paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse EGO 2007 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2007 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2007 / Planet Eclipse EGO 2007

Planet Eclipse EGO 2007 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse EGO 2007

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse EGO 2007
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 50
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Weight

So what about the weight? Well, let’s just say, you thought the SL66 was light, right? Well the 07 blows that out of the water. Side-by-side with a standard Maniac Ego 06, the new Ego weighs over 230grams, yes 8 OUNCES LESS. 8 OUNCES!!!

Lighter, less kick, quieter signature, more compact, fewer seals, more reliable, more performance, more features, tighter profile, better looks, more adjustability, reduced operating pressure, improved grip ergonomics, easier maintenance etc, etc, etc.
The Ego7 is not just a new milling job, it’s a revelation.

Technical Specifications

All Weights and Measurements Include 14” Barrel, On/Off/Purge System , Battery etc.
Full Set-Up Ready to Go:

Length: 531mm
Height: 216mm
Width: 26mm
Weight: 941g / 2.07 lbs

Feature List

• NEW Ultra-Lightweight Monoform Body
• Deftek Offset Feed Tube
• NEW Flusher-Fitting Eye Covers
• NEW Integrated Rammer Housing
• NEW Integrated FRM
• NEW Lightweight Rammer
• NEW Larger Valve Chamber
• NEW High-Flo Valve
• NEW Lower Operating Pressure
• NEW Swivel Stainless Banjo QEV
• NEW Micro + Opto Switch Board
• NEW Duel Instrument Grade Ball-Raced Trigger
• Magnetic Trigger Return
• NEW Skinny-Fit Co-Moulded Rubber E-Star Grips
• NEW T-Slot Rail Mounting System
• Capped and Uncapped Semi and Ramping Modes
• 9 Debounce Modes
• NEW 07 Cure Bolt
• NEW Direct-Acting Solenoid
• LCD Display
• NEW Swivel In-Line Regulator
• NEW Lever Operated Clamping Feed
• NEW Shaft II 2-Piece 14” 0.693” Barrel
• NEW 07 On/Off/Purge System
• Lower Cyclic Mass
• Less Kick
• Quieter Shot
• Same Excellent Efficiency
• Low Profile Break-Beam Eyes
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse EGO 2007 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
Outkast-Spike Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego, Ego6, - similar performance, but the "feel" isn't even close

DM6, PM6 U/L, PM5's - similar "feel" due to the Ultralite frames, but performance isn't quite up to the Ego7.
Marker Setup: Ego7 - Stock

Ego6 w/
Dark Frame Maniac Board

Deadly Wind Barrel
Too much more too list
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock barrel is decent (.693), but I suppose you could go there.

A good hopper would be smart
Strengths: It does everything you want it to do, and with style.
Weaknesses: Some of the first run has/had solenoid issues.
Price/availability
Review: I was giddy when I received my box full of '07 goodness on Dec. 16th. I immediately aired it up, no leaks (good!) and proceeded to thrash my '07 all day long. It felt so tiny in my hands compared to my Ego6. The performance was outstanding out of the box, it was factory tuned very well. [ Thanks to Planet Employee "Robert" , good work man!]
Efficiency was also very good, using a 68/4500 tank, I noticed I used slightly less air than I normally do.

The dual trigger options (opti and micro switch) is a very nice feature. I prefer the opti method, while others like the "click" of a micro. I'd suggest backing out the micro switch screw in the trigger if you're using opti to save wear and tear on the micro switch.

One of the best features not mentioned most places is the tournament lock feature of the new 3.00 software/board. It doesn't function the same as past models. You can leave it "off" and not have to constantly open the grips to access the board's red button. Very cool.
Conclusion: All in all, everyone's tastes are different, but for me, I haven't put this down to pick up another marker since I've had it and don't see myself doing so in the future. I've used my Ego7 in two hardcore practices and one tournament so far with no issues whatsoever.

