paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Proteus Mask / JT Proteus Mask / JT Proteus Mask

JT Proteus Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Proteus Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Proteus Mask
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 171
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The ultimate in goggle systems, the Spectra Proteus is the newest and hottest system available. The engineered polymer mask features a lower profile, creating a smaller target than any previous system. Uni-body construction, advanced audio capability and fog-resistant performance make this the most advanced system ever.
Product Availability 
The JT Proteus Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (18):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
torbo Saturday, August 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt NVader, Pmi X-Ray, JT Flex-7, Jt X-Fire, scott Hotshot
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/Carbine with J&J 14 inch ceramic barrel.
Strengths: It is really comfortable
The Field of vision is incredible - way better than any other lens
It has a really small profile, so its hard to hit
Its very well vented
It never fogs up with a fan, but i sold mine
It very rarely fogs up without a fan
It looks cool
You can hear really well
My friends say they can hear me better
Its not much more than a Flex-7
Weaknesses: If you have a big head it will not cover your chin very well
it is still kinda expensive
If you take a head hit you will get a bunch of paint on your face
Conclusion: I think that this is probably the best mask on the market. Although it doesn't offer as much protection to those with large heads, it is still plenty. It is close to your face, so its not uncomfortable to wear. I got mine with a fan for 79 dollars. Overall i haven't found anything better, thus it is a ten.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:07 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Carey Thursday, August 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Flex 7 IZE, Dye Invasion, JT Invader
Marker Setup: 2002 Silver Angel LCD Cut and Carved, With 88 ci 4500 psi, Revolution 12vt X board, Dye 12inch Boomstick, Shocktech Drop Forward
Strengths: The good thing about this mask is that it is a low pro file. and i like it to be small it is a perfect fit for my head very very comfortible. the price was pretty good cause i did not get them when they first came out so i paid 70 for it with the fan. i also have the tinted lens and that makes the mask look real real sweet. also you can hear very very good in the mask. also a very good thing it does not fog.
Weaknesses: the bad is when your playing in hot weather and then you are breathing real real hard and then you start to sweat heavy then there is steam in the lens and the fan nor the anti fog lens take that out but that is only happend once when i had it for about 3 years.
Conclusion: I think this mask is very good and im going to rate it a 10 because the steam thing had only happend once and that is it and i really think this is the best mask on the market and trust me the mask in the most importent safty part for you and the 70 dollars is well worth it when you buy it and the lens you can replace it so spend the money on this mask trust me you wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HORSE Tuesday, July 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT spectra, DYE invision, V-Force shield
Marker Setup: yes
Strengths: It stops you from getting hit in the face with paintballs.
Super comfie.
The best ventalation I've seen on a mask yet.
You can hear well when your wearing it.
Weaknesses: It "borrowed" my car and backed it into a truck, then it beat me in the knees with a big chunk of ready-rod... and it always drinks all the milk then puts the empty container back in the fridge.
Ugly little dork to, geez
Conclusion: JT makes the best masks all around in my opinion. And this is one of the nicest ones they make. Worth the cash.
But it is kinna ugly eh?
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brettsherfy Sunday, July 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt flex 7, any jt masks or dye masks
Marker Setup: 2k2 autococker sto
-shocktech drop
-drop zone on off
- pure energy 68/4500
-viewloader 12v rev.
Strengths: -extremely comfortable
-doesn't fog
-close profile
-compact
-comes with its own carring case
Weaknesses: -price, i had a hard time paying 100 bucks for a mask
-because of the close profile its cut really close around your chin, and leaves alittle exposed,ive been shot in the chin a couple times.
- there are slot around the mouth area and its really easy for paint to come through.
-pain to clean
Conclusion: good mask but id recomend a flex over the proteus, if your looking for a mask that doesnt fog make sure you get thermal lenses other then that dont spend more then 80 for this mask, i got mine right when it came out thats why i paid so much
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

amazngspyderman Wednesday, July 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Nvader, JT Xfire, BE Deluxe, BE Xtreme Vision
Marker Setup: 2002 vert dark green autococker w/ armson stealth, dye stickies, super fly bolt, rat 3:16 valve, and a home-made drop forward. as a backup, a tricked out spyder
Strengths: provides protection as every goggle should. rarely fogs (doesn't at all with the fan, but i broke mine soon after i got it). great field of vision. very low profile, close to the face.
Weaknesses: too close to the face. poor ventilation. after a while of hyperventilating due to this mask, i get a terrible headache. didn't happen with my nvader. that mask isn't nearly as good, but at least it doesn't give me a headache. and the tabs that are inserted into the lens frame snapped. too weak.
Conclusion: what good is a mask if it renders you incapacitated while you wait for the aspirin to kick in? jt still makes the best masks. get a flex ize.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XxXChRis0069 Monday, July 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Raven Nuvis JAVA , umm PMI somethings
Marker Setup: ummm.... what does this have to do with my goggles?
Strengths: The good: 1. DOESN'T FOG!!!!
2. The colors on the chameleon proteus (like mine) are cool
3. Comfortable (seriously if u reeeaallly wanted to u could sleep in them)
4. I got mine cheap (like 50 something)


