paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / New Designz Ion Skeleton Bolt / New Designz Ion Skeleton Bolt / New Designz Ion Skeleton Bolt / New Designz Ion Skeleton Bolt / New Designz Ion Skeleton Bolt

New Designz Ion Skeleton Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount New Designz

Buy New Designz Ion Skeleton Bolt

Paintball Ion Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


New Designz Ion Skeleton Bolt
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 8.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Double o-ring Skeleton Bolt seals off the incoming air charge during firing for increased air efficiency
Reduced tail shaft diameter increases internal air volume capacity for lower pressure operation
Only 10.5gr, it's so light you'd think its from another planet
High flow port design, makes for much quieter operation
Eliminates kick
Teflon impregnated hardcoat finish for even less friction
Product Availability 
The New Designz Ion Skeleton Bolt is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
JiuJitsu500 Wednesday, January 19th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt, Orange Bolts, tested a friends Bob Long Pillow
Marker Setup: Custom ION - 14" SP Linear, Fasta, Skeleton Bolt, custom ANS body/frame, Empire Grips, CP Drop/ASA, a lot of upgrade parts acquired over 3 years or so. Stock board/eyes. PMI 68/3000.

Back-up/Project marker '09 Spyder Pilot - LP Setup (320 psi @ 300 fps) w/CP Shorty Reg and Maddman Rocket Valve, Vlocity Jr, Geurilla Air, 12" J&J S2
Strengths: Extremely light, Reduces kick to near nothing, price
Weaknesses: Some batches of these break, though mine never has in 3 years
Review: This bolt is sick nasty wicked, for lack of a better term. Simply put, the best in my opinion. The kick in the 50-something or so gram stock bolt wasn't so noticable at first (had an imagine before the ion, so naturally...) but over time getting used to an EP marker, it became annoying when I started messing with cockers, timmy's, or other high-end types of markers.

So, come time to upgrade, to save the story, I bought the lightest bolt available at the time (some now are even lighter, but I don't need them personally). The Skeleton (2-orings in the rear) most certainly saves gas, reduces the kick to be almost completely gone (10.5 grams, lubed with a light coat of Dye Slick). It short, this damn thing is the best upgrade you can do to the internals of this marker, period. A board, sure if you ramp and like all that cheating stuff (unless legal on your field) and can go beyond 17 bps (which no, you can't in semi, liar lol)... but that kick, though small, will be there to throw you off. This bolt reduced my dwell (with delrin detents too) to 16ms (though fires fine at the minimum of 8), and somehow made the entire marker better, more accurate (oddly), and saves a ton of gas. I went from less than 600 shots on a 68/3000 (my mistake not getting a 4500, but still), to nearly 1000. More than enough to play a lot longer. Not to mention the faster trigger pulls you can achieve thanks to all this.

Overall, this thing performs in every imaginable way. In my personal opinion it outperformed the other 3 or 4 bolts at the top of the line, like the Pillow or 2-pieces, even the orange.
Conclusion: I would HIGHLY recommend this to every proud Ion owner, even if it's your back-up. This thing does what is advertised, period. I will give it a 9 though because nothing is perfect, and New Designz, though a great cheap company, does have it's flaws in production, and I have heard of these things breaking in the first few thousand rounds, sometimes sooner, some later. Either way, mine has lasted WELL beyond a few ten thousand rounds, over three years worth, and has never had any hiccup. Perhaps I got a high quality batch, but even so I would buy a new one if it ever did break in a heartbeat. Hit or miss I suppose, but this thing is well worth it's weight in diamond.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

burns130 Wednesday, March 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt
Marker Setup: Wow...here goes
2 X A-5's (set up the same way except for barrels)
R/T (1/8 inch tubing)
Cippard MEV-2 (QEV)
JCS Jet Click
X-7 paddles
X-7 hopper
Palmers Stabilizer
Cabela's brand 30mm red dot scope
Allen brand aluminum front grip covered with black diamondback grip (fits perfect, feels awesome, looks downright mean)
remote with quick disconnect
Crossfire 70/4500 HPA with black empire stubby cover
Flatline with thumb screw kit (gun #1)
J&J Edge Elite Kit with 10/12/14 fronts (gun #2)

