paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany

Smart Parts Epiphany Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Epiphany

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Epiphany
[ View Photos (37) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 114
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Smart Parts Epiphany builds on the world-class, field-proven performance of the Ion. With new features and improved consistency, it is set to take a new, intermediate-level position in the Smart Parts marker line.

Smart Parts re-wrote the book on entry-level markers when it released the Ion. Never before could players get the blistering performance of a true electro pneumatic while only facing an entry-level price tag. The Epiphany is the next evolutionary step forward for the Ion design concept.

The heart of the Epiphany is a paintball first � an adjustable volume fire chamber. Color-coded inserts are used to alter the amount of gas the Epiphany stores in its fire chamber. This flexibility allows the Epiphany fire chamber volume to be reduced while maintaining full velocity. With a smaller fire chamber, the Epiphany valve can recharge faster, protecting it from shoot-down or undesired velocity fluctuations when the player is shooting 15 or more rounds per second.

Built on the solid foundation of Smart Parts Ion technology, the Epiphany brings new features to the player � features not found in many "high end" paintball guns, let alone those that can come anywhere close to the Epiphany's price tag. The new features include:

Adjustable volume fire chamber for velocity stability at high rates of fire
All-metal body, feedneck and grip frame construction
Super-light, fast-acting bolt
Enhanced solenoid valve
Super-light magnesium alloy body, grip frame and trigger
Conical trigger bearing which eliminates side to side trigger slop
Break-beam Vision anti-chop technology
Interchangeable bore barrel � standard
Ergonomically designed trigger frame built to be walked
Three-point trigger adjustment
Integrated air rail
Rail-mounted on/off ASA
High level of Ion compatibility
The last feature on the list should be one of the most prominent. Many Epiphany assemblies can be interchanged with Ion parts. Epiphany owners can make use of many existing aftermarket accessories, and Ion owners can upgrade to Epiphany-level performance. Providing continued value to our customers is natural, because we believe that equipment counts.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Epiphany is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12
        Next Page
MadAsian Dude Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS (not as good as Epiphany but then again it is a low end electronic marker)
Ion (its rly similar to epiphany but i only use the ion one game)
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS:
-All American Barrel 16'
-VL Revolution Tripod
-CenterFlag 47/3000psi Tank

Smart Parts Epiphany:
-Smart Parts Teardrp Barrel
-Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel
-Halo B Loader w Ripdrive
-CenterFlag 47/3000psi Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New feedneck (ASAP)
Strengths: Looks great
Accurate
Can take a beating
Weaknesses: feedneck
electronics (I just dont like how u have to adjust it)
Review: After having my Spyder for about a year or so i decide to get a better marker than that one. My friend had got his ion a while ago and it looks/works great. So when the new epiphany came out i was very interested in getting it since its from Smart Parts and the Ion had such a good reputation. So after alot of research i finally decide to get it.

It was everything i thought it would be when i first got it. I only had a little bit of air left but when i fired it it was fairly accurate and i could pull the trigger alot faster than i can on my spyder.

About a month after i get it i finally had the oppotunity to use it at a indoor pb place near my house. It worked great for the entire day and i think i broke like 2 or 3 pb in the barrel. It was very accurate and i can just let it rip.

Then i joined an outdoor scenario to test out my gun further. I bought a Teardrop Barrel to increase the fire power of my gun and i was ready to go. The one concern i had with my gun was that i was afride water might get into the electronics and the gun could be ruined. I dropped it in the snow at least 20 times and nothing happened to it at all. It still fired great and fully functional. The gun itself is also really tough consider i dropped it so many times. The one thing that really upset me was the feedneck. The first time i dropped it i slipped really hard on the ice and the hopper just came flying off the feedneck so i lost half of my pb rit there. No matter how hard i pushed it in the hopper just comes off as soon as i get into some rough play. So i finally found someone who was kind enough to give me some tape so i could tape the thing on the feedneck. After that i had no problem with it at all. I was impressed with the addition of the Teardrop to my gun. Even under windy condition the gun still shoot the pbs fairly accurately. There was a lil bit of curve but that was expected. The one thing i didn't really get to test out was new functions of the Epiphany like the expansion chamber. I didn't have time to change or adjust it and i havn't taken my gun completely apart yet.

