paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tiberius Arms T-9 Elite Rifle / Tiberius Arms T-9 Elite Rifle / Tiberius Arms T-9 Elite Rifle / Tiberius Arms T-9 Elite Rifle

Tiberius Arms T-9 Elite Rifle Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tiberius Arms

Buy Tiberius Arms T-9 Elite Rifle

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tiberius Arms T-9 Elite Rifle
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Magazine + Hopper Fed
Converts from Rifle to Pistol in Seconds!
Built-In Regulator
Straight Rifling
Designed & Builit in the USA

Quick Facts: The Tiberius Arms T9 Rifle Runs on 12gm CO2 or Remote Air Line with attachment accessory (included) - Tiberius Arms T9 is convertible from magazine to hopper operation with attachment accessory (included) - Tiberius T9 is convertible from Sniper Rifle to Pistol, in seconds! - Not backward or forward compatible with TAC8 Pistol
Product Availability 
The Tiberius Arms T-9 Elite Rifle is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
zdmechanic Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
32º Pt Extreme Jr.
Tippman A-5
Jt Tac 5
Marker Setup: Automag RT Pro with warp feed and WL body. Tiberius T9 stock and JT Excellerator 3.0 stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. HPA/remote for long games.
2. Extra mags.
3. Agitated hopper.
Strengths: - Very accurate.
- Great air efficiency.
- Great milsim alternative.
Weaknesses: - Ball detent?
- Cleaning after breaks.
- Picky on paint.
Review: From when I saw it in the store, I wanted it. The gun looks cool and will have the same effect to others on the field when you show up and put the gun together at the field. Mine is the covert package, and everything can fit snugly into the case for easy transport to games.

Pros- Building the rifle from the base pistol takes minutes. The conversion is seamless and fits very well. The ability to attach a feed neck to the gun for hopper use is priceless, and is totally useful if you want to get more prolonged use out of the gun. The ability to hook up a remote line is also excellent, and takes only a minute to install into a mag clip. Seriously, you just screw it in and tighten snug with a 7/16 wrench. The ability to use either a clip only or the conventional hopper and preferred air source can't be beat. There is also a pictanny rail across the entire top of the gun, along with one on the bottom of the rifle attachment, and you can even add another on the side. Mine came with a raised sight rail that is very useful with a mask in aiming.

If you use Co2 or HPA, you get the same results in accuracy. Because this isn't designed for rapid fire (and I don't reccomend you doing so because it may result in chopping) you don't have to worry about shoot-down. It's more of a precision gun, so take your time and hit the bulseye. No matter what you use for your air source, it should work great, so don't think that you NEED to use HPA, because you honestly dont. I find the cartridges work perfectly in this gun, so just buy good paint in small quantities and Co2 carts just like if you play stock class.

The pistol only version is dead on accurate. I mean, I plan on putting a red dot sight on it because at 30-50ft it's pointer perfect. I honestly cant believe how accurate the pistol is. I owned a Pt Jr and it doesn't even compare to this pistol. The magazines are also very cool. You can pre-load them with air and paintballs, and save them for when needed. I can get about 2 1/2 to 3 uses out of a mag before needing to replace the co2 cartridge. It also has a very good internal setup, and a regulator. All parts are metal, so dont plan on this breaking very often. If it does happen to break, Tiberius Arms will perform maintenance on it for you to get it perfectly running again.

The barrel is like the automags twist lock barrels. Simply push in, twist and take out. It's easy to clean for the most part, and can be used in either mag feed or hopper feed. The extensions look cool, especially the suppressor part, and I do find that using the surpressor does quiet the gun slightly, but not by much.

(Edit)- I complained about the barrel not being as accurate in a 3 piece setup, but honestly it's very accurate. I made a quick assumption on it, saying that it wasnt accurate but I found it to be much more on mark than my A-5 and a few other markers I have. So, no worries about the barrel setup, although I would like to see some more choices in barrels for this gun, it would be interesting.

Major Con- I found that cleaning it after a break is very annoying. The barrel is easy to clean because you can just slide it out, but the insides stay messy, and to properly clean it you need to take the gun apart. So far i have had many breaks while testing paint, and it's enough to make me hate the setup, however I will continue to test paint despite any breaks that occur. The ball detent works, but it is metal and on both sides. I have seen evidence of it cutting one ball, but thats it. I understand the need for 2 ball detents, to keep spring loaded balls from over-feeding, so it's just something that owners will have to live with.

