paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany / Smart Parts Epiphany

Smart Parts Epiphany Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Epiphany

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Epiphany
[ View Photos (37) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 114
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $275

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Smart Parts Epiphany builds on the world-class, field-proven performance of the Ion. With new features and improved consistency, it is set to take a new, intermediate-level position in the Smart Parts marker line.

Smart Parts re-wrote the book on entry-level markers when it released the Ion. Never before could players get the blistering performance of a true electro pneumatic while only facing an entry-level price tag. The Epiphany is the next evolutionary step forward for the Ion design concept.

The heart of the Epiphany is a paintball first � an adjustable volume fire chamber. Color-coded inserts are used to alter the amount of gas the Epiphany stores in its fire chamber. This flexibility allows the Epiphany fire chamber volume to be reduced while maintaining full velocity. With a smaller fire chamber, the Epiphany valve can recharge faster, protecting it from shoot-down or undesired velocity fluctuations when the player is shooting 15 or more rounds per second.

Built on the solid foundation of Smart Parts Ion technology, the Epiphany brings new features to the player � features not found in many "high end" paintball guns, let alone those that can come anywhere close to the Epiphany's price tag. The new features include:

Adjustable volume fire chamber for velocity stability at high rates of fire
All-metal body, feedneck and grip frame construction
Super-light, fast-acting bolt
Enhanced solenoid valve
Super-light magnesium alloy body, grip frame and trigger
Conical trigger bearing which eliminates side to side trigger slop
Break-beam Vision anti-chop technology
Interchangeable bore barrel � standard
Ergonomically designed trigger frame built to be walked
Three-point trigger adjustment
Integrated air rail
Rail-mounted on/off ASA
High level of Ion compatibility
The last feature on the list should be one of the most prominent. Many Epiphany assemblies can be interchanged with Ion parts. Epiphany owners can make use of many existing aftermarket accessories, and Ion owners can upgrade to Epiphany-level performance. Providing continued value to our customers is natural, because we believe that equipment counts.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Epiphany is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
ChaosMouse Sunday, April 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Upped Ion (tested, one of my friends)
Spyder pilot ACS stock (one of my friends also, this gun blows it out of the water)
Marker Setup: Epiphany, 48/3000 pure energy N2, Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q Lock Feedneck,
360 QEV,
Barrel insert (.693 is okay, but you can get more speed and stuff from a smaller insert...)
Maybe a new board but only if you're going pro... ; )
Strengths: Shoots fast
Trigger
Metal!
ASA on/off
Barrel
17 bps
Weaknesses: I had a little leaking, but it was my fault, so none really
Review: Got the gun used from a friend of mine for 100 bucks, and What a deal!!!
had no major problems, but every time you chop a ball you have to open the whole thing... other than that the gun shoots great, easily walked trigger, wayyyyyy better than a spyder pilot acs, you need to upgrade the trigger on a spyder pilot just to be able to get 6 bps out of it...
Also better than an Ion, since the whole thing is metal and rubber

With this gun you can easily lay out ropes (or pretty darn close) right out of the box. if you get a qev and some other upgrades it'll shoot even better.
disassembly is pretty darn easy, but like I said chopping a ball sucks since you have to open it and take the board out, but a new body kit will fix all that.

comes with an Ion firebolt, a $40 upgrade
also comes with a freak jr. another $60
an on/off ASA that wont strip your tank threads, about $20
An AMAZING TRIGGER, lightest trigger pull I've ever felt, $15 at least
Volume inserts, another $40
and tons of other stuff
all in all, for about $200 (I got mine for $100) it definently outweighs all the competition in it's price range, with an all metal body, and comes basically upgraded stock.

also like I said I had a little leaking, but that was because I didnt screw on one of my banjos all the way, and also be careful on how you screw on your tank because if you do it wrong you'll break an O-ring every time... also my fault

just make sure if you open it that everything is tight before you close it and you'll be fine
Conclusion: Best gun I've ever shot, absolutely rips, if you're considering it, get it, you wont regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

astevens1854 Saturday, April 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: evolution 2, quick lock feedneck, 3000psi tank, freak back, and all american front barrel system,
Recommended
Upgrades:
quick lock feed neck,
Strengths: Very fast, Accurate, Barely any chopping, Easy to clean and maintain,