If you can afford it, get one. If not, definitely try to get a Planet Eclipse product. You can't go wrong. Customer support is second to none.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ikey Sunday, December 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
most other high ends
Marker Setup: stock karnivor, pm6
Recommended
Upgrades:
a good barrel kit is the only thing it needs
Strengths: If you like the ego layout, its perfect.
Weaknesses: None. the gun is just about perfect if its your thing.
Review: im going to start off by saying if you really like the timmy/ego layout, this is the perfect gun. im not saying its th ebestgun made, some people like spool valves, or teh layout of an angel, etc etc. but other than preference, there is no downside to this gun.

look/feel/etc.

obviously, it looks insane. deifintely the collest looking ego. it is also noticeably lighter than an 06. not a whole ton, but a decent amount lighter. once you get ego light, your kinda used to it. the gun feels IMO far better than any ego. the grip frame seems slimmer ot me, and the reg/trigger guard have been a little repositioned so you can get your fingers completely around the grip. from those that dont like regs too close to teh gun, this is a huge improvement. trigger feels amazing, far superior to other ego triggers. the gun is just stright up the best looking/feeling ego IMO. it also seems much smaller to me, im sure it is, but if not it sure did seem like it. teh gun is VERY slim from the back.

design

basically, besides better trigger etc, eclipse got rid or a ram housing, and made the ream fit into teh body of teh gun itself. ingenious design, and took a ton of weight/size off teh back of the gun. probably one of teh ways tehy mae it so light. it also makes for less parts, and an easier to work with gun.

parts

gun comes with a great on off asa, new type of noid, great baord, the 07 CURE bolt, and a spectacular trigger. teh gun needs absolutely nothing.

performance

well, basically it will shoot like the most upgraded, lightest, smallest ego available. it has very littel kick, and the new trigger is very fast. teh paint wasnt that great and it was ball on ball. i do have to say i did notice a very arched trajectory compared to my pm6.
Conclusion: If you wanta brand new ego, this gun is definitely worth the money. the new parts are amazing, and the gun is a much better feeling gun with new stuff. if you want used to save money, thats one story, but if your thinking of an 06, buy this, you will not be dissapointed. like i said b4, other may have a preference of a shocker, cyborg, angel etc. but of your a fan of the ego.timmy layout, this gun is perfect.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ultraraptor Sunday, December 31st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested13 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM's, PM's, Ego's, Timmies, and other high ends
Marker Setup: Black/Red DM6, Reloader B with speed feed, Ignition 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Different barrel if your picky
Strengths: LIGHT!!!!
nice milling
relatively small
little loud
trigger
Weaknesses: Gap between eye cover and grip frame
trigger guard
Review: Well first off, let me say that this has to be the best 07 marker I've seen/shot. It has the largest improvements over its 06 version whereas other 07 models barely improved their 06 parents. Now the review.

I only tested this marker but that was enough to say that this was an awesome marker. The first major improvement was wieght. I was just holding my friend's 06 ego when I saw my friend walk onto the field with his brand new blue 07 ego. I naturally asked to hold it and my jaw dropped. The 07 ego is almost half the wieght of the 06 ego from the feel of it. It felt like a feather after holding an 06 ego. The marker felt like it could have been make of plastic it was so light. You easily felt like you could break it in your hands due to the weightlessness of this marker.

The milling was pretty nice on the marker. It's definately a different type of style than the 05 and 06 egos had but it's not much better IMO. The milling and anno was flawless but the curves on it were not jaw dropping.

When I shot the marker I was in heaven. Very little kick, a little loud, but the trigger was just a joy to play with. Very light, snappy, responsive, with no side to side play. It was also very easy to shoot fast. I was very pleased with the trigger. The marker was also very accurate. It shot beautiful, clean, tight ropes. All were just ball on ball at 50 ft.

Now the bad.

One thing I noticed when I was looking the body of the marker over was that there's a gap between the eye cover and the grip frame. It's barely the width of pen tip but that's more than enough for paint to get into. Noticing this set me off a little from the marker because a shot to the grip frame and you could have paint all on your board and selonoid. Not a good thing or a fun activity of cleaning.