Another weakness is that ball breaks will totally throw off the accuracy. I mean the gun will not shoot straight until you at least squeegee the barrel a few times, even after that it still might not be dead on. Taking apart the gun is not something you want to do during a game, especially on the field, so thats a real downer. Just pray your gun doesnt misfeed or anything, because a break will ruin your whole day unless you have the tools and take a break to properly clean it out.

Here I have the breakdown of paint that I have used so far, and my results:

I shot at a 2' x 3' piece of plywood at about 60 ft. away.

Big Ball: 500 rounds, 3 breaks, about 70% accuracy
Impact: 500 rounds, 2 break, about 70% accuracy as well
Evil: 500 rounds, 6 breaks, about 90% accuracy.
Xball Bronze: 500 rounds, 5 breaks, about 60% (too small a bore size)
Marblizer: 500 rounds, 2 breaks, about 90% accuracy

The gun is very picky on paint, and even the Evil paintballs broke way more than usual. Marblizer works very well as far as accuracy, but i still cant figure out why paint chops so easily in this gun. This gun also does NOT like small bore paint. Not only will it not shoot as accurate, but it might pack in the gun too tight from the clip and just cause chops. Large bore is greatly reccomended.

I dont like how i can't play a full game, or even have a good chance of shooting a whole hopper without getting a break. Maybe it's just bad luck on my part, but this gun chops way too frequently. What they need to do, is make something similar to AGD's lvl 10 bolt, to stop chops all together. if that happened, then this gun would be an unbeatable sniper/pistol.
Conclusion: This gun is great. Milsim to the teeth and adaptability are just great. Once you see how well the pistol is built, this will be the next on your buying list if you love scenario. 8 out of 10, because I have had horrible luck with constant breaks, and even after you squeegee it, it's not as accurate as it should be.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 23rd, 2007 at 5:17 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

bob1984 Monday, January 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
VM68 & Tac8 Pistol
Marker Setup: Tac9 covert with 30mm scope, green sight laser
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Very accurate
Weaknesses: Gun won't stand on it's bi-pod & stock with remote line
Review: I've had the T9 since the start of january, I did own two Tac8's but sold one when I bought the T9. As soon as I heard that Tiberius was coming out with a rifle, I flipped. I've put about 4000 rounds through it so far and have been nothing but happy. I've used it in speed ball and found that the full gun is a bit big and cumbersom when there are paintballs flying all over the place but when I strip it down to a pistol with the silencer, I can keep up with the best of them. The acuracy is just amazing, I picked off a guy from 100ft away, running, with two shots from the pistol. The gun is much better designed for woods ball, which is what I play mostly so I've replaced the red laser sight for a green one just because it's easer on the eyes and harder for the opponent to see. My brother is a shooter in the millitary so he sighted in the scope perfectly for me and I can pick a pop can off a fence post at 100ft with three shots.the only thing I would like to see come out for this gun are some more barrell options and maby an electronic trigger. My only complaint is that when I break a ball in the barrell, I had to take the whole gun apart to clean it which took some time, other than that, I love it.
Conclusion: I you mostly play sceinero than you need this rifle but it's good for all games
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

seb6754 Wednesday, December 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5, 98 - SmartParts SP8
Marker Setup: My Tac9 have everything on it exept the bipod.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, at the moment.
Strengths: Accuracy
Pistol/Rifle at the same time
Look
Weaknesses: None.. at the moment
Review: I really like this gun. Im a Ref in a paintball field so I tried a lots of guns. This one show me more than I excepted. The "green" red dot is really useful in a night game cause the red one is too bright. The accuracy is impressive and at the end of the day, you did not waste a lots of money in the paintball and air. I prefer using only the gun with 8 rounds mag and having some extra mags than playing with the remote line and my tank. Because this way, you have an higher challenge and the game become more realistic.
Conclusion: I really recommend this gun to any player that will play more than 3 times a year.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

