paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / TechT Fang Trigger / TechT Fang Trigger / TechT Fang Trigger / TechT Fang Trigger / TechT Fang Trigger

TechT Fang Trigger Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount TechT

Buy TechT Fang Trigger

Paintball Custom 98 Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


TechT Fang Trigger
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 12
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The FANG Trigger is the highest quality, best feeling trigger available for Tippmann 98's, 98 Customs, and the new 98 Custom Pro E's.

The trigger has been designed to work on all models of Tippmann 98's from the old to the new.

The Fang will work on all mechanical 98's as well as the electronic models.

When designing the Fang our goal was to:

1. Make a trigger that works on all 98's.

2. One that would make the 98's trigger pull as smooth and fast as any Angel, Timmy, or Shocker.

As with all of our products, this trigger was designed to be the highest performing trigger on the market. We feel confident that we achieved that goal because the Fang is the smoothest, fastest, best feeling, and sexiest Tippmann 98 trigger available.

The Fang triggers are three point adjustable, and allow for the shortest trigger pull possible. Walking the trigger will be easier than ever before.

No other Tippmann 98 trigger offers this level of control or adjustability.

You will be able to fine tune your mechanical and electronic trigger pull to be shorter than you ever thought possible.
Product Availability 
The TechT Fang Trigger is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
ITSRAININGPAINT Wednesday, July 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock GTA Double Finger Trigger
Marker Setup: Main Setup:
Dangerous Power G3
Empire Prophecy v2.0
DXS 48/45 HPA with CP tank cover
Custom Products 2 piece barrel (.685)

Backup/Loaner Setup:
Tippmann 98 Custom Pro w/ E trigger
EVLution 3 hopper
20oz CO2
Techt Fang trigger
Trinity Spring Kit
Strengths: No side-to-side slop, all aluminum, adjustable, CP Rake-like
Weaknesses: Adjust with caution, makes me use more paint
Review: I, like many others, hated the feel of the Tippmann Double trigger so I took action. After reading nothing but good reviews, I went online and bought this. I adjusted the trigger so it was VERY short and light. I took it out to test fire some shots and accidentaly put my 98 on full auto. The trigger stuck the switch down, resulting in $4.22 in CO2 to go up in smoke, and it wore out my drive spring, resulting in massive shoot down. I now have made the trigger pull very long, killing the point of the new trigger. I still like the feel of the trigger, but it still isn't as short as my liking.

::EDIT:: I adjusted some of the settings on the board and it made this trigger work like a dream, I was shooting ropes with my Tippmann 98 Custom, it was unbelievable

::EDIT 2:: Use common sense when adjusting this trigger and it will work wonders. Do the pen spring mod and its almost as good as a speedball guns trigger.
Conclusion: Overall good trigger, but don't set it too short unless you like dryfires.
7 out of 10 because of the full auto incedent caused by the trigger

EDIT: 8 of 10 much better trigger when you have the board set up right. Great for rope shooting and semi auto

EDIT 2: Use this with the pen spring mod and its pretty sweet. 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2010 at 7:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Perinhawk Sunday, March 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom stock trigger
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Smart Parts Linear Barrel 16"
Techt Fang Trigger
RAP4 Collapsible CAR Stock
Extreme Rage Coiled Remote
48 Ci HPA tank
Strengths: ROF
Looks
Lightest 98C trigger available
Adjustable
No grip cutting required for trigger guard
Metal
Weaknesses: Trigger guard sold seperately
No instructions in package
May require custom milling for some
Light
Review: This is an excellent trigger. I have looked at pics and reviews of other 98c double triggers, and none really allow you to even get close to walking the trigger. After installing this on my gun, I don't even think I'll need an Egrip or RT on my 98 now. Also, this trigger is made of metal, unlike most other 98 triggers, including the stock one. Right out of the box, the Fang fit my 98c perfectly, and there was no grip cutting required for the trigger guard to fit, unlike many other 98c double triggers. I was eager to gas it up and see how it fired. Once I did, I was amazed at how fast I could fire compared to the stock trigger.The pen spring mod to lighten the trigger pull helped immensely, and so far has stood up to an outing's worth of hard play and a lot of target practice. I keep an extra just in case though. However this trigger has some downfalls. First of all, there are no instructions in the box, nor is there any indication that the instructions are available online, but I found them after 5min with a search engine. The trigger guard is sold separately, costing you another $13. Also, some people may need custom milling for it to fit their guns. Some people may not like a light trigger pull as they use more paint, but if you weren't looking for increasing ROF for your 98, why did you buy this trigger?
Conclusion: Overall, if you want to get more ROF out of your 98c, or just get a more durable trigger, buy this. It is infinitely better than the stock trigger
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

