waisting your money
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Egrip
Strengths: Existing A-5 barrels will work
Hopper design
Looks Milsim
Weight
Feels great in hand
Weaknesses: Price Ebay 265
No signficant upgrades to performance compared to A-5
Hopper 2-piece

Review: My local pro shop let me take on home to demo it and here is my impression of this marker: The intent of this review is to compare the A-5 to the X-7.

For Milsim this is an awsome looking marker, but you can tell that from the pictures can't you.

Here are the PROs as I see them:
1) The marker has the same threads as the A-5. So is you are considering upgrading from your A-5 you can keep you existing barrels.
2) The hopper is a great design, much lower profile than the A-5.
3) Not sure about the actual weight of this marker, but it does seem lighter than the A-5
4) Modular design allows for easy upgrades
5) Firing mode selector level. I like this especically once the Egrip comes out you can easily switch firing modes.
6) Seems as though the have modified the cyclone feed to make it stronger.
7) No need for offset hopper if you use a scope or red dot.
8) Preplanned MODS by tippmann.
Here are the cons:

1) Zero noticible performace enhancements. Accuracy is the same as the A-5 and since the Egip isn't available yet it is hard to verify 20 bps that Tippmann claims. Besides with the vortex cyclone feed upgrade I can get 20 bps. So no real advantage to the X-7 here.
2) Trigger seems a little tight. Probably would loosen up with more use. I would hope the egrip trigger is a lighter pull as with the A-5.
3) The hopper is two pieces held together by screws seems like it would break fairly easily.

Conclusion: So after demoing this thing here is my final verdict:

If I had no marker at all and had the choice of the A-5 or the X-7, I would choose the X-7.
If you are like me and considering rushing out and selling your A-5 and buying the X-7 don't bother unless you absolutely have to have the looks of the X-7. It took me a lot of time to get my A-5 right where I want as far as performance and accuracy and since there no real ehancements to the X-7 I can't justify the swap. One thing I will be doing is buying the hopper for the X-7 an putting on my A-5. The low profile hopper is the best thing on this marker. I put it on my A-5 was able to get a clear sightline out of my scope. NO MORE STOVE PIPE!! I am giving this marker a 7 based upon it looks, feel and overall performace.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 1st, 2007 at 4:14 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

dyslexiapaintba Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tacticalified A-5s
Marker Setup: E-mag, 2K5 Intimidator, SC Phantom.
Strengths: I would definatly reccomend a new barrel I personally like the flatline for woods/scenario
Weaknesses: Price
Plastic mag
Review: OK, well having seen some fairly bias reviews I figured I'd try and write one. I have the X-7 at my shop and shortly after getting them in I decided to test one. I didn't personally like the feel but thats very much a person to person thing. So here are my impresions of the marker.

Looks-The marker looks pretty good definatly hase a tactical look to it and that really appeals to alot of people.

Accuracy-the stock barrel is the exact same barrel as the A-5 accuracy is mediocre definatly not the worst I've seen but when buying this marker I would pick up a new barrel right along with it, I personally like the flatline for the woods/scenario stuff its not as accurate as most good aftermarket barrels but the distance is cool.

Feel-100% personal preferance I didn't too much care for it.

Performance-it prefoms just like an A-5 I don't have any E-gripped ones so can't really test the faster feeding but the basic one shoots identical to the A-5.

Relyability-Its a Tippmann, I use Tippmanns as rentals for a reason. I assume, because they havn't been out long enough, that this marker will have the same great relyablity we all expect from Tippmann


Edit 1-05-07

While showing off me E-mag this marker took a hit to the plastic tool kit mag thingy(don't ask, the trigger is alittle touchy) and it busted hard core the rest of the gun is solid but the mag needs alittle work.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this marker to anyone who wants a cool tac style marker bassed on looks, if they just want performance I'd have to say get the A-5 and some upgrades for the same price. For speed get the Ion(I know it isn't a tac gun but I feel this applys for your info I've played in scenario games with the spec ops team who designed this marker and they where using timmys, DM4s(its been afew years ago), and the like in the final battle so firepower is a valid arguement here. But overall I would reccomend the X-7 to anyone who wants a good looking milsim gun and is willing to pay alittle more for the looks.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 5th, 2007 at 5:39 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Delux247 Thursday, December 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom99
Tippmann A-5
Special Ops Longbow
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Special Ops Shorty Shroud
Special Ops Tac Rail
Specops Mag
Specops Reclining Stock
10'' Stiffi Barrel

Tippmann X7 Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-Grip
Barrel
Strengths: Accurate
Lighter
Customizable
Mil-Sim looks and feel
Reliable
Weaknesses: Price
Stock Trigger
Stock Barrel
Review: Obviously this is a marker for all Woodsballers alike. This isn't made for tourny, 25+bps, light weight, bunker-strategy games. This is for hardcore Mil-Sim, down and dirty, rugid backyard games. This delivers exactly that! An E-grip will give you more bps, and a better barrel will give you more accuracy [which is recommended for almost any marker]. This marker will give you the opportunity to customize to almost any type of real action arms, which a regular Tippmann A-5 won't match completely. If you want a 'solid' marker that will play in and out month after month this is it! Tippmann has always offered reliable, dependable, and easy to use markers...they haven't stopped yet.

