paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP

Sheridan PGP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Known as one of the most reliable back up markers. It has a 10 shot internal magazine.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Mavalon Tuesday, February 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Xtreame - Faster rate of fire but with a ten round ammo tube I'm not sure if that is a good thing. This one leaked so bad that it emptied a 9oz in 20 minutes. (from what I've read that is not uncommon with PT Xtreames)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with polished internals, response trigger, cyclone hopper, and apex barrel. Or a Sheridan P-68 AT
Recommended
Upgrades:
Polishing the bolt and barrel
Strengths: Extreamly reliable
Decent accuracy
It is small
Mine is over 18 years old(no joke)
Weaknesses: Slow rate of fire
Hates the cold
Review: I got this gun of a friend for $60. He said that he had only used it once or twice and that it had sat in his closet for several years. Mine had origionally come in a set with a P-68 and the tank with them was from 92. When I first shot it I had some problems with the cup seal but it was nothing that a bit of oil couldn't fix. The pump action was extreamly difficult, but If you polish the barrel and the bolt you shouldn't have any more trouble. My bigest complant is that when the gun was manufactured a lot of paint got into the barrel which really messes up your accuracy and made the gun hard to pump. Like I said before though if you polish it it eliminates the problems. Because the gun uses 12 gram co2 cartridges it hates the cold and usually fires about 80 fps less if it is 20 degrees out. (where I live if I don't play when its cold out then I might as well not play at all)
Conclusion: On the whole this is a great gun for stock players and also makes a good side arm. Because it is made almost exclusivly out of brass the thing is almost indestructible and because of its age it is kind of rare. If you get a chance buy it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

buzzboy Friday, May 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Some PT something pistol-it sucked
Marker Setup: 03 Viking
WAS 1.5
CCM Clamper
Sidewinder
Javelin Barrel
Nitroduck MegaReg Tank
Xboard Revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Velocity adjuster
c02 quick change
Strengths: Review
Weaknesses: Review
Review: The only other time I played with a pistol was a PT something and it only shot like 200 fps. That sucked.

The only other time a pump was a tigershark that wasn't bad but was huge compared to this thing.

Strengths-Small, cheap

Weaknesses-Heavy

I just recently got my ~1990 pgp.

LOOKS-This gun looks kick awesome. It came to me with all the brass showing so I finished the job, removing the black from the grip frame and polishing the entire thing with mothers mag+alum. Now it downright shines.

SIZE-My whole gun/tank/hopper fits into my pocket. Runs up the field are great. Only problem is weight. It weighs around the same as my friend's mantis ego with tank. Not really a problem for me coming from another massive gun setup.

PERFORMANCE-The only two things this gun is missing performance wise are quick change c02 and anti double cocking. To change a c02 on the stock setup takes around 45 seconds. After a few mods(epoxying a nickle to the changer) I got it down to 25-30. Anti double cock would also be a nice feature. I have over pumped in games way to many times. From my PGP, shooting around 290-300 I can get 20 shots without drop off and another 10 before changing c02's.

DESIGN FLAWS-For some reason this thing has a 10rd tube cap that is extremely easy to loose. Luckly though it has a hole through it, which I reccoment threading a string to and tying it onto the pump arm.

PLAYING-Using this small pump made practice fun and cheap. I found that with this tiny gun I was able to make large runs easier and, even though I couldn't post a lane, hold people back with precision rather than bulk of paint.
Conclusion: If you plan to play stockclass or open class pump this is the way to go. Plus if you want to give it something else homemods and PPS are always there for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB4Christ Thursday, April 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Hammer

PCS USP pistol
Marker Setup: Custom built Sniper 2

Old style PGP w/custom holster

Recommended
Upgrades:
speed changer, gated feedneck, but nothing is really NEEDED.
Strengths: Built like a tank
Most accurate marker I've ever used
stock class 100%
Weaknesses: ...It's not made anymore...
Review: Ok let me start off by saying I use this little monster as a primary and NOT a back up.

That being said, after using the pgp for a year I have noticed my game improving dramatically, I've had to lear to pick my shots, snap shoot, MOVE, communicate with my team all in about 2 games of playing with this thing. The fact is, you MUST learn these skills to play with the PGP and learning them makes you a better player.