El tormento Friday, March 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock trigger
D.O.P. double trigger
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
polished internals
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
E-Trigger with WAS
Pen Mod(for trigger spring- lightens the pull)
Red velocity spring
RAP4 Aluminum power tube
TechT fang trigger
PHAT performance, 4 stage expansion chamber(black custom paint job)
WPG on/off ASA
Cyclone feed system with upgraded parts:
1. QEPH exhaust
2. Hot Rod Connecting rod
3. Cyclone Ratchet mod
4. worr games squishy paddles
LP(low profile) hopper
20oz tank
Strengths: metal construction
3 adjustable points or modification
sleek and light!
ROF!
Weaknesses: trigger guard

See review on weaknesses---\/
Review: After using the double trigger, i decided i like the Tech-T after reading the great reviews on it.

Its made of metal(aluminum or something like that)
its flat, sleek and very light.

trigger works very well with the E-trigger, and very customizable.
-> there are 3 screws. one at the top for height(i think..)
one in the middle to adjust how far you have to pull it,
and the screw on the bottom, which i took out, since it just seemed to get in the way.

the trigger is very durable, and because of its construction allows for very high ROF's

Weaknesses:

the middle screw likes to move out of position when rocking the trigger, and so i would suggest using loctite or similar to keep the screw from moving when its being used.

You also have to buy the double trigger to get the guard for the trigger. i was lucky, and was able to get the guard in a set with the tech-t i bought on a auction site. for very cheap. so that saved the hassle of buying 2 separate things.

Conclusion: Its a great trigger for the price i got it for. worth the money buying from a store as well, but the double trigger guard not coming with it is a problem.

overall i give it an 8. because of the screws and the trigger guard. if it wasnt for the guard it would have been a 10.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

capt paintball Sunday, February 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CORE Double Trigger, Tippmann Stock trigger
Marker Setup: Primarly:
Tippmann 98 Custom A.C.T
E-Trigger Was Board
Lapco 8" BigShot
TechT Fang Trigger
BT Folding Stock
Viewloader EyeForce Loader
crossFire 68ci hpa tank
remote line
Secondary:
Tippmann 98
original Flatline
archon gravity hopper
remote
20oz co2

Backup gear:
quantum Loader
ViewLoader force
20oz co2
9oz co2



Strengths: Ability to set pre/post fire travel and set switch activatation point. Reduction in wobbling.
Weaknesses: CAN NOT effectively use out of the box.
Review: First off I’d like to say, this is a complete game changer for a Tippmann player. This trigger if installed correctly will put a model 98 A.C.T custom over ALOT of other competitive electronic markers. (In woodsball particularly for durability), a Tippmann is TOO Heavy to be a top competitor in speed/hyper ball. I’m going to try to explain what this trigger actually does.

This trigger has two “Trigger placement” screws and one “switch placement” screw or so I like to call them. The trigger placement screws allow you decreased the amount of travel between you first pulling the trigger and the trigger going back as far as it can go. Think of it as running from one side of a square room to another. The smaller the room, the faster you should be able to touch the opposite side. Same concept applies here. The switch placement screw allows you to set the actual switch position during that trigger travel. If there was a button in the room, the switch placement is where the button would be between the opposite walls of the room. My trigger is set so right when I slightly pull, the switch activates. Right after it activates, the post travel screw stops the trigger (actually I took the post screw out, the back end of the trigger housing stops my trigger, same difference…..). This minimizes the amount of time it takes for the firing mechanisms of your gun to reset which leads to less trigger walk interrupts and allows you to walk at a faster rate. I was WALKING around 13, I can probably push my tippmann close to 18 bps for a SPILT second (walking in woodsball is usually a complete waste, I focus on getting as many balls out there before my target can react, not painting whatever they are behind...)

