paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP

Sheridan PGP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Known as one of the most reliable back up markers. It has a 10 shot internal magazine.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
ibram_gaunt Sunday, December 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Armotech Zeus G2 - the grip and trigger guard on the G2 felt nicer then the PGP
Marker Setup: Armotech Zeus G2 (standard stock config)
That's it, that's my main marker, pistolier all the way!
Recommended
Upgrades:
There are no manufacturer standard upgrades for the PGP to the best of my knowledge. But many other reviewers have plenty of recommended upgrades as is.
Strengths: - Feels very nice to use
- Accurate
- Just about indestructible
- Excellent CO2 efficiency (40 per 12g)
Weaknesses: - Extremely slow ROF
- Chrono'ing can be a pain
- Definitely NOT for the beginner
Review: If you have never used a pistol before. You'll immediately notice two things about the PGP.

Number 1 - You can move and shot extremely well with the PGP. Even when compared to a speedball style setup, there's just no way to match the agility you have with a PGP or any other pistol

Number 2 - More specific to the PGP, the pump and shot action is not nearly as bad as you'd think. Because you know every shot counts, you'll naturally learn very fast to aim quickly and repump the gun immediately after a shot.

Maintenance of the pump is extremely simple. Just clean the barrel itself, and maybe take the spring out if you know you won't be playing again for a while. Other then that, you can literally drop this thing on the floor multiple times, and the tough little bugger will still shot clean and straight every time!

Addtional Comments Added July 7, 2005

I have seen this in the forums multiple times, and it is truly infuriating. Pistols are NOT inherently inaccurate. Anybody with the slightest background knowledge or hands-on experience with real life firearms will tell you that!

If you're going to try to be an arrogant moron in saying that pistols are not accurate. YOU try firing an Angel or an Impulse using only one hand.

When you steady your aim with both hands, and use good marksmanship practices, the PB pistol is every bit as accurate as a semi-marker.

Both pistols and semi-auto markers fire their paintball ammunition at the same 220-250 fps velocity, both therefore have the same range. You can argue about bore-size and paint quality and everything else all you like, but unless you deliberately alter the velocity of your marker, you'll always get the same 100'ish feet range.

Give the PGP a try, if you're any good, you'll love it!!!!
Conclusion: The PGP is a ton of fun to play. When you walk into a field with a PGP, most custom uber upgraded gun players will laugh at you; but the refs know better that you're the dangerous one. Even if you get hit six times and score only one kill, you get plenty of kudos just for playing with a PGP.

Just know well ahead that you WILL get shot a lot if you're up against a bunch of semi's.

If you're lucky enough to have a designated Pistolier's Night at your favourite paintball field, you are sooo in for a great time!

For anyone that loves the rush of beating the odds as the underdog; and for any jaded pro-baller who wants something inexpensive, this is THE gun to get!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 7th, 2005 at 11:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pnda_express Wednesday, November 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just about every pump there is minus a deuce for whoever knows what that is.
Marker Setup: Combat Connections Enforcer running a 10 oz and a 50 round hopper. Also use 2 kp-2's, 2 kp-3's, 3pgp's, P-68, PMI-II, Piranha SB, and lots and lots more pumps, mostly sheridan.



Recommended
Upgrades:
Make a fast changer by tapping in a hole so you can screw in a normal screw. If your cheap than JB weld on some washers or pennies. Battle grips or PMI rubbers, maybe a cocker frame adaptor, trrigger shoes, feed tube slots, speed loader, lots more. VELOCITY ADJUSTER.
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: There are 2 versions. There is the 2001 model and the older ones. Also the zgp and the pg but lets forget about those.

Older one- Evrthing is flawless. Shoots darts, looks sweet, custimizable, its a pump, light, doesnt chop, and easliy taken apart. Efficient. Everything is good. I wish they still made these ones instead of the newer ones. Only bad parts is that it needs a velocity adjuster and a fasst changer out of the box. New bolts and speed loaders are good too.
Conclusion: Get these. Easy to modify and fun to work on. Good tinkerers gun. Better than 3/4 of the nelsons out there.
10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 26th, 2005 at 6:12 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

gdog5 Saturday, October 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sidekick
various pumps
Marker Setup: too many to list
Recommended
Upgrades:
Palmers Quick-change
PMI Grips
Larger trigger shoe
Strengths: Price
Dependable
Accurate
25+shots off one 12 gram
Weaknesses: The 2k1 pgps tend to have a chopping issue
disassembly can be difficult
Review: Awhile back i was looking for a pgp to get and after some research decided to go with an older one due to others saying it was more reliable and that there was a chopping issue with the 2k1s.

The pump stroke is pretty hard and people who have never used one will think that the pump is locked into position, when in reality you just need to pump hard. This is caused by the anit-blowback bearing in the bolt.

Disassembly can be tricky. Really it depends on which model you have. The bolt bearings are under spring tension and will fly out when the bolt is taken out.

Accuracy is great. I was really suprised at this. Again it can differ with models, as the 2k1's tend to have overspray which can affect the path of the ball. With my pgp i was able to hit targets squarely where i aimed. Very good overall.

Expect to get 30 decent shots off of one twelve gram. This is very good compared to say an armotech zues or pt extreme.

