paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany

Smart Parts Epiphany Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Epiphany

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Epiphany
[ View Photos (37) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 114
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Smart Parts Epiphany builds on the world-class, field-proven performance of the Ion. With new features and improved consistency, it is set to take a new, intermediate-level position in the Smart Parts marker line.

Smart Parts re-wrote the book on entry-level markers when it released the Ion. Never before could players get the blistering performance of a true electro pneumatic while only facing an entry-level price tag. The Epiphany is the next evolutionary step forward for the Ion design concept.

The heart of the Epiphany is a paintball first � an adjustable volume fire chamber. Color-coded inserts are used to alter the amount of gas the Epiphany stores in its fire chamber. This flexibility allows the Epiphany fire chamber volume to be reduced while maintaining full velocity. With a smaller fire chamber, the Epiphany valve can recharge faster, protecting it from shoot-down or undesired velocity fluctuations when the player is shooting 15 or more rounds per second.

Built on the solid foundation of Smart Parts Ion technology, the Epiphany brings new features to the player � features not found in many "high end" paintball guns, let alone those that can come anywhere close to the Epiphany's price tag. The new features include:

Adjustable volume fire chamber for velocity stability at high rates of fire
All-metal body, feedneck and grip frame construction
Super-light, fast-acting bolt
Enhanced solenoid valve
Super-light magnesium alloy body, grip frame and trigger
Conical trigger bearing which eliminates side to side trigger slop
Break-beam Vision anti-chop technology
Interchangeable bore barrel � standard
Ergonomically designed trigger frame built to be walked
Three-point trigger adjustment
Integrated air rail
Rail-mounted on/off ASA
High level of Ion compatibility
The last feature on the list should be one of the most prominent. Many Epiphany assemblies can be interchanged with Ion parts. Epiphany owners can make use of many existing aftermarket accessories, and Ion owners can upgrade to Epiphany-level performance. Providing continued value to our customers is natural, because we believe that equipment counts.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Epiphany is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12
        Next Page
DaltonChaotic Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix, Autococker Trilogy, Smart Parts Ion, and lots of low-end markers
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany (Blue)
Dye mini drop
Freak barrel system
NDZ feed neck
4500 crossfire HP tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
As soon as possible buy a feed neck
Strengths: trigger
Looks
ASA on/off
barrel
most ion parts will fit
the manual very informative
Weaknesses: advertised color of barrel back
Body had small imperfections
Manual just stapled together
Review: This marker`s trigger is nice. I experienced no problem shooting ropes. I found using a small drop made the marker well balanced. It also seems to be as efficient as advertised. This truly is a nice marker and the simple truth is that if it was released last year as the first Ion everyone would be drooling all over it.

My biggest complaint is about the barrel back. In every picture on the web, including Smart parts website, the barrel back matched the marker color. Mine did not. It came in black instead of blue. Smart Parts was contacted, and they claimed to not have any idea why the photos are showing matched barrels. They said all Freak barrel backs are black. False advertising, and nicks and chips on marker. Thats why I have to give it a 9.
Conclusion: Dont hate this marker because its cheap and can keep up with Angels and Timmys. It truly is everything you could ask for from a $1000 marker. I mean $400 marker. Dont expect a color matched barrel back though.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 23rd, 2007 at 6:02 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

Bobcandy Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Marker Setup: Ion
Hybrid Feed neck and grip
redline bottomline
Lucky 15 berral set
Recommended
Upgrades:
N/A not to many still a new gun
Strengths: Fast
Clean
Accrite
Durable
Like an Ion
Weaknesses: Just a Little Heavy
Asa to close to grip
Trigger wobbles
Feed neck
Review: I tested this at my freinds place,he owns a paintball shop. He called me over to get my opinion on it. I loaded up and he brought out an Anti Siphoned Co2 tank. I asked him about it and he said he had troubles with the tanks hitting the bottom of the grip with their gauge. He didnt have any without a gauge to use. So i shot off a few rounds and like it. The trigger is like my ion trigger just a little wabble to left and right. The Metal Body does add some weight to it but the performance is deffinantly on the up side. The thing about this gun is.. its supposed to be like the ion. A affordable high performance gun. Smartparts asked why change a good thing. Any way a new bottom line, feedneck, and trigger and its set to go. The best part was it was acting like the NXT Shocker i tryed the week before but was about 1/3 the price:).
Conclusion: All in all this gun is preaty much good to go from box all my opinion on everything else. Deffinantly consider this gun if your looking at an Ion and have the money because with all the upgrades to your Ion it will preform like this but cost more.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smartpartsoulja Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 45 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion (A LOT BETTER)
Tippy 98c (SUCKS)
Mokal Fokus (SUCKS EVEN MORE)
Marker Setup: Currently ordering an Ion to replace my epi
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new gun
Strengths: Cool Body Freak Barrel Has upgrades on it
Weaknesses: Leaks, chops, bad trigger, slow rate of fire, needs a bore
Review: Dont get this gun. It is weird and will eat your air. Igive it a 5/10 because it is very dissapointing to use and own. Just get an ion and up it or get the redz ion. This gun is not what I expected and I am very disappoined in Smart Parts.
Conclusion: Dont get this gun. Looks cool, but not worth the hefty price tag
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 31st, 2007 at 8:59 am PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Meicken84 Thursday, January 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested12 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Ion, Proto Rail,
Marker Setup: Proto Rail 07, Empire B Loader, 71-3000 PMI HPA. Dye 2 piece UL Barrel. and lots of paint.
Recommended
Upgrades:
More inserts, use HPA, Locking Feed neck.
Strengths: Cool Looks, Closed Bolt, Low Maintenance. Semi-consisant
Weaknesses: Heavy, Lobbs the balls @ 285 fps. On/Off ASA is pointless.
Review: I Tested the SP Epiphany and the Proto Matrix Rail 07 before i decided to buy.

