paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 07 Pants / Proto 07 Pants / Proto 07 Pants / Proto 07 Pants

Proto 07 Pants Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 07 Pants

Paintball Pants and Shorts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 07 Pants
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:
* Adjustable waist with velcro closures makes a perfect fit every time, while the inner leg venting will keep you cool under fire.
* The lightweight design allows you to be comfortable, while the super-strong construction will hold up to aggressive play. Reinforced padded knee panels give protection against knee impacts and vented cargo pockets allow you to carry what you need.
* The combination zipper and button crotch panel is padded and helps protect what's important.
* The sublimated paneling on the sides keeps bright and clean after washing.
* Leg piping and microinjection logos finish this pant off with a cool look and great style.
Product Availability 
The Proto 07 Pants are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Zodiac910 Friday, August 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Heh. Before I got these I was just wearing camo army pants to the field. =P
Marker Setup: Black PMR '07 w/ UL Frame
CP Classic 16" and J&J Ceramic Barrels
NDz Aluminum Backcap
Crossfire LP 68/4500
eVLution 3
Strengths: Good Ventilation, Comfortable, Strong, Durable, Cool looking.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought these as my first actual Paintball Pants. I was very impressed when i first put em on and played some games. They are very durable, I slide a lot and still dont have any scratches or tears. They keep you ventilated well, and are very comfortable too. The padding is excellent on these, I still haven't had any leg shots that broke; they always bounce. The extra padding on the knees and crotch are especially useful. The pockets keep shut very well, but the squeegee pocket isnt quite deep enough, so I just put my barrelbag in it.
Conclusion: Overall, excellent pants. They are worth the $80.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EgoBaller410 Monday, August 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Evil Pants
Marker Setup: Planet Eclipse 06 Ego
.692 Dye Ultralite
Halo B w/ rip drive
Draxxus 68/4500
Pure Energy 45/4500

Vforce Profiler
Empre E-Vents
Strengths: Price
Weight (light)
Waist belt
Weaknesses: Durability (more in the review)
location of the swab pocket
Review: I bought these pants back a few months ago when I was looking for a light in-expensive pair of pants. Overall impressions when you first get then are good. They look good, and seem to be of sturdy construction.

After several months of tournament use (about 2-3 times a week) I've found a few things about these pants

Strengths:
-very light, which makes it easy for front players like myself to move.
-Baggy, so you get a decent amount of bounces off the legs.
-Venting is pretty nice, feels a little light in construction, but it gets the job done, and nothing feels better than spreading your legs on a good breeze. : )

Weaknesses:
-The knee construction is a little light. I play front so I've put these pants through a lot of abuse. after the first month or so the knees began to wear along the seems, and the black lining around the knee pads began to wear. after the 2nd month one of the rubber knee patches came loose then eventually ripped off.
-I personally don't like the placement of the swab pockets, the are located below the knees so after a while of running around, you're bound to lose a swab or two. (I've lost 3)

