paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany

Smart Parts Epiphany Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Epiphany

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Epiphany
[ View Photos (37) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 114
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Smart Parts Epiphany builds on the world-class, field-proven performance of the Ion. With new features and improved consistency, it is set to take a new, intermediate-level position in the Smart Parts marker line.

Smart Parts re-wrote the book on entry-level markers when it released the Ion. Never before could players get the blistering performance of a true electro pneumatic while only facing an entry-level price tag. The Epiphany is the next evolutionary step forward for the Ion design concept.

The heart of the Epiphany is a paintball first � an adjustable volume fire chamber. Color-coded inserts are used to alter the amount of gas the Epiphany stores in its fire chamber. This flexibility allows the Epiphany fire chamber volume to be reduced while maintaining full velocity. With a smaller fire chamber, the Epiphany valve can recharge faster, protecting it from shoot-down or undesired velocity fluctuations when the player is shooting 15 or more rounds per second.

Built on the solid foundation of Smart Parts Ion technology, the Epiphany brings new features to the player � features not found in many "high end" paintball guns, let alone those that can come anywhere close to the Epiphany's price tag. The new features include:

Adjustable volume fire chamber for velocity stability at high rates of fire
All-metal body, feedneck and grip frame construction
Super-light, fast-acting bolt
Enhanced solenoid valve
Super-light magnesium alloy body, grip frame and trigger
Conical trigger bearing which eliminates side to side trigger slop
Break-beam Vision anti-chop technology
Interchangeable bore barrel � standard
Ergonomically designed trigger frame built to be walked
Three-point trigger adjustment
Integrated air rail
Rail-mounted on/off ASA
High level of Ion compatibility
The last feature on the list should be one of the most prominent. Many Epiphany assemblies can be interchanged with Ion parts. Epiphany owners can make use of many existing aftermarket accessories, and Ion owners can upgrade to Epiphany-level performance. Providing continued value to our customers is natural, because we believe that equipment counts.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Epiphany is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
KMcTague Saturday, February 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
invert mini; alot lighter, direct air feed
spyder xtra; lower quality
ion; same as epiphany, heavier
Marker Setup: 68 cu 4500 psi tank
stock epiphany
14" barrel
spyder fasta hopper 20-25 pbs
Strengths: Comes with a good board
Light
Air pressure gauge
Weaknesses: Doesnt really have any weaknesses. It's reliable, durable, never chops paintballs, light, fast.
Review: Overall this is a great gun at a great price. i would defiantly recommend this to beginners and pros. it has everything your gonna need in a paintball gun. I used to be on a tournament team in x ball and this gun was perfect. I also play alot of woods ball and depending on how big the course is i sometimes use the epiphany and with a 16" barrel it does just fine in the woods as well.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to anyone, great gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sppbplayer06 Tuesday, August 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts ion, smart parts vibe.
Marker Setup: 3000psi tank 72ci, viewloader electric hopper, clamping feedneck, and .45 virtue grips.
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
Strengths: Accurate, fast, price
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: I first bought the epiphany in january because of the looks. I read several reviews that the feedneck was no good, and they were right. while i was in the middle of a game, the hopper started twisting around, so i bought a new one. I would recommend a feedneck but its not to bad, only $35 . The gun is a little heavy but not to bad.
Conclusion: This gun is cheap and it gets the job done when it is needed to. I am gonna give it a 10 .I would recommend this gun to anyone starting because it is a great gun for a great price!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

