paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Classic / Kingman Spyder Classic / Kingman Spyder Classic / Kingman Spyder Classic

Kingman Spyder Classic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Classic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Classic
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 77
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Spyder features: Semi-auto Action, Power Feed, 2nd Generation Venturi Bolt, Anti-double Feed, Bottom Line Set Up, Steel-braided Hose, External Velocity Adjuster, Low Pressure Chamber, Super Light Trigger Pull, Raised Mini Sight Rail, Muzzle Brake Barrel, Filter System, M-16 Grip, Metal Trigger Frame, Bottom Line Set Up.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Classic is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
p8ntballer3 Tuesday, February 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
xtra,e-99, TES, piranhe e-force ext pro
Marker Setup: all stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, expansion chamber, electronic frame, bolt, valve
Strengths: cheap and its kingman
Weaknesses: just about everything
Review: i wen p8ntballing when my gun was in the shop and i sorta had to use this gun, or use a rental :-p anyways, i will never play w/ this gun again, the gun chopped like crazi, at least 50 in a 200 rd box, get a new barrel, i just lookec at the barrel and was like ,"i am soposed to use that!!!!!! no way" so i took the barrel on the piranha of and used that, single trigger....big no-no, only for u noob snipers, its not for speed ball, when you have to shoot like crazi or youll die but this gun sucks,, the only good thing is the name brand....Kingmann
Conclusion: dont get it, ill give it a 3 cause well i feel generous
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fire_inferno Friday, January 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ive used a few other newer spyders
Marker Setup: 2k1 autococker sto
Recommended
Upgrades:
after-market barrel
ACI Aluminum Venturi Bolt
Strengths: this is a dependable marker with very simple mechanics.
Weaknesses: the accuracy of the stock gun is poor
Review: bad barrel which can be upgraded
great price for what you get
easy to maintain/clean

if you have the money you can get a more accurate weapon but if you dont you should get some kind of spyder. this is the most basic of the spyder guns, but you can always start with the base and add on in the future.
Conclusion: i purchased one of the first generation spyders years ago and it still works great, for cost it cannot be beat. sure you will be out-gunned by the guy with the angel, but you can compete with him and keep $800 in your pocket.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

keithgenerallee Tuesday, December 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tipp 98 & A5,beagle marauder, pmi black maxx,
Marker Setup: Spyder Classic w/J&J ceramicbarrel w an inline reg/expansion chamber and aftermarket valves
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrell definitly, a reg helps
Strengths: cheap, lots of accesories available
Weaknesses: hates cold weather and pmi superswirls trigger kinda akward, sight rail is retarded
Review: i bought this gun from a friend a year ago for 80 bucks, it came with a Java 8oz. i use it in warm weather and it did great. i used it in cold weather and it started to chop almost every ball. id squedge the barrell and soon itd chop another one. and it started to eat co2 faster than a brass eagle. maybe i have an oring going bad in the gun or something but im starting to get pissed off at it.
Conclusion: if you live in a warm climate or using it indoors it is fine but stay away from it when its cold
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

grazmon Tuesday, December 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra, spyder agressor, spyder victor, all other spyders, and clones
Marker Setup: i have a spyder shutter(blue)
with a 14 inch tear drop (blue)
12 volt revy (blue)
spyder esp electronic trigger frame (blue)
i have a blue elbow
a smart parts max flow 68/4500 air system
the sweet spot trigger (blue)
then i have my prodigy. this gun is great for any beginner. it is stock except for the quantum hopper which it came with.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, drop forward(not 100% necessary), and an expansion chamber, also a new bolt, double trigger, and if you want to get fancy an electronic trigger.
Strengths: cheap, reliable, fast, accurate
Weaknesses: no expansion chamber, stock barrel isnt too good
Review: this was one of my very first guns. i have sold it to my friend to buy my shutter(best gun i ever shot). i had a 14 inch progressor barrel on it, an expansion chamber, a new bolt, and a double trigger, also the drop forward. i loved it. i had a spring in it that made the gun do 600 fps, whih was nice. it its completely illegal to play at those speeds. this was a fun cheap and great gun that i greatly miss, but my shutter has very much made up for it.
Conclusion: good gun, but needs alot of up grades. i think it deserves a 10 from playing with it, but from reading you probally dont think so. so in my book its a nine.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Redaz Thursday, December 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact, Tippman 98, Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: Spyder Classic With Revalation barrel Vl 200 rnd hopper 20 oz co2 (Getting new gun for xmas)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel is always nice.
Strengths: DURIABLE! EASY TO USE
Weaknesses: Not exactly tournement level but good Practice gun
Review: First this gun was my little bros. He was like in 5th grade when it was his. He is the most clumsiest person i know. He slammed this gun into the ground more times then i can count and it still works like new! Ive never had to replace anything on this gun. This gun is awsome for backup or practice or with a few upgrades, Primary. I like this gun alot more then Those complicated makers becuase you can screw in your paint and your ready to go! This gun has Never let me down!!!!
Conclusion: Conclusion 75 bucks for the most Dependable maker ive ever used can upgrade the crap outta it Good for any lever i give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

claychase Wednesday, December 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Spyders and spyder clones
Marker Setup: Spyder Classic: Sub-Zero 6 stage expansion chamber: 18 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel
Expansion chamber
Spring set would be nice
Strengths: Reliable
Inexpensive
Easy to work on
Easy to modify
Weaknesses: WTF IS IT WITH SPYDER PUTTING THE SIGHT RAILS RITE WHERE YOU CANT USE THEM!!
Review: I beat the he// out of my guns and I have never had a problem with this. This being said, I want to know who the short buss riding, window licking, football helmet wearing fool was that thought it would be neat or a “good idea” to put a sight rail on the top of a paint ball gun WITH THE BALL FEED NOT 4 INCHES INFRONT OF IT! It is a problem that now plagues most of the paint ball world. I mean jeez even Brass Eagle doesn’t do that, and they put out some of the worst designed crap ever!
Now that my ranting is out of the way, I can say how much I love this gun. People start to hate me because with a setup that cost me around $100 (I bought mine used) I am more accurate, and have less marker problems, than some of my buddies with $600+ systems.
If you have any mechanical knowledge or ability you can easily improve the stock gun, and even without polishing and simple machining the gun is nearly flawless. It is to simple to fail, yet it has enough potential that even the best players can’t out grow it.