But overall i think this is a great gun to get, if u are going to buy it u should definitly get a new feedneck for sure.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone who is just starting pb, its a good casual gun as well. I think it works great both indoors and outdoors.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

m@stermynd Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LCD
Angel IR3
Angel Speed
Shocker
ION
Marker Setup: Freak Barrell
Q-Lock Feedneck
Smart Parts Angle Drop Forward
Halo B Smoke Hopper
Air America 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Locking Feedneck
Strengths: 1. Price.
2. Accuracy.
3. Stability.
4. Eyes.
5. Barrel.
6. Trigger.
Weaknesses: 1. None Noted.
Review: This gun looks great. I found the gun to be light compared to my Angel's and very solid feeling. I have the blue version. I hope they come out with an all black version. That's my only complaint. Some of us don't really want a silver metallic gun.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a great gun to bridge the gap between entry leverl and tournament grade, this is it. You will hold you own against any gun out there with the EPI. I've played paintball for 20 years and have played with the best. I reiterate, for the price, this is the best paintball gun you can buy today. It's not just an up'd ION. It's a redesign with components from the ION and Shocker and that's right where this gun plays. Between an ION a Shocker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

mrbillwebb Thursday, March 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, DM's, Ions
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail
18" Two piece Ultralite .688 bore
CP On/Off
Aluminum Bolt Cap
so lite

Spyder Imagine, 16 inch SP All American .688 bore
48/3000 pure energy steel tank, revy loader w/ x board
Delrin bolt, pilot acs trigger frame, shocktech lpc., drop forward.
weighs a ton...
'04 Prostock Autococker, E1 Eblade with Zero b board
18 inch two piece SP All American .688 bore
Orracle CT 3-way, Chipley Custom Machine Ram
Slik Pull Pin, Orracle delron two-piece bolt
CP On/Off Rail
Also weighs a ton...
Recommended
Upgrades:
New feed neck, probably use a lighter hopper like a Vlocity Jr and a light tank
Strengths: So freakin accurate and fairly fast
Weaknesses: It's an ion mostly, a heavy one with a heavier tag
Review: I took this thing out of the pro shop and shot a hopper plus a little more. The stock barrel is sick, I loved how accurate it was and hit wonderfully down range with an incredibly tight patten. What you will like- It's fast enough for the average pb player, it's very accurate, and I didn't chop while shooting so I'm sure you'll like that. The all metal body and frame is strong and durable. It's attractive as well. What you won't like- For 400 bucks, you are getting a nice up'd ion, a heavy one, the all metal construction makes it pretty heavy compared to its less expesive brother, It has the same board as the original ion with a few convenient upgrades that would make me choose it over an ion for the 200 dollar difference.
Conclusion: It's an incredible gun, great price, I would recommend that you personally test it yourself and compare it with like guns (the PMR or a Mini perhaps), I myself tried all three and chose the PMR because of the weight and speed I got with the PMR as well as it's maker's reputation, I thought I was getting more for my money and I did. The guys with the 1200 dollar guns might want to pick this up as a very nice backup. I do recomment that anything you buy that is attatched to the gun be the lightest one you can find since the gun is moderately heavy. It almost got a 7 for being too close to an ion and its weight, but I'll give her an 8 for it's accuracy and consistency.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

blimpygopop Monday, February 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion

Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany,
Halo B,
Draxxus 4500/68 ci,
Dye tank cover,
Smart Parts Blackheart board and eyes
Recommended
Upgrades:
Blackheart Board
Strengths: Accurate, Fast, Looks, Smooth trigger
Weaknesses: Kinda heavy, Similar to Ion
Review: This gun is nothing like an ion. It is a little bit heavier than an ion but most of it is metal so wut do u expect. This marker`s trigger is nice. I experienced no problem shooting ropes. When i go to play everyone keeps asking why i bought it cuz they say its like an ion, but when they shot it they all wanted one, even the ion owners say it is better than an ion.
Conclusion: Get it, it is a very good gun and when your playing against ego's and DM6's, it will keep up just as good as them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

corndog007 Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months151 of 156 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, Spyder Piot, Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany(Red), Freak Barrel(not the standard one that comes with it), Trinity Clamping Feed Neck, Dye Mini Drop, Dye ASA, Halo B, Pure Energy 48ci 3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly New Feed Neck
Strengths: Low Operating Pressure, 17+bps, Compatible with Ion, Great ASA, Looks, Great Stock Barrel
Weaknesses: Not really any unless you feel you need a clamping feed neck
Review: Flys like a Butterfly but Stings like a Bee

