paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Ultralite Barrel / Dye Ultralite Barrel / Dye Ultralite Barrel

Dye Ultralite Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Ultralite Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Ultralite Barrel
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 163
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A much lighter version of the boomstick. Still the same 2 piece design, but all aluminum.
Product Availability 
The Dye Ultralite Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Massempirepb Friday, February 25th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil pipe kit
sly carbon fiber
Freak kit
Cp of all kinds
Marker Setup: Dp fusion Fx and a closer virtued
Vitrue board
Sly carbon fiber barrel
Ninja tank
Dye rotor
Recommended
Paintballs:
It depends on what bore your barrel is anything from .686 to .692
Strengths: Lite
Smooth
Flawless dye quality
Tuff as nails
Weaknesses: It's the same price as other barrels so nothing
Review: I use a cocker threaded 12 inch due ultra lite on my bob long closer dp fusion and dp fusion fx. I've had nothing but good luck with this barrel. Its super accurate with all the rps paint I've used in the past six months. All around great barrel and worth every penny.
Conclusion: If you want a high quality competition grade barrel that's lite ,accurate, and can be 14 or 12 or 10 inches this is the barrel for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

swbarkley Monday, August 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Barrel Kit, Stock Proto 2-piece Barrel
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 7 (PM7)
Pure Energy Carbon Fiber 68/45 Tank
Halo Loader
Dye UL Barrel
Custom-printed thin hard plastic grips
Recommended
Paintballs:
All-Star, Ramp, Evil, and Marballizer have all worked well for me with this Barrel.
Strengths: Accurate, Quiet, Light, Sleek-looking,
Weaknesses: Shoots knuckleballs if you chop a ball.
Review: I bought this barrel along with some grips and a nice pair of Evil pants for $100 from a friend. This barrel was brand new at the time. It has proven to be the barrel of choice for me. I have used a variety of paints with it, in varying conditions, and have achieved consistent results. My only point of concern is that this barrel does require a good swabbing if you happen to break/chop a ball (only happened once, with the eyes somehow turned off on my gun, must have held down the wrong button trying to turn it on/off).
Conclusion: Basically this barrel is a must-have for anyone looking for a one-size-fits-all barrel to step your game up to the next level. Although I paid substantially less than full-price for this barrel, I would gladly pay full price for another one in a different color after experiencing this barrel's superb performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fragdurarse Thursday, June 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak Jr
Stiffi switch kit

All great barrels but the UL tops them.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP1 / Smart Parts Epiphany
Pure Energy 68/3000
Draxxus Pulse
Dye Ultralite / Freak Jr.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Mine has a .688 bore so big paint should be avoided.
Strengths: Lite
Acurate
Quiet
Looks Good
Cleans good
Weaknesses: Price
Easy to scratch
Review: I decided to buy the UL because I wanted a good barrel regardless of price. I ended up getting a 12 inch with a 0.688 bore in dust black.

It looks awesome on my SP1 because only the tip front part of the barrel is exposed. It also shoots as good as it looks. I shot a 20 foot high flagpole from about 50 yards away 2 out of 3 shots fired.

I also got many 1 shot eliminations in the days of using it.

This barrel is made of very lightweight aluminum, so it's not the strongest thing ever. I was playing in the rain, fell and stuck the thing into the ground, I thought I had bent the thing in half but not harm was done. It also scraches very easily, I got a few nicks on the back part because it rubs against the breech of my SP1.

Another thing, if you don't tighten it really hard it has the tendency of loosening up on you.


Conclusion: Overall it's an awesome barrel. If you have the money and want the best of the best I say get it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Quatreux Sunday, May 24th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert mini Stock
16inch all american with freak tip
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
Dye Ultralite 14in
Dye Rotor
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything half decent
Strengths: Accuracy
Range
Very light
Looks mint
VERY quiet
Weight similar to carbon fibre
Weaknesses: Price if you're poor but its worth every cent
Review: Ok i wanted to try out this barrel even tho alot of people say a freak kit is better but i wanted to try this out for myself anyway. I wasnt using expensive paint but it was ok (jumbo pink)

TESTING RANGE AND ACCURACY ONLY

The target was a tree 80-85 feet away which is a very hard distance to keep accurate
I was shooting in a straight line from the top of a bank to the top of the tree

1st i tried my invert mini stock, it shot ok but the paint seemed to drop short hitting the tree at the very base which was about a 12foot drop from where i was aiming.