Also, I wasn't a fan of the trigger guard. This is a personal pet peeve because my fingers move a lot when I shoot so the size of the trigger guard kinda bugged me. I'm used to the large and spacious trigger guard of the UL frame for my DM6 so when I shot the 1/3 size smaller trigger framed ego, my fingers kept hitting the trigger guard which was just annoying and felt kind of uncomfortable.
Conclusion: This is an awesome marker. It's extremely light, easy to shoot ropes with, and a good looking marker. I would give this marker a 10 based everything else but because of that gap between the eye cover and grip I'm gonna give it a nine because that would have been an easy fix to leave just a tad bit more metal at the machine shop. Still, it's a very nice marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

karni2 Saturday, December 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion(friends)- accurate out of the box, efficient, needs upgrades, sturdy

Shocker(mine)- Extremley accurate, no kick, unreliable, breaks constantly, very quiet
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
12 in. .691 stiffi barrel
GTA expansion chamber
collapsable stock
r-t
and flatline barrel

2003 Black Shocker:
Max-flo 68/4500 system
14 inch stiffi Switch
Black Empire Reloader B
ND slik trigger
HE Bolt

2007 Silver PE Ego
DXS Pulse(smoke)
48 Cu. 4500 CP tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel (see review)
Strengths: LIGHT!
shooting platform
ACCURATE
efficiency
No kick
easy maintenence
adjustibility
Weaknesses: Very loud(personal preference)
Eye wires are exposed below the eye covers
Review: First Impression- I got my Ego 7 on December 16 at my local shop so I had the opportunity to fiddle around with it before I bought it. As soon as I picked it up I just had to have it... lightest gun ever! The annodizing is also nearly perfect and pictures just doesn't do it justice.

Accuracy- I was only able to put two pods through this baby because I did not have any paint left, but it's accuracy was astounding for being out of the box. literally ball on ball with Proto Dart paint, but there was a wild curve with a X-ball bronze(once)

Stock Barrel- Many people replace their stock barrel for aftermarket ones. The two piece shaft is exellent and the only reason why I am replacing it is for one, I already have a stiffi switch so all I need to do is get new backs, two, the back is .693 which is pretty big bore, and third new backs wont be out for alittle while. Other than that I would keep it and have no urge to buy a barrel kit.

Kick- The Ego has less kick than my shocker with the stiffi barrel. I was alittle worried because I had heard that ego kick alot... well don't worry about the 07 because it is the smoothest shooting gun ive shot. Close to the DM series, but I still like a gun that I can feel shoot.

Noise- The loudest gun I have heard, almost as loud as my A-5 with a flatline. I pretty sure it was just my paint to barrel match because the stock is .693 and my paint was .689-.691. Plus once I get some stiffi backs to fit my ego im sure the noise will go down alot.

Shooting Platform- To tell you the truth it was pretty uncomfortable when I held it. Coming from a shocker that ive played with for 2 years it was quite awkward at first. As I fiddled with it more and more it grew on me, this is the most comfortable gun I have ever held, like an extension of your arm its that nice.

Efficiency- I haven't been able to really test efficiency, but I got about 400psi out of 200-210 shots with my friends 68 cu. 3000. Ill try and update this review when I get a more extensive estimate.

Maintenence- It is extremley easy, the bolt comes out with absolutely no tools and lubing the internals is the easiest thing ever. The guy at my local proshop said that all I need to do is put at max 2 drops of oil inside the asa and just dryfire it to lube all internal parts. When I first gassed up my Ego I had a leak in the asa. I was pretty worried considering $1250 was dropped on the marker, but two quick drops of oil in the asa and a couple of good dryfires fixed the problem.

Eye wires- This is the only problem I have with my Ego. I am not sure if it is just mine but the eye wires are slightly exposed above the grips and below the eye covers. If it were to be shot there then im not sure if the wires will be damaged. I am sure its not big deal, but planet eclipse has awsome customer service and will send me some new ones in a heart beat.

