paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Classic / Kingman Spyder Classic / Kingman Spyder Classic / Kingman Spyder Classic

Kingman Spyder Classic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Classic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Classic
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 77
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Spyder features: Semi-auto Action, Power Feed, 2nd Generation Venturi Bolt, Anti-double Feed, Bottom Line Set Up, Steel-braided Hose, External Velocity Adjuster, Low Pressure Chamber, Super Light Trigger Pull, Raised Mini Sight Rail, Muzzle Brake Barrel, Filter System, M-16 Grip, Metal Trigger Frame, Bottom Line Set Up.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Classic is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Tetra22 Wednesday, December 1st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Many kinds of high and low end mechs and electrics
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5
24oz co2
14" custom sniper barrel
Or
Spyder Electra DX
Halo hopper
24oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Drop forward
Strengths: Bommer built
Surprisingly stock accurate
Light weight
Compact
Reliable
Weaknesses: ASA connection always fails on low end Spyders
Review: This is a very good, cheap starter gun. I don't care for Spyders most of the time but this little guy rocks. I bought a Tippmann pro-lite for $15 and the guy threw this one in for free. They were both in very rough shape but I fixed them up and they work great. With the stock barrel it shoots very far and very accurate with a really good feeling grip and trigger pull. It's compact and light weight so you hardly know it's there. The biggest problem is the ASA is always coming out of the grip. I would say it's just my gun, but every low end spyder I've seen has the same problem. But that's really my only complaint. I prefer my A-5 but this is getting close.
Conclusion: If you want a very cheap and basic gun, go with this one. It's elegant in it's simplicity. It stands up to the test.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jack_Hammer Monday, April 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have another Spyder Classic but basic.
Marker Setup: I use a 1997 Spyder Classic with SP All American 16" & 14", SP Expansion Chamber and Shark Riser, Gamo Red Dot Sight, MR2 Stock Shoulder, VL Force Eye Loader, Rocking Trigger, ACS Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
ACS Bolt, Rocking Trigger, New Barrel, Expansion Chamber, Remote
Strengths: Durable. Low maintenance. Nice to use in woodsball
Weaknesses: Slow if one do not use a E- Lowder.
Review: I am playing paintball (woodsball) since 1997 to present and I do not have complains about this marker. For the game that I play, this marker is perfect because it is durable and resistent to scratches. If one do not like the mechanical trigger or stock trigger one can put the Kingman Rocking Trigger that fix perfectly. As a first Spyder model, the classic has a low maintenance. Also, one can use an Electronic Loader: I use the VL Eye Force.
Conclusion: This is a nice marker for using in woodsball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

corey_monk Thursday, August 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98- similar
Marker Setup: classic spyder .68 semi-auto, 32degrees 12" barrel, 12 oz co2, double trigger, viewloader hopper(gravity feed), new bolt(not sure what kind)
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber, regulator, longer barrel(although the stock 9" is pretty good), at least a 20 oz co2 for a full days play, new bolt, drop forward, double trigger
Strengths: Very solid gun, easy to upgrade and maintain, side cocking bolt, extremely low price, accurate
Weaknesses: Chops if you get too triggerhappy, stock gun can be akward to hold
Review: I thoroughly enjoy playing with this marker, perfect for a game of woodsball but not so good for speedball. Without the regulator it tends to suck up some air... with a longer barrel it is hella accurate. This is a great gun for beginners and even more advanced players who want a cheaper lower grade gun to use as a backup.
Conclusion: Buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

