paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Proteus Mask / JT Proteus Mask / JT Proteus Mask

JT Proteus Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Proteus Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Proteus Mask
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 171
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The ultimate in goggle systems, the Spectra Proteus is the newest and hottest system available. The engineered polymer mask features a lower profile, creating a smaller target than any previous system. Uni-body construction, advanced audio capability and fog-resistant performance make this the most advanced system ever.
Product Availability 
The JT Proteus Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (18):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Hep Friday, May 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Spectra
Marker Setup: M98c with RT tactical drop forward, Nitro Duck 68/3000 and Lapco Bigshot
Strengths: I am not sure what all those people who gave it "1" were talking about! I am 6' not too big not too small and it fits/covers my head great. I can see how for a bigger person it wont cover as well, but A lot of masks are like that. I haven't had any 'water????' prblems with it at all! I love the feel of it and it is a joy to play in, good visabilaty even when sun is going down adn looking in that general direction! I got mien with a fan and it works great! Little loud but I dont have time to turn it on durning a game so why would how loud it is matter when your off the field on having it on for maybe 30 seconds matter?!
Weaknesses: The only thing I do not like, and this is about all JT masks, is how damne dhard it is to take it all apart. WIth my old Spectra I made slits in it, not planning on doing that to this mask but it helped! That is my only complant, and again that isnot about this mask alone!
Conclusion: Great mask, the price is coming down and well worth it! I love it and will always love it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Exilict Friday, May 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flex 7, Vforce, Invision, older JT masks..
Marker Setup: Adrenalin Angel w/Freak and Maxflow
Strengths: The profile is extreamly small, and it looks good! It has full coverage and works well with the fan. It covers all of the areas it needs to and is very durrable.
Weaknesses: My first proteus was turned into a puddle when I left it in my truck. The second I just recentally sold, however I have had alot of problems with it. For some reason the lenz was allways wet, wet to the point it was like looking out a window. Made it very hard to see.
Conclusion: The design for this mask is bad, and is obvious when you can see the condensation forming through the clear masks, there isnt enough ventalation around the mouth area, and all that water ends up on the lenz..
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

curt Thursday, May 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pmi-x ray, scott hot shot, spectra proshield. none of them compare
Marker Setup: black teflon powerfeed automag
aci 68,3000
2002 sp all american
9v hoper core universal tactical drope
forgrip
Strengths: it is totaly awsmoe. i went into the shop to look at it and it was a dream. it is very confy. and has superior protaction. and the field of view is awsome. i love it. it hugs your face perfect and will not fog up at all. no way, no how
Weaknesses: nothing i cant find anything wrong with this thing if i tryed. it is the best gogle system out there you could buy.
Conclusion: i love mine. i hope you love yours because i now you want to buy one. they are the most confertable i tryed on period. they are so worth the money. if i had the mony i would have bought the camealion but i love my clear one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT nVader - doesn't come close to matching the Proteus
Marker Setup: Silver Tippmann model 98 with 12 inch Lapco Bigshot barrel, rocket cock, air tipps rva, and maddmann springs
Strengths: This is a very nice mask. Now that the price has died down, it is well worth the money. It looks cool and I haven't had it fog yet. I haven't played a lot of winter paintball, but did play when it was cold and it didn't fog up like my nVader would. The mask is pretty comfortable and has a low profile. JT has really good customer service. I broke one of the parts that attach the visor to the mask and e-mailed them asking if they had a warranty. They e-mailed me back and told me to tell them my address and they would ship me a visor, no questions asked!
Weaknesses: Not much is bad about this mask. It is a little pricey, but not bad now that the price has gone down. It is kind of flashy and shiney and could give away your position in the woods. The lense is also hard to get out and put back in, but the more you do it, the easier it gets.
Conclusion: This is a very nice mask. I suggest you get one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, May 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup:
spyder E-99 with smart parts 2002 all-american barrel 14"( awesome), 12V VL Hopper( must have), remote, and a 20oz CO2 tank
Strengths: the mask is pretty good, it didn't fog up the whole day of play
even without the fan.
Weaknesses: the mask is pretty comfortable and stlye look good; the proganda that the earpiece help u hear better on the field which is bs,
i did noitice that when i talk my chin would be exposed abut a 1'in from the mask.
i did notice that after a long period of use u can feel water accumlatiing around the mouth area but the len is fog free
the only thing that i would add to it better lens like a tint or chrome len but it is for style.
Conclusion: this product is pretty good and so is the len that comes with it
i got my mask for 69.99 at acepaintball; so it is worth it if you don't a long face
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All other JT masks, Scott's, PMI's
Marker Setup: 68 Automag Classic, 12v Rev, J&J 12" ceramic, chrome Intelliframe, chrome Taso on/off drop, WGP foregrip Reg, Phase 2 Venturi Bolt, Rear Velocity, Pure Energy 68-3k nitro.
Strengths: It offers the same protection of any other spectra mask. Structurally speaking. If you are into the flashy colors, you'll like it. The clear panels are actually clear as opposed to translucent like everyone else's "clear" masks. Very Low profile.
Weaknesses: First off, looks are an issue. If you are a bigger player than "Shorty" from Indiana Jones and The Temple of Doom", you are going to look like a GOON. Let's talk coverage. The chin exposure for larger players is a joke. JT could have put a little more down there without sacrificing any low profile attributes. Don't tell me to "suck it up" either. I could care less about getting hit in the chin, if I didn't have to clean the entire mask out afterward. It's not about being a pantywaist anymore, it's about the mask being a pain in the butt. If you have a large melon, don't expect to feel very ventilated. Ever seen the Alien movie? Yeah, now you know what I'm talking about. The visor is all but useless. This mask screams "GIMMICK" and is no better by any means than any other spectra mask. Ear dials? Give me a break.
Conclusion: I work in a paintball proshop, and have more than five years in the sport. I have not seen a more blatant gimmick since the Ram Rod barrel. Get the Flex-7. Proteus isn't worth the extra $40 by any means.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ipoppedtimmy Saturday, May 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-
Strengths: The JT Spectra Proteus has to be the ultimate in Goggle systems.
Quik Change Lenses
Very Tight profile
Amazingly comfortable
Looks awesome
Comes in cool new colors
Accepts goggle fans
It rarely if not ever fogs.
Weaknesses: Its lenses scratch easily
it can be a little uncomfortable if you have a big head
$80 is a little much for a mask
Conclusion: This overall an exellent mask but then again you could improve anything. Its an exellent buy if you have the money and if I were you I wouldn't think twice about getting it if you have the extra money to get it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, May 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
orignal spectra
BE bug mask
Marker Setup: Impy w/ freak
polished internals
Strengths: well most people say that it looks smaller than their spectra but if you look at it straight on and really compare the two the Proteus is actually a little bigger. it covers more of your face just below your jaw under your ear. you don't hear yourself breathing as much. when you get hit in the ear it isn't as painful. the swiveling ear plates don't do as much as the adds suggest but i suppose its the thought that counts.
Weaknesses: well the price is the thing that jumps into my mind first. the chameleon colors come with tinted lenses but i guess if you like that its a good thing i don't, makes it harder to see. slightly awkward to put on the first couple of times but you get used to it rather quickly.
Conclusion: i wouldn't have bought these if my other mask wasn't falling apart but now im glad that i did. i believe that it was a good investment and if you have the 80 bucks to get these i recommend them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