Overall:
They are a decent pair of pants for the money. If you're only going to be playing once or twice a month, and don't put a lot of abuse into your pants, these should be a decent pair of pants for your money. If you are a front player, and are really hard on pants I would recommend looking into another pair of pants.
Conclusion: If you're hard on your gear, find another pair.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pm6_killa_cain Saturday, July 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: pm7 black dust
dye throttle 70/45 peanut
viewloader vlocity
Strengths: Light
roomy
Ajustable
Comfy
Padded Nicely
Weaknesses: None
Review: These pants arte amazing i have played with them for about two months and they dont even compare to any other pants out there that i have tried on yhese are comfortable and roomy they have pockets with velcro making it so my phone will not come ouyt while playing and they are over all great.
Conclusion: If you have 80 bucks and need somr pants buy these you will thank me. I give them a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stikyniky383 Thursday, July 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None Really
Marker Setup: Sp Ion(black), Halo tsa led frontman, proto impulse 14 in,crossfire 4500 psi, and
Q-lock clamp.
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Ive only played with these pants twice but their my favorite ones. There strengths include re-enforced knees so they dont wear down from sliding. Also a couple of areas on them are thin to vent air. And one of the biggest strengths is it's looks they look great especially with the matching jersey. No weaknesses iv'e really found yet but i don't plan on finding any.
Conclusion: I recomend these pants to anyone who likes proto products
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazyboy22 Monday, June 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
jeans.
Marker Setup: Vexor Eye
Crossfire 47/3000
Mach 404 hopper
CP 1 Piece Classic
Strengths: Comfortable
Vented
Crotch padding
Durable
Well Priced
Weaknesses: Can't find any as of now.
Review: I was at academy, and I was looking through the paintball section when I had come across these pants. I tried them on, and I was impressed. They were very comfortable, and they had great venting, along with the knee/crotch padding (big plus for me.). So far, I've only found the 4 pockets out of the 5, with the 5th being the squeegee one. They seem really strong, and its going to take human force to open them, so it should keep a few of my things in there safely. Price tag was $70. Not that bad, compared with what is out there. Wearing them hasn't been a problem. Again, very comfortable. I've even worn them a few times going out. I really like them, and I'd probably buy another pair when my current ones wear out, and i hope that's in a long time.

I haven't gotten to paintball with them yet, but I'll have an edited area telling how they were for me.
Conclusion: I like them so far. Comfortable, good price, and they are well padded.

I'll have a bit more detailed review on thursday, when I test them out.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lime Tuesday, June 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Maddog custom ion
tippman triumph sl hopper
crossfire nitrogen tank
Strengths: Very nice ballistic nylon, never rips or anything.
Weaknesses: Maybe the Velcro in the pocket could be larger to cover the whole pocket opening
Review: Very nice ballistic nylon, this is proabably the best proto product ive bought. The pants are very tough built, even though thier tough the still keep you cool. the triple layer on the knees makes slides even on a rough ground very easy.Only somewhat anyoyying was that when i sat down in them stuff in my pockets fell out.
Conclusion: BUY IT!!! it is awesome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bigfoot762 Monday, June 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye C5 pants
Marker Setup: 2005 red Shocker w/ Tadao M6.1 Dynasty board
Dye Hyper 2 reg
CP roller trigger
03 dye stickies
Uni Mount ASA
14" blue and white UL barrel
72/45 PE tank
Reloader B
Strengths: Padded crotch
Venting
Light weight
looks
Weaknesses: Padding
Review: I got these pants right after Christmas because i needed a new pair of pants. I was looking at the new dye pants but descided to go with the proto pants because of the lower price tag.
When i first got them they looked really good and i was happy. Very adjustable waist and what looked like good padding. After playing in them the first time i wasn't very impressed.
The "padding" in the knees was nothing more than three layers of material rather than the 1 layer like the rest of the pants. To me this is not padding. The pants also ripped on the left knee when i was sliding the last time i played. This isnt uncommon i suppose but i have only played with these pants maybe 7 times. Last time i played with these pants it hurt to just be on your knees while playing.
Conclusion: I would not get these pants. For the price they are new you could get a much better pair off of ebay or even a new pair of pants for the same price. If you want a light pair of pants with decent venting then get the 07 proto pants.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

boomsin77 Tuesday, May 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT, Empire
Marker Setup: proto rail
vlocity hopper
Strengths: Have slidder shorts and you are totally good. Very very comfortable, it looks great
Weaknesses: Pockets, but you dont have to worry about that very much
Review: The first time i ever got these pants i said to myself i can tell this is going to be good luck and so far it has been good luck bcause most of the paint bounces. These are maybe the best paints i have ever had, well they are the best i have ever had. I have seen many people with these paints, they are really popular and it works great for all of the people cause i make good friends and everyone is really nice. When i did a fun little tournament with my friends my 4 friends on my team had the same pants, i did not even know until i saw and they are really good so I thought man i picked a good choice.
Conclusion: I think these are going to be my favorite paints because it seems like most of the 07 stuff is great and it is going to be a really good year.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