Hello, once again. Today I will be reviewing the Smart Parts Epiphany Electro Pneumatic Paintball Marker. What does Electro Pneumatic mean? Well pneumatic literally means powered by air and electro means, well electric. Let's piece it together in "plain" English. The Smart Parts Epiphany, which is powered by electricity and uses air to fire the paintball, Paintball Gun. My review will be broken down into 5 sections hitting all of the main points about the product and I will also include some hints about how to keep your gun performing and will answer any questions you may have if you leave a comment on my review asking me a question about the marker.
The Main Sections
1. A Short Story
2. Construction
3. Performance
4. Pros and Cons
5. Overall

A Short Story

A long time ago in a state far far away a paintball player who goes by the alias of corndog007 went paintballing. That was a couple of months ago somewhere in California, oh lets say SC Village. I had recently purchased my Epiphany to replace my broken Ion the day before. When me and my fried Troy(his name is protected for legal purposes) locked and loaded our markers at the field and I walked to the shooting range exclaiming wait till you see my new gun in action but for now I am going to test it at the shooting range because I had yet to fire it. I stood there in awe ready to fire thinking this is going to be the greatest moment of my life. I pulled the trigger and I heard the familiar click of the trigger being pulled without any air in the gun. I almost cried thinking I had just bought a $400 gun and it didn't work and the week before my beloved ion broke. I thought to myself stay calm its all right many of the greatest weapons in modern history had faulty tests. The first Stinger missile fired was a dud and the M-16 jammed very easily during its test firing. I examined my marker and turned it in no-vision mode and pulled the trigger. It worked. A huge weight had just fallen off my back. That narrowed the problem to the eyes. I went back to the pits and disassembled the marker which I was very familiar with(the same as an Ion disassembly) and found that the eyes were not aligned. I corrected the problem and walked back to the firing range and turned the vision mode on. I pulled the very comfortable trigger and it fired. I fired a few more balls to make sure I wasn't dreaming. The day was a blast and my Epiphany had no more problems.

Construction

The Epiphany is basically an Ion on steroids, a lot of steroids. The marker features an improved solenoid capable of handling a slightly higher amount of psi(250psi is normal and 280psi is the max your marker should have), a better stock barrel(Freak Jr. with the worst insert(.693) so you might need an insert kit). Don't let the name fool you a Freak Jr. is the same barrel as a Freak with not as much customization. All Freak parts are compatible with the Freak Jr. Also the Epiphany is running an aluminum frame, which is much more durable and rugged than the Ion's pot metal frame. This feature is why the epiphany gained my interest since I recently stripped the gauge out of my Ion. The Epiphany also looks awesome. I purchased the Red Epiphany. Although in many of the pictures the Red Epiphany looks pink, in person the Red Epiphany is pure Red. It looks much like a bright red Corvette. The feed neck is also improved on the Epiphany. It can now hold a Halo. I still bought a clamping feed neck though because it just didn't look safe with only two o-rings. Another great feature of the Epiphany is the trigger. It has no sway like the Ion trigger and is literally perfect. The trigger fits everyone. It is flat like an Angel trigger and at the same time has a sense of the trigger grooves like the one on the Ion. The Epiphany also looks great and is compatible with all of the Ion parts. The virtue board, the body kits(but who would do that), the regulators, the feed necks etc.

Performance

The Epiphany comes ready to rock out of the box with 17+bps, which can actually be achieved with the trigger that comes stock, unlike the Spyder Pilot, which is stock with 20+bps "RIGHT", like you can actually achieve that with the Pilot. You would be lucky to hit 5 bps with the Pilot on semi. The trigger pull on the Epiphany is actually lighter than a feather. No Really. Once this thing gets going its impossible to stop. It's like touching nothing and anyone can walk the marker right out of the box. The barrel is actually the best barrel I have seen come on a $400 marker. It rivals that of the Dye Ultralite that comes stock with the DM7. This marker is accurate, fast, tough, reliable, lightweight, and can be upgraded like no tomorrow. (This has nothing to do with the performance and I didn't know were to put it but it deserves to be mentioned). The Epiphany comes with a killer box. At least mine did. I got the White Box Dealer Pre Release. It came complete with thorough directions on how to maintain your marker, egg carton padding, 2 inserts to get the perfect air velocity in your gun for indoor or outdoor play, and a parts package(contains extra o-rings, Allen wrenches, a wrench to adjust your markers velocity, and a spare hose for your banjo fittings).