prep21 Wednesday, May 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spectra Thermal, Raven Nuvis-1
Marker Setup: 2001 Black STO Autococker
68ci/4500 Pure Energy N2
Dye Titanium Boomstick - 14
Ricochet 2k
Custom Products On/Off Valve
ANS Quick Pull Venturi Bolt
Strengths: First, I think that it is merely undeniable that this mask is THE best looking mask made. Also, I have the clear mid-section, and it looks UNREAL with my teams uniforms (silver, white and black).
In addition to ravishing good looks, this mask is truly low profile. I have a size 7 and a quarter head, so I fit nicely in it. For those of us with a noggin under 7 and 3/4, we are good to go. The low profile definitely reduces your target area. Also, the fog really is not an issue. I just used the mask at the National College Championships in Chicago and the weather was 43 and raining with high winds. The Proteus performed flawlessly without the fan on - ever! My team told me that they could hear me better with this on as well, so the voice projection is most likely true.
Weaknesses: If you have a large head or a fat chin, I would probably not get the Proteus. Also, if you play with this mask on a hot AND humid day, you will need the fan - but that's no big deal really. It is a bit on the expensive side, its right up there with the Morph and Invision, so you are not lacking choices in the high-end mask market. While I noted above that the voice projection features work, I am not quite as sure about the directional hearing. I am not saying that it does not work, I am just saying that I am not sure.
Conclusion: If you have a head and chin that will fit - get the Proteus. It is that simple. I am going to give this mask a 9 because it hints at fog under certain conditions. However, that is only because it has such a low profile - you can't have everything. Also, until some company comes out with a THERMAL mask featuring a photochromatic lens, no mask should receive a 10. So, for any manufacture out there reading this, PLEASE make a Proteus-type mask with a photochromatic. This is why I have a Nuvis-1 also - just have to have both until they are merged into one combined unit.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, May 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
skull, spectra,dye invasion
Marker Setup: angel ir-3 pewter fade with custom built hopper, equation barrel system, aka low pressure valve, aka bolt, dye izon sight, stainless hammer, sys x back plate, sys x volumizer, mako low pressure regulator, twisted asa, centerflag hyperflow 0-250 psi regulator, dye single trigger frame, clear grips, adrenaline trigger, angel air 45ci tank, dye micro gauge
Strengths: this is the best mask ive ever used no fogging keeps me cool even on hot days, wraps around your head, very comfy mask, no voice echo, visor is even cool (i usally take these off my masks), visor covers fan switch so it wont turn on in your bag
Weaknesses: the fan its to loud, ear pieces do these even work for what there intended, could come in more colors
Conclusion: like i said above this is the best mask ive ever used much much better than the invasion (fogs between lenses and is to small for most faces)
this will be me and my wifes main maskes from now on and she found this not me lol
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (18):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media