paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Ultralite Barrel / Dye Ultralite Barrel / Dye Ultralite Barrel

Dye Ultralite Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Ultralite Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Ultralite Barrel
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 163
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A much lighter version of the boomstick. Still the same 2 piece design, but all aluminum.
Product Availability 
The Dye Ultralite Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
redline94 Saturday, November 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares
Marker Setup: proto pmr/halo b/shock tech feed neck/dye ul/pure energy carbon fiber tank
Strengths: Really really actuate its crazy
Weaknesses: Nothing but its a bit to much money
Review: I have had this barrel for a while now i have to say its the best barrel ive ever used but i dropped off of the table and it bent it still shoots ok its a little bit off but its ok if you get this barrel never drop it
Conclusion: Just buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

travman27 Monday, August 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Infinity 14" (stock barrel)
Other random crap
Marker Setup: Angel 05 Speed with Check-It Unimount2
Dye Ultralite 16'' Barrel .691 bore
Eggy II with a Z-board
Pure Energy 68/4500 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything good
Strengths: ACCURATE!!!
Light
Looks sick
Weaknesses: Doesn't fire well dirty (but what does)
Review: Easily the best barrel I've ever used. Shoots laser straight. Only problems I've ever had with paint breaking were caused by me using some terrible budget paint (Zap). Great for a front man with the accuracy but also works well for a back because of the solid range. The stock Angel barrel is already better then half the barrels out there but the ultralite is far superior. Gave it a test by shooting a nickel tapped to my garage from 30 feet and hit is 9/10 times (missed cause of my accuracy not the barrel).
Conclusion: Final verdict - BUY THIS BARREL. Price tag is easily worth it. Any serious player has to own this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Where'sMeShoota Wednesday, July 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick - heavy, .688
Dye Stainless - heavy, .689
ANS Stainless - heavy, .688
JJ Ceramic - light, ~ .692
Marker Setup: AGD Automag
X-Valve
ULT
Recommended
Paintballs:
Ultralite is a .692 bore size, so use medium to large sized paint like Premium.
Strengths: Very light weight aluminum body
Weaknesses: Larger bore not well suited to high-quality paint, which is often small.
Review: Ultralite's best quality is the weight it takes off the front of your gun, especially if you're used to playing with stainless steel. It's also quite cosmetically appealing. But it's not going to give you a decisive advantage in performance.

In spite of the reviews you read on this site, this barrel will not magically make your gun more accurate. No barrel can simply increase the accuracy of your gun on its own. Nor is the gun, itself, really a significant factor in accuracy. You want accuracy? Two things... 1.) Become familiar with your gun and learn to shoot it well. PRACTICE!! This can't be stressed enough. And 2.) use high quality paint and a barrel with a matcing bore size. Accurate paintballs are, heavier, rounder, and have a thicker, more consistent fill with smaller air pockets inside them. Heavier paintballs will also fly a bit farther because they have more kinetic energy. Maintaining more velocity over distance due to more mass in an equal or lesser volume = longer effective range.

This is not hype or BS ranting that every other kid on this site adheres to. This is simple physics, and my claims here can be backed up by actual results of credible scientific experiments performed by competent, unbiased individuals. Below is a link to a particularly well done experiment which will answer a broad range of questions regarding performances of paintball products. Separate your fact from myth and check it out. You might learn something.

http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=2218018
Conclusion: Wish it came in .688, but it is quite nice... especially for the $35 used I paid online for it. My Boomstick will remain my work horse, however, as it's more often a closer fit to superior paint than the Ultralite.

As for you, find good paint that is commonly available in your area, and then buy a barrel that fits it well. Here's another link to where you can gather more information regarding sizes of barrel and paint brands;

http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=916326
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 30th, 2008 at 4:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tristanot Thursday, May 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Proto 2 piece(cheaper, little less accuracy, cool design)
Tippmann stock barrels(uhh, please, don't let balls out of em)
Marker Setup: PMR
Red Roller Trigger
Dye Ultralite One-piece 14" Barrel
Crossfire 68/3000 Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Formula 13 paintballs are the bomb!
Strengths: Looks
ACCURACY!!!!!
The prowess of having one
Quiet.
Weaknesses: None yet
Review: Truly, I can say my instance is unique compared to other reviewers. When I bought my PMR used from this guy, I got a free one-piece Dye Ultralite barrel. Now just cuz it's one piece, doesn't mean it ain't accurate. It (along with high grade paint) makes anyone a sure-fire target that is bound to be hit. Not meant for long-balling, as in some woodsballers case, but really accurate, quiet, and it truly stands out when you say "I got a Dye UL".
Conclusion: Overall, can't go wrong with one of these babies, 2 piece would be better than my one piece, but that means it'd have to be an 11, and pbreview just doesn't allow barrels to achieve their deserved glory.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

promaster911 Saturday, May 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts progrssive
stiffi carbon fiber
apex
Marker Setup: main:

spyder TL-R
14in stiffi barrel
32 degrees front block
dye hyper 2 reg
macroline kit
shockteck asa
shockteck drop
esp grip frame
ACS bolt
warrior feedneck
empire reloader
shocktech trigger
dye stickies grips
Ver C board
dye throttle 91 cu 4500psi