Weaknesses: Gets annoying to take of the grip to program, but keeps it clean, and feedneck
Review: I first started playing paintball in 8th grade, i played up until sophmore year of highschool, then i stopped playing until now. I was use to my spyder compact 2000 with a double trigger, and slanting feed. So i thought i would upgrade to an electronic gun to shoot faster and more accuracy. I searched around and i found this gun, and my jaw dropped. Once i got it in the mail, i was amazed with the design, and mechanics. I played with it last night, and i will never change my gun. It shoots so perfectly, and accurately. Also on the break it's easy to grip and run with, and its awesome when sliding or diving into the bunkers. It is such a nice gun, easy to maneuver around the bunkers to get clean shots. I would highly recommend this gun.
Conclusion: I give it a 9 because of everything i just said, but i took a point off due to the disassembly of the trigger grip, and feed neck they put on it. But all in all a great gun, and best purchase i ever made.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kamikaze_Pball Monday, April 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto SLG ( a little faster fort he same price)
Marker Setup: Stock epiphany, Halo Hopper, DXS 68 ci tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEEDNECK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Do something to fix the damn front grip.
Stock board could be better.
Strengths: programming, accuracy, speed, barrel is pretty sweet, LOOKS, not too heavy, trigger
Weaknesses: Feedneck, Front grip, Place where nitrogen screws in comes loose like crazy!
Review: So Right off the back the gun is great looking. Right out of te box it is a beautifull marker. I installed the 9 volt battery and went outside to shoot......plain old stock shot great on semi! I adjusted the trigger a bit and I was shooting ropes. The stock board works pretty great but it sucks 9 volts dry very quickly so carry plenty of batteries.

Now I reccomend highly that you read the manual before messing with the programming. I was trying to change firing modes and accidently screwed up the Dwell. When I got to the field that I was playing at it took me an hour before I read the manual and fixed it!

The feedneck is pretty much crap. I have no Idea what they were thinking when they made it, my halo hopper swivels on it. Also when you adjust the velocity of the gun the front grip loosens! It is a horribly anoying flaw but after a while of adjusting it can be fixed.
Conclusion: Good Gun
Good Price
Good board
Stock Barrel is great (may need a new bore depending on what pballs you use)
Grip is pretty annoying to adjust
Bad feedneck

overall very nice!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zacko23 Thursday, March 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion (a friend's marker). This is my first Electronic Marker.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany
Empire B2 Reloader
Crossfire HPA 68/4500
Freak Jr. Barrel System w/ Bore inserts
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed Neck
Bore Inserts for Freak Jr.
Strengths: Consistency
Usability
Look
Weaknesses: Stock Feed Neck is inadequate
Cleaning and maintence can be time consuming
Programming requires time
Review: It's a sharp looking gun and the stock grip is nice. the regulartor can be used as a supplemental support (using your left hand if you're a righty like me), The trigger has a nice feel and can be adjusted to your preferences. Adjusting the regulator is easy. The stock feed neck needs to be replace as my Empire B2 Loader would swivel while in the feed neck. The gun shoots rather accurately with the Freak Jr. bore inserts. The gun has little firing drop off with an HPA N2 Tank. In general i would suggest this marker. I feel that for the price it's a great value and i have (so far) felt no need to upgrade anything outside of the feedneck.
Conclusion: Great 'bang for your buck' if you are a recreational player like me. This gun has preformed well for me and i expect it to continue.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FISTFULLOFRODEO Monday, March 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2003 ICD BKO-misses on a few marks
2006 Smartparts ION-the same thing, only diffrent (Epiph is better)
2005 Autococker Trilogy pro- (slow) (epiph is better)
2005 Autococker Super Stock select fire-(awesome, but has many problems)
2005 Spyder Pilot ACS- (ok for someone who has never played paintball) (Epiph wins)
2007 PMR - Much better than epiphany once you add upgrades, however it will attack your wallet, and hates pretty much any form of c02
Marker Setup: Platinum Onyx Smartparts Epiphany
Blackheart board
Virtue eyes
Q-loc clamping feedneck
.689 freak insert
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck- (same diffrence as ion's feed neck)
Barrel insert- (comes with .693 bore, most rec balls roll right out)
Drop forward-(if you want)
Strengths: Common ion upgrades come stock.
Extremely solid feel compared to ion.
Price .
Weaknesses: Feedneck hasnt changed much over ion.
Barrel insert is a bit large.
Heavier than ion.
Review: The line up:

So about 5 months ago i sold my paintball gear in order to pay for (cough) college expenses while i was attending school. So finally last month i was shooting my friends BT4 and remembered, hey i have no gear now! oh joy! i get to go shop for new paintball gear.