Weaknesses: ok.... the bad:
1. Just try to take the lens out and get it back in in less than 15 minutes. Go on, try and if u can u win a... uh... the satisfaction of being like the only one in the world who can.
2. Expensive at some places
3. When its starting to get dark its hard to see out of the tinted lense (that can be fixed easily tho by getting a clear lense)

Conclusion: Well, this is a great mask for the price I payed and its reeeaaalllly comfortable so it would get a 10 because it is the coolest looking and most comfortable mask i've used..... BUT the whole lense thing can't be ignored so it gets a 9 ...... yeah the lense is so hard to get back in that instead of a ten it gets a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazycarrottop Thursday, June 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT X-Fire, JT Flex-7,and other similar masks
Strengths: It dd keep the fog out. Fit over my glasses. It's nice and small so there is less of a target to hit. Very comfortable.
Weaknesses: Very expensive for what it is. Not as durable as say the flex-7. The fan is to damn loud you cant hear anyone move or even what your team mates are telling you. (I'm a front player so it is important for me to be able to hear back players) The mask lense itself didn't fog but my glasses did the best solution to this is to get contacts. I
Conclusion: I don't feel that this mask lived up to the JT name. It seems fragile and cheaply built. Don't get me wrong it keeps fog out but for the money I would suggest getting a JT spectra or flex-7 because they are better quality and I didn't like the Vortex fan anyway. I'm giving it a 6 because 5 would be an average mask the mask is better than average but overall I think you do better for the money
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ChihawksR1 Monday, June 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Couple other masks, but nothing really compares.
Marker Setup: Spyder Flash LCD w/ 12V revvy w/X-board, 18" Boomy and 14" Titanium Boomy, Bandit Bolts Rear Cocking N-Bolt, Psyhco Ballistics 8-Stage X-Core X-Chamber. Runs on Pure Energy 68ci. 4500psi. CA tank and a 14 and 12 oz. CO2.
Alsp a TL+ w/ everything the same except a Bob Long Cyclone III Bolt and a
32 Degrees 6-Stage X-Chamber
Strengths: I love the fan for starters. I know a couple people that have this mask and don't fog even when the fan is off, but I sweat like crazy so every now and then I turn it on and it is fantastic. The profile and look of this mask is great. You can really see well also, you almost forget that it is on. If you are big on goofy colors and such there is a variety and JT makes those crazy reflective colored lenses for it if you like that too. I just have a black one with a clear lens, nothing goofy.
Weaknesses: I do have a large head and my chin does feel a little exposed sometimes, but I have never felt scared or unsafe. If you are really worried about it then don't get shot there, or buy a neck guard or something just stop winning.

The fan is pretty loud for the user, but I have asked people around me and they said that they could barely hear it when they were standing right next to me so it won't give away your position. I have left it on for entire games, it just takes some getting used to.
Conclusion: Fantastic mask. If you sweat a lot, or you just always have fog problems then you will love this mask. If you don't then buy it anyway just don't spend the money on the fan because it is still a great mask without the fan. I forgot this mask at home once and I had to use someone elses and I was in hell.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paki Sunday, June 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Nvader - not even close to this mask
Marker Setup: I use a 2002 side feed autococker with a 16" DYE Boomstick, CMI Tactical cradle, DYE hinge trigger, DYE pannels, ANS regulator, chrome ball detent, macro line, bomb 3-way, 12v rev hopper, and a 68 ci 3000 psi tank!
Strengths: If you get the fan you can turn it on and feel cool in the middle of the hot games.
You can breathe very easily through it.
You can adjust the ear peices so you can here either the back of the feild or the front of the field.
It has flex capabilitys so it deflects balls.
Weaknesses: None that I know of!! The price can be bad if you get it from a store or an internet store, so I prefer getting it off of e-bay or some other auction website.
Conclusion: This mask is the top of the line mask for any beginner, intermmediate, or expert. Your choices are this JT Spectra Proteus or any other POS below it.
Even the name is cooler than the others!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Orgasmic Jesus Sunday, June 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Some cheap wal-mart mask
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with flatline, expansion chmaber (i can hook my CO2 onto it), and a collapsible stock
an A-5 with the new equation barrel
Strengths: this mask is awesome! it has a small profile, it is very comfortable, looks great, flexible material (hard plastic around the face, and great ventilation. you can also by a fan for it which helps it not fog at all. i have yet to buy it. it has thermal lens which also reduce the fog
Weaknesses: it costs about $70, but its worth it
Conclusion: this mask is extremly nice. if you want a good mask, buy the proteus. also many people commented on it saying it looked awesome. i know i wrote a review for this already, but some retard must have not agreed with me so they reported it and had it deleted. some people are just stupid. anyway, BUY THIS MASK!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (18):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media