2nd i tried the 16inch all american with freak tip, i thought this would be the best of the 3 barrels on range but it was hitting the tree about 5-6feet lower then the target and also seemed to get the odd curve ball but not alot.

3rd- 14inch Dye ultralite, i wasnt expecting it to be as good as the freak but dam it was a hell of alot better, at 80feet the paintball range was droping by 1 or 2 feet at the most which i think is extremely good on range.. only thing that would be better on range would be a flatline or apex

OVERALL
Dye UL - Range 10/10
Accuracy 9/10

Smart Parts AA - Range 7/10
Accuracy 6/10

Mini Stock - Range 5/10
Accuracy 7/10

it will be hard for me to give a 10 on accuracy just because its paintball and will never be pinpoint accurate
Conclusion: It costs a bit more but its worth every cent, i wont be buying another barrel ive finally found a keeper. If u cant decide between 2 barrels and this is one of the choices, definately pick the Dye Ultralite!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 25th, 2009 at 4:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bbboy657 Thursday, April 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert mini stock barrel, CP classsic.
Marker Setup: Invert mini, Vlocity, Dye UL barrel, 48/3000 Pure energy
Recommended
Paintballs:
Works great even with rec quality paint.
Strengths: 1. Ball on ball accurate.
2. Quiet.
Weaknesses: 1. Price (even then its not that bad).
Review: I recently picked up one of these from my local shop. before i screwed it in, i admired its quality inside, and out. i then proceeded to screw it in, gas up the gun, and fill up my hopper with some of the fields rec grade paint.

the first thing i noticed was its amazing accuracy, almost ball on ball. i was get a grouping of (no kidding) +/- 2 inches at a target almost 50 feet out.

Second was how quiet it was, wasnt alot quieter then my mini's stock barrel but still noticeabe.
Conclusion: HIGHLY reccomend, you wont ever have to buy a new barrel (unless you get a different threaded gun ;).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

icyGrip Tuesday, March 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
other two peace barrels
Marker Setup: invert mini, dye ultra light,Virtue Bord, Tm7 bolt, pure energy 4500 x 68cc tank, and HALO B with v. 35 Victory Board + RIP Drive
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used formula 13.
Strengths: Accurate
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I've only shot about a case through it so far and I'm in love with this barrel. Lets just say its better than the stock. its accurate as hell, and its a lot better than my freak jr. the ultra light didn't brake a single ball, witch is common with the freak. to make this short lets just say you get what you pay for, and you won't be disappointed.
Conclusion: You should pick this barrel up as soon as possible. be lave me you'll love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matkat Friday, February 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Dye Products (Orignal Stainless/Boomstick/Ultralite)
Smart Parts (All American/Freak - Sets)
ANS
CP
Many Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Dangerous Products G3
Dye Ultralite 14" .688
APE Upgrade Board
Ruthlesspaintball.com Vampire G3 Trigger (derlin, ball bearing, magentic return(like same as in luxe as far as postioning, can do both micro and optical by changing a set screw) - Best triggers EVER... visit ruthlesspaintaball.com all his stuff is custom and made to order.
CP Drop
Halo B
Pure Energy 68/45 Stubby
Dye Tank Cover
Recommended
Paintballs:
I like nightmare on the cheap side and marbalizers on the pricey side.
Strengths: Good Light Wieght/Balance
Very Accurate
Very Quiet
Asthetically Pleasing
Now comes in 2piece
Weaknesses: Pricey
Not as light as carbon fiber
You can't shoot it clean
Review: I have been in the paintball industry over 12+ years and I have used Dye barrel since there introduction in the early 90s when they had straight staineles and aluminum barrels before sizes. I have been in and out of the sport since that time, everytime I come back there is new manufacturers and products for barrels. I have used them on mags, cockers, tipmanns, dp g3s, angels, vikings.. etc...