manikan Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 empire invert pants
Marker Setup: sp ion, freak, q lock, blade trigger...................
Strengths: Padding
Fit
Colors and looks
Weaknesses: Front pockets
Small stiching problems
Review: i recently bought these for around $ 75. so the price is good. When trying it on i noticed it had that mesh venting on the insides of the legs, and padding on outside part of your legs. i put them on and they are very comfy. ---skip to after play analysis--- after two straight days of hard playing, i have only a few problems. the front pockets are velcro, and DO NOT STAY CLOSED. they just don't, the weight of the pant legs alone is enough to not keep them closed while wearing them. but, not a problem since the pockets being open have actually caused a few bounces, and are perfect for keeping barrel bags in them so you can immedietly put them on your gun when your out, since the refs at my field harp on you, there is stitching around the knee pads that has ripped off to reveal some rope lining, but not a problem, but could possibly rip more. there is padding on the butt were a pod pack should sit, so you can tighten the pack without killing your back, and the velcro waist closure will allow you to grow or lose weight, and still fit. the knee padding is good, (if you play hard, under the pants knee pads are still a must.) and there is also some side leg padding for when you slide into a bunker on the sides of your legs, perfect to get that little extra slide. the proto logo insert on the knee actually helps protect your knee cap, kind of funny. all around good pants, and would recommend them to rec or tourney players.
Conclusion: Good construction (although can sense there will be lots of were and tear very soon), sets you apart from everyone else, and you will be happy with these pants, empire pants are still of higher quality, but for the price, and subtle innovation, these were worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007 at 1:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Autockr01 Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto 06 pants - similar
Marker Setup: 06 SFT Shocker
-CP trigger
-CP reg
-HE Bolt
-Trinity clamping feedneck

Infinity Legend
-enough said
Strengths: -Stylish
-Padded (esp in the groin area =D )
-Squeege pocket
-Lots of pockets
Weaknesses: -Not very durable
-Squeege pocket is shallow
Review: After going through a pair of Proto 06 pants, a friend bought me a pair of the 07's. Before even using them, I noticed that they looked very stylish, so that is a plus. Another thing to note is that they have about 5 pockets: two waist level pockets, two cargo pockets, and a squeege pocket (I hope im not forgetting about one). I like the fact that Proto put a squeege pocket on the pants, but its not that deep on the 07 pants. While the pocket is primarily made for battle swabs, straight shots are too long for the pocket to hold and will fall out while playing (I really liked the 06's squeege pocket because it was long enough and narrow enough to hold a straight shot securely). The padding on these pants is decent. The knees have a little bit of padding, but I would still recommend wearing knee pads underneath. I especially like how the groin area is well padded (Thanks Proto!). The first few weeks of playing in these pants, they held up pretty well. However, after a few weeks, I started to notice some significant wear around the knees. A few weeks after that, I had worn a hole in the butt and torn the knees of the pants (almost to shreds) and the snap for the fly had broken.

I am a fairly aggresive player who likes to superman, knee, and baseball slide a lot. Unfortunately, the field that I play at is dirt and may wear the pants much more quickly as opposed to astroturf.
Conclusion: If you are a CASUAL recballer (once a weekend or every other weekend) who doesn't slide excessivly and plays on dirt, I'm sure you will get a lot of use out of and be very happy with these pants. If you are someone who likes to play up front and you like to slide a lot and you play on dirt and you play frequently, the pants will wear quickly (about a couple months). Obviously, if you play on astroturf, the pants will wear MUCH less quickly, and you will be happy with them for a while. Despite my criticism, the Proto 07 pants look awesome and I would recommend them to any casual paintballer or turf baller or someone on a budget.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media