2 X ions (set up same way except for color/different bolt out back bodies/one polished red and one polished blue)
NDZ skeleton bolt
Clippard MEV-2 (QEV)
clamping feedneck
NDZ small rail
Empire Reloader B
CP on/off ASA
stock reg (for now)
stock board (for now)
Shocktech SSC bolt out back body (red)
Strange Ion bolt out back body (blue)
Crossfire 70/4500 HPA with black empire stubby cover
J&J Edge Elite kit (10/12/14 fronts)

Autococker trilogy sport

Chrony A1 chronograph



Strengths: Light
Low operating pressure
no kick
Weaknesses: I have found none

UPDATE 3/27/08
One bolt broke (see review).
Review: I purchased two skeleton bolts. I have only tested them on my markers so cannot speak to durability.

Operating pressure: 135 PSI for 277 FPS
Dwell: 20
Recharge: 28
When I first put the marker together, I lubed up the bolt o'rings well to avoid the problems some reviewers have had with the bolt. I set the operating pressure at 145 PSI (due to the lighter bolt and QEV). My first string of 10 averaged 302 FPS. After experimenting, I settled on 135 PSI for 277 FPS. The marker has almost no kick with this bolt. My son walked up and ripped through 30 balls in semi-auto in under 3 seconds (video game dexterity). With the lack of kick and low pressure, his grouping was 8 inches at 60.' Great bolt so far.

UPDATE 3/27/08
One of the two skeleon bolts broke. Lubrication is NOT the issue as some have stated as I always use a generous amount of shocker lube on the rings. The support folks at NDZ (Tony and Dave) are great and sent me out a new bolt. However, the new bolt's rings leaked down the barrel. The stock bolt and my other NDZ bolt both worked with no leaks so trouble-shooting was pretty straightforward...it was the new bolts rings. Because I have had only 50% success on the two bolts I purchased (one has had no issues and works like a champ), I am dropping my rating in half...to a five. When the bolts work, they are light and allow the operating pressure to drop significantly. However, they do break rather easily and the rings may leak.
Conclusion: Great bolt so far. Very Light, almost no kick.

UPDATE 3/27/08
Unless you are very patient and have the money for back up parts (the bolt breaks half the time...in my experience), invest in a bolt which is a bit more rugged.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 27th, 2008 at 7:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Clinton Tuesday, January 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock
tech t L7 (Better then the New designz skeleton)
Marker Setup: Ion Max'd with a New Designz QEV, tech t L7, new designz detent kit and virtue eye and board.
VL revolution tripod hopper
All American front with a Freak barrel back
Strengths: Light weight allowing faster bps, saves air, and no kick.
Weaknesses: Very weak mine broke after using it for about 6 months
Review: The bolt did eliminate kick and improved air efficiency over stock but after being used for about 6 months it broke in the middle of the game. Pow pow pow click pisssssssss lol. It was kept well oiled with shocktech's sleek lube. No reason for it to have broke. I hardly every take my gun off semi auto. When I pulled the bolt out it was in three different pieces. Thank pd god it didn't scratch to inside of the gun.

Replacement: I went to the tech t L7 bolt and have had no problems it. My gun now has even less kick then with the skeleton bolt. It seems to make the gun quieter and more air friendly. I was able to lower my dwell and regulator pressure. My regulator is set to 140 and dwell is at 16. I have had less brakes and more bps with the L7. I would recommend it over new designz skeleton bolt.
Conclusion: Get the tech T L7 bolt.

