paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro / Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro / Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro / Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro

Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 68
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $750

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Reactive Trigger (RT) technology capable of an astounding 25+ rounds/sec without measurable shootdown, as tested in our R&D labs when trigger pulled by computer. Designed exclusively for use with high performance compressed gases. All new RT valve recharges 5 times faster than the world-renowned 68AUTOMAG valve. The RT valve features a stainless valve body with a lightweight Hard Anodized Aluminum Regulator Body. Laser-cut, precision located, roller bearing , carbide tipped Sear Assembly. Polished Stainless Steel Mainbodies. New tapered barrel with polished stainless steel muzzle brake (see update information shorter barrels. Integral Sight Rail. Built in filter prevents valve contamination and performance degradation.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs Automag RT Pro is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
elementsqrd101 Friday, January 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i shot a normal mag once, thats about the closest anything comes to this for being similar.
Marker Setup: i currently use my angel lcd 2000 with a highrise feed, custom products barrel, tko chrome drop forward, 68/45000 crossfire nitro tank, chrome cut and carved regulator.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a drop forward, definatly a 12 volt loader at least, and an all american barrel
Strengths: it felt really good shooting, didn't seem to hard on the paint and didn't have a lot of kick, it was very smooth, i like the kick back the trigger had and me and my friend were able to really rip off a lot of paint with this, at about as fast as my angel. it was pretty decent with the stock barrel, but it could benefit a lot from a better barrel. those who say that the stock barrel sucks, its ONE of the best stocks barrels i've ever seen, those who say that the stock barrel sucks, might just have a bad paint/barrel match.
Weaknesses: another reason to get a new stock barrel is becuase everyonce in awhile a paintball will break at the very tip of the barrel because of the muzzle break, it has so semi-sharp ridges on it which will rip the paintballs.but that didn't affect the accuracy a whole lot cause it was just at the very tip of the barrel, not much was really inside the barrel where the balls would catch the paint and lose accuracy. and it needs a drop forward, it felt pretty good with a steel 68ci, but it could still use a lil bit of a drop forward. AND FINALLY, it could shoot as fast as my angel, but it took a lot more effort to get it shooting that fast, right when i first shot my angel i was able to easily get 10-12 a second in almost any situation, with this you gotta think about pulling and releasing the trigger more, but once you get used to it i'm certain it would be second nature, take no effort at all to reach that speed.
Conclusion: this gun is awesome, its easily tied with my angel and i'm thinking of maybe selling my angel to buy one of these, just cause its so much fun to shoot, it really is. this gun doesn't seem to have as much kick to it as an angel too, i know i'm comparing it a lot to an angel, but thats cause you gotta compare the best to the best. i honostly can't say my angel is better than this, mine might have more gizmos and quick access to the bolt but those are the only real advantages the angel has over it. no offense to cockers, they're great when they work n all, but this gun puts up so much more firepower and has enough accuracy that the accuracy that a cocker might have over this is meaningless its not enough MORE accuracy and not nearly the bps, and they're much more easy to break. this babay earned a 10!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, December 31st, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing I have used as even come close to this, but a close second is a perfectly working cocker(but were can you find one of those?)
Marker Setup: 68ci@4500psi Crossfire, Ti. boom stick, intellifeed, warp feed, revy 18 volt
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock this gun is very good, intellifeed double trigger, barrel,drop forward ? i dunno whats first
Strengths: I have used almost every gun there is, sypders are good for beginers, cockers are good for the rich, tippmans are good for feilds and for the poor, but automags are for the ture and the pure. i got the r/t stock with a double trigger intellifeed, the stock barrel isn't bad,not the best either,and what eles is there that you can add?. The super bolt has been recalled soo hummm???
Weaknesses: If you have never shot one the chop alot of balls, it's kinda heavy, but if you want to lessen that just buy a smaller tank.
Conclusion: Over all this is the fast,sharpest looking gun i have ever shot in my life. I went to a feild in houston Texas and the ref brought his gun out, he had a fully deck out shocker and at the time i had a bone dry r/t and he offerd to trade, then he wanted to shoot it, then he told me to get a warp feed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Automag
Marker Setup: Intelliframe
Flatline nitrogen system
Recommended
Upgrades:
Intelliframe
Longer barrel
Strengths: works great right out of the box
accurate
compact
fast shooting

