paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Classic / Kingman Spyder Classic / Kingman Spyder Classic / Kingman Spyder Classic

Kingman Spyder Classic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Classic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Classic
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 77
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Spyder features: Semi-auto Action, Power Feed, 2nd Generation Venturi Bolt, Anti-double Feed, Bottom Line Set Up, Steel-braided Hose, External Velocity Adjuster, Low Pressure Chamber, Super Light Trigger Pull, Raised Mini Sight Rail, Muzzle Brake Barrel, Filter System, M-16 Grip, Metal Trigger Frame, Bottom Line Set Up.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Classic is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Unregistered User Saturday, March 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i dont even think this is my gun but its the closes one there is to it.
Well i have used lots of guns but there all different. I have used the spyder tl plus, spyder xtra, and i bunch of other guns but i dont feel like typing right now.
Marker Setup: total stock except for a boomy (i upgraded the bolt but i didnt like it. it was the shock tect plastic looking thing broke most of the paint i fired) im going to put a dye frame and a palmer regulater on it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulater, Barrel, and trigger frame. and ONLY if you have a good frame a 12vt revy but you should probally just buy a new gun.
Strengths: when i first played with my gun it was awesome, because i started as a rec player and didnt need fast rates of fire or long range. Then i evolved into a Speed ball player and its harder now. but its still fairly accurate and very depentable compared to the rest of the crowd. OH and the boomy is awesome ONLY IF YOU USE GOOD PAINTBALLS. It has gotten me very far in the world of paintball
Weaknesses: I have had to replace the white plastic seal in the valve like 4 times.
single trigger slows down firing rate.
Conclusion: Its was a good gun when they came out but are pretty much outdated now even thou i still use it. and can compete (i dont make enough money to replace it with a better gun)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, February 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Avenger.
Marker Setup: Spyder with sights, venturi bolt, after market barrel, field strip screws and stock with remote, Rainmaker (stock), Avenger (stock, not many upgrades for it)
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber, remote and sights
Strengths: Fairly accurate with after market barrel, good for beginner to amatuer tourney play. cost is reasonable
Weaknesses: Some of the aftermarket items are expensive. The main reason people buy this gun is good price for starters. I dont wanna spend 500.00 in upgrades when i just buy a cocker.
Conclusion: If you are just getting started in paintball this is the gun to have. Low price and good quality. Its lasted three years now for me and I am gonna keep using it for a while longer. Many upgrades so the gun can grow with you. Skip the stingray and avenger, spend an extra 50.00 bucks and own a durable marker for years to come.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tyfa18esuper Tuesday, January 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Hammer P, Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Spyder Classic, 12" ACI Sub-Zero barrel, ACI Sub-Zero 4 stage expantion Chainber.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Spyder Barrels are already good for a stock barrel, but I did find using ACI barrel very good, it is much more accurate and the expantion chainber does make youre shots very constant.
Strengths: Spyders have a light trigger pull, you can squize of allot of rounds in a short period of time. If you have a problem Spyders are realitively easy to work on and modify. These are also accurate and consistant with each shot.
Weaknesses: As much as I love my gun, I must admit there is a catch. This gun will many times leak air if not well maintained (an O-Ring is severed) and if you fire it too fast you can eisily split a paintball and cause a jam in youre gun which is sometimes very difficult to un-jam.
Conclusion: This is a good gun to play if you are moving up from pumps, Great if you want to really sling some paint. I would recomend it because of the succes I have had with it. If youve got a question you may e-mail me at tyfa18esuper@hotmail.com