I began with th Proto rail.. same price, very light. great stock.. no need for on/off asa. closed bolt shoots straight and is a consistent shot. I like the grip on it. Its easier to clear out balls and remove your tank with the proto handle. The Epiphany handle only has a difficult to use on/off button.

Next the SP Epiphany.

Heavy, Very noticeable. the balls seemed to drop and lob a bit more. More so like my tippman. Although the ROF is very similar to that of the proto.

The SP had a sweet looking body but i felt that you should sacrifice the looks and grab an ion and make a few upgrades. plus.. whats to say.. Its black today..tomorrow you can make it white.. its that easy. customizable
Conclusion: 425$ from the manufacturer isn't bad. I just feel that the buyers money would be better off spent with the SP Ion and make a few small upgrades. if you wanna spend the money for a 400$ gun.. the only guns in that range that i can think of are the proto rail, epiphany and omen... i say Proto.. Sorry SP Fans.

Ultimately - Find a Shop to shoot the markers for yourself. Putting the gun in your hand can change your mind. and being able to shoot it furthermore will change your mind. Personal feel and performance are the mainstay of any purchase. I was told by my new shop.. "Do you buy a car before Test-Driving it?" this is an investment that should take a lot of consideration unless your starting out with woods ball which you should just but a tippman ...lol... but. good luck all...
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 25th, 2007 at 11:17 am PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Gpruner Monday, January 22nd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested14 of 94 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
upped ion
poorly tuned Matrix
Marker Setup: 68/4500 nitro duck
DRXS pulse
692 bore Dye UL Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
N/A
Strengths: Fast
Easy to work on and clean
Some what light
Weaknesses: Bad silionoid
not very accurate

Review: Ok all this is a really upgraded Ion nothing else. the marker itsis based on the silonoid it is VERY hard and expensive to fix when broken its a the company made there own silionoid . Other then that it is not a bad marker . And to top that off the rubber rips off
Conclusion: Way over priced
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
30 Comments - Add Comment

Bizzy377 Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
ION W/Freak Barrel, 45/45 pure energy tank. Halo b Hopper w/Rip Drive.
Marker Setup: Epiphany w/qlock Feed neck, "SAME AS ABOVE"
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feed neck!!!! NEW FEED NECK!!! and a virtue board if possible.
Strengths: Very nice looking and steardy. Pretty light not as light as the shocker but good
Weaknesses: Wish it had more modes rather than having the same as an ion.
Review: Once i got the SP Epiphany i was wondering to myself was it a wise choice being that everyone is saying is justa juiced up ion. However once i saw it my eyes got watery...

This gun looks like the future... The trigger is bananas so smooth and the body it self is very very nice. All you need to do is just get a new board (VIRTUE) QEV and you have yourself a marker that can compete with the best. (IN MY OPINION) i will eventually move on to the shocker family but for now ill stick to the epiphany for a few years.

AGAIN sick gun sick looking gun and it shoots like a sick gun!! lol...
Conclusion: This gun is a mid level gun and its a gun that wil hold you down. I recomend it!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PestyPoet Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month26 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel '05 Speed (tested) -- of course an Angel's amazing
Ion (tested) -- close, but not close

Tippmann A-5 E-grip -- Epiphany > A-5 (electrical or mechanical)
Marker Setup: White Epiphany (and wow, it's white!)
Egg III
68/4500

Tippmann A-5 E-grip
Expansion Chamber
Flatline
14" J&J Ceramic
Double Trigger
Ricochet R-5 Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly a new feedneck
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Compact
Lightweight
Sturdy
Freak Jr.
Very easy operation
Easy to walk the trigger
Weaknesses: Possibly the feedneck (see review)
Eyes, kinda (see review)
Review: I may be judging my Epiphany a little harshly because I'm used to my indestructible Tippmann A-5. However, when I play with my Epiphany, I am sad that I spent so much money on my A-5.

I took my Epiphany out for its premier trial at my local paintball field and was amazed at the performance. It wasn't perfect out of the box, but after 10 minutes of fiddling/tweaking, it was perfect for the day.