Secondary

promaster
dye ultralight barrel
cp shorty reg
marcroline kit
shocktech asa
hybrid contract killa grips
killa detents
t-clap feedneck
eve 2
throttle tank above
Recommended
Paintballs:
empire engage
monster balls work
nelson
Strengths: Straight as an arrow
easy to clean
Weaknesses: None
Review: This barrel is deinatly worht the money. u cant beat the accuracy of this barrel. i shot a person threw the back window of a beat up truck bunker from 120 feet away and got him right in the mask. unstopable. a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a aa
Conclusion: 10 out of 10 GET IT
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sds780 Thursday, May 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto 2 piece
J&J ceramic
Marker Setup: PMR ul frame, proto backcap, proto 2 piece 14 inch barrel, cp asa
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any that are round
Strengths: Accurate
Light weight
Weaknesses: Price maybe?
Does not come in a kit
Review: Let me first start off by saying David Youngblood was making barrels for paintball before it was even considered a sport. So he has some experience and it pays off. This is just about as perfect as a barrel as you can get. No wonder the pros use it. I have used everything from stock barrels to J&J's to Dyes to CP's. Let me tell you theres some great barrels out there but this one is better. So use what the pros use and get an ultralite. You wont regret it.
Conclusion: One of the best barrels on the market today. Defenatley the best way to upgrade your gun. You will not regret purchasing this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vizier Wednesday, March 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Used and tested alot of different barrels
Marker Setup: - Invert Mini
- Evo3 Loader
- 64ci airsystem
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any! and then i mean ANY! (read review)
Strengths: Accuracy
No Ballbreaks
Weaknesses: None
Review: This barrel is insane!

Ive only had it for a couple of months but ive played 1-2 times every week, ive shot about 16000 - 20000 paintballs with it, and still i havent gotten any ballbreaks, its insane! best barrel ive ever had. The accuracy is ofcourse top noch also.

The only times i clean the barrel is when i get home and just want to clean it for sand and dirt.

Even when i was playing a scenario up at the splatbrothers paintball park, and first of all the paintballs there where rotten... and the temperature wasnt excactly perfect either... this barrel didnt break a single ball.

Kinda cool hearing all the other teams and players complainting about ballbreaks, and im running around there without a squegee :P



Conclusion: Buy it ASAP! this is the best barrel money can buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Necrogen98 Tuesday, February 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick
Proto 2-Piece
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 7
Dye Ultralite Barrel
CP 68/4500
Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Something round.
Strengths: -Hone
-Accuracy
-Weight
-Noise
-Finish
-Interchangeable backs and fronts
Weaknesses: -Ability to shoot through breaks
-Price
Review: I have been using this product for a little over a year so I believe that I can review it fully. When I first received this barrel, I was astounded by the quality of the finish, both inside and out. Dye has always done top-notch anno jobs on all of their products, this barrel is no different. I also noticed how light the barrel was. I weighed mine (14 in.) against my Proto barrel (12 in) and the Proto was only slightly lighter. I am confident that a 12 in. UL would be lighter than the Proto and certainly many other barrels.

The internal finish of the barrel is excellent. It comes and remains a mirror finish so long as it is used and maintained properly. This super smooth, consistent hone makes for terrific accuracy. To contribute to my review, I shot some rounds of balls with my marker in a custom vise to hold it in place. I used Anarchy paint for this test.

Trial one-
3 in. grouping from 15 feet.
4.5 in grouping from 25 feet.
1 foot grouping from 50 feet.

Trial two (done with bursts of 10 balls instead of single shots)-
3 in. grouping from 15 feet.
6 in grouping from 25 feet.
1.75 foot grouping from 50 feet.

As you can tell, the accuracy is superior.

In addition, this barrel is well ported making for a nice, quiet shot. Coupled with a spool valve gun, there is hardly any sound at all.

The only bone I have to pick with this barrel is its ability to shoot through breaks. It isn't the best, especially if you are overboring like I prefer to do. But hey, that's what swabs are for. ;)

Another small downside may be price, but I didn't mind it too much. You are paying for quality, and quality you get. You are paying for a back and a front as well, so the price is actually not bad.



Conclusion: I would highly recommend this product to any player of any level. Yet again Dye has outdone themselves. 9/10 because of break shoot-through limitation.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NinjaDragon23 Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak
Freak Jr.
Other SP barrels
Other Dye's
Marker Setup: Proto PM5
Dye UL Frame
CP Feed Neck
CP On/Off
Halo B
Dye Throttle 91/45

Dye DM4
Dye UL Barrel
Shocktech Trigger
Tadao M3 chip
Hybid Grips
eVLution 3
Dye Throttle 91/45
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any mid to high grade paint is good as long as you have a good ball/bore match.
Strengths: Accuracy
Looks
Price (Nowadays)
Weaknesses: None
Review: This barrel came stock on my dye dm4 and i do not need to get another one. That is very rare with stock barrels, but the ultralite is probably the best barrel that comes on any gun as the stock. I use PMI Premium with my .692 bore size and it has excellent accuracy.
Conclusion: Get it. It is cheap now.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zgonzo23 Friday, January 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C ACT
Remote Coil (Energy)
Dye Ultra Light Two Peice Barrel 14"
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil so far is the best I have used still looking at other paint
Strengths: Accuracy
Price
Weaknesses: Length.
Review: As always what paint you use makes a BIG difference. It may not be the best but it is pretty dang good. Good enough that I don't feel the need to buy another barrel for a while. If you buy it I think you will be happy with it. In short buy it.
Conclusion: I would reccomend it to those who are looking for a barrel on thier tippmann. (Don't know much about others) With medicore paint it pretty much shoots where you aim. Better paint and less variance. If I used air instead of CO2 I bet this barrel would be next to deadly.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media