Now on to the build of the marker. The over-all construction and durability is incredible, I have thrown mine against a tree just to prove that point! A few design flaws include the 14-turn CO2 nut and the plug for the feed tube. But with a few dollars or alot of elbow grease both of these "problems" can be easily solved.

The PGP is extremely accurate, but a little picky on paint, the cheap stuff with burst in the small barrel and the high end paint will roll. This can however be fixed with the help of an airsmith if you find it to be a constant problem.

Air efficiency is great, I get about 25-28 good shots off of one twelve gram with the stock hammer (An airsmith can lighten the hammer for you which would increase gas efficiency even more!)
Conclusion: All in all, I love mine, and I don't ever want to part with it. The Sheridan PGP is a piece of paintball history and an incredible marker (You should see the looks on people's faces when I tell them it's older than I am haha)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Curben Saturday, February 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon
A few whose names i dont remember
Marker Setup: PGP - Speedloader, Site Rail, Quick Change co2 knob, Laser, Velocity adjuster
98c basic with random accessories
X7 with Laser sight, Tac Light, Sling, Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Quick Chage co2, Velocity Adjuster, Speedloader. Maintenence: Polish the internals
Strengths: Its a tank, reliable, accurate, durable, good on co2
Weaknesses: Loading Method, Tough Pull
Review: This is the Paintball Marker I cut my Teeth on. It was used as a rental by a local feild for stock games, and even the beat up rentrals still performed beautifully compared to some other brands that showed up. Even after 10-15 years, many of their rentals were still in service. If you have one of your own and are taking care of it, It may very well last a lifetime. If your not taking care of it, Well you can pretty much run it under a hose and dry it off and it will still last for years.

I will say I am familiar with other sheridan products, and this one is as strong and well made as any of the others. It functions the same time and time again, can be used as a hammer, slid through the mod and still fire. If you break a ball in the barrel, or accidentally load more then one ball, you can shoot through it. I have even seen this piece fire balls from the ground, warped dirty and nasty. While not reccomended, it can take the abuse.

My setup cost me $120. I found the marker via some ebay hunting for $60, and got the rest of the mods for it for another $60.

Speedloader is a must, The current cap . . . well i dont even remember it, other reports talk about losing it, and i never planned to not go with a speedloader so, I saw it when i got it in the box and that was the last i saw of it. :) Speedloader can also at least double your capacity. Jam a 10 round tube in the back after loading ten and you are holding your 20 rounds which is good for a co2 12gram. However this marker will be able to get at time 40 rnds off of a co2, i often pushed it to 30rnds.

I added a site rail only for the option of a pointsite or laser, The sites are mostly useless, while they will be accurate, most players site down the side of the barrel and the magazine chamber. However with a little practice aiming can be a bit more second nature.

Another higly recommended upgrade is a quick change co2 knob, which i belive is available from madcustoms. Instead of taking 22 twists to remove the co2 cap, it takes three. The Only issue with the quick change is it adds significant length, I personally dont mind.

The only real issue of this gun that isnt as common with other pumps I have played with is the hard pull. While it will eventually wear down, it will still be quite stiff. I assume this is a side effect of the durability. Regardless, Polishing the internals can help with this, but it is not the most simple disassembly with a few flying parts if your not careful.
Conclusion: For being what it is, stock class pump. I give it a 10 in its category. I even carry it with on the feild as a backup sidearm to this day. While out of the box it could use a few mods, It is not unique to this marker, and some will not even accept the mods at all. The stiff pump can still be worked with and the issues with disassembly may never come up as its not really needed. Plus the fact that that you can frame a house using this as a hammer and still go play a game leads me to believe it is worth a high recomendation for the price you pay. If You want a stock class pump, or even a pump sidearm in general, This may very well be the marker for you.

