paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM7 / Dye DM7 / Dye DM7 / Dye DM7

Dye DM7 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM7

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM7
[ View Photos (32) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The DM7 is everything you want the best paintball marker in the world to be: small, light, fast, accurate and reliable. The DM7 is shorter and lighter than its predecessors, giving you more control to take your game to the next level. To achieve the new smaller size and weight, Dye completely rebuilt the LPR into a smaller package. The LPR and custom-built solenoid work in harmony with the Fuse bolt design to allow the marker to operate at an astounding 145 psi. The DM7 also features a new Lever Locking Feed Neck, revamped self-cleaning eye system with new eye wires, and all new 3D body styling. All of these innovations, coupled with standard features like the Ultralite frame and two-piece barrel, give perfection a new meaning.

Features:

- Ultralite Barrel - accuracy at its finest, the standard Ultralite™ 14-inch barrel
- On/Off - the DM7's integrated on/off air supply allows you to de-gas your marker at any time. Also includes the Airport On/Off that is perfectly balanced for an easy twist
- Hyper2™ regulator - consistent air flow through the Hyper2™ in-line air regulator
- Low pressure - the low 145 psi operating pressure provides smooth operating performance with less shot bounce
- Self-cleaning eyes - the DM7 features an all-new, internal anti-chop eye sensing system that is self cleaning, providing trouble-free high rates of fire
- UL grip frame - the DM7 is the proud owner of the world's lightest, most compact and comfortable 45 grip frame available. The new hour-glass design allows for a sleeker profile, while heads-up display lights alert you to the status of your gun, without having to take your eyes off the game
- Logo - cast aluminum inset DYE logo
- Legal software - PSP and NPPL tournament legal software
- Roller-bearing trigger - completely adjustable trigger design allows you to customize your trigger position and refraction point. Trigger roller bearing inserts give the trigger stability and a smooth swing return
- Ultra-lightweight - the DM7 is shorter with a more compact body. The weight has also been reduced
- Ultralite Sticky3 grip™ - Ultralite Sticky3™ grip is standard and provides an anatomically correct fit to your hand. It is co-molded with a tacky rubber grip and hard plastic under-frame
- LED control - high-intensity LED provides identification to program functions
- Metal power buttons - our metal/rubber button pad features large buttons that can easily be used while wearing gloves. Stainless steel buttons are guaranteed not to fail
- Improved Fuse™ bolt - the improved, removable one-piece Fuse™ bolt system operates at 145psi, has greater air flow and is more efficient
- Internal LPR - the modular internal LPR is smaller and provides more efficient shot consistency and quality
- Cam Lock feed neck - low-profile locking feed port with adjustable cam lock neck allows you to use your choice of hopper and secure it firmly to the DM7
Product Availability 
The Dye DM7 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
SHBASS Friday, April 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spoolies
DM6-Virtually the same, but a little heavier
Shocker- Heavier, not nearly as comfy or accurate
Minion- Frame isn't as good, not as fast, heavier
Marker Setup: 2006 Shocker SFT
Clear Halo B with Rip drive
Freak Barrel
New Designz Slik trigger
Evil 68/5000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
A board, maybe?
Strengths: Light
Fast
Accurate
Comfortable
Consistant
Quiet
Weaknesses: Pricey
See review
Review: My teammate surprised us one day with this baby at practice, and I got to test it some. The first thing you notice when you pick it up is that it's incredibly lightweight. When you look at a DM^ and 7 side by side, you see a little size difference, but when you pick them up, you notice a big-time weight difference. The ultralite barrel is incredible. I did most testing with Proto paint. This has to be one of the most accurate markers in the world, and I know that everyone preaches paint to barrel match and all that jazz, but I shot the same stuff out of my shocker with perfect paint to barrel match, and It wasn't as accurate. We're talking ball on top of ball. Another reason for this is the incredible consistancy of this marker. Only getting +/- 5 over the chrony on it's second time out. If you've ever held a Dye/Proto Marker with the Ultralite frame on it, then you know all about it and I don't need to waste my time on it, but if you haven't, In my opinion, it is the absolute most comfortable grip frame in the world. This marker is very fast, but in my experience, no matter how the triggers are set up, it takes me about two to three shots before I finally start getting a rope of paint to spew out. It's okay though, because when I got this gun rippin, it was really nice. You don't really need a new board because the gun comes stock with NXL and PSP, I think. But, if you want more modes and a more responsive semi-auto mode, go for the new Universal Ultralite DM7 board by Tadao. Not once did this marker fail my friend or any of us all day. Never a quirky shot or anything, not even a ball break while the rest of us shooting a Minion, Shocker and DM6 were getting a few breaks here or there. This might just be luck, but I dunno.

