paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro / Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro / Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro / Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro

Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 68
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $750

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Reactive Trigger (RT) technology capable of an astounding 25+ rounds/sec without measurable shootdown, as tested in our R&D labs when trigger pulled by computer. Designed exclusively for use with high performance compressed gases. All new RT valve recharges 5 times faster than the world-renowned 68AUTOMAG valve. The RT valve features a stainless valve body with a lightweight Hard Anodized Aluminum Regulator Body. Laser-cut, precision located, roller bearing , carbide tipped Sear Assembly. Polished Stainless Steel Mainbodies. New tapered barrel with polished stainless steel muzzle brake (see update information shorter barrels. Integral Sight Rail. Built in filter prevents valve contamination and performance degradation.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
ct3000 Wednesday, April 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rock Ir3, Dark Angel Ir3, 2k2 cocker, 2k3 cocker, Kapp Reflex cocker, angel lcd, Bushy, to many to list
Marker Setup: Rock Ir3 with r11 bolt, Dark Drop withASA, and Egg
Soon to have Lucky 15 barrel system
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good Cradle Level 10 bolt
Strengths: Very reliable, shoots good
Weaknesses: i had it chop my 2nd ball, watch how fast your firing.
Review: Good gun a little on the heavy side. I played all day and had no real problems other than once i chopped it. Shoots preaty straight. I dont like the right feed but ive heard you can get them in df but its supposedly not suppose to feed as fast on that gun. Witch i question. I have no huge complaints. id recomend this as a good step up gun.
Conclusion: Definetly get this if your looking for that imbetween gun that doesnt cost you a fortune but still performs over all great.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

automagfreek Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
68 Automag Classic, the little brother of the RT
Marker Setup: RT Pro, 14" Smart Parts Progressive barrel, 3000/48 Pure energy compressed air, LvL 10
Recommended
Upgrades:
LvL 10
Strengths: Light, very fast, easy to fix/clean, no shootdown under HEAVY firing
Weaknesses: none.
Review: The Automag RT Pro is a beast. This gun can rip faster than most electros, and the Retro Valve is touts is capable of recharging up to 26bps, not that you can pull the trigger that fast. You can probably hit around 15-18 if you sweet spot the trigger, and if you do, have your pressure set somewhere around 800-850. It still amazes me how a marker that is so simple can be so deadly. Upgrade it how you see fit, although you won't need to do much. A LvL 10 is a must, this will eliminate all chopping. Then, you can really get the RT up to it's true potential. This marker is THE pinnacle of mechanical markers, and it's performance is unmatched. Like I said, the Retro Valve is THE fastest recharging valve in the world, and normally has only a milimeter or so trigger pull, which in itself is really light and crisp. And as with all AGD products, this thing will serve you well for years, and needs little matinence, oil every day of play.
Conclusion: This marker owns! I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYBODY. Great for woods, indoor, and tourney play. GET THIS MARKER!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 21st, 2003 at 1:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kieron Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: AGD RT Pro with Intelliframe, Level 10
Warp Feed with Ricochet AK
Crossfire 88/3k with System X D/F w/ On-Off
Taso 14" Pro SS
Recommended
Upgrades:
In this order:
Level 10 bolt kit (If not equipped with one)
Warp Feed
Flatline Tank system
Strengths: High rates of fire, this marker is capable of firing faster than you can pull the trigger and most hopper's can feed. Through superior design, there is no shootdown, as there is with other markers or CO2 set-ups.
Low upkeep. A couple of drops of lube in the QD after a day on the field and that's it. No need for timing or time consuming maintenance. A yearly o-ring swap is the only major "overhaul" that needs to be performed.
Few moving parts. This marker is 100%% mechanical. No electronics to worry about, if something fails on the marker, it's most likely a blown o-ring.
Customer service from AGD is the best in the business. Also, if you can't get a hold of someone at AGD (a rare occurance), the folks at www.automags.org are some of the friendliest and knowledgeable people when it comes to working on any AGD product.
Twist-lock barrels. If you have a barrel break, give the barrel 1/4 turn and pull. The barrel comes right out. Excellent if you need to clean it in the middle of a game.
Weaknesses: The learning curve for the trigger might be steep. If you don't have a properly installed Level 10 kit, expect to chop balls when you start firing it. Short stroking is a near certanty until you get used to the Reactive Trigger pushing back against your finger.
Conclusion: Some people might complain that AGD markers are paint blenders. I would guess that most of thest people never took the time to learn the marker, or are repeating what they heard from someone else. As with anything else that is new, use it and give it a chance before you draw an opinion.
Other people have complained about twist-lock problems. Most can be repaired with a simple adjustment, be the lock too tight or too loose.