The only downside to this trigger is the lack of adhesives needed for the screws to stay in place. When I first opened up the package and took the screws out, I noticed that the screws were loose. These screws need to be locked in or in my case, tightly fitted. I used Teflon tape to tighten the screws a bit and I have absolutely no problem. I would not recommend using anything that locks the screw due to the fact that it doesn’t give you the ability to adjust the screws at will. One other thing is the possible malfunction of the safety switch…You can either custom the switch(easy) or leave it out like me. (so I can adjust the top screw at any time…).
Conclusion: Most likely will be become a necessity to any serious woodsball player with a 98(even non electro) and field auto restrictions. This trigger is an awesome addition to your already great marker. The price is a bit steep, but innovation costs at times =). Be sure to get a hopper to support this trigger, your need it! 9/10 until Todd(owner) starts shipping this trigger with some sort of adhesive for the screws.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dionp19 Sunday, January 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock double trigger
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom pro
Fang trigger w/pen spring mod
Archon loader
14' J&J barrel
Strengths: Easy installation , solid material, great trigger
Weaknesses: Hard to make trigger pull short, a little pricey
Review: i recently bought a 98 custom pro. When i first used the double trigger i thought it was the best. i then realized that the trigger was made of cheap material ( not to beat on tippys , i love them ) and wobbled a lot. i then started looking for a better trigger. after a little searching i found the fang trigger. i realized it was a little pricey. once it came in the mail, i spent only ten minutes installing. as soon as i was done i tested it out , it was awesome ! i love it ! highly recommended !
Conclusion: I highly recommended this trigger, although a little pricey well worth the money !
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stoneweapon Friday, April 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Double Trigger
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom, Tippman E-Bolt, Low Pressure Kit, Palmers Stabilizer Male reg,
TechT Fang Trigger with magnetic mod and several other mods.
Strengths: Metal, crafting quality, great looks, 2 colours availlable, adjustable
Weaknesses: Some flaws on mechanic Tippmann 98 (see review), no trigger guard included,
Review: I got 2 Fang triggers for my two Tippmann 98C. one is electric (E-Bolt) and one is mecanic.

First the mecanic one:
The silver coloured Fang Trigger looks awesome on a black Tippmann 98 Custom!
The Fang Trigger works very well on my T98 (newer Version). I can achieve high fire rates and never feeled like I would need a response trigger. I had to do some milling and drilling before that was the case. The Trigger had a too small hole diameter at the big hole that limits the trigger movement. Therefore it could not release the sear. I wanted to tune the mech trigger anyway and drilled it out untill it worked. This problem may also been caused by the high tolerances that Tippmanns normally have. There are some sharp edges on the fang Trigger which cause the Trigger to move tight. I milled some of them only a little bit and achieved perfect smooth movement. The Fang Trigger is not slippery like the original Tippmann Triggers but this is also a reason of the tolerances in the marker case and not so much caused by the triggers itself.
I used a washer on one of the pins and got almost 0% clearance (make sure the washer does not interfere with the hammer or hammer seal). This is something that you should try out yourself and sometimes it is better if a mechanic marker has some clearances.

Another thing that I am not very happy about is that Tech-T did not drill a hole for the second trigger return slide dowel pin (the small pins that are installed inside the original Tippmann trigger, I use the same term as you can find in the Tippmann manual Item Nr. 98-18 , 98-19 on newer Manuals).

In the mechanic Tippmann the lower slider pin actually serves as a bearing for the slider and makes it smooth-moving. The slider is pushed forward by the sear if you cock your marker not releasing the trigger. After releasing the trigger you can hear a "klick" that is caused by the trigger return slide moving back to its original position. Your Tippmann is always operating in this way because you cannot release the trigger before the sear locks the hammer. The slider movement is not as smoth with the Fang Trigger and what I don't like on my mech marker is something moving stiff. The pair of a small, spring loaded steel surface moving on anodized alloy is rather bad. So far my mech Tippmann with the Fang trigger works fine but I am planning to drill a hole that let me install the second dowel pin and get rid of that stiffy moving return slider.

The Fang trigger receives a 7,5 Rating for mech application.



The Fang Trigger on electric T98C:

This is the reference trigger for electrified Tippmanns. There was no milling necessary to make it move smooth. May be my older Tippmann has different clearances in the case. The Fang trigger is produced under very close tolerances in comparisation to the Tippmann die cast marker shells.
Since the trigger return slide is not moving in the electric Tippmanns (older and newer versions) there is no problem with the missing dowel pin in this application.
The Fang feels perfect for "walking" and can be tuned to the same movement that your microswitch has. Everyone who triggered my Tippmann is impressed about the Trigger.

I give the Fang trigger a 10 rating for electric T98C application.


For both triggers:

the adjusting options are nice but I dont like to stick this small pins or set screws into my marker especially into the power tube. This is not a good solution because it may damage your marker. You have to use locktite to prevent the set screws coming loose. I prefferred to tune the Trigger using nylon screws and changed the spring to a magnetic return.
Tech-T now offers a set of different pins for Trigger tuning which is a very clean way to get the best out of this well crafted trigger without messing around with setscrews which can come loose and/or damage your marker.