All in all, Dye has made an excellent pro-level marker that is almost worth the price tag. There are enough differences with weight and whatnot to warrant buying it over a DM6, but if you just don't have the other $200, a DM6 will shoot virtually the same.
Conclusion: Great gun, if you're looking for a marker of this caliber, and you like Matrixes and DM's, look no further!!! But with the speed thing, I have to say nothing is perfect, Overall, I would say a 9.5, but I have to round down. Sorry :(
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IrOnMeN87 Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none really (had an ion)
Marker Setup: dm7- 14 UL halo b speed feed 68/45 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
any tadao board orange bolt
Strengths: The stock board is awesome no need to upgrade right away
Weaknesses: None
Review: The first day i got this gun i was so excited to shoot it so i aired it up and went to my backyard it shot perfectly! It didnt chop any barrels the eyes work great this gun is a must have for any true paintballer it iz awesome no need to upgrade right away the stock board iz by far the best stock board the Ul barrel is amazing i love it
Conclusion: I would reccomend this gun to anyone who haz the money (kinda expensive)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Draxxus_DMC Friday, April 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I shot everything that walked onto the field
Marker Setup: Dye DMC- UL trigger frame, TI Boomstick barrel 14", Orange Bolt, CP Rake Trigger, CP Reg, 4" psychoballistics drop forward, Virtue Board, Shocktech Feedneck

Smart Parts ION- Warped Sports body kit black, stock bolt (awaiting unicorn bolt from beoranged), Dye UL barrel 12", 4" Shocktech Drop forward, CP Reg, Tadao Raider Board, CP Sling Blade trigger, Shocktech feedneck

Dye DM7- Dye TI Boomstick 14 and 16", Orange Bolt, Virtue Board, CP Rake Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Either a Virtue or Tadao Board, either one is a great aftermarket board... just depends on your style
-Orange Bolt, In my experience you cant get anything better for air efficiency and faster cycling rate (this is my oppinion)
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review:
The first thing that i noticed when i removed the gun from the box was the milling, it wasnt too far off from the DM6, but it was enough that you could tell. Weight-wise you really cant tell too much of a difference from the DM6 either, its less than a pound they took off anyway. Shooting is as smooth as the DM6, maybe a little smoother, but the same solenoid is being used, so it's not really all that different.
With the virtue and tadao boards ive seen this thing rip... its a beautiful sight, really, and with any of their barrels its one of the most accurate guns that i have seen, yet i have come to expect this of any new high-end marker on the market nowadays, faster, more accurate. The gun is expensive, as i have found most High end markers to be, but i would highly recommend shooting one before you go out and spend the money to get this. Anyhow, its a great gun, but if you have a DM6, stick with it, it's the same gun, with only slight upgrades. The eye upgrade for me wasnt really that big of a deal, ive only chopped a couple times with a DM6 anyways... but the extra protection is nice to have.
Conclusion: If you are thinking of buying the gun, shoot it first, and if you havnt, shoot a DM6 and tell me the major difference, for any DM though, id recommend the orange bolt, it greater helps with air efficiency,and increases cycle rate. This guns worth the money, but you should think about the upgrade before you do it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

lucifer_sam Thursday, April 12th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Infamous Intimidator, DM6, PM6, Ego, etc.
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail (blue dust)
NDZ On/Off w/ drop forward
Proto alloy back cap
Proto Ultralite frame
68 ci/4500 psi DXS tank
DraXxuS Pulse (w/o RF chip)
Specter barrel (.690 insert)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (like a Specter)
New board
Strengths: Light
Wicked fast
Ergonomic
Weaknesses: Price
Review: Wow. I was so impressed by the DM7 that I nearly wet myself. Although there are no specific changes to the marker design from the DM6, the DM7 is a couple ounces lighter and about an inch shorter. Personally, I see it as worth the $200 extra, but as for other markers, it blows them to dust. Unless you have a Timmy, I say this is the best marker on the market.