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, December 8th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
this was my first gun but i have shot a bob long intimidator and many auto cockers.........they are obviously brtter but way to complicated eith timing and stuff...this gun is simple and easy to fix...not much can go wrong.
Marker Setup: i have a J&J ceramic 14' barrell, delrin bolt, low pressure valve, spyder expansion chamber, double trigger frame upgrade, and all seasons spring set.
Recommended
Upgrades:
u HAVE to get the new barrell..its a MUST the stock one is loud and has NO accuracy waht so ever...the bolt is a good idea too.....if u ever want to up grade to a electro trigger (Boo-Yaah, Emarker etc.) u NEED one...the new bolt that is...oh yea the expansion chamber is never a waste of money either.
Strengths: if u have a quick strip system on this gun it is super easy to take apart and clean i do it one the field sometimes...(quick strip removes all the alan key bolts and put on finger tighening ones).......this gun is also super upgrade able.....if u put on a new bolt and barrell and throw and electro trigger on this gun they say it can equal an impulse or a base line bob long (or so i have read)....
Weaknesses: i havent had one problem with my gun yet.......this must tell u something...
Conclusion: mt conclusion is that this gun is great for beginng players and that it can be upgraded to your skill level as u progress......its just one of those gun that u cant grow out of untill.....god kows when i know illhve mine for a while
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, November 28th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: spyder w/ ex. chamber, bob long 2 bolt, 45 grip frame, 16" AA barrel, field strip screws, lightened trigger spring
Recommended
Upgrades:
everything in gun setup
Strengths: stock this gun is ok. i stress on the ok. This gun in my opinion is a fabulous for the new paintball player. The stock barrel sucks. Its short, loud and has no range. the first upgrade suggested is to get a new barrel. then the rest follows. you can make this gun to compete with mags and cockers if you do the right things to it. another good thing is there are so many options for this gun that it can fit the needs of any new player
Weaknesses: stock this gun is so-so. The barrel is horrible. also i recommend a new bolt because the stock one has a tendancy to break lots of calls
Conclusion: if you are new in the vast world of paintball, get a spyder. when i got one 3 yrs. ago there were 2 spyders-standard and compact. now there are oodles of different spyders and upgrades. don't be fooled by impersonators. get a spyder!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 19th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro-Lite and Model 98
Marker Setup: Spyder Classic with the following add ons: Lapco drop-forward, Shocktech Rear-Cocking bolt, 32 Degrees expansion chamber (single stage), 14" J&J Ceramic barrel, 32 Degrees Terminator barrel, 12 volt hopper, chrome Bob Long double trigger frame. Other upgrades have been purchased and tossed in the trash because they didn't accomplish the overall task of upgrading the marker.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel, expansion chamber, and drop forward in that order.
Strengths: I purchased this marker in April of 2001 and gave a review of it then and after numerous upgrades this is my second review. The best thing about this marker is that it is fairly inexpensive and can be reasonably used right out of the box. Factory barrels on almost any marker are usually the first thing to be replaced and while you can use the factory barrel, you will quickly grow frustrated watching your paint curve. I enjoy this marker because while playing in the woods, I am not afraid of jumping in the creek up to my waist and getting it wet. My friends with electronic markers wouldn't consider doing such a thing (though I don't blame them.) If you find that you play paintball less than twice a month, then you are well suited carrying this marker. It has proven to be durable and reliable. I have watched guys with electronic markers use rental equipment in tournaments because their gun broke I have also watched Autococker owners have to adjust the timing on their marker after every game.