Specifically the Ultralite I think is there best offering, I see little room for improvment. The Ultralite was a evolution or low-end offering orignally compared to the boomstick which had the stainless back. At this time even though they were not removable and changable bore sizes were only available from Smart Parts at the time. You could buy a specific bore size, which was new. So the ultralite I own looks identical to the modern day, but is not detachable to take other bore backs. Nonetheless it is the most accurate and quiet barrel I have ever used. I would love to see Dye have a carbon fiber offering. but with the same dimensions as the ultralite and look, I think it would look feel and work awesome, of course with a squegee freindly glossy interior. I feel the extra dimensions would give it some real stength and some wieght for balance, but not as much as metal or as lite as other carbon offerings, just stength and the proven desing/look in a charcoal/black/dark grey carbon would be awesome.

My wishes aside the Ultralite is the most accurate and quietest barrel I shot. I shoot a 14" with .688 fixed bore. It is always the quietest marker on the field. I have used most high end barrels, I have yet to try the stiffi or dragon carbon barrels, I really want to try them, but my ultralite works fine, I feel I am taking a chace with a carbon.
Conclusion: If you want a metal barrel go with this, it can't be beat. Its light, strong, visually pleasing, quiet accurate, give the marker balance, what more do you want?

Only think is I think there 2 piece design offers very expensive backs. I wish Dye made a kit.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GT09 Monday, January 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Invert Mini - dye ultralite barrel
68/4500 DXS
Dye Rotor
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS - Premium
Strengths: Accurate
Design
Quite
Weaknesses: Kind of scratches easy
Price
Review: This was my first after market barrel I have bought, and I think it is simple amazing. It shots so accurate, ball on ball almost every time, and if you get a ball break in the barrel. It only takes about 5 or so paintballs to clean itself out and it goes back to shooting as accurate as it was clean. I think the 14 inch barrel is the best; it is not too long or short. It comes in many different colors, and can choose different colors for the back and front pieces. I have a black mini and i got a silver back and black front piece. I guess the only thing bad about it is that it can scratch quite easy. My friend slide in a bunker and the barrel just grazed the side of a wooden bunker and left a scratch on the barrel.
Conclusion: It is the best barrel out there in my opinion. It is a little pricey, but if you can afford it, buy it you will not regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protofreak Saturday, December 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock pmr barrel
sp freak

Marker Setup: proto rail black dust
virtue board and eyes
critical trigger
ul frame
14" ul barrel
halo b w/ rip drive
68/45 cf tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
any thing that fits nicly in the barrel back
Strengths: Quiet
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I use a 14" on my rail
its good to get 2 barrel back if you get this barrel just incase there is a differnce in the paint you use

recommended barrel backs-
.688 and the .692

the barrel looks greet and has awsome performce too

it does a take a few shots to clear the barrel if u do get a break so either be ready to shoot a few or bring a squeege
Conclusion: I give it a 9/10 because the only draw back is the price other wise its a great barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

prisonerinroom5 Saturday, December 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker stock barrels, j&j ceramic, boomstick, freak and freak jr., pmr stock barrels
Marker Setup: 2003 WGP cocker
-bob long regulator
-cp drop
-wgp pump kit

Black Magic 2003
-all stock except for cp reg
Recommended
Paintballs:
any that fit and are not too cheap
Strengths: Accuracy and pretty good distance
Weaknesses: Too expensive
Hyped up
Review: mmmmmmm. I used this barrel off a friend's cocker on mine cause he couldnt come with us that day. Using evils, marbalizers, and even players choice just to try it out (all correct bore) this barrel was seriously not as good as my stock black magic barrel. Don't buy into the dye hype, its not that great, i mean if you can get it for cheap and your barrel is bad then go ahead but if you have a half way decent barrel then just spend the money saved on some good paint or other cool stuff
Conclusion: Not worth the $
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media