FANCHER Friday, December 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month24 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5, low pressure, trinity regulator, opsgear interceptor barrel
Marker Setup: T9 Covert
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lots of magazines
Strengths: Accuracy!!!
Gun craftsmanship
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I received my T9 Covert yesterday, and shot a few times. My first impression was that the gun is very accurate. I have now shot about 200 paintballs thought it and it functions perfectly. out of the box, it more than competes with the a-5 for its capability. Remember that I am comparing apples to oranges. Shot to shot accuracy far surpasses an out of the box tippy.
Conclusion: I think that if you are going to play a true scenario, this rifle is a a must. The pistol shoots as well as the rifle, so there is no way that you can go wrong with this product. The only thing that I would do different is maybe buy the basic model and do my own add ons, but this rifle is a 10+.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Cacophony Saturday, December 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months197 of 199 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
1) Tippmann Custom 98
2) Tippmann A-5
3) WGP Trilogy Outkast Autococker
4) PMI Piranha R6
5) PMI Piranha GTI
6) Tiberius Arms TAC 8
Marker Setup: Primary weapon: Tippmann A-5 with Special Ops commando stock, Smart Parts Freak back & Hammerhead Pro Tip front or Tippmann Flatline barrel, Special Ops A-5A2 foregrip, Simmons 40mm red dot scope, JCS dovetail-to-weaver offset rail, PMI coiled remote line with slide check, Custom Parts grip regulator (converted to inline), PMI 72cu/3000psi HPA tank.

Alternate Primary: CCI VSC Phantom with 45 grip, NC Star 35mm red dot scope, White Wolf Airsmithing Stealth 11" barrel & trigger shoe, ball detents.

Secondary weapon: Tiberius Arms TAC-8 or T9 pistol with 3 extra magazines.
Recommended
Upgrades:
1) Extra magazines
2) Remote coil (required if you don't want to use 12-gram CO2 cartridges)
3) HPA tank
4) 10-round tubes for magazine reloading
5) Paintball hopper with agitator
Strengths: 1) Accuracy
2) Consistency
3) Air efficiency
4) Easy cleaning
5) Pistol/Rifle conversion
Weaknesses: 1) Limited modifications
2) Heavy: ~1.5 lbs heavier than A-5
3) Confusing manual
Review: I have been eagerly awaiting the release of the Tiberius Arms T9 after having been so impressed with their TAC-8 pistol. The T9 Elite was delivered in a Plano Protector plastic carrying case. Unfortunately, the tactical flashlight and red/green dot scope were missing from the case (they packaged a T9 Covert model by accident). Tiberius Arms' customer service was (as usual) wonderfully helpful; they shipped the missing modifications to my home using Next Day FedEx. Given the variety of packages available from Tiberius Arms (Standard, Pro, Covert, and Elite), I'll only comment on the T9 marker itself from this point forward.


SETUP:

What perhaps makes the T9 so unique is its ability to convert from pistol to rifle. Before I get too far into the technical aspects of the T9, I'll preface myself by stating that the T9 is basically the TAC-8 with a hopper port and rails added to the pistol frame. Even the magazine is identical for both the TAC-8 and T9. Those familiar with the TAC-8 will understand the simplicity of the T9's operation and conversion. The conversion from rifle to pistol is, in fact, very quick (~10 seconds). This involves 1) removing the barrel by pushing it inward and rotating the barrel counter-clockwise (just like the TAC-8), 2) detaching the CAR stock with a simple release button, and 3) removing the shroud assembly by unscrewing the mounting screw.

The T9 pistol is weighted appropriately on top of the hand just like the TAC-8. The T9's grip is a bit large, but I wear a medium cadet golf glove and it still fits nicely into my hand. It has an ambidextrous safety mechanism. The magazine release button is located on the left side of the grip, so ejecting magazines my be awkward at first for some left-handed players. A hopper can be used in pistol mode simply by removing the cover plate and screwing in the hopper adapter (this makes the pistol a bit front-heavy). The barrel orientation will need to be adjusted during insertion based upon which mode of feed you select: hopper feed requires 180 degrees clockwise rotation while magazine feed only requires 45 degrees clockwise rotation. A nice little tip for those of you trying out the T9: you can insert your barrel for hopper feed and insert a fully loaded magazine as well--if you run out of paint in your hopper, you can rotate your barrel counter-clockwise to the 45 degrees position and use the 8 rounds in your magazine until you have secured a safe position for tactical reloading.