Note:This review pertains the the pgp1, the pgp2 I have tested and while most stands the 2 has more plastic and isnt quite as durable with some of the same issues though a very hardy marker worthy of an 8-9.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Keither Tuesday, May 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ummm..... Not a whole hell of a lot to compare a PGP to...?
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really, I mean its not like you can do a whole lot to it
Strengths: -Robust
-Accurate
-Built like a truck
-True quality was put into making this gun
Weaknesses: magazine capacity
Kicks hard
Loud
Permanent barrel
Hard to use as a side arm
Review: Ok, now lets face it... when I personally walk on a field now adays, I see a bunch of people with guns that resemble pimped out toys. You know, the ones with the espyders with all the chrome that think theyre bad-@$$es... yeah you know the types..
My point is that you dont see guns of this quality very much anymore besides Tippmanns (which i mean, come on... you could beat with a sledge hammer and still compete with it in a tournament.)

The PGP has the power of a pump gun in the size of a pistol.. well yeah... its a pump pistol.. but nonetheless, this thing has B@lls!! No pun intended.

The one thing overall that i can say that I love about this gun is the fact that you could drop it in the mud, throw it in a locker for 6 months, then take it out, give it a quick cleaning, and shoot it. it has the reliability not found in most modern guns. These days, if a gun doesnt break constantly and works like it should, its concidered reliable... well i hate to tell you, but my definition of reliable isnt having something i paid for do what advertisements said it would do... reliability is doing all the things advertisements promise... AFTER the gun has been beaten to hell.

I dont like walking around a field thinking about "omg did i just rub my gun against a tree? it might be busted now!!!"

I guess what Im trying to say is that you wont find a gun like this anymore, and if you get a chance to buy one, which you probably wont, but if you do, I would. I've had my PGP since i was 8 years old.... Im now 21...and this beast is still shooting as good, straigt as it did on my 8th birthday, AND I havent lost any gas efficiency. THATS quality.
Conclusion: Though I kinda rambled this is my point:
If you can get your hands on a PGP for a reasonable price, BUY IT! You will not be sorry you did. This gun cost $120 back in 1492 when Columbus drank the ocean blue, and let me tell you, its still worth the money today, EVERY BIT OF IT!

If youre looking for a side arm, get a sling for your primary gun, and a holster for the PGP, its worth it.
Not to mention, that it looks and sounds pretty Bad@$$!

Im feel this gun deserves a perfect 10 becaus I cant think of another gun besides a TIppmann, that you could own for 13 years, have about 60, 000 rounds shot from it, and still perform just as it did the day it came out of the box. this truly is an amazing gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

68kaiser Tuesday, March 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
hammer "A", trracer.
Marker Setup: stock pgp with spring change to pump easier.
Recommended
Upgrades:
see above.
Strengths: Simple design, small, very accurate.
Weaknesses: Takes time to change gas cartridge but they have upgrades for that.
Review: This is my back up gun or side arm. You do not have the fire power that other markers have so you will play with skill and make every shot count. if you can see your opponent you can hit them the pgp is very accurate, if you now haw to shoot a pistol.
i haven't had the chance yet but this marker would be sweet for indoor since it is so mall. The marker hits hard to there is no shortage of power and i can get 20 to30 good shots in 45 degree weather which if great.
Conclusion: The pgp is a great marker for what is was made for. if you think you can use one with the style of game you play do not hesitate to get one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

3022 Saturday, January 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ZGP-94 (Czech PGP clone), P68SC (Long-barreled PGP with other bolt), PGP-2001
Marker Setup: Old style PGP (many), ZGP-94 (two), PGP-2001, Sterling Bronze (three), P68SC, AGD MiniMag, AGD Automag, Kingmann New Hammer, Spyder Compact (two), Crosmann 3357 Spotmarker
Recommended
Upgrades:
No one really need for good play, but you can do lot for it:

Locking of grips together with black electrician tape
Locking feed tube cap (there's a little hole in) to pump rod with whipcord
Polished internals & barrel honing
New bolt (similar to Speed Daemon Bolt)
Wedgits
Little Valve work (for better air flow) or brand new custom (late autococker style) valve body
Lightened stock hammer (from stock 43g you can go to 15g) and new valve/hammer spring
Instant pierce, new valve pin and Back Flow valve
Oversized CO2 change knob or 3,5oz C/A or remote or integral refilable tank instead 12g
Rear cap velocity adjuster
New pump handle (Cooper T nasty pump, or better own custom PTFE pump handle)
Holster & ten round SC tubes
Tritium tree dot adjustable sights?
Small red dot?
Strengths: Cheap
Small & compact
Very well made and durable
Good accuracy & range
Good CO2 efficency
Weaknesses: No ball detent
Small magazine & Powerlets
Cleaning take lot time
Non-removable barrel
Plastic grips
Review: If you like a challenge, then THIS is the marker for you. It's limited in range and firepower (like everyone pistol), but surprisingly accurate, and its size and robustness make it perfect for running, jumping, dodging, sliding, climbing, snapshooting or anything that you need to do in game to get your oponent.