In my opinion, the RT Pro is the best mechanical marker produced. High rates of fire, low upkeep, awesome customer service, easy to work on and a group of other 'Mag owners that are just a click away.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vamp Friday, January 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've played with a Kapp Autococker for a year. Every time I've played with it it's always been a headache to me. I do not recommend cockers. they are so tempermental. I found myself always making adjustments to the regulators, the velocity was never consistant. It was a mess. It was not worth my time.
Marker Setup: I currently use an Automag RT pro, vertical feed, black body. With a 14" 32degrees Carbon fiber barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good cradle or drop forward. And a 4500 tank. Because you are going to need all the air that you can get. Because this gun works best at high pressure. Right under about 900, it dosent shoot as vicious.
Strengths: This gun is no joke. I could out shoot any cocker, and even some of the weaker fully automatic electronic guns. EX AMG Spyder. The recharge on this RT is so outrageously fast. I love the sound when I rock that trigger.
Weaknesses: nothing, I'm happy with everything about it. The velocity adjustment is right there, I can clean it in two seconds. It's not bulky like all the other markers. EX like an autococker's big body, or the ugly impulse.the Impulse looks like your running around with a nasty black box with a barrel sticking out of it.
The RT is pleasant to the eye. The best marker I've played with yet.
Conclusion: Very easy to maintenance. just a couple a drops of Autolube and your like what! who's next.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trox14 Wednesday, January 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Black Magic Cocker, WDP IR3 fly, AGD E-mag
Marker Setup: Automag RT pro w/ Halo B and 68 Ci 3000psi pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper, Intelleframe, Drop foward, level 10 bolt, and a big tank
Strengths: Plenty of paint flying, the accuracy is okay, looks pretty good and mechanically is perfect
Weaknesses: A little heavy, needs a new trigger frame, gas hog, and a bit pricy
Conclusion: It's a great gun buy one if you can afford it. I haven't had it very long but I love it, it just needs a few upgrades to be as close to perfect as it can be.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WarCry9 Monday, November 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost everything that is similar
Marker Setup: Halo B
45/3000 Crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
I have no Idea
Strengths: Since I only tested it, I can only say a few things...

-Fairly fast
-didnt chop
-Extremely quiet
-Fairly light
-Looks pretty neat
-Quite accurate
Weaknesses: -Kinda cheap materials used in its production ( There was duct tape all over the one I tested, and it was new and only a week old!)
-Sort of a gas hog
-Not the prettiest gun

Really, it is a cheap gun. A co-worker of mine went through 3 mags within a few months since the frames cracked...
Conclusion: Not really worth the money, unless you are not a rough player. If you are back player it may be perfect for you, but not recommended for a front player.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Trunnion Tuesday, October 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months21 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag 68, '00 autococker, minimag
Marker Setup: Automag RT Pro, 51/3k crossfire nitro tank, 12v revvy, stock barrel
Automag 68, 68/3k flatline nitro system, 12v revvy, 16" total freak kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
nitro is required, so a good tank is suggested. a drop forward will probably make it more comfortable. a 12v revvy is a must. if the paint you use doesn't match the stock barrel, then a new barrel is suggested
Strengths: The ROF is extremely high. The RT action on the trigger makes for a short and snappy pull that I like quite a bit. This gun will NOT do runaway mode like a Tippmann RT in it's stock configuration, so don't expect it to. Runaway is not tournament legal, so you shouldn't need that for serious tourny-style play anyway. The foregrip and sight rail add a nice look to the gun, and I particularly like my black teflon body. The rail and foregrip are also removable if you want to save weight or get that shiny stuff off there for woods play(yes, I do use mine in the woods). So far I've only chopped one ball in the chamber after approximately 3 cases worth of paint. The stock barrel, while a little loud, is good for most medium bore paints. I've heard people complain about the crown point slicing balls open at the muzzle, but I haven't had any such issues(I check for sharp edges when I got it, and they were pretty smooth). The valve can recharge at 26 bps without shootdown, which means you shouldn't get shootdown ever(considering you can feed faster than 18 bps with a HALO B and probably can't pull the trigger faster than 9 or 10 bps anyway). Great consistancy. The two finger Intelliframe is stock with all RT Pros now, and it's a great, sturdy trigger frame. Stainless steel valve and steel body are practically indestructable(unless you're trying really hard to break it). Field stripping is quick and easy. I personally like the twist-lock barrel system, though that's also personal preference. Stock barrel came with plastic nubbins.
Weaknesses: I personally don't like the positioning of the foregrip, but most people that I've allowed to shoot it don't mind. That's a matter of personal preference. I took mine off. It can be a bit weighty with the foregrip and sight rail, so removing the foregrip will save you some weight. I don't mind the weight, but some might. The actual gun body is kinda boring. Again, this isn't something that bothers me, so long as the gun works I'm happy. When you do chop a ball, the barrel should be cleaned with water and squeegeed well and you should make sure the powerfeed(if you have a p/f body) is clear of paint and shell. I've only experienced this once, and that was during a very long string of shooting in a scenario game. In normal speedball situations, where engagement times are short, this problem will most likely not arise. The level 10 upgrade will also help to fix this problem.
Conclusion: This is a great product backed by excellent customer service from a wonderful company. If you're interested in a high end gun that can keep up with an electro, this is pretty much it, with the possible exception of some of the higher end cockers(I don't know cockers very well so I won't speak for them). Most of the things I listed as 'Bad' were personal preference, and the chopped ball scenario doesn't occur often. This is the best paintball gun I've ever shot.