If you want a light weight, 25+bps, slim marker then I would suggest an Ion, Shocker, Autococker, Angel, Timmy, Ego, or DM6. I have used all of them all in tournements around the U.S. But if you are a true Woodsballer...go with this...the A-5 will get outdated sooner than later anyways, so why not jump ahead and get a marker that will be around for the next decade...
Conclusion: Great gun! I would only recommend it for Woodsballers...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

deejayblank Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month36 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other mechanical markers
Marker Setup: x-7
port and polish
68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
port and polish is an absolute necessity (see below)
air thru stock
e grip or r.t.
barrel
Strengths: Reliable. Accurate. Durable. Air thru. Low profile hopper. Great feel. Looks.
Weaknesses: Hopper jiggles. Port and Polish required. No upgrades (yet)
Review: Right, I've had my x-7 for a few days now and want to share my initial opinion in light of all these biased and surprisingly terrible reviews. First off, I've used my LP Spyder forever and always said the next gun i get will be a Tippmann, and so this is the first I have purchased. I happen to like the stuff Special Ops does and I strictly play woodsball only. Indoor, x-ball, all the junk is for kids whose parents have way too much money and the wannabes who dream of being in the spotlight. So, when the two made a baby i had to give it a shot.

Off the bat I give it a test shoot and dry fired it once. Damn was it loud. I immediately brought it back inside to open it up. I must say the magnesium casing has a really nice look and feel to it. I was worried about it being too light but it still has good weight without the tank, which I prefer. Something too light feels like a toy. Having never touched a Tippmann before, tear down was a snap and i noticed some quality inner workings. However I did notice a glaring problem. Because of the magnesium manufacturing process there was a sandpaper like feel to the entire inner casing. To anyone who does not know about moving parts, thats bad...real bad. This gun HAS to be ported and polished out of the box. If you cant do that or dont know anyone who can i would not recommend it. I dont know if all Tippys are like that but the x-7 is. I was very relieved to find the case and bolt is easy to sand and polish by hand compared to other things i have done. The whole marker took a little while to do but there is alot of ground to cover. That being said i was going to port and polish regardless because all markers should be. After lubing everything (out of the box all the o-rings are dry) I put it back together in no time. I really was surprised how easy Tippys are to work on.
I take it out for a real test drive and was impressed with the marker completely. It is accurate out of the box, built like a tank, and relatively quiet for a high pressure gun. With the shroud/foregrip attached and using the tank as a stock it has a much more natural feel than any of the regular electro toys running around most fields can imagine. Once the air thru stock is available it is mine. This marker is generated for outdoor, low profile on the run play. Not staying behind bunkers wasting 10 hoppers of paint. With a stock attached you can accurately fire on the run which is a crucial advantage. The weight balance also allows you to sight in alot faster from a relaxed position. If you just hold your marker up and fire as fast as possible, use something else to waste paint with. This is a marker for those who only need a few shots to take someone out.

The slender, low profile and offset hopper gives you much greater field of vision and almost eliminates the possibility of a straight on hopper hit. The cyclone gives you 20 bps without the loud, battery mongering, easy target electro hoppers of the world. Once the hopper is attached it does jiggle, I noticed when opening it. This might create a problem of keeping it attached once its used alot.

I personally like the feel of a mechanical trigger versus electro. The x-7 trigger doesnt feel cheap like its made a 2 pieces, well, because its not. Its well made with just enough pull. Can't wait for the R.T. to come out. Even though the grip is hard plastic i like the feel of it. I wear gloves anyway.

I dont like how the stock shroud feels as a foregrip. I think the side rails are a bit too much. They do come off though which is a plus and makes it feel better to grip.
I also didn't like the magazine/storage compartment which is made of cheap plastic. It is useful for a couple allens and a small thing of oil, but i noticed it to get in the way specifically hitting against my long legs when i ran or crouched. I also think the look of it is too Mil-Sim so i took it off along with the piece it clips into covering the airline. It doesnt look great but the air thru kit will fix that.

Stock barrel is nothing great but name me a stock barrel that is.

I stress this review is done with compressed air. CO2 is not an option with any marker.
Conclusion: All in all this is a juiced up A-5 with maybe a little too much consumer appeal. If you are looking for one of the flashy electro toys this is not your marker. Now if you are into mil-sim or just want the feel and balance of an actual firearm this is a nice choice. I dont care about looks, I dont care you can make look like whatever gun on t.v., I care about FUNCTION. Tippmann is defiantly walking a thin line about realism. Take the cyclone off and some store clerk might believe its real...but thats another discussion. This marker has great weight balance and after a little work shoots as well as any other marker. If you own an A-5 dont bother unless you just have to have the new thing or like to spend money. The production process may have been rushed creating some minor issues, but this is still a quality marker with tons of cosmetic possibilities. If you like the Tippmann product I see no reason not to like this gun. Perhaps those people that have been bashing the x-7 either 1) had their hopes too high, 2) like to bash Spec Ops or Tippmann or 3) my favorite, are just plain ignorant.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

moneyindabank Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: soon to come is a Dangerous Power Fusion
Recommended
Upgrades:
nuthing out yet
Strengths: Durable,good cyclone quick disconect macro was pretty cool
Weaknesses: None that i found besides a tad heavy
Review: Okay my freind is a major scenario fan because his dad used to hunt ducks so he is into all the "make your paintball gun into a real gun" type thing. He had and a-5 but i showed him ther x-7 kinda as a joke and he accually got it! so today I shot it and it was okay. I like the cyclone feed a lot because it is lower profile so great for woodsball. DO NOT USE THIS GUN FOR SPEEDBALL, it is not fast enough and you would look like a real idiot going out there with your x-7 modded into an m-16 while your getting shot at with guns going teice the speed.plus you would be the laughing stock of the field. I found it shot good for a single trigger and pretty accurate. I really like the quick strip macro line just incase spomething goes wrong plus the mag also acts as a storage place for allen keys, o rings and lube.
Conclusion: ovarall this is a good marker if you are into the scenario games but if you have an A-5 or a 98 keep it. I'm going to give it a.....
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media