Maybe this is not the type of gun what you want if you charge into the front line, but it's a good fun/learning gun. Great for someone who wants to learn how to play better. The perfect weapon for close range stealth kill. The slower rate of fire and limited ammo will teach you many lessons on the battlefield. With PGP you can't simply stand up and shoot. You will have to learn how to stalk your prey, use cover and obstances, remaining hidden untill they make a mistake and give you a chance for one accurate shot. It's not a tourney gun, but in the hands of experienced player it can waste anyone with any gun.

If you are big or fat, P68SC is a better choice for you - it has better long-range capabilities. But if you are small and quick, get a PGP and you will be able to get to places where no one would expect. You were not permanent winner, but respected player for others and the most feared for the electros owners on the field. As many before says, this thing really makes you better player.

With fresh CO2 you have in PGP a pocket sniper gun. With experience, you have submachine gun. In close quarters you have the best gun. You need a lot of practice to effectively use this thing (rock n' cock, lobbing balls, limited paint and gas), but then... it is small, shoots straight and far (for pistol), and with the adrenaline rush during a firefight you can get upon to 2 aimed shots per second. Not bad for a cheap, small, simple and old stock class marker. To be perfect, it need some tinkering work (see above), but even out of the box it is damn good... and after a tune-up it's really deadly. So, as novice, you can easily afford this gun for fun and not very expensive play and later on, you can customize it (the most important upgrades can be done by yourself - they cost nothing) and stay with it - this is the only pistol you will ever need.

Heavily customized Sterling is a better semi-killer, too, but a lot more expensive and big. This gun shoots good and is cheap, durable, small. With this gun you can not just pray and spray, but in large opened areas with cover and hides, as in close quarters, a skilled player who knows its limitation is easy able to compete with semis.

There are two variants of "snub-nosed" PGP - one (pre '96) with old style valve and second (post '96) with new "carriage valve". The new valve has only one opening on diameter (what is a lot better for efficiency) and needs not special tools to be removed. The old style valve can be removed only with special Sheridan valve tool (5/16 inch key), and his valve body with four openings and channel on the diameter is not so efficient, but he has little better potential for performance tuning (central diameter in the valve body can be little larger here). I like the old style valve better, because they allow more alterations, but on other side, I think that the new style valve was good improvement because the marker in stock condition is more efficient with them and his manufacturing is easier (not so much work with the bottom pipe and with mounting) that the old style.



The main weakness of this gun is it's small magazine and powerlets... Its Stock class, sure. The magazine is small, since the entire gun is small. 12g have limited capacity and are expensive. On the other side, the CO2 efficiency is good out of the box (not bad, not perfect - 10 great long-range (260-240 fps) shoots and other 15-20 decent short-shots (~200 fps) from one twelve gram), and you spent so little money on paint using this thing... Later you can tune it (easy gets 40-45 shots beyond 200 fps from one twelve gram) and maybe swith to 3,5/4oz C/A or remote, or integral refilable tank.
Conclusion: This is my favorite gun. Great little marker. The ZGP-94 (Czech PGP clone) or PGP2k have perhaps some minor advantages, but PGP is better out of the box and is a true classic. P68SC is very nice and has better long-range capability, but is a lot bigger (, rare and not so efficient) than this.

If you are looking for your first pump, I would recommend you the PGP... clasic, old, snub-nosed PGP. It's still the most durable and reliable pistol on the market, it is still the best way to get into pump/stock class play. After many, many years, when you choose another gun as primary (some of us will never do it), you will at least have great sidearm/backup/true Stock class/old school gun that will be admired by others.