After spending over $200 in upgrades, I now have a fighting chance against markers that produce 12 balls a second while I produce 8-10 balls a second.
Weaknesses: The Spyder markers require patience to upgrade because the threads are not standard threads, rather they are metric. So the bolt that you have in the garage looks like it would fit, won't. You have to take the marker to the hardware store to purchase the correct size metric bolts. The bottom-line screws on the bottom of the grip are staggered with metric threads, while every other marker has screw holes that are in a straight line and standard threads. For these two reasons, you have to puchase products specially made for a Spyder.

Spyder markers get no respect on the field. It doesn't matter how much you have upgraded your marker, players with expensive markers seem to hate this marker. I personally think the source of that fear is because Spyders can be upgraded into a marker that the players with high end markers don't know what to expect from it.

Upgrading this or any marker can be addicting. You can (like I already have) spent more in upgrades than the marker will ever be worth in the pursuit to make it a little better than the Spyder next to yours. You may read other reviews that tell you to save your money and buy and Autococker but eventually you are going to spend money on your Autococker. You again will find yourself having spent more money than the marker is financially worth.
Conclusion: The Kingman line of markers are reliable starter markers that should produce days of paintball excitement. This like any marker needs some upgrades (as mentioned above) to really make it perform better. The marker does require you to fine tune it once purchased but once the task is accomplished you are going to have fun with it.

Put this marker in the same category as the Tippmann Model 98 and Pro-Lite.

Play hard and play safe.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, November 14th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Raptor Silver Eagle - Just as dependable and comes with a .45 grip frame, too bad it doesnt use the same barrel threading.
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle Tigershark w/ 12 gram quick changers
Brass Eagle Raptor Silver Eagle - Eagleworks Barrel - 12 oz co2 tank - Brass Eagle Red dot Site
Recommended
Upgrades:
J&J ceramic barrel - Drop forward - Red dot site or scope - VL Revolution 12 volt
Strengths: 1. Two-tube Blowback - Allows for easy field stripping

2. High upgrade path - You can turn a normal spyder into an electropneumatic beast

3. Kingman's customer support - Big plus
Weaknesses: 1. Not easy to find one with a single trigger

2. Trigger pull is too light for my tastes (I like my trigger stiff)

3. Nothin much else
Conclusion: Well worth the cash, due to the high upgrade path, the availiability of custom parts, and the customer support that Kingman provides it's customers. Excellent buy, I give it an eight for the lack of single trigger models.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, November 4th, 2001
Strengths: This is a good gun. never brakes down. Can hold its own with many other guns, but its not the gun its the player. I like it a lot but I would Prefer a Tippman because they are more practical. Never brakes balls not extremely probably ( bad spelling , brain fart)because I still have the stock barrel many upgrades
Weaknesses: Not very accurate
Just a good entry level gun can make it better though
sometimes the cocking bolt wont recock no biggie just recock
Conclusion: Good all around gun
Will last for years don't worry about it braking I have had it for 5 years and have never really broken
I clean it ever time because I am a clean freak
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cranked Sunday, October 28th, 2001
Strengths: Good beginner gun, I use it for a backup gun now.
Weaknesses: If you buy sidecocking the bolt that you cock it with comes lose a lot, and you'll eventually lose it without knowing, then its hard to find a replacement and when you do its usually overpriced, seems to break balls quite often, every now and then a ball will break and get caught in the bolt and jam the gun then you get to take it apart, not fun, easy but not fun. Grip doesnt feel right, stock barrel sucks, when you take tank off it seems to lose a lot of co2.
Conclusion: All in all this is a good beginner gun, i wouldnt spend to much on upgrades, if you plan on upgrading just spend the extra money and get a shutter, or save a few bucks and get the Core Sharc, i like the sharc better than the shutter, but you need to replace a few springs before you go out with it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, October 7th, 2001
Strengths: Light, easy to work on, and not all that expensive. Good for the price and good if your just getting into paintball and are not ready to spend high dollars on tournament level guns. This works very well for a Co2 gun and has a really good design, if only the parts were a little better quality. This was my first gun and it really did good(for a first begginer gun). The trigger pull is also fairly good with a double trigger, almost like an electronic gun.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel sucks hardcore
Not the Best looking
Not very consistent in valocity at all
Range isnt to good
Even with better barrels it still is not very accurate
Upgrades are hard to find unless made from kingman(for example for dropforwars the bottow screws are diagnal as opposed to stright, which is how most dropforwards are made)
Conclusion: The price on the gun is about right, it is worth the price. The spyder is actually really close to the pirana which would probably be better for you new players because it can be takin apart much easier and it is a little cheaper. The pirana is also easier to find upgrades for. I do recommend this gun for new players but i dont suggest taking it to tournaments unless you just wanna get killed.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media