Conclusion: Best gun for 2007 without a doubt. Alot of other very respectable companies like Dye and Macdev just didn't cut it this year, not alot has changed from their last year's models. I will update this review after I play with it today. So, I give the PE Ego7 a 9 because of the eye wires, but this is the closest thing to perfection BUY ONE!!
p.s- the Custom products 48 cu.4500 feels perfect with it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 30th, 2006 at 1:39 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

ash22 Tuesday, December 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
used every ego after 2005 model, so that is ego5, ego6, etek, maniac, sl66 xsv ego
Marker Setup: sl66 xsv ego
Crossfire bottle
Draxxus Pulse
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Light
Quiet
Weaknesses: Wouldnt say there are any major weaknesses
Review: This marker is the best EGO yet!
People say it doesn't look like there is much difference but they are totally wrong.
As soon as you pick it up you immediately are impressed about how light it is.
There are lots of new things that are inside the gun that make it a pleasure to shoot.
It is very easy to maintain and doesn't need ANY upgrades at all!!! IT IS GREAT OUT OF THE BOX.
Conclusion: It is a great gun for its money. I think it is a perfect marker for any serious tournament paintball player that wants to excel in paintball. It is a must have gun for ny experienced player.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

saint9121 Saturday, December 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 ego
e2ed 06 black magic
Marker Setup: 06 E2ed Black Magic
Planet Eclipse QEVS
14 inch Freak Barrel kit
48/3000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Very little Kick
Fast-read review
Very Efficient
LIGHT
SMALL
LCD screen
Micro and Opti
Weaknesses: LOUD-be prepared for people to hear this gun rip
Review: Ok. i was i disbeliever in this gun. my friend bought it for 1200+ and i was like wow you are blowing your money. but i was wrong. No i wouldnt spend 1200 on a gun but if you would this is the best gun for the price!
First off you have a beatiful LCD screen that can guide you from one setting to another very clearly. the gun looks sooooooooo much heavier than it is. if you get a chance to pick it up it will be hard to go back to whatever you shoot. (trust me my gun felt like a tank after this thing) the kick is zero. i shot it and all i felt was me pulling the microswitch. The pull on the microswitch was pretty heavy compared to others. (with optiswitch it should fell alot better)
As for speed it was "fast." not like that matters alot because of tourny caps and such. we were only able to get to 20 bps which isnt too fast but once my friend figures out how to get the cap off i will correct that number.
As for efficientcy we were able to get off 2 hoppers off with a 1000 psi with a 45/45 tank. idk about you but i know my gun cant get that.
Normal ego kick is practicly gone with this gun.
Conclusion: If you are interested it trying to find the "best" gun this is it. You cant find anything thats more efficient and light unless you go for a cyborg. Havent shot one myself but hear they too are very efficient and i believe the hold the "record" for most bps. So far no complaints from my friend about manufacturing defects so seems like a solid gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

xsv06 Friday, December 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
protos
dm's
timmies
etek egos
Marker Setup: etek ego
upgrades:
virtue board
everything else is stock

Smart parts Ion
upgrades:
shocktech drop
shocktech on/off
q lock feed neck
black heart board
lucky bolt
freak barrel
blade trigger
qev

Ego7
stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing

Strengths: Fast
Very quiet for an ego
Nice milling
Light
absolutely no kick
user friendly
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have only tested this product. The ego 07 is a big step from the 06 ego. Yes, people do say its practically the same. From what i have tested there are some big differences.
The 07 ego is very quiet and egos are not known for being quiet. My etek is very loud compared the 07 ego. There is even less kick in the 07 ego. It is a tiny bit lighter than the 06 models. It comes stock with a great barrel. The stock board is very good, personally when i get my 07 ego im staying stock. When i chronoed the ego it was 271, 284, 286, 292, 279 pretty good speed. The trigger frame is very nice. On semi I was able to shoot at least 15 bps easily. The guy at the store didnt let me play with it but i was content just testing it. (Sorry this review is a little biased, but when i actually get my 07 ego I will be editing this into a more solid review)