Two things concerned me at first:
(1) When I aired up my marker, there was a slight hiss/leak from the regulator. After 10 seconds, the hissing stopped and never came back. Even after re-pressurizing the marker at later dates for more playing.
(2) At the local field the workers chrono, and because my marker shot too high out of the box, it chopped the first or second ball while they chrono'd--which sprayed on the eyes. Of course, this could happen to any marker with eyes. I turned the eyes off and played one game, and the eyes worked fine for the rest of the day. Later, I disassembled the marker to thoroughly clean the eyes just in case there was paint left, and the entire process took me only 10 minutes.

The marker is the most accurate marker I have ever shot, and I have a hard time believing that anyone could be picky enough to not find it accurate enough. Concerning the "gas-hog" rumor, I shot a case of 2000 with _less than_ two tank-fulls (68/4500). Also, the Epiphany comes with inserts for the firing chamber to allow the marker to reach the optimum efficiency in any situation. As for the feedneck, my Egg III fit perfectly and never moved/fell out. I had absolutely _no_ problems; however, the feedneck only uses two O-rings to grip the hopper and eventually, an O-ring will break. I don't know if getting a different feedneck is better, but if you have the money, it might be worth it.

There were two things that greatly impressed me about this marker:
(1) I have never shot any marker as fast as I shot my Epiphany. Ever. For what it's worth, my local pb field is reffed by tournament players, and all of them either complimented how easy walking the trigger is (especially after setting the trigger exactly the way you want it using the trigger's three-point setup), how fast the marker ripped, how light it was, or how sweet it looked.
(2) The first time I played with it was after a huge rainstorm, and so it was mud/flood paintball. I was extremely nervous about playing with my new marker, but thought that after owning an A-5, the Epiphany better hold its own. Even though I and the Epiphany were soaked and covered in mud, the marker never had a problem.

As for my performance through the day, either I played the best paintball I've ever played or the Epiphany helped my game quite a bit.
Conclusion: I recommend the Epiphany to anyone that wants a high-end electronic marker for less than $500. I especially love it because it comes stock with everything you need, and upgrading is more about personal style than marker performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 15th, 2007 at 2:53 pm PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

pb_guy Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion
shocker- better
Marker Setup: esprit
7* forwarsd lpr
bob long expansion chamber
feed neck
14" 2 piece barrel
boo-yah drop forward
on/off
68ci 3000psi N2 tank
evil venturi bolt
halo tsa led hopper
16" J&J ceramic
68/3000 crossfire tank

Recommended
Upgrades:
Just get a new feedneck the one it comes with is bad, but will work with bad hoppers.
Strengths: Light.
Looks.
Smooth trigger, doesn't move side to side.
Acurate.
cheap price.
Weaknesses: The feedneck is bad.
Review: When i was asked if i wanted to test it, i said sure and i just loved it. So i used it for a torney, and for fun a few time, it was just so light and smooth and very accurate, i asked how much is it going to be when it comes out and they said 450 dollars and i said whoa that is eally good, this is a good gun.
Conclusion: for the price of 450 dollars i would get this gun and just put a new feedneck and if you have a gun i would get it for the back up, its a pretty good gun and cheap. I WOULD GET IT!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb_madness Friday, December 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion(not as good)
Marker Setup: SP ion black
Freak, and All American barrel
Q-lock feedneck
virtue board
CP in-line regulator
Critical Ion Roller bearing trigger

Blue epiphany
blue q-lock
halob
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
asa
Strengths: Easy walking trigger
Accurete
Quiet
Rreally fast
Consistant
Metal body
freak barrel included
Weaknesses: Kind of like an ion
Has stock ion board

Review: I've had the epiphany for a little bit less than a month now and i am surprised that it is soo easy to walk the trigger and it was soo consistant and accurete. When i first bought it the gun looked pretty nice, but i've heard that that it was exactly like the ion. So i was kind of worried but when i when in paintball city to play with it. i couldn't see why people didn't like it and it was kind of like an ion but alot better and it wasn't alot of money.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone that wants to up grade from an ion becuase it is almost 100% compatible with the ion. I would also recomend this gun for people thinking of getting a back up gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 30th, 2006 at 6:15 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

tippyman7 Friday, December 29th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion, dm5, pmr
Marker Setup: A ion maxd, w/ evry possible upgrade, including virtue board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
same as ion
Strengths: Metal body, upped trigger, good gun.
Weaknesses: Overpriced.
Review: After firing this marker at the local paintball shop all i can say is i was dissapointed. This is an overpriced ion with metal body, nd some other upgrades. Ya it has inserts for air efficiency, but it is no more efficient than the ion, because they raised the opersating pressure 100psi. So its probaly less efficient even with the inserts. It fires exactly the same as an ion, but has a better trigger. It shoots ropes quite nicely, and i like it more than the pmr. One improvement i noticed is in the trigger frame, it doesnt really have as much side to side play as the ion, but this can also be fixed on the ion.
Conclusion: I do not think that is worth the 200 over the ion, but it is still great is a paintball marker, if overpriced. Good gun, just not for me though, i would recommend the ion, and use the extra money to upgrade that.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 1st, 2007 at 9:53 am PST
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media