Reason for buying:

i went right to looking into another ion, because i had owned one about a year ago and loved it. my decision was made rough by the low price tag of proto's new SLG and it came down to me needing about the same amount of cash to set up the cheaper ion as it would to get the SLG set up (barrel, trigger(ion), on/off asa, Feed neck) so i actually ran into the idea of an Epiphany the night i went to order an ion. i mis-clicked on the epiphany and was astounded at the price tag (199.99). ( back in 2006 i had just got my ion when these things were hitting the market), and i wanted one, but it was like ($425 then, and i wasn’t going to pay that much for an upgraded ion!! lol) For that price i could either just get an SLG or have an ion with a new feed neck. No brainer! i bought it that night, and because i also live in BFE i had to order an anti-siphon c02 tank as well (nearest hpa fill is over 50 miles).

The marker:

(looks department)

I was actually stunned at how good it looked when i first opened the box. The marker looks like its bloodline is nowhere near an ion, i mean this thing is classy! at the same time its kind of a love hate, because i like the dark, stealth look of an ion..but it was a good change for me.

(Marker Feel)

Next thing you notice is how this thing is pretty hefty compared to an ion. If you are a featherweight, i can see some complaining, but its something i gladly get over for this marker. The on/off switch is also revised, it is much easier to operate than the on/off sticker found on the ion. Next thing you will like is how solid it feels. that extra weight pays off, because it feels like its 2x as stout as an ion. i mean this thing feels solid.

(The marker)
The feedneck is a disappointment, i though it would be much better than the ion (smoke stack) but its pretty much just shorter and wider. Having a stock JR freak is a major reason i went with this marker, if you are looking to pick up an Epiphany though, get a .689, and .691 insert to go with it. my marker shot pretty crappy with the stock insert, in fact my brothers stock Vibe with its 10" stocker barrel shot a better pattern using the same paint i was using...matching bore/to paint size really counts. With its stock firebolt, this thing shoots really smooth, shot on shot, there is very little feedback from recoil. This marker also preformes very well on Anti-siphon co2, which is important to me, as a long drive for HPA becomes more of a chore when i want to play paintball after work, this ability to adapt is another sell point for me. The electornics board is pretty much the same thing as the ion (unless yours had the Blackheart upgrade) the only real diffrence is the internal hoses are thicker and beefy, this is because the Epiphany has a higher Opperating pressure than the ion. The other major diffrence between the ion and the Epiphany is that the firing can has inserts for volume. this is kind of nice when you want to adjust your marker for shooting Re-balls and for playing indoors.


overall if you are in the same situation as i was in, or trying to get a step up from a blowback marker, at this price for a mid-grade electropnumatic, there are only 2 choices in my head. A PMR if you want to spend moolah on upgrades and make an all out ripper, or there is the Epiphany, if you want your marker to need almost nothing out of the box, and be a solid performer. I wanted to get a solid marker, without spending $100s on upgrades, my choice was obviously the Epiphany.
Conclusion: At $200 brand new, with its list of upgrades, you will be hard pressed to buy a better stock setup than an epiphany. for the price of an ion with a q-lock you can the epiphany. The stock Epiphany internals would set you back $370 for an ion with just the same upgrades, let alone the Jr Freak, and the on/off asa. An upgraded PMR would be better than this marker, im not going to lie, they are awesome, and if you want one/get one, but out of the box, i had a hard time justifying its $50 more price tag...especially when you can get your bore inserts and Q lock for that price..but than again, the choice is up to you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 21st, 2008 at 10:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerTHIS18 Thursday, March 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany With Viewloader Evolution III hopper and a 48/3000 Myth "Panther" tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
like everyone else says a new feedneck
Strengths: Its real durable, its fast(17bps),and it goes with most of the ion mods
Weaknesses: The feedneck
Review: its a real good gun for people like me, u love to paintball, u want a good gun but u dont wanna pay a load of cash for it. The Epiphany is real good and is pretty cheap
i mean i got a great deal at firstcallpaintball.com for a epiphany the Evo 3 hopper and my nos tank all for 300 bucks thats a pretty sweet deal

Conclusion: This thing deserves a 10 cuz its uber awsome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderMan1492 Sunday, March 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder and Spyder clones(hahaha)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany
68ci 4500psi pure energy tank
Halo B with rip drive


32 Degrees Icon Z
Rocking Trigger Frame
Steel Braided Hose
Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Viewloader Revolution w/ X Board
Acs and Stock Bolts
20 oz Co2
32 Degrees Univerdal Drop Forward

Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing... Really nothing not kidding!
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Shoots Ropes
Amazing vision
Freak jr.
Stock feed neck
Hose fittings
Regulator
Everything
Weaknesses: Absolutely nothing seriously
Review: Wow has Smart Parts outdone themselves. This is an amazing marker especially for all the features for a low price. Shoots fast, accurate, and everything on it is flawless . An overall excellent marker and shoots as fast as a shocker and pmr. Need a Halo and compressed air tank to get the best efficientcy and performance out of it! All I have to say is I was slinging ropes of paint at at least 17bps and thats pretty damn fast!
Conclusion: Buy it asap
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 22nd, 2008 at 8:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tacticalterrors Friday, March 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, mini
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Gold Epiphany, Freak Barrel system, Halo B, Virtue Board, 68/3000 dye peanut tank, quick lock feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast Hopper, the stock board is fine but i need 20bps+ so i got the virtue board, decent size HP or nitro tank, Quick lock feed neck..
Strengths: Fast
Performance
Accurate
Price
Light Weight
Well Built
PERFORMANCE
Weaknesses: Feedneck (get quick lock)
Review: This gun is straight up awesome, it has speed, quality and is amazingly accurate. Mine is gold and looks amazing, it is super sweeet. This gun easily goes head to head against $1,500.00 guns in all angles of paintball... I love this gun,

I own an 05 speed Angel, along with a shocker SFT, Bob long timmy, and a few other top quality guns The epiphany goes head to head with no problems with these guns, same performance if not better, looks better, less weight, well built, I have the virture board and eyes on mine and it puts about 25 bps+

I love this gun
Conclusion: The Epiphany is great, it is a mid to professional level gun, Sorry beginners this is just to much gun for you.... but its your price so you should probably buy it...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smartparts#16 Tuesday, March 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
#1spyder compact 2000
#2auto cocker trilogy
#3smart parts shocker tested only
#4ego&ego eteck tested only
Marker Setup: smart parts epihany
smart parts drop foreward
trinity reg.
stock barrel
stock feedneck
veiwloader VL jr
empire 88ci 4500psi nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
if your using a veiwloader hopper i recomend getting a new feedneck, the stock one works fine for halos and such, but i would stay away from halo's if i were u.

a drop forward if u use a big tank.

if you shoot as much paint is i do a massive nitro tank is a must

Strengths: The trigger
The barrel

Weaknesses: New feed neck
Gas hog
Review: well let me just start off by saying this is a highly upgraded ion, if your a comfortable with that, like myself, this is the marker for you. You can roll the trigger really easily on the marker, your barrel is really acurate on an entry level. theres really nothing wrong with the reg. it just didnt sit well in my hands
the first time i used it i had planned on just messing around at a local feild with a couple buddys, and it preformed awesome right out of the box. i had enough fire to play 3 on 7 matchs, and when. Later that week, after i figured out a couple of upgrades, i bought some new parts and headed out to the pro feild, THIS GUN WILL KEEP UP i kinda got to pick on a couple friends about their 1300 dollar guns, when im beating them with my 300 dollar marker.

Conclusion: If you are comfortable with and upgraded ion this is the gun for you. I love mine and i've seen my far share of them go through my arsenal.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

d_roc7686 Monday, February 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Piaranha 2k3 e-force
Marker Setup: Plantinum/black Epiphany with a smart parts clamping feedneck, an Empire Reloader B hopper and a 48/3000 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a bit longer barrel front?
Strengths: rof, LOOKS, on/off asa, trigger, bold, firing chamber inserts, grips and freak jr barrel.
Weaknesses: Rubber grip on body kit comes off very easily.
Review: My friend has an upped ion that I thought was nice so I looked into smart parts guns and really liked the epiphany. Couldn't pass a deal when I see one. I got it for 200 dollars on ebay but action village also sells it for that price. My buddy said his ion needed a clamping feedneck when he bought his so I got one for mine. When I was trying to take off the stock feedneck I ripped off a little bit of the rubber on the body. No big deal, just needs to be glued back on. Played with it a full day at a field and no complaints. Also played a few back yard games. It worked for me every time. So far no hose busts or anything of that nature. As for some people saying it is heavy, I must say it is much lighter than my last gun which was a piranha.
Conclusion: I would buy this gun again any day. No regrets. There is nothing wrong with this gun and I recommend any marker Smart Parts makes. The Epiphany is an ion that is almost fully upped other than the board. SMART PARTS FOR LIFE!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media