quiktrigga Thursday, May 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Rasta, Sp Ion, Piranha GTI 08
Marker Setup: - Epiphany (obsidian auro, blue and black)
- The Freak full kit 12' barrel
- Blackheart
- tadao dynasty
- Firebolt
- Shocker SFT Q-Lock Feed Tube
- Max Flo Micro
- Empire prophecy
- Pure Energy 50 4500 Fiber Tank preset REG
- Dynasty Virtue
Recommended
Upgrades:
Perfectly good stock, but if wanting too add a Shocker SFT Q-Lock Feed Tube, i dont like the pressure neck.
Strengths: Accurate up too 200Ft, Fast with virtue 35bps, Light, Cheap
Weaknesses: None, but old design and Smartparts doesnt make new epiphanys.
Review: This gun is wonderful. its cheap, accurate, light, and fast. i have an Angel but i still love the epiphany. i use the epiphany more than the rasta. but this gun is all you can have, like a buffet for paintball markers. it is really smooth and great feel you might as well get this than the ion XE and the vibe. if you are planning to get an ion or ion xe or the vibe DONT try to get an epiphany though smartparts doesnt make it any more all the parts for most sp guns are the same. atleast for most of them.
Conclusion: Buy it! its hot. but if you got the cash buy a angel fly 1 rasta... but its expensive.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kariya93 Monday, May 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine 04, Proto Rail. The Spyder imagine...well it's a re-manufactured gun, so no contest. The Proto Rail, i didn't use much, so don't ask me anything about it.
Marker Setup: I use the factory accessories for the Epiphany. But i do use a DXS 68ci 4500psi HPA gas tank. And a Halo B hopper, which really does a good job of keeping up with the epiphany. These two combos make a great setup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
This gun is pretty good in all aspects. What it could very much use is a new feedneck. It has a horrible feedneck. For the Halo B i had to remove a ring in the feedneck. Just a pain in the neck. It could have used a clamping feedneck.
Another upgrade that it could have used in the factory is a new way to turn on the Epiphany and a new way to change mode. It's horrible the way you do. And very cheaply done. All it is, is a button to turn on the Epiphany. To change mode, you need to unscrew some screws to where the battery goes and there is a little switch for changing it. So if you are a person that likes to change modes during gameplay, not a very good gun for the job.
Strengths: Freak Jr Barrel, trigger, ASA gas port, the feel of the gun itself.
Weaknesses: Feedneck, Mode switching, power button.
Review: This gun is pretty good in all aspects. What it could very much use is a new feedneck. It has a horrible feedneck. For the Halo B i had to remove a ring in the feedneck. Just a pain in the neck. It could have used a clamping feedneck.
Another upgrade that it could have used in the factory is a new way to turn on the Epiphany and a new way to change mode. It's horrible the way you do. And very cheaply done. All it is, is a button to turn on the Epiphany. To change mode, you need to unscrew some screws to where the battery goes and there is a little switch for changing it. So if you are a person that likes to change modes during gameplay, not a very good gun for the job.
Even though it is hard to change modes. It's modes are pretty good. Rebound and Semi go to 15-20. i got up to 22 surprisingly. 3 round burst and full-auto go to 10-15 bps.

The Freak Jr. Barrel is a very good barrel, one of the best i've seen. Two piece, 14-inch, slick and easy to clean.
The ASA gas port is also very good. You just need to twist and you let gas in the tank. Twist again in the other direction you let gas out.
The gun is pretty light, but with everything it still is fairly light. i recommend this marker as a snake marker.
Good firing modes.
Overall a good marker.
Conclusion: This marker is really good for its price. Mind you, it has room for improvement. The barrel is awesome. BPS is great. Everything apart from feedneck and power button/mode changing is good.
Good for its price. good snake or back player marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

flyguy327 Sunday, March 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm3
a1 fly
Marker Setup: epiphany
70/4500 crossfire
egg evo3
Recommended
Upgrades:
saber trigger
virtue board
drop forward

Strengths: Accuracy, price
Weaknesses: Loud, not super efficient
Review: Accuracy
the gun is super accurate up to about 200 ft. it does not sway side to side unless you have a ball break (uncommon with 40$ paint). it does use a little bit of air, but it is worth the accuracy.
price
you cant beat the 250$ price tag for such an accurate gun. perfect for a person looking to make the step up from a spyder or tippman
loud
the gun is pretty loud, not that i care, its just annoying to listen to something that loud that close to your face.
efficiency
the gun is accurate as hell but i go through a ton of air. around 900 shots off of my 70/4500, maybe 500 off of my 72/3000
barrel
a new barrel wont make too much of a difference, i dont think. the freak it comes with is a pretty good barrel, doesn't need to be upgraded.
trigger
the trigger sticks a lot, i didnt like it until i got the saber trigger. the thing is super easy to walk, and the frame is perfect for it, my fingers aren't squished like they would be with an autococker or something.
board
the stock board only has three or four settings and they are a pain to play with. ramping is only set at 17 bps.
the virtue board is kind of expensive but i think its worth the money. all of the settings you will ever need will be on there and the virtue will fit most guns.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for intense woods ball. if you are looking to go to small tournaments or anything like that this is the gun i would recommend. its light, cheap, fast, accurate and looks sweet. if you are looking to upgrade from a spyder or tippman and you want another reliable gun, this is the one.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sft kid Wednesday, March 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS-Sweet gun for the money.
Spyder MR1-Good beginner gun thats it.
Smart Parts Shocker SFT- Lighter than epiphany and more accurate but not as reliable
Marker Setup: Empire Reloader B
Ignition 3000psi 47ci
Dye Ultralite 14in
Shocktech Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Feedneck
Barrel- NOT neccessary but i found the Ultralite better than the Jr. Freak
New trigger
Strengths: Reliability
Speed
Simplicity to change modes
Looks
Weaknesses: Weight
Disassembly
Review: The epiphany I believe is a good/average gun for the price. It is a little more heavier than I would like, but i never really notice the weight in a game. The bottomline asa is a hard sometimes to put the tank on and seems to strip the tank's screws sometimes. I keep the epiphany for the backup for my shocker sft because it is more reliable than the shocker. The Ultralite makes the epiphany WAY more accurate on my gun so i believe the upgrade was worth it. The epiphany is definitely hard to disassemble because you have to take the grip frame off and take out the board but after your used to it it only takes a few minutes.
Conclusion: In the end, I would reccomend this gun for anybody upgrading from a stock Ion or a spyder. Other than that, I would rather have bought a proto rail or and invert mini instead.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HC-paintballer Sunday, January 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
ion, dm9, dark angel
Marker Setup: esprit
7* forwarsd lpr
bob long expansion chamber
feed neck
14" 2 piece barrel
boo-yah drop forward
on/off
68ci 3000psi N2 tank
evil venturi bolt
halo tsa led hopper