The gun itself has exceptional quality. It is built in the same way as the DM6, with a Hyper 2 Inline reg. Dwell, debounce, and other features can be adjusted via board configuration to deliver an optimal operating pressure of about 145 psi. With pressure at this level, ball breaks are almost a nonissue. The solenoid housing provides an excellent seal and delivers the maximum potential.

The bolt's redesign for '07 was entirely the reason for its outperformance. It sits at a tight seal with the manifold, preventing any air to escape. There are many less o-rings (and thus, friction) to compromise bolt efficiency and create bolt stick. A composite alloy body is the lightest marker on the planet in its class, and with a strong sotock board capable of delivering 30 BPS.

Although the gun is far more advanced than any other competing company (save for Bob Long), the marker's board is somewhat unrefined, and for a marker of this caliber and price, one would expect Dye to outfit it with their $250 T-board. The barrel is as good as Dye can make it, but for some professional players, that may not be good enough. I recommend the Specter with a .690 insert, much less of a gas hog and a far better companion for long-range shooting.

The marker sits lower in the hands, providing an overall smaller profile and most certainly a better fit for frontmen. I personally recommend this marker over any other for the frontman, including Egos, Timmys, and the occasional Shocker. Just because it isn't much different from the DM6 doesn't mean that in the action, it wouldn't function better. Try it and see.
Conclusion: If you play x-ball and you're a frodntman, you need this gun. I recommend it over everything else.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

GhostFacedKilla Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6, quite a bit like the DM7.
Marker Setup: DM7- Clear/ Silver
Virtue Board
Empire B2- Blue
DXS 68/ 4500 HP Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock board is good, but I just felt like getting the Virtue (for a better variety). Also I haven't played with it just used it for a little target practice in my backyard, so ill see if anything else is need after I play (what could be improved).
Strengths: Very quite, accurate, efficient, laser eyes, UL frame & barrel.
Weaknesses: None that I have noticed yet!!!
Review: Like I have said before I have not gotten the chance to play with it yet, but I will update this later.

Pretty efficient because the air just broke into the gun, so I know it will be more efficient after I play and use it more.

The laser eyes & new self-cleaning eye piece are excellent; I have not chop a single ball yet.

The feel of the gun is one of the main factors of why I chose the DM7, the UL frame is the most comfortable paintball gun frame ever, and where the Hyper2 reg is placed is nicely close.

It is a very good gun from what I have felt from it so far.

It is not a radical over haul from the DM6, but the added improvements do help.
Conclusion: The price tag is pretty hefty, but if you are willing to make an investment like I did, it's well worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

bluejacketfan8 Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ion and Shocker none come close, they all fall way short of the DM7.
Marker Setup: DM7 red to black fade
Dye 14 inch ultralite barrel
Virtue Board
peanut 4500 crossfire tank
Pulse Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
This marker is outstanding in itself and doesn't need any upgrades. However, I do suggest a virtue board for any upgrade if you so choose.
Strengths: Very Light Weight
Outstanding Accuracy
Great frame/trigger
Very Very Fast
No Kick
Weaknesses: There are no weaknesses. NONE
Review: Well I received this a christmas gift, and the second I got it I took it outside to be test fired. And I must say I was suprised. I went through an entire hopper in around 15 seconds maybe less. And on top of that no kick. After that first hopper, I set up a bottle of water on a stand and from maybe 60 feet away shot it down in 1 shot. Amazing accuracy. A few weeks later I took it down to Paintball Authority, and played some games. Let me tell you I'm normally a decent player, but with my new little toy I procedeed to shoot out 4 or 5 guys and did so for every game that day. I highly recomend this gun to all, if you are willing to shell out the money, but let me just say its worth every penny.
Conclusion: I highly recomend this product. It is quite possibly the best marker on the market and it shows from the moment you take it out of the box. It comes with ample instructions, lube, a full allen key set, and a 14 inch ultrailite barrel. This gun is amazing and I couldn't imagne playing with out it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wowdye Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ION, DM5, DM6, Shocker
Marker Setup: DM7
UL 16"
CP Trigger
SAM Orange Bolt
Dye Peanut Tank
CP Drop Forward
Halo B - V35
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing needed!
Strengths: Very accurate!
Very Quite!
Light
Fast
Easy to maintenance
Lots of accessories to add on!
Weaknesses: May be the price
Little difficult to set up the stock board
Review: I think it is one of best that I have for myself for the past 2 years. It is very light, accuracy, quite, fast, consistant, much more air efficiency and very nice design.