Pros and Cons

Pros
o Looks Awesome
o Ready to Fire at 17+bps out of the box
o Great Price($400) for something that performs so good
o Compatible with the Ion
o Best Trigger on a stock marker
o Very Customizable
o Comes with better Box than Ion(SEE: In Performance section)
o Feedneck actually fits hoppers(still may want to replace)
o Easy to maintain and clean(please clean your gun ever time after you go, If you take care of it off the field it will take care of you on the field)
o Lightweight, Compact
o Two Break Beam Eyes often referred to as Vision that prevents chopping paint
o Great Stock Barrel(Freak Jr.)
o Fires a lot of paint real fast, real accurate
o Low Pressure Marker
o Did I mention it looks Awesome

Cons

o May want to purchase new feedneck
o WARNING: May cause extreme shock and awe
o Fires a lot of paint real fast
o Need High Performance Hopper

Overall

Overall, this marker, The Smart Parts Epiphany, performs the duty of a high end electronic paintball marker for a reasonable price. It delivers extreme firepower with pinpoint accuracy(for a paintball gun) and uses very little air. The reason most people say this is an air eater is because it fires so fast and you don't even realize how fast you are shooting. The marker looks great and fires great with the lightest, shortest trigger pull in the world.

If you have any more questions about this marker that I have not answered then please send me a comment on this review and I will gladly answer it to help you make your decision on buying the Epiphany.

corndog007

P.S. Its as real as it gets.
Conclusion: Looks great, Fires Great, Is Great
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 5th, 2007 at 3:56 pm PST
I found this review  
35 Comments - Add Comment

pb boi Wednesday, February 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
upped ion
Marker Setup: angel 05 speed
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck, barrel if u have the money
Strengths: Accuracy, speed
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: I bought this gun and i was surprised at what it could do, i started by shootin it in my backyard and then took it to the local field and it was keeping up with angels n egos ect. then i went back to the ion and i found huge differences in the two stock guns that the ion is way out of the epiphany`s league and that people dont know what they are talking about when they say its the same as ion. this guns is much better and more capable then the ion and it also deserves more respect then people give it.
Conclusion: i think this is a great gun to buy for beginers or even more competative players. heading into hardcore tournaments and so on. GREAT BUY!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kills4fun_101 Saturday, February 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
the ion DM6 angel bob long
Marker Setup: i have a coil on it and i just got
Recommended
Upgrades:
arent that many but from what i've heard u should think about investing into a q-lock
Strengths: Trigger (very smooth and easy to rip with) the stock barrel
Weaknesses: The weakness is really only the feed neck. The hopper wobbles a bit
Review: This gun is like an ion but buffer and a little bit heavier but its most of it is metal so wut do u expect? but the gun on here is 400$ on ebay ive seen it for 350 and thats new so go for it great gun for the price and it looks exceptional i mean this gun is truly a work of art
Conclusion: this is very good and i too am going to buy one in a couple months. So if your looking for a good gun and not to expensive at that PICK THIS UP!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

bamboi128 Friday, February 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Primary: Dye DM5, VLocity w/ lucky chip, Max-Flo micro w/ cp 48/4500 stubby, M6 chip, TopHat mod, Orange Bolt.

Backup: Smart Parts Epiphany, Halo V35, Virtue Board, PMI 45/4500, Freak Kit, Blue CP shorty reg, Blue q-lock, hybrid grips.