the best gun ever
Weaknesses: i can't think of anything wrong with this gun
Conclusion: A great gun for the money
if you are looking for a great gun, get an Automag RT Pro
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Python14 Wednesday, December 12th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, Angels, Cockers, other mags, Matrices, and a Bushmaster that U.S. Airways lost(but paid for a cocker)
Marker Setup: Red Splash RT Pro-Foregrip removed-AirAmerica Raptor Rex 68ci 4500psi-Red 12volt Turborev-Pro-team/Benchmark Drop forward-Macroline
Recommended
Upgrades:
For front players, I recommend you remove the foregrip. Makes it lighter, less cumbersome and cooler looking. I also recommend a good dropforward and Macroline kit
Strengths: This thing is about performance. It took me about a hopper of paint to finally figure out a good steady rhythm to fire too. It recommend you gas it up, put some old paint in, and learn the trigger before you go and play with it. Anywho, Once I finally got the gun up and running, I was able to blaze a trail of paint anywhere I wanted it. I could easily outshoot my Revy(before turborev mod). Once I got the forefrip off, It was a good compact gun to play with. The raptor rex air system was more than enough to keep this gun up and running at top performance. Another thing about it is, that during the winter months, when the valve gets hot, I can put my hands on it and warm them. That brings up something else. Since this gun works only with Compressed air, you will never have to worry about shootdown. I have yet the 26 bps barrier and I doubt you will too so never worry about your paintballs landing short. I love this gun.
Weaknesses: The bad...? Hmmmm. Give me a second.

I guess the price. For about the same price, you could get a nice impulse or Bushy but them again, Last I checked, there is no company like AGD to back you when you buy those. For the performance, it is worth about every penny I paid. The Red Splash was mainly for my pleasure so it was worth it too.
Other than that, there is no real bad point.
Conclusion: One thing I forgot to mention was that I sold my Shocker for this. Up until 3 weeks ago, I had only shot an RT once and it was not a very good experience(fault of the owner)but when I shot a new one. I fell in love. I am actually considering buying another one because I want to set one up for woods ball(quieter and larger tank). And the best part is, With Airgun Designs backing it up, I'm golden. I'd recommend this to anyone whose sick of electros with their confusing wiring and unsafe triggers. I love this gun. If given the chance to do it again, I'd get two instead just because I want a purple one too. So go buy one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, November 23rd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
A Automag Classic and a STO Autococker.
Outperforms the classic mag but it is easier to short stroke the RTs trigger.
The STO is slower but seemed to be a little more accurate.
Marker Setup: All stock centerfeed minus the sight rail w/ 12v revvy and 68ci nitro duck tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
MAYBE a longer barrel if you are going to play backman.
Strengths: Reliable: I have never had any problems with the marker itself.

Durable: Landed on it, smacked it against bunkers, my buddy dropped it, dug it into the dirt played in the pouring rain with it and I have yet to have a problem with it.

Fast: You will never be able to outshoot this marker. Its so fast that no production hopper can come close to keeping up.

Compact: When its setup stock, it has a tight profile and is easy to maneuver.
Weaknesses: The trigger. It's short and light but hard to get used to. If you dont know what you're doing then its easy to short stroke it, especially once you've broken the marker in. And with the RT short stroking equals paintball blender.

Rough on paint. Make sure that you dont skimp on the paint otherwise you'll end up with more ball breaks than you can count. I've found that Inferno and Marbelizer work great. Blaze is pretty good.

Conclusion: If you want a well made, reliable marker that you dont have to upgrade and can play both tourney and rec ball with then this is your marker.

Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, November 14th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
USAS Viper M1 is bullet proof as the RT PRO, but of course the RT PRO can easily outshoot it.
Tippmann Model 98 Custom RT - the 98 RT is adjustable and harder to control and chops alot more paint, and doesn't seem to have the accuracy even with the Freak system on it.
Marker Setup: RT PRO - Black teflon body - powerfeed left
68ci 4.5k psi Center Flag preset fiber tank.
TKO Drop Forward with macro line
Ricochet2k hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
? Possibly an Adjustable compressed air tank (though I haven't had any trouble with my 850 psi preset)
? The stock barrel is suprisingly accurate (used pmi advantage and anarchy). but of course people will want to upgrade it anyways!
Strengths: ? This gun can shoot! I don't think any other non-electro gun can come close, even some of the electro guns for that matter!
? It is really small and compact
? Great warranty from a great company and customer satisfaction.
? My trigger ( i didn't think) was adjusted properly at the factory, yeah it worked, but since I'm picky and I just paid $630 for this gun, I want it shoot right. I was able to send it back to the factory and they adjusted it for me for free and that made all the difference! now it RIPS!
? No messing around with adjustments/timing etc...
? Hassle Free
? If the trigger is reacting right, like I mentioned above, it's difficult to chop paint (and of course with a little practice)
Weaknesses: No gas through grip like the older RT!
No more side ports like the old RT!
Don't short stroke it :-(
Pricey. (but isn't the sport as whole anyways?)
a couple of the screws aren't nickel plated so the start to corrode.
Conclusion: I think this is the fastest shooting non-electro marker.
It is well constructed and has a reputation of quality.
I would recommend because you don't have to worry about batteries dieing etc...
you can pick it up for $599 new at a couple places (as of this writing 11/14/01)
At the time i was considering a Bushmaster B2k2 but went with the RT PRO just because its all mechanical and has a stronger history. But I think I am going to buy a B2K2 also :-)
Excellent gun, won't let you down and if it does, you have a great company backing you!
I'm giving it a 10 because as far as non-electro guns go it's the cheapest ,fastest shooting, hassle free, easiest to maintain marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kaos-rtp Thursday, October 25th, 2001
Strengths: this is the best gun i have had have had( t98,shocker,tipp 32degrees,) its so much faster than all of them. accuracy isnt that of a shocker but its smaller lighter design is what makes it great. easy to clean.
Weaknesses: when i first got this gun it worked great for about 3 weeks then it started going full auto on me the full 26 balls per second, which would be good if the vavle went all the way back. i had to send it back to the factory it took agd 3 weeks to get it back to me. then it worked great for the next 2 months then i day when i was refing i decided to pull it out and show it off. but what do u no full auto again. the tourny was the next day so that pissed me off. i when out and bought a pro teams fx sto cocker ten times more reliable. i ended up not shipping it back to the factory and decided to take it apart i tought it was the reactive pin behing the trigger so i melted the lock tight and screew the pin out further and what do you no it worked.
Conclusion: i still say this is the best shooting gun i have had but not the accuracy of my cocker i still have both guns "both working". if you get this gun get a better barrel the 14inch boomy is nice. email me if you gun craps out ill tell you what i no about them. UNLIMITED KAOS IN NPPL
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, July 24th, 2001
Strengths: 1. AGD's own designs and high quality production value behind it.
2. Low Maintence and extremely durable as well as reliable. It's consistency is remarkable - N2/HPA is needed to operate.
3. ROF is amazing. Users of other type of high-end markers are surprised once they give the RT/RT Pro a 'chance'. Even the ones who aren't used to the trigger pull, once they get the hang of it. So the 'cool' factor always comes in.
Weaknesses: The only thing I can point to is... Well, I've yet to take advantage of the ROF and that's where my regret comes in. A marker's rate of fire has never been a priority to me when looking to pick a gun. I realize that the majority of the cost I paid for is exactly because of the ROF this gun can achieve. Still I suppose it can't hurt for future uses... Not really a complaint.
Conclusion: I love people like below who give reviews and seem to know nothing about Markers in general, especially those who claim one gun is inherently superior in it's 'accuracy' than another.

Read the articles all over the net, in print magazines and in those forums where the actual tech junkies and manufacturer's post their results on paintball accuracy. Heck, even go for the recent APG article where they point to accuracy being all about a good paint and barrel match.

Posters like Anchorite who simply post to lower an overall rating, I don't think should be allowed to count. There isn't a single valid reason he's pointed to and by the way Reactive triggers doesn't equate to 'cheating' and nor are they banned in NPPL tourny rounds.

By the way, I'd say the same for cockers. Reviews that have no constructive and legitimate values, other then to lower a rating simple because mags or cockers "suck" should be taken off.

And yes I do own this marker, and I've loved it so far. I've only chopped the ball once and it was due to the fact I went off into the field without checking my tank for Air (had next to no pressure in it). It more than impresses the 'newbies'. The local field I visit to is known for it's history and visits by the 'pros'. Trust me, it's impressed more than a few users of both Cockers and Mags.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, July 23rd, 2001
Strengths: I love this gun, i used to have a 99 cocker and sold it (not cause it was bad) mostly cause i wanted to try something different. this gun kicks A$$ ROF is crazy. i put a benchmark double trigg, now i can out shoot angels, and pretty much anything else.
Weaknesses: nothing, i love this gun
Conclusion: stock the gun is fine right out of the box, personally i perfer a double trigg frame
but thats just me. for the price i think its worth every penny. if your beginning to become a half way serious player definitly give this gun a serious thought
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

-=*Star*Fire*=- Wednesday, June 20th, 2001
Strengths: After buying my RT pro this week I am very very pleased. Being some what of a newbie to the sport I found the gun easy to use and very very fast. Disassebly is quick and easy. I have field stripped it once already all you need to do is take off the thumb screw behind the Handle and you can pull the whole bolt assembly out. The ROF on this gun is unbelievable, I can outshoot a 12v hopper right out of the box, even being new to the trigger. The trigger is awsome, It recharges in .20miliseconds with no shoot down seriously! The stock barrel is nice too, accurate and somewhat quiet. The gun itself I belive is natuarly quiet. The barrel locks into place so you no longer have to worry about barrels becomming loose during play. Cleaning is a snap, leaving the gun pressurized you dunk it under water and fire it a few times. Very very good gun.
Weaknesses: Can get a little pricey after nitro. Nitro only, but most people with this lvl of marker use it anyway. The Thumb screw beind the handle can be very annoying when running, it rubs against yer hand between yer thumb and index finger.
Conclusion: Over all this is a great gun, I found it quick and easy to set up and go, VERY good stock and needs very little upgrades. The vidio it comes with makes disassembly and reassembly a cinch. I would definatly recomend this gun to anyone who really wants to bring a new lvl of play to there game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media