tippmann A-5
16" J&J ceramic
68/3000 crossfire tank

Shocker NXT
Halo B w/ Rip
68/3000 Crossfire Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feedneck and on/ off asa
Strengths: Fast, accurate, does not chop paint, looks good.
Weaknesses: A little heavy
Review: Very good gun but as i said before needs a clamp feed neck and on/off asa eats threads. also don't order it from hustle paintball because a few parts came broken or damaged and they refused to send me a back order until i sent them the broken part back.
Conclusion: Very good gun and i highly recommend it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JTM418 Tuesday, December 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion (Not as Good)
Proto SLG (Even Match)
Proto Rail (Better Than Epiphany)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany
Empire Reloader B
Crossfire 68 ci/4500 psi HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck, go with a Custom Products clamping feedneck, DON'T GET A Q-LOCK, they are terrible feednecks.
Maybe a new board if you want a faster gun (Blackheart, Virtue, or Tadao are great)
Maybe more inserts for the barrel
Strengths: Freak Jr. Barrel, very accurate
On/Off ASA, very helpful
Nice Trigger
Looks
Weaknesses: Not very light
A little overpriced for what you get
It's Smart Parts
Review: My Review
I bought this gun at the beginning of the season and took it out to a local field to play some pick-up games. I loved it all my gear was new and it all worked great. I played a full season with this gun and it was great for rec-ball and pick-up games. towards the end of the season I took it to a few tournaments, as much as I respect this gun it is not a gun to be used in tournaments (unless it is a beginners tournament, it is fine in those.) But in actual tournaments it does not keep up with the competition. It is not fast enough for tornament paintball. You will be working your trigger so hard to try to keep up and it's just not worth it.

Features
The gun comes stock with a 14 inch 2 piece Freak Jr. Barrel, the barrel is very accurate and the inserts are a nice touch, altough there is only one insert stock. Those can be bought seperate.
The On/Off ASA is a good edition to the gun and comes in handy.
The trigger is very fun to use, nothing special but it works well, I sat around all day playing with that thing (It's Noisy)
The feedneck is not good on this gun and if I was to recommend one upgrade it is the feedneck without question.
This gun is just an externally upgraded Ion, (Barrel, ASA, Trigger, Body kit)
The internals are the same as the Ion, (Board, Bolt. and all that good stuff)
Conclusion: If you are looking for a nice gun to play some pck-up paintball, or Rec-ball, this gun is great. But if you are thinking about playing tournaments and are looking fo a gun in this price range ($200-$300) I would suggest looking in the Proto Matrix Rail or a Dangerous Power gun, those are nice.