Some simple improvements I would suggest are: Polish the bolt, bevel the inside of the ball feed (it wears on the bolt, which then wears the inside of the gun, which, after a few years, starts to eat through the o-rings, etc… bad jue jue, simple fix), bevel the tip of the bolt, and do some simple machining to switch the D@MN S!GHT RA!L, with the plastic peace on the side (don’t lose the little rubber nub though).
Conclusion: Excellent gun for all players at all levels (though I would not suggest it for people who eventually want automatics).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

monsterman1988 Sunday, November 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom it was about the same
Marker Setup: spyder classic with 14" progressive rifled barrel. premier 4 stage expansion chamber.
200 round vl
32 degrees elbow
Recommended
Upgrades:
A double trigger is a must for this gun. my fingrer gets tired of shooting after awhile.
some kind of volumizer

motorized hopper
Strengths: good range
easily customizable
not a co2 waster
thick metal, durable frame
Weaknesses: i havent had it long enough to tell.
(none compared to the samuri i had)
Review: The fist time i used it was in a game in my woods with my friends. my enemy was using a 98 custom. my team mate was using a talon(lol) i was the first one out. my team member lasted longer. other than me sucking at hiding this is avery good gun i would have won if my mask wasnt neon green. its surprisingly light for its size( a 20 ounce co2 wasnt helping).
its only chopped 4 balls out of 2000. the only reason it was chopping balls is i go a little trigger happy.
Conclusion: this is an excellent gun for beginners or pros. i definitle would get one if you dont have one. it might not be real easy to find but you can get one used for cheap. i paid 50 at a pawn shop.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 2nd, 2003 at 3:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

foxfire731 Sunday, October 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Spyder Flash LCD (not really similar but still a spyder)
Marker Setup: Spyder Classic
w/ Smart Parts stainless barrel
20 oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
-A good barrel, i love the smart parts stainless. It is older but it is incredibly acurrate and puts alot of distance on it.
-Perhaps a drop forward to balance it out.
-some manner of foregrip
-im going to see if they make an after-market double trigger frame
Strengths: -Reliable
-Durable
-Reletivly accurate
-anti double-feed system
Weaknesses: -somewhat akward with a 20oz
-dissassembles with a metric hex wrench, no field strip
Review: This gun is very reliable! I've never had a major problem with it. My cocking knob somehow vibrated off during play in heavy brush, and i was never able to find it so i have to pull it back with a hex wrench or something. It seems to be pretty consistant chronoing at 290,292,270,302, etc. I bought mine used and it didn't come with a sight rail as i've seen others have for some reason, i guess the previous user removed it for one reason or another. You might want a drop forward to help balance it and reduce the fact that its so freakin' long! I find myself tight in a bunker having to lean back and prop the tank up over my shoulder due to the overall length of my barrel and the gun combined. The trigger pull is quite light, i can get about 8 balls per second. Not exactly auto cocker, but hey. This thing compares with the model 98 in durability. i cant tell you how many times this thing has been dropped and still shoots.
Conclusion: I've gotten a countless number auto-cocker loyal e-class orracle bling-bling shiny angel folks with this thing. (putting that dumb look on their face that says "what just heppened?") It's reliable quiet, time-tested, and inexpensive. It's an awsome gun for newbies (like me...) and intermediate players.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballfin Friday, October 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Modified Spyder Classic, Spyder Flash LCD
Marker Setup: Bare bones Spyder Classic
Recommended
Upgrades:
TL grip, trigger upgrade, x-chamber, low pressure chamber, longer barrel
Strengths: Easy to use, great beginner gun!
Weaknesses: When you get good/fast you can out play this gun.
Review: I actually have 2 Classics. One is an unmodified gun and the other is modded. I bought the stock one from a friend that needed money. It cost me $50. I had never played and figured if I did not like it I could sell it for the same amount and be out nothing. Well I got to play. I loved it. This gun is great. Great and simple beginners gun. There are a lot of people that hate on Spyder. Don't listen to them. Everyone needs to start somewhere. This is a great starter and there is a lot of support and mods for this gun.

I later bought a modified Classic. It was way cheaper than buying the same mods that I was going to buy. It had a TL trigger and grip, lightened trigger spring, longer spyder barrel, x chamber, and low pressure chamber. This gun is also awesome.

i have never choped a ball with either gun. And the only paint I broke was cheap stuff that I should have never used.
Conclusion: Simple, cheap, easy to mod, but still great in stock form.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerbybob Sunday, August 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder--- one, xtra,shutter, agressor
avalon--- commndo 2
Marker Setup: spyder classic w/ system x expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber
Strengths: solid gun, hardly ever have problems, accurate, single finger trigger
Weaknesses: none
Review: i have been using this gun for over 2 years now and love it. the only problem i have ever had was a ripped o-ring on the striker bolt once. i have kept the stock barrel, 9 1/2 inches. no need for anything longer, the gun shoots great as is. very easy to tear down for cleaning too. granted, i am not an everyday player. i play when i can, so this gun is perfect for me.
Conclusion: buy this gun if you are a newbie or dont want to pay a few hundred for another gun. this gun will perform excellently.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media