I gave it a three because it was a good upgrade tell it broke. I gave it a 9 before it broke.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 17th, 2009 at 6:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Peter31193 Monday, June 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock
Marker Setup: Red Ion Pro
Q-lock
SP rail w/ on/off
Freak Jr.
360 QEV
Skeleton bolt
Orange detents

Strengths: Double tail orings
Super light
No kick
Very effiant (sp)
Weaknesses: Eats orings??? (see review)
Review: FIRST IMPRESSIONS
When i got this bolt, it looked super nice and weighed practicly nothing. The stock bolt feels like it weighs 8 pounds compared to this one.

INSTALATION
Obviously it wasn't very hard, it's a bolt.

JUST SHOOTING IT
I took it out to shoot a coupe minutes later. I set my dwell to 13 clicks and I was running at around 140 -150 psi. (I didn't have a crono so my cousin shot his and I tried to match) I could still feel a little kick but not much at all, especialy compared to the stock. I only shot a pod through so I don't have efficancy data yet. Overall, it felt like a better bolt.

ON THE FEILD
I can't remember the exact, but I think I ended up cronoing at 140 psi. I was either that or 160 psi. I can't remember. When you are shooting it on the field, I couldn't feel any kick at all. I figured from then that I was getting anywhere from 1500 - 1600 shots per 68 4500 fill. Not too bad at all. Feels great on the feild.

EATING MY ORINGS
This was the one bad thing about this bolt. When I was taking it out once, I noticed that the tail oring closest to the front was all torn up, it acually had gashes in it. It was a proble though, I just replaced it with the stock bolt's tail oring. Then a while later, I noticed that it did it again. This time I didn't have anymore orings so I went to my local menards and found one that was a match. I put it on and lubed it up and havn't had a problem since.
Conclusion: Overall, a great bolt. I gave it a 9.2 (9 rounded) because nothing is perfect and the oring thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 18th, 2007 at 8:06 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

edgalang Friday, May 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Firebolt
Marker Setup: SP ION (2006)
SP Max-Flo Mirco (4500)
SP 68/4500 CF tank
SP 14' Progressive Barrel (2006)
SP QEV 360
SP Q-Lock

NDZ Skeleton Bolt (2-Ring)
NDZ Aluminum Trigger
NDZ Snatch Grip

Lapco MilSim Body (Dust Black Aluminum)
Lapco Autospirit (14/.687)

Evil Detonator Regulator
Killa Magnetic Detents
Richochet 2KX Loader (w/revy impeller)
Strengths: 2x O-Ring Tail Design
Weight
Teflon Coated
Weaknesses: After (7 cases)...still looking good.
Problem only applies to those that don't lube.
Review: I recently upgraded from a SP Firebolt to a NDZ Skeleton 2-ring bolt and just realized how the double-O ring design possibly fixes the search for the minimum dwell setting...since in theory, dwell becomes irrelevant once the bolt is in the closed position (of course assuming #1 you had a long enough dwell setting to even get the bolt to close and #2 none of the o-rings leak).

In the past, I've constantly attempted to achieve the minimal dwell settings to get the most efficiency, but at the same time was concerned about the drawbacks like inconsistency. I currently can cycle @ 6 clicks after a cleaning (stock board), but to be conservative, I keep my dwell @ 13 clicks to keep my marker dependable.

(This is because I found out that as my marker gets used throughout the day, the bolt slowly de-greases itself and with the addition of dirt/debris that the breech collects, adds additional friction...forcing me to raise the dwell if set to the minimum cycle.)

So...assuming all the perfect conditions are met...
It is possible that an ION with a bolt consisting of a double o-ring tail design, can have dwell settings of an unlimited value that is above the minimum value that is allowed the bolt to fully cycle.

Since in theory, the purpose of the 2nd o-ring is to seal the dump chamber, which in essence is like automatically setting the minimum dwell for you. With that said...I could essentially set my dwell to 10, 20, 30 or even 40 and none of it would matter, other than possibly increasing the consistency of the marker with the higher values.

I'll update this post as necessary if/when the bolt ever breaks. However until then, I'll give this bolt a 9.

P.S.
My dwell/recharge is now split in the middle 24/24 (for those of you who follow the 48 rule)
Conclusion: Why would anyone NOT want some form of a 2-ring tail bolt design in their ION?