s10bmx Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha R6
Viewloader Genisis
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: stock barrel
viewloader hopper
12 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bigger Co2
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed
Weaknesses: Small marker.
Review: This gone is great i love it and it is my first gun. I love the spped my friend has a piranha and he even thinks my gun is better.I will be sticking with this gun for a while. If you buy this gun by at least a 20 oz co2 a twelve is to small that will only get you one day. I know ill be buying a 20. Also id recomend buying a elecric hopper, this gun is fast but that would help.
Conclusion: Over all a good gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gibbsinator Tuesday, February 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor, Compact, some other Spyder clones, pirahna, VL, etc. Tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: Spyder Classic-Chrome LPC, Spyder Xtra X-Chamber and drop/asa, 32* bolt, VL barrel
PMI 72/3000
VL 200
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA is a GREAT upgrade for every marker, if you must use c02 an x chamber will help a little bit, a new barrel will help accuracy, and if you can get a LPC for cheap it will help out a good bit.
Strengths: Easy to fix, reliable, numerous upgrades, adaptable
Weaknesses: Considered an inferior marker, C02 causes problem(same as all markers), powerfeed
Review: This marker is kinda my older brother's, but he has an autococker so it was his back up. He said I could take anything off it I wanted and put it on my Compact. There are a couple reasons I just took and used the thing rather then throw the parts on my compact. #1 My Compact (P, nearly as old as the Classic) doesn't feature the ability to attach an LPC. #2 My compact has a two screw valve block,(Spyder's now have one screw on the valve block, and the Classic valve chamber is very open and high flowing) so it won't accept more common valve blocks. #3 This Classic is champagne colored and it looks tight especially with the nice chrome parts.

Most people don't appreciate a Spyder for what it is and how good it is, most think it's about the worst kind of marker and is used only by newbies. I'd like to throw out a couple of good things about Spyders that I've noticed and appreciate. Spyders are quite easy to fix with some tools and an understanding of how they work, which is quite easy and probably the second easiest marker out there (probably behind the automag.) It's true you see quite a few Spyders go down and have recocking issues, but you take some high end marker and take off the regulator and screw in a c02 tank and tell me what happens, yeah, that's how MOST Spyders are ran. I've fixed quite a few Spyders(generally something simple, blown o ring, new spring, new battery, etc.) it's generally not anything hard and done in a couple minutes. The most difficult problem i ran into would be getting my younger brother's Victor to run on HPA, after a LOT of spring changing, maitenance and cleaning, it came down to a bad striker o ring and a leak. Spyders are also copied a lot and have probably the third most upgrades available(behind cockers and tippys.)

There is something I just like about shooting this particular Spyder, might it be the side cocking bolt, or the powerfeed, the fact it's 8-15 years old, or maybe the M-16 single trigger frame. I just love shooting this marker and how well it does for me, I haven't had it breakdown on me, nor my Compact (heh, i've actually lended them away while in a game and started fixing the guy's marker under fire :).) I plan on continuing to use this marker, and if not a primary then most definately a secondary, I couldn't see me getting rid of this thing.

I can almost guarantee that as long as you brush up on how this and other Spyders work, do general maitenance, and carry a tool bag, you'll not only have you marker in working order and quickly fixed if the time so come, but that you'll become known for fixing any other Spyder that comes your way.
Conclusion: This is a good strong, great beginner gun, very reliable and dependable, and when properly taken care of will last well and experience VERY few breakdowns. You'll find it very easy to use, operate, maintain, get upgrades, and learn about as well as have fun with.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 6th, 2007 at 9:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lonestar2222009 Thursday, August 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra (Old Model), Spyder Electra ACS '05. These Guns cannot compare to the old school firepower of the Spyder Classic.
Marker Setup: Spyder Classic Completly stock except there is a foregrip and a longer barrel
Spyder Xtra(Old Model)
ACS bolt,
brass hammer (custom made),
Evolution2 hopper,
kingman rocking trigger,
8-21 Inches ( I have many different lengths) thunder pig barrels,
and paulmer pursuit regulator.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel, a foregrip (the hose get's kinda cold if you are using CO2) a good hopper.
Strengths: Strong and Durable, Very air efficent. Accurate.
Weaknesses: The sight rail is in a bad place (right behind the Neck feed).
Review: *Buying the Gun*

When I bought this gun I found it in a pawn shop. I thought it was a average piranha, (something I see alot) then when i looked at the trigger frame it said Spyder. And after thinking for a minute I remebered where i saw this thing, on PBREVIEW.com, it was an older Spyder that can be kind of hard to come by. So I bought the gun a hopper and a 20oz co2 from the guy for 50 bucks telling the guy that it was for my little brother and he said "instead of 100 bucks ill give it to ya for 50 because it has been sitting on my shelf for about three months and now i have one less thing to dust around here." So as I left the store I knew that I got the better deal.