Just some things to note as I often see misinformation in these reviews(not neccessarily reviews for this gun):
-All guns have the same range if shooting at the same velocity.
-Accuracy has nothing to do with barrel length past the first 8 unported inches. after that it's all paint/boresize match.
-Consitency(consistant velocity from shot to shot) is the other major factor in accuracy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

joshmrtpro Thursday, August 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Automag RT Pro with a smarts part all american 2002,shockteck dropforward,intelliframe,crossfire nitro screwin preset 68cu 3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel, a dropforward and a good nitro system
Strengths: It shoots straight, but most importantly it shoots fast. What more then that does any one need to say.
Weaknesses: if you get a tank that is a screwin preset and you dont have an on/off you will have to use a rod to get the gun to fully pressurize. It does this because of the lack of instant pressure. Other then that I havent had any problems with mine.
Conclusion: Its a great gun. If you have the money buy it, but just be sure to get a good nitro system. And I dont now where they got $750 for this gun i paid $550 for mine. Id give this gun a ten but it needing more pressure then screwins give out at once sucks
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

puffthedragon13 Sunday, August 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A lot of cockers, tippmans and spyders.
Marker Setup: stock rt pro with vert body.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I personally like the double trigger frame, the barrel can chop some, other than that go ahead. O yea a revy is a must
Strengths: Let me put it this way, I shot it at cardboard and it broke a whole in it. This thing packs a mad punch. Its fast and very very reliable. You will never have to touch it. Shoot it, clean the barrel, put some oil on it and throw it under the bed or in the closet for next time.
Weaknesses: Accuracy. Try shooting a tree, you cant lol. A new barrel could fix that. I hate how you have to have nitro. I have nitro anyways but if you just wanna take some shots in the back you cant pull out your co2 tank. I tried it shoots the first time but then you have to take the gun apart, clean it, and put it back together.
Conclusion: Front player, great price is good for what you get. Back players need to look in the cocker section. You can get a really good cocker for 750 and shoot at just a little less rof. If you are all about speed and dont want the cheap 2mm pull of the angel get this thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ross Robertson Friday, August 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2001 Angel, Spyder Shutter, PMI Tracer pump
Marker Setup: This is my back up marker and I enjoy it when i play rec ball with it(Angel is only tourny & practice). Quick diconnect, shocktech chrome long drop, 12v rev.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Freak system or some bommies, int. feed, double trigger
Strengths: Its tight, fast and well the best semi-auto marker i have ever used. Reative trigger is good. Easy cleaning with a quick disconnect. The fps stay the same until you get on low air.
Weaknesses: Scrathes like crazy on the chrome body. No way you can get 26bps even with a reactive trigger. The way the barrel locks in. Its hard to get it out when you brake a ball.
Conclusion: Some people say these brake balls like crazy but i have only broken 3 balls in maybe 20 cases. Maybe i got lucky. Buy it if you have the cash. Dont bother with these bull electronic assisted markers. Its just so they can charge you more. Buy it!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media