Since it does...
#1 Allow you to raise your dwell settings higher than normal to allow consistent shots even through the day as the breech becomes less and less lubricated.
#2 Eliminates the constant worry about minimal dwell settings in regards to efficiency.

SPECIFIC TO THE SKELETON BOLT
#3 Reduces recoil the most due to having the least amount of mass (regarding single part setup) in the market.
#4 Reduces complexity compared to the other multi-part bolts out there. (remember the rule...less parts = less parts to break/leak...no special tophats & plugs)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 14th, 2007 at 8:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Irwin Finkle Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock ion bolt
Marker Setup: ion wit virtue board, ndz skeleton bolt, ndz clampin feedneck, ndz saw trigger
Strengths: Fast, Light, Little-No kick kicks stock bolts A**
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a really good bolt ive had it for 3 months and no problems. It is really light compared to the stock ion bolt and there is little to no kick at all. It is really fast too. I have the bolt with one O-ring on the back but i don't c how much of a difference the other one could make considering this bolt is already really really awesome.
Conclusion: Get this you wont be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tmj2k Saturday, March 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: ION
QEV
CP Trigger
J&J elite Barrel
72/3000 HPA
Strengths: Smooth
Low kick
fast
Weaknesses: Reliability
Durability
Review: First day out with the new Skeleton bolt I ran about 600 rounds through it and then it broke. Performance was good until it broke, but I would like it to last a little longer. It certainly reduces the kick and makes the gun smooth, but if you can't get more time out of it then its not such a good buy. I have yet to try and return it. wonder what New Designz will do?
Conclusion: Good bolt if it lasts.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

donny262007 Sunday, March 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
-ndz skeleton bolt
-virtue lazer eye
-virtue ezon
-redz white body kit
- ndz on and off
-warrior clamping feedneck
-warrior trigger
- ndz Q.E.V
- redz pepper stick, dye ultra light
- air america 68 3000 carbon fiber
- egg hopper
Strengths: Amazingly light, improves efficiency, reduces kick
Weaknesses: After four cases of paint it broke in half!!!!
Review: I was going to purchase a firebolt from punishers pb, but the guy working brought this bolt out to let me see, I could no believe how light it was. As soon as I installed it I noticed way less kick , It really increases air efficiency also. But after four cases of paint it snapped in two. I then emailed Ndz and mailed them the broken bolt. They mailed me a brand new one. This is a good bolt, I am not sure if other people are having this problem or not. I am happy with the overall performance and customer service
Conclusion: I would consider this bolt before purchasing any other. The customer service is outstanding and it is the lightest bolt on the market so check it out
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 16th, 2007 at 4:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pwned!!! Wednesday, January 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt
Marker Setup: upped ion
Strengths: Very light
Looks cool
Lowers dwell
Reduces kick
Efficiency
Weaknesses: None
Review: This bolt is awesome its soooo much lighter compared to the stock ion bolt it feels like nothing. It reduces the kick greatly. combine this bolt with a 360 qev and your ion will be rippin in no time, this bolt is great and its well made it also looks really cool compared to the stock bolt, it also makes your ion more efficient
Conclusion: Great bolt highly recommend it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 18th, 2007 at 10:45 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Protocol Sunday, December 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: ION, QEV, NDZ trigger, freak barrel
Sniper II
Phantom
Strengths: Light weight
dual o-ring on tail
Weaknesses: None
Review: This bolt is amazingly light compared to the stock bolt. I purchased this bolt because they stopped making the L6 and did not want a two piece bolt. Since I still have the stock board and don't plan on upgrading I got this mainly to help eliminate kick and increase efficiency. It does both very well. I can now get about 1000 shots from a 45/45 with this bolt, a QEV and lower dwell setting. This bolt has worked flawlessly for me. The machining is very clean and precise.
Conclusion: 10/10 This bolt is awesome.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 31st, 2006 at 8:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media