*Initial Use*

When I put the tank into the asa I noticed it had a slight leak so I felt around the hose and found that it was the nut that holds it to the gun a simple turn of a wrench and no more leak. This is very common with guns that have a hose that goes directly into the gun instead of going into a foregrip because the hose is grabbed as a way of a flimsy foregrip. After loading the gun with paint (Marbelizers) I test fired the gun, the initial accuracy was awsome for a small stock barrel, it went a good 100-120 feet before the ball began to drop. And the ball went in a straight line for 75-90 ft before it began to curve. This was truly a wonderful sight for the initial use of the gun.

*Game Time*

The first game i used this in was a 6 on 6 woodsball match, now the classic is silver so it stuck out in the woods pretty good. So since I am the team sniper i put my 21 inch barrel on the gun so I could hit from a distance without worrying about people spotting my gun easily. When we played the game my classic was probably the most accurate gun on the field, also on the side the air in the 20oz tank lasted me all day long without having to refill once (1500 shots with a long barrel). The single finger trigger was a very nice thing to have because it gives the gun more of a MilSim feel to it than most guns that have a double finger trigger. I fired this gun as fast as I could with an electronic hopper on the gun and I had no ball breaks whatsoever.

*Clean Up*

This gun was very easy to clean it is a simple stacked tube system that cleans just like any of the newer spyders, just a few more screws to pull out that's all. When I pulled the gun apart I noticed I had no chops in the chamber and no dirt aswell. this gun performed excellent for the first game.

*Further use*

No gun I have ever used keeps the same velocity like this gun. My has been through alot, it has been thrown on the floor, dropped in mud, and just plain 'ol destroyed due to the elements but it still functions like the day I bought it, EXCELLENT.

Conclusion: If you have the means of buying one of these guns for cheap, BUY IT!!. I cannot emphasize this more, it is perfect for almost any type of player whether it be a newb or a pro.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

j05hu41990 Thursday, July 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine 04
Spyder Imagine Select
Tippman 98 custom
Tippman ProStock
PMI R6
Brass Eagle Eradicator
Marker Setup: Spyder imagine 04
12v revy with x board
shocktech feedneck
customparts flame sypder drop
smartparts progressive barrel 14'
Pure Air Nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Esp grip
Electric hopper
Drop forward
Strengths: Reliable
Accurate
Rugged
Weaknesses: Slower
Loud
Review: My friend had this gun until it finally died. It was so old but it kept on shooting paint until a year ago. He barely cleaned it and treated it like crap until it finally died. He had his outfitted with a smart parts progressive and a custom products flame drop forward so it worked pretty good.
Conclusion: Don't buy it now since its really old but if you see one lying around go ahead and work on it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ered03 Monday, July 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor (worse)

Tippmann 98 (about the same)
Marker Setup: Spyder classic marker
VL 200-rd hopper
12 oz. co2 tank
stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
mine came w/out an expansion chamber, that is a necessity
better barrel
double trigger
new bottomline
volumizer
Strengths: Accurate
Cheap
Reliable
Weaknesses: Wastes CO2
slow
LOUD
chops a lot
Review: i got this as my first gun and i was really thrilled when i got it. When i first shot it, the first ball unfortunately chopped. it chops a lot. but still it has very good accuracy and its velocity is constant. its a fun gun to play with but it hogs air and its very oud. you might want to buy a double trigger too

pretty good gun
Conclusion: I do reccommend this gun for beginners and a backup gun for anyone who likes rec ball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jaredb Saturday, May 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: classic with stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
everything.
Strengths: It shoots.
Weaknesses: it looks dull.
just weird
Review: I played with this gun and it is very inaccurate. It has no expansion chamber. No nothing. The only thing good about it is that it shoots. I don't mean to kill the mood about this gun but i wouldn't get it. Some people would but it, it, it, omg.
Conclusion: one word. ugh
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DECAY Sunday, March 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 SNIPER
Marker Setup: 15" ThunderPig barrel
Red Dot Site
Recommended
Upgrades:
As above
Strengths: Easy of use, durable, clean shot
Weaknesses: factor barrel is useless for any serious games.
Review: The Classic is just that.. its a classic. I play bush ball and have played tourney. The gun is tested and true.
In my games the players decked out with the Autocks, Angels etc did no better than the teams with the Spider Classic. There is certain advantages to the more expensive guns however it comes down the player not the gun. This gun with a new barrell will play well in any situtaion you need it to.

Conclusion: Buy it.. its well worth the money and will effectively compete with any gun at 3-5 times the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media