EDIT December 26
Finally after saving up for the ego7 Santa managed to help me get one. I had already tested this gun in the past so nothing really surprised me. Last time when i only tested the gun I never really played with the board settings or anything. After receiving the ego7 I spent time playing with the board. I was pretty amazed on how user friendly it was. The settings were very good. It included most tournament setttings, ramping, semi, uncapped rapping ETC (i have not tried all modes). I aired it up and just for fun set it on uncapped ramping. My halo could not keep up with the ego's uncapped ramping. This guns speed is soo good im going to have to save up for a pulse loader now. Im still impressed with the ego even after testing it.
Conclusion: The 07 ego is a hardcore kickass gun, it is one of the best guns out there. Planet Eclipse did an excellent job on making the ego even better. I recommend this gun to all players (lol this gun will boost up a noobs confidence in a flash). It may be pricy but the performance you get out of it is worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 15th, 2007 at 2:23 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

zebigmonst3r Thursday, December 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dm6, Dm7, Ego6, Ego5 much much more
Marker Setup: Platinum 07 Ego, Pulse loader, CP 48/4500 Tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
NOTHING!
Strengths: Fast, accurate, very efficient, no kick, micro switch and opti switch!
Weaknesses: Nothing at all!
Review: First of all, when I got my new EGO7, it was in a hard metal case with latches on it. I was very impressed. I took it out of the padded case and had a look. It was SEXY! I noticed that it was noticebly lighter than all of the previous Egos. When I aired it up and started shooting, I loved the trigger. It is very adjustable so you can make it perfect. It also came with the standard Ego LCD, but this one has more firing modes and is uncapped, so there is no need to buy an aftermarket circuit board. It was extremely accurate and fast as well, and I tried different types of paint but they all worked very well with it. I was able to get 7 Pods and a Pulse off of a fill. It also comes stock with a 2 pc SHAFT barrel and an 07 Cure bolt. The grips are also better than the Ego6 because it doesn't have the metal part that tarnishes, these are soft, durable, rubber grips. I love everything about this gun!
Conclusion: I highly reccommend it. It is by far the best gun on the market and the best for the price. I love it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

nastytyphoon Sunday, December 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autocockers , imps , shockers, angels , timis, system x nme le other high ends...
Marker Setup: olive green dust system x nme le , ruby red halo-b with ripdrive , empire fuel 72/4500 pis low pressure tank ,12 inch freak barrel stainless steel back 05 all american front, was board included
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bagger (thats me) always says toss a barrel kit onto your gat for improved accuracy
Strengths: Speed
weight
efficency
looks
Weaknesses: None yet baby
Review: The new and improved 2007 eclipse ego is extreamly fast , smooth shooting, efficent and slickest looking gun on the market. the colors it comes in are killer and the milling is smooth and practicle . lightning fast , and its loud but thats a good thing it'l scare the other team its a speedball gun anyway noise isent an issue
Conclusion: My final recomendation for the 07 ego is its a great marker perfect for the serious toury player , grab one and have some fun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

dynastyfan 1 Sunday, November 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
guns i own:
ego 06/ego 05/etek/
dm7
phantom pump
Marker Setup: ego 06 maniac board, freak kit, cure bolt, 70 4500 dye tank, empire b2, virtue board, shoctech reg,
Recommended
Upgrades:
virtue board
take out trigger magnet
Strengths: Fast
Lightweight
Accurate
Weaknesses: Get better barrel for gun
Review: Fastest ego ever made very nice new body which is more compact than the 06 ego. The airport is nicer and it is easier to shoot with because of that and your tank doesnot move around as much. The gun is perfect and you should only upgrade the board to a virtue so you can rip even better with it.
Conclusion: I think that people that want to upgrade from an 06 or 05 ego this would be the best one to buy because of its weight and accuracy. I think that this is the best gun ever made I have compared this to my dm7 and it shoots better.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 19th, 2006 at 6:48 pm PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media