I give it a 10 because nothing is perfect, but PGP is still the best choice between paintball pistols - they are cheap and good out of the box and extremly deadly after some custom work. The only comparable are Palmer's, with are based on PGP and a lot more expensive.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 21st, 2007 at 12:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MathU41 Friday, May 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon (el mucho cheapo)
PT Pro (semi-auto. Not nearly as efficient.)
Marker Setup: Sheridan PGP - polished, clipped bolt spring, custom grip adapter, Evil grip, Palmer Pursuit FasstChange, eye bolt in loader plug.
Tippman A5 - Flatline/3A KO kit, WGP Ergo regulator
CCI Phantom - black body, stock green barrel, right-feed, rear bottle
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fasst Change - Only Palmer makes them any more, that I know of. There's a BIG difference between 6 or more turns to release a 12-gram when it's empty, to the Fasst Change's 1.5 or two, whenever you need.

Clip bolt spring - lightens the pull. Clip it too far, and you'll have to hold the pump forward to keep the bolt from sliding back.

trigger shoe - The trigger's not bad once you're used to it, but a trigger shoe makes it more comfortable.

loader cap mod - There's a little hole in the rear loader cap. Just screw an eye bolt in it. This makes it a lot easier to grab and pull out. Mine has a wrist key holder (a plastic string coil) on it, and bolted to the rear grip frame bolt on the other end, so I don't drop or lose it.

polish internals - Not necessary, but nice. Just makes it a little smoother and more efficient, but it's built well enough not to need it.

Velocity adjuster - Just plain nice to have.

Whatever personal mods - they're not hard to do to a PGP. I made an adapter from some 1/8" Lexan and a dowel split down the middle to fit standard .45 grips on it. Had to get used to a slightly different angle, but it's VERY comfortable now. I also stripped the black paint off (was peeling off anyway. Bought it used) and polished the brass to a mirror shine. Not the easiest thing to hide in the woods, but it grabs attention. It's not too hard to find sight rails for it, or attach a fiber-optic set, or whatever.
Strengths: -accuracy
-durable
-light
-small
-stock class (to the letter)
-durable
-uncommon
-I mentioned durable?
Weaknesses: -no rear sights
-changing Co2
-stock class
-pump's kinda stiff
-dropping loader cap
Review: The Good;
Accurate: This thing shoots exactly where you point it. The hard part's actually pointing where you want.

Durable: Mine's a decade old.

Light: It's three brass tubes, a valve, and a trigger. There's not much weight there. Even playing with my A5, I keep it holstered at my side.

Small: again, it's three brass tubes and a trigger. Even the pump doesn't extend past the bottom tube. For a comparison, take the hopper, barrel, and tank off a Spyder. Then whatever drops, regulators, or gas-throughs you may have. Even then, it's still an inch shorter at the front.

Stock Class: to the LETTER. Ten-rounds, 12-gram, fixed barrel, no auto trigger. If you want to play stock class, and you're obsessive-compulsive about the rules, this is probably the ONLY marker that you'll ever see that holds to them.

Durable: I've dropped mine. A lot. And it still works great.

Uncommon: Only the older guys at my field even know what it is, let alone know how to use it. The younger guys are always asking about it, and I have to explain that no, I didn't forget to attach the air. No, I didn't forget the hopper. No, I didn't forget the barrel. No, it won't overpower the Impulse your daddy bought you. Yes, I was the one that left a nice orange smear on your Halo.

Have I mentioned Durable yet? Dropping it, crawling with it on the ground, whacking it into trees, diving with it in my holster, literally burying it unexpectedly in the sand--and it still refuses to die. Just shake the sand out and re-oil it after the game. I would stake a year's pay that I could leave this thing in the road at a truck stop for a week, pick it up, and it would shoot.

The Bad;
No rear sights: The front ball-on-a-stick is nice and all, but you really have to get used to it without rear sights to square it up in.

Tough to change Co2's: it takes about a dozen turns to get the Co2 out, and forget about it if there's any pressure at all left in it. Just drop the $20 for a Fasst Change, and you'll love the marker again.

Stock class: Great bragging rights when you sneak up on someone and take them out. Bad luck when a small group sneaks up on you. Or during capture and defend games, where you have to pause every ten shots. Taking your few seconds to reload WILL get you flanked when you're playing against semi's.