Recommended
Upgrades:
Reg
Clamping Feed
Trigger (not for me, i love the stock)
Insert Kit
Strengths: Fast
Freak Junior
Light enough
Efficient enough
Weaknesses: Ion on steriods
Price
Review: I use my sponsors gun's for back up and recently i used their epiphany. it was decent, the main weakness was that it had an ion reputation. After i played with it thought, people were in love with it. Its a good gun, but i would reccomend a DM5 over it any day.
Conclusion: Decent, but u have to ROCK with it in order to live down the ion reputation.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

luisfonsib Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have owned them all they where not just tested.
1.PM5
2.Fusion
3.Infamous
4.05Ego Red an Blue
5.Ion
6.Impulse
7.Shocker Red
8.Karnivor
9.Angel G7
10.PMR
11.05 Ego Blue and Red
12.Angel 1
13.Shocker Blue
14.mini
15.Spyder Xtra
16.Spyder Sport
Marker Setup: White Epiphany
45/45 or 68/45
Halo B or Pulse
Recommended
Upgrades:
1.QEV
2.Virtue Board
3.Virtue lazer Eyes if you want to see the eyes working
Strengths: 1.Accuracy
2.Trigger
3.looks
4.On/Off
5.Body
6.Freak
Weaknesses: 1.Feedneck
2.little heavy
3.maintenance
Review: The GOOD
I bought this gun yesterday and i went today to play and i tested this thing and its really nice. The first thing that i noticed is that the trigger is great it is very adjustable and it doesn't have side to side movement, then the feel of the gun is very comfortable, since the new grip frame has been redesigned.The new body is just amazing its beautiful i love how they made it. Then the reg body is made out of metal and it doesnt move to the sides(unlike the old ion reg ) when you hold it. The new ion power button is much better than the one before, now you can actually feel when the button is pressed. One of the best things is that it comes with a firebolt which reduces kick by a lot, and it also comes with an on/off, and a Freak.I got a freak with a white barrel back which looks very darn sexy: Also one of the new improvements to the gun is that now you can change inserts in the chamber of the gun very usefull with some upgrades like QEV's and some other bolts.NOw the board has instant on (Push the button and you got instant on)

The BAD
The maintenance is still the same nightmare that it was before . Having to unscrew the whole frame+ taking out the board+ dissasemble the banjo fittings + QEV's + opening the breach to have acces to the bolt really sux. I wish that they had made something to acces the bolt more easier.
Stock Board is decent but reaching the desired BPS requieres the manual so that you can adjust the Dwell and ROF.
Conclusion: People often say that its very heavy, but they also said that the original ion was made of plastic. Don't hear what everyone else says buy the gun that you like Ive owned about every gun out there and i love my epiphany.Having a smart parts gun i know that i will never have a problem getting parts for it if it breaks down because their parts are very common and easy to get.overall i think this is a great gun it has all the speed and board features that you need to start playing tournaments.Its also very darn sexy and good looking buy this or a PMR they are very good too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nonamejones Wednesday, January 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion almost the same
wgp trilogy pro s/f
Marker Setup: ion with qev and firebolt 14"proto one peice
stock trilogy pro s/f
stock 07 pmr
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
Strengths: Dead sexy looks
Proven platform
Freak barrel
Most popular ion upgrades included
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Weight
Review: Ive been salivating over this marker for months now and my local store finally got some in so i run like a mad man through town to pick one up i walked through the door and there it was in all its polished aluminum and white glory outshining every marker in the joint .So i wait in line for 15 agonizing minutes to get my hands on it then finally its my turn.Suddenly the world comes crashing down around me.This thing is freaking heavy oh well its the best looking thing in paintball. Upon further examination i see 2 horrible flaws that i cant believe have been left out.The front bottom of the reg hangs down a bit(look at the picture you'll see it)and is sharp enough to shave with also right underneath the barrel same thing.I dont know about yall but i get pretty rough during a game and could only imagine what was going to happen there as my finger naturally rests around the bottom of the reg.I proceed out back to fire it a few times let me tell you it was sweet.Everything i expected and more except for the fact that Smartparts in their infinite wisdom kept the same crap feedneck after upgrading everything else on the ion. Maybe they were busy sharpening the reg and overlooked it.I was also slightly disappointed in the rate of fire.It has basically a blackheart board.So given the bang for the book factor and the you'll cut your fingers off thoughts i laid her down and took out the shiny red pmr in the corner we'll save that story for another time.
Conclusion: Although i didn't purchase it i strongly feel that this is a great gun.I would like to see sp address the very few issues i had with it. Overall i give it a solid 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media