Conventional pistoleros can use 12-gram CO2 cartridges that insert into the 8-round magazine with an Allen wrench (~8 seconds to remove, insert, and screw in a new CO2 cartridge). A 12-gram CO2 cartridge will provide enough air for ~24 rounds (3 magazine loads). Unorthodox pistoleros can insert the remote line adapter into a magazine (in place of the 12-gram CO2 cartridge base screw at the base of a magazine--this takes ~30 seconds to replace) and use a remote air tank. The remote line will connect vertically into the remote air adapter at the base of the grip. The magazine itself is remarkably designed to seal the air valve whenever it is ejected from the pistol; this sealing mechanism works with both CO2 cartridges and remote air. However, players using remote air will be restricted to reloading a single magazine which can become tedious unless they use the hopper adapter.

The T9 rifle has the exact same basic configurations as in pistol form: it can be used with either 12-gram CO2 cartridges or remote air, hopper or magazine feed. The T9 rifle fully assembled with CAR stock, shroud assembly, and customizable vertical grip is a hefty 5.5 lbs. The CAR stock feels sturdy at the shoulder and adjusts easily for those with long arms or needing more eye relief for their scope. The CAR stock does not accommodate an air-thru line. The shroud is made of synthetic material just like the pistol grip while the pistol frame is constructed of high-grade metal. The shroud has under, over, and side rails for various peripherals. The vertical grip has side panels on the left and right that can accommodate pressure switches (for a tactical flashlight, laser sight, etc.). It can also be removed entirely (I personally prefer to grip the marker underhanded). Those familiar with the plethora of barrel and trigger options for the Tippmann A-5 and similar products may feel rather restricted. Only two barrel extensions are available at this time: a mock silencer and muzzle break. Fortunately, more barrel options should be available in the relatively near future according to an interview with Tyler Tiberius (CEO of Tiberius Arms) that is available online. I do not know of any modifications available that convert the TAC-8 or T9 from a semi-automatic to an automatic marker.


PERFORMANCE:

I tested the T9 both indoors (74 degrees) and outdoors (27 degrees, ~15 mph wind). I used RPS Polar Ice paintballs in both environments. I used 12-gram CO2 cartridges in pistol mode and CO2 and compressed air via remote line in rifle mode. My target was positioned at a distance of 50 feet. I used a modern isoceles stance in pistol mode and kneeling, sighted stance in rifle mode. These are my results:

Pistol:
Indoors: 15/16 within a 3-inch radius around the bull's-eye (5 hit center, 1 hit ~5 inches off-center).
Outdoors: 14/16 within a 3-inch radius around the bull's-eye (4 hit center, 2 hit ~5 inches off-center).
No broken paint.

Rifle:
Indoors: 67/70 within a 2-inch radius around the bull's-eye (3 hit ~4 inches off-center).
Outdoors: 63/70 within a 2-inch radius around the bull's-eye (4 hit ~4 inches off-center, 3 hit ~5 inches off-center).
All 10 outliers from the rifle test firing were with CO2; I had no outliers with compressed air.
No broken paint.

I fired ~400 rounds during 6 woodsball games today and used ~1/3 of my 72cu/3000psi HPA tank. My T9 was assembled in rifle configuration with a 40mm red dot scope the entire day. I was consistently accurate up to ~85 ft with my paint striking within ~1 ft of my target. I fired 3-round bursts with virtually no range variability. I did not attempt and, thus, cannot comment on rates of fire faster than 3-round bursts. I had 2 broken balls that I suspect had more to do with the temperature and paintball quality than with the quality of the barrel. Cleaning was simple: I simply rotated the barrel counter-clockwise 180 degrees to remove it, ran a straight-shot through the barrel, and reinserted it (a lot faster than unscrewing a barrel).