Pump's a little stiff: Nothing too bad, just like a two-stage click back. Cutting the spring helps, but it's still not as nice as my Phantom.

Loader cap's easily dropped: Eh. Just keep an eye on it. Put an eye screw in it and tie it to the rear grip frame bolt. That will save you a lot of headaches when reloading.

Out of production: You'll have to go through a custom manufacturer (at least Palmer, that I know of) to get parts.

The Ugly:
Yes, ugly. The gun's a little stubby, and the paint around the grip wears off. AFter a few times playing with mine in the rain, the paint started bubbling (I'm abusive) and left it all splotchy. That made the younger crowd underestimate me, but the older guys tended to gang up on me. Just get a Dremel at it, or get some really tough paint at it (Duracote's nice). This thing is BEAUTIFUL polished to a mirror shine.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a stock-class marker, or simply want a backup that won't go down on you, this is your marker. If you're looking for a pump and have some money to toss, go for a Phantom, but this is a second choice. Even with my Phantom, I don't intend to retire the trusty old PGP. Make a cheap ghillie suit, pull out the PGP, and you can get places no one would expect. Or just play with it, and compensate for the stock-class play; it WILL make you a better player.

10 for craftsmanship. Built solid. It's a little brass Volvo.
8 for playability, on today's field. Stock class is good, but the sights, loading cap, and Co2 cap could be better.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Jaan Thursday, May 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
P68 SC, Nel-Spot 007, DSDS 494
Marker Setup: Well tuned and totally modifyed basic black CF Autococker with all the best parts I've collected over the past 12 years, another old square front 'Cocker made up of all the leftover parts (c: 1994 vintage Automag with all the goodies from back then and a level 10 kit, Tippmann Factory F/A, PGP, VM 68, Nelspot 007 etc etc ...
Recommended
Upgrades:
Grips
Strengths: Leave this on a highway for a week and it would probably still work.
Weaknesses: Grips come loose easily and are small, weighs a ton.
Review: I'm reviewing an older PGP with an aluminum pump handle, the only real difference I've seen between the new and old ones is the pump handle. I don't know why they would switch to plastic since the rest of the gun is rock solid brass. However, the plastic seems strong enough. This is definitely THE stock pistol all others are judged by. Solid and reliable. It's not perfect though ... the weight is a factor if you're going to carry it as a backup, but if you're playing with it the weight seems to give it stability. The grips also come loose once you play with it for a while since they have a single screw in the middle holding the panels on and since you're cocking the gun your hand is constantly putting pressure on the grips. The grips are a bit small too, especially for a huge and heavy gun. Battle grips are a plus here ... with some minor filing Autococker grips will fit BTW (not the .45 frame but the old school frames). You still have to "rock and cock" to load a ball since it doesn't have a spring loaded magazine but that's not a big deal, but the magazine has to be loaded, you can't just jam a tube in there. you can't easily adjust the velocity stock either, and it takes what seems like forever to unscrew the 12 gram loader.
Conclusion: All in all a reliable and acurate pump pistol, but not perfect. However some minor upgrades will certainly help.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Emerald Wolf Sunday, January 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon
ACI Hornet
Zap 200
Marker Setup: Aci Hornet W/ 16" Tru Flite barrel , 12 oz CO2, and Daisy Day Glo Point Site
Recommended
Upgrades:
C/A (maybe)
Wooden grips (Personal preference)
Back velocity adjuster (handy)
Lighter bolt detent spring
Strengths: Hefty feeling
Very easy on the air (I got 35 shots on a 12g.)
Weaknesses: Dissasembly for cleaning requires tools

stock bolt detent is a little stiff

Review: I got my PGP around 3 weeks ago. In two words, IT ROCKS. I took it to the field to use as a back up gun. It worked very well. I was wearing a duck hunting jacket because of the large pockets and the bandolier webs (12 grams are roughly the same size as a 16 /20 guage shotgun shell). I ened up sticking the PGP in my inside pocket. It ended up getting quite a bit of dirt in it, but shot fine. Th only accuracy trouble I noticed was balls veering after about 15-20 feet. Mine seems to have the commom problem of over spray in the barrel, so I think a polish job is in order.
Conclusion: I wouldn't trade it for anything.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media