I give this gun an 8 out of 10 because there are better guns out there near this price that could be used in tourneys.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pandomonium Monday, December 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: stock epiphany
new feedneck
pure energy 3000 psi steel wrap nitrogen tank
ion sling trigger
evo3 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger
new board (optional)
new feedneck (first thing you want to buy!)
barrel kit (optional)
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Feel of marker (weight distribution)

Weaknesses: Trigger is heavy
Paint scratches easily
Slightly loud
Bolt inserts are usless
Review: This marker is reliable, fast, and accurate. It plays well in scenario and speedball matches, and can be compared to many, more expensive markers. One thing that got my attention was the fact that the epiphany has amazing speed while maintaining decent accuracy; I was able to hit basically the same spot on a fence post time after time while shooting pretty fast. Another fact about the epiphany was that it feels like how a paintball marker should feel, with evenly distributed weight and a smooth finish, the epiphany really is a sudden realization. It does have it's downsides though; when you open the box and take a look at the manual, it tells about the volume inserts. Now, I installed and tried all of them, but i noticed no difference in how the marker performed. The epiphany's sleek paint finish doesn't really last, with multiple scratches and chips, the paint job is just poorly done. The trigger is like brick, having such a heavy trigger makes it almost impossible to go above 12 bps on semi; a new trigger is almost a must have. Now most of all, the feedneck on this gun is just plane horrible, it may look good but, I took the gun out of the box, popped a hopper in and no supprise it didn't fit, I shoved my hopper into the feedneck and guess what, the o-rings inside it broke, the feedneck has got to go, a first upgrade for sure, would be a new feedneck. You might need to make some out of the box upgrades but really this marker is one for any player.
Conclusion: The epiphany is an overall excellent marker, with a few minor dents in its performance, it still performs on the field, indoors or out. Also with a wide selection of upgradble parts, this marker really is an epiphany.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wildmoses Thursday, November 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5 (Poor)
Tippman 98 Custom (Fair)
Spyder RS (Decent)
Smart Parts SP-1 (Alright but slow)
Smart Parts Ion (Decent)
Marker Setup: Virtue board, freak barrell, 360 qev, viewloader hopper, 68 ci 4500 psi n2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
I reccomend upgrading the board, personally I am not a huge fan of the black heart board, but it will protect you warranty. I personally like Ape boards or the virtue board. I highly reccomend a new feedneck the stock one is strange. While your going to the trouble of upgrading drop 20 bucks and buy yourself the 360 qev, once again I am biased and only reccomend the smart parts qev. Oh and treat your gun like a hot date and don't trash her, only run n2 or compressed air in the gun.
Strengths: Speed, accuracy, operating pressure, feel, and trigger, did I mention the trigger
Weaknesses: Weight distribution, the color schemes, compatability confusion on some parts
Review: Gees, where to start. The epiphany is a beautiful gun. The epiphany is one of those guns that you pick up and shoot and then go home longing to put a case of paint through her again. The first aspect of the epiphany I want to mention is cost. The epiphany is a cheap tournament level gun. I will tell you she isn't an angel and you shouldn't expect an angel, but for a amateur tournament player who wants to have an edge this gun is amazing. Second I must focus on the trigger. I have pulled a ton of triggers in my paintball career, all kinds, and the epiphany is ridiculously nice. The epiphany trigger is stiff yet repsonsive, lose but not wobbly. I really must say you have to shoot one to understand, but it's nice. Next I will say the epiphany design is flawless. If your like me you service your own gun on and off the playing field, and you also know that this is a crucial part of gun ownership. I find that many guns are confusing as heck to work on. They have 90 screws and then the parts never fit back in the case when you are done. The epiphany has really simplified working on the internals by providing a quick to open gun with few hoses to get tangled up. Fourth I must point out the compatability with the ion. This compatability makes the epiphany a revolution all of its own. I don't know how many times I have needed a hose or piece and I go to my local shop and they say they don't have it for that gun, because so many parts are interchangeable between the ion and epiphany your chances of finding that one part is really a little better. Lastly the feel. I have shot lots of guns in my life. I have felt guns with no kick and guns with the feel of an elephant rifle, the epiphany is the perfect balance. I personally like a little kick, it adds to the thrill of the game and lets me know I'm shooting when I can't look at my gun to see the paint come out, the epiphany offers that just a little kick, but not so much that it ruins shots.
Conclusion: Buy it! I can't reccomend this gun enough. If you are teetering on the edge just buy this gun, I give you my guarantee you won't look back. Many people comment on this gun and some knock it some love it, ignore all that, all you need to know is that this is a solid gun that is amazing. I can't describe how good it feels to unload a case with this gun. The customization options, the feel, the trigger (gees), the look, and the price all make this the gun to get. I can't imagine playing a game of paintball without my epiphany ever again.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media