Compared to my Tippmann A-5 with 16" carbon fiber barrel, the accuracy of this marker is far superior. The T9 (like the TAC-8) is a low-pressure marker and fired paintballs with a highly consistent trajectory that was improved even more with HPA rather than CO2. While the T9 lives up to its label as a "sniper rifle" with its accuracy, the report of the marker is relatively loud for a low-pressure marker. Finally, cleaning and maintenance of the T9 is simple: clean the barrel and oil the trigger, bolt, relief valve, and velocity adjuster. Done. The internal mechanisms are complex enough to warrant taking the marker for professional servicing at least once so you can watch how they strip it down (releasing the trigger push rod can be tricky).


Addendum 1: I do wish the T9 had aftermarket barrels akin to the Smart Parts Freak system (a Tiberius Arms representative assured me that barrel modifications are on their priority list). 19 April 2007

Addendum 2: I have switched to using Marballizers exclusively as they seem to have the best barrel-to-ball match of the various paint I've sampled. 19 April 2007

Addendum 3: I talked with Hammerhead Paintball and they are going to release a new aftermarket rifled barrel for the Tiberius Arms markers in limited quantities starting in June 2007. I contacted Tiberius Arms and they confirmed that they had provided TAC-8 and T9 barrel patterns to Hammerhead Paintball. You can learn more about Hammerhead reverse ported, rifled barrels at www.hammerheadpaintball.com. 23 May 2007

Addendum 4: I just purchased a Hammerhead rifled barrel for the T9 and tried it out last weekend. The Hammerhead barrel performed extremely well in the 3 games we played. While the stock barrel performs wonderfully, I had mildly (~1 inch) tighter paint groupings at 75 feet. The barrel is a rifled "back" that can accommodate the stock "front" barrel and muzzle break or the Hammerhead ported muzzle break that has Hammerhead's signature look. The Hammerhead barrel has some extra threading to accommodate the proprietary muzzle break and attaching the stock barrel front leaves these threads exposed. However, the inside of the barrel seemed to be very smooth and contiguous; I did not experience any ball breaks. The Hammerhead barrel cost $99 and its performance has justified its cost thus far. 16 June 2007

Addendum 5: The Hammerhead barrel continues to perform exceptionally well for me. I am especially impressed with the Hammerhead barrel when used in my TAC-8 pistol. The muzzle break only adds about 2 inches to the length of the marker which keeps it compact, but the accuracy is significantly better than the stock barrel. There is one caveat: if you have a ball break in-game, take the time to straight-shot your barrel. The rifling does seem to worsen accuracy associated with ball breaks more than usual. Squeeges don't always get the paint out of the rifling, so you'll need to carry a straight-shot to clean out the rifling grooves. 13 October 2007
Conclusion: I highly recommend this marker for anyone willing to pay ~$300-500 for a mid-range marker. The T9 has the best stock barrel accuracy and air efficiency of any marker I've used in its price range. It also has an intimidating appearance that definitely garnered the admiration of my fellow woodsball and scenario players. I have integrated the T9 into my arsenal alongside my Tippmann A-5 (I select one or the other based upon my duties in each game). I convert my T9 into a pistol and holster it as my secondary weapon when I use my Tippmann A-5 as a primary marker (thus, my T9 is always in use).
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 13th, 2007 at 7:12 pm PST
I found this review  
29 Comments - Add Comment

jouster666 Tuesday, December 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: ATS System AT-4 w/ carbine Stock OR Tippmann A-5 A81 Sniper package , 4500psi w/ remote. Empire reloader. Bob Long Ripper (05)
Recommended
Upgrades:
None that i really think of at this time.
Strengths: Multi purpose paintball gun. Either pistol or rifle or a combo of the two
Weaknesses: Larger grip for most, slow rate of fire
Review: Wasn't too sure of this once i saw it but once i got it home and put a few round thru it i found my new scenerio gun for the future. Dual purpose gun either pistol, rifle or a combo of the two.
Rate of fire is roughly 6-7 rounds a second a bit slow for some but for scenerio style games that may cap rounds, this should do the trick. Nice feature of either mag feed or hopper unit that they supply. Very few breaks i experienced , usually within that last few rounds.
Accurate within 50 feet. . tried further but no-go on it.
The package they supply with the initial T9 is great, bipod, mock silencer, laser site, scope, raised siterail, all wonderful
Conclusion: A must for someone for scenerio games in the roll of sniper or just someone looking for the 120 questions about the gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media