Very sad that they do not offer any kind of trigger guard. I had to purchase a crappy Tippmann Double Trigger because of that so the price is Fang Trigger + Tippmann trigger.


Rating: (7,5+10) / 2=8,75 >>>> 9 Points


PS: Sorry for my English. I try my best.
Conclusion: I recommend this trigger as the best for Tippmann 98 with E-Kit (E-Bolt or Sear Tipper). It is durable and perfect for "walking" e-markers. In mech markers it still needs some tuning but everyone who want to tune a Tippmann should have some craftmann skills. The Fang Trigger is the best starting basis to do a trigger job on mech Tippmans for people like me who don't like the Response Trigger.


I will upload pictures soon.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 1st, 2008 at 12:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

maunz Sunday, February 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock single trigger, DM7 ul trigger
Marker Setup: mechanical tippmann 98 custom with body mods and polished internals
tech t fang trigger
orange howitzer bolt and trnity powertube
xchamber with macroline
Strengths: Imo very comfortable and adjustable.
Weaknesses: $35 For a trigger is a little high but not too much.
Review: i bought this trigger because i was feeling spendy. i put it on when i got here and it was very light, very comfortable, and it matched the flat black i painted my 98. this trigger reminds me of the UL frame trigger but feel the fang trigger may be slightly more comfortable. im keeping my tippy mechanical so i cant tell you what its like on an egrip but i feel this may help even without electronics.
Conclusion: Very good product, comfortable, sexy, and light.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Edwardjy Friday, January 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All kinds of expensive speedball guns with electronic triggers.
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom w/ ACT
Halo B w/ Victory Board(w/wobble fix)
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
E-Grip w/ WAS Board
Expansion Chamber
Smart Parts Grips
Psycho Ballistic Drop Forward w/ ON/OFF
Tech T Fang Trigger(w/pen spring)
Strengths: Sturdy
Wide range of adjustment
Best trigger out there for e grips
Weaknesses: None, except for that screw that makes no sense
Review: I just got this trigger and my e grip today. Took about 10 minutes to install both. The trigger is super sturdy, dead on and doesn't wobble. As i said before the screw closest to the bottom was useless for me. I suggest putting loctite on the center one(the one that actually touches the solenoid on an e grip). The very top one i never tinkered with. I just kind of screwed it in there. There trigger has a very light light light light pull. I recently did the pen spring thingy and that may be why it's so light. So i never got to test it with the stock tippmann spring. So i can bias an opinion on that. With my e grip on semi auto i have the trigger set to where you can damn near blow on it to set it off. My ROF is limited at 30 BPS which is obviously what the gun maxes out at, i definitely don't think i've come close to that on semi auto, i may have been somewhere along the lines of twenty. If you have an e grip turn your debounce down to .10ms it really goes alot faster. I've shot a hella lot of speedball guns and this trigger is just as light as all of them, no sense in buying a 500$ gun when you can easily upgrage you 98 like this.
Conclusion: If you have an e grip then definitely for sure get this, it's well made, cool looking and super effecient
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XSVFAN890 Saturday, May 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock double trigger(Custom Pro)
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro A.C.T.
TechT Fang Trigger
APE Rampage Board
14" Evil Driver Barrel
Strengths: Looks sexy
Great quality
Metal
Way better than any other double trigger for a Tippmann
Weaknesses: Screws come out when fired a lot(can be Loctite'd)
Kinda hard to find
Review: I got a Custom Pro and it came with a double trigger pre-installed and it SUCKED! The thing was loose, thick, and looked bad. I love this trigger. The only bad thing I can say is that for me, The stock trigger works a lot better with RT. I got my RT after I got this trigger. DON'T GET THIS WITH RT!!!
Conclusion: Get it! It looks great and works great.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 16th, 2007 at 7:26 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

liljaygreg Wednesday, February 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98 Trigger
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Tech-T Fang Trigger
Cyclone Feed System
Trigger Mods
Strengths: -Metal
-Easy Trigger Pull
-Looks Good
Weaknesses: -None that I've noticed.
Review: This trigger is crazy good!! It looks awesome and helps your 98C shoot A LOT faster! Works really well with the cyclone feed system. Haven't run into any problems, even using the pen spring mod, it doesn't feel weird. If your tired of the stock single trigger pick up this beast.
Conclusion: If you want a double trigger, go with with this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media