With an Orange Bolt, if made my DM7 run very smooth, very quite, and faster. Also think about new board, but it is already good with stock board, even it is a little difficult to set it up.
Conclusion: Highly recommend to those who looking for a piece of Art in Paintball Markers!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

btnation Saturday, February 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm6, Shocker NXT, Angel, E-mag, Autococker, mini,
Marker Setup: Dm7, Pulse, crossfire 68/4500, sly barrel, virtue board, speedfeed.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virture board, or any board would be good.
Strengths: Light
Fast
Aim is dead on!
Weaknesses: Length of the marker is still alittle long
Review: When I first got the marker it took a little time to get used to. They cut down the profile alot!!!! It's a great feel. It's even smaller then a Shocker NXT. I didnt even try the stock board, I just went with the virtue DM6 board right out of the gate........I've had very good luck with virture for a long time. After setting up the trigger, it felt great. This gun is very fast, and quiet.

The only down side to the DM7 is that it's length is still very long. (from the back of the marker to the front.) If you have been with matrix family for a long time this will not be an issue, but If you've never shot one before (proto,dm6,dm5,dm4 etc....) It takes some time to get used to.
Conclusion: All in all, this is a great marker!!!! Before I spent the 1400 to get the DM7 I made sure it was what I wanted. I shot and played with every marker I could find and the DM7 was the best fit for me. I recommend that you try everything under the sun before you spend the 1400, as you should with any marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

ikey Wednesday, February 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
most matrixs and otehr spool valves
Marker Setup: stock karnivor, pm6
Recommended
Upgrades:
CP flow plug
Strengths: Light, small, fast, sexy, amazing feel
Weaknesses: Trix design has more maintenence than ram driven guns
Review: look/feel/size

basically it appears to be a dm6 with slightly different milling, which i thought looked amazing, and the anno was flawless. the gun has minor details like that accent the gun, like teh new milling on the trigger guard, and the locking feedneck has a sliver peice that stands out. the gun looks snazzy. the feel is one of teh nicest i have felt. teh gun is slightly smaller than a dm6, and slightly lighter. very very light gun. to me, the great feel of the gun makes it seems even lighter. i still maintain that teh hyper 2 s the best feeling reg, my hand loves holding on to that thing. the UL frame may take some getting used to, but feels very nice, and the trigger is ULTRA smooth.

quality

dye's flagship gun. end of story. on par with the best or the best in teh industry. i cant think of one thing that lacks quality in any way.

performance

basically it will perform like a dm6, but will be slightly smaller and lighter. the new self cleaning eyes should have some effect, and little things make a difference like the new feedneck etc.
Conclusion: this gun will keep the high end performance of the matrix design, but improves on looks, and feel because of the reduced size and weight. at my last tourney i tested a lot of new guns like new shockers, A1s, onyxs, etc, and the dm7 felt teh best by far in my hands. basically if you want the best, this is about as good as it gets. the only thing that would change that is preference for feel and gun operation.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

furypaintball Sunday, February 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion- doesnt compare
Marker Setup: black/blue dm7
ultralite barrel
pulse hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
none everything is great
Strengths: Speed
out of the box accuracy
Weaknesses: None at all
Review: I got the dm7 and went to a local feild. I took it to the crono and it was shooting 276-281. I was amazed at how fased it ripped!. On the feild it preformed better than i expected. The accuracy was amazing, i think i got 4-5 hopper shots on people when that was all i could see. Overall it is a great gun the only issue i have is the price, but that will go down after a while
Conclusion: Buy it, you will be amazed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media