This gun is one of the most reliable markers made and rest assured it will be working for another ten years. Its all brass construction and powder coating also make it very durable, no worries diving into those snakes!
Conclusion: Very good marker overall. Would recommend to anyone looking for a pump. Look around and you can easily find one for $50.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 2nd, 2004 at 7:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

P38bandit Tuesday, September 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A splatmaster gun, very bad. Had no pump had to cock it like bb gun.
Marker Setup: Automag with wooden handle I made myself. Dye barrel, nitro setup. Love P38's need to have mandatory p38 games at fields.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, it's perfection
Strengths: Paintball gun achieved perfection with this one.
Weaknesses: Not a semi auto, runs out of paint quick if playing a bunch of machinegunners.
Review: Paintball guns achieved perfection with this one. It is so simple and that is great. I much rather go to a field and play p38 games all day rather that spending over $100 on paint sittining in a bunker shooting an automag all day. This product will last for ever and you can treat it like dirt. Just give it some oil once in a while and it will serve you well.

Plus it is great satisfaction taking out someone with this. Especially when they have a $1200 gun and wasted $100 bucks on paint trying to shoot ya.
Conclusion: Everyone should have one of these and there should be mandatory P38 only fields.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Patrick_Spears Friday, June 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Winchester Laredo
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom (Silver) With Reactive Trigger (Modified to 35 BPS), Car-Stock (Adjustable), lighter trigger spring, 5x scope and custom cut grip

Piranha 2K3 E-Force Pro (Black)

PGP Pump-Action Pistol with magazine extention (Mine can hold 20), custom sight, quick change C02 valve, custom stock, rear velocity adjuster, custom camo paint job, extended barrel and lightened trigger pull (when cocked). (Sheridan)

PT Enforcer Semo-Automatic Pistol with custom scope mount (Has 4x Scope), bottom line adapter, custom gravity feeding magazine (Original magazine with upward tube) , Stock and silver paint job (32 Degrees?)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Quick Change C02 Adapters
Quick Change Ammo Pods
Strengths: Durable and compact
Weaknesses: Heavy, pump difficutly
Review: I would say this gun is quite a good little piece. It may like like crap, but when you get used to it, you'll love it as much as a hot @$$ girl. I have had it for many years without any major problems to deal with. It's a great back-up marker as well as a great woods gun. Even so, I carry it as my 1st back-up pistol in a speedball game. It's accurate, good C02 shot usage (I get about 40-50 shots per 12 gram) and I also like it's easy to feed magazine.
Conclusion: Buy it! It's a great starter/back-up/woods gun. The problem is, the newer models aren't as good as the old school model (I have this one). But if you manage to come upon an older model, it's usually $60-$80.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ghetto-rat Thursday, April 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
delta .68, pt extream as far as pistolas
phantom, sl682, vulcan and talon for pumps.
didnt like the delta or pt, got the pgp instead.
as for the pumpers, phantom was excellent but i like the pgp alot more.
Marker Setup: stock pgp. sometimes a 2 inch air-cannon
Recommended
Upgrades:
better grips. i have big hands so its annoying. i took a roll of electrical tape to it and extended the grip about two inches so it feels alot better. also a quick changer fotr the co2. i think palmer sells them.
Strengths: you cant break it.
with a fresh co2, its dead on
intimidation factor,
stock class.
Weaknesses: changing the co2 on the run is h-e-double-hockeysticks.
Review: pgp is great. since i started playing, i used an e- spyder and graduated to phantom, then i went to pgp. i like it the most because it is a tank, compact and easy to use.
last weekend, i was at my field, and we were doing a 10 on 10. i had my pgp on a holster. on the break i ran behind a tree and ditched my white lab coat and santa hat i normally wear and turn the holster to my back.nobody notices me doing this, so i just walk up the middle of the field with my arms crossed in front of my chest all innocent like.i just stand there untill the other team gets used to me and then i walked to THIER end of the field. you would think i was invisible. i ended up making 6 of them surrender.
didnt even fire a shot. you should have seen thier faces.
the reason for saying this is because if i was using the spyder, i couldnt do that. i wouldnt have the ability to take crazy chances or anything. you have to get close in and take chances, thats why its best.
Conclusion: bottom line, semi's are too easy. play with a pgp for a couple weeks and youll see what i mean.
for beginners and experienced players, i say pick this one up. if you do it right you can really own up on people.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shoutingtoe3 Saturday, March 20th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
no pistols
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5, Flatline, HPA, PGP(backup)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't even know of any
Strengths: comes with holster
accurate
cool sound
intimedating
Weaknesses: PUMP
breaks balls in reserve
has to piont upto cock
co2 hart toget out
heavy
Review: I like the holster it comes with, but a leg holster would work better. This thing is really accurate, before I got my A-5, I had a Spyder and took sniper shots with my PGP. The pop sound that the PGP gives off is really cool, and you get alot of attention on the field. And of cours, the bragging rights are great when you take out someone useing a really nice simi.

the balls in the reserve break easily if you are a simi-rough player like me. The main thing I hate about this gun is that it takes two hands to cock, so you have to put your main down to use it. If you don't point it up to cock, you won't get a ball because there is no spring to feet the chamber. The co2 can be really hard to get out at times, its sorta heavy for a backup
Conclusion: all in all, this is just a average marker, I would recomend a simi-auto for a backup, but if are required to use a pump, this should be an ok gun to use 5 being average, I give it a 6
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

CowboyShot Tuesday, March 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Xtreme
Marker Setup: 03 VF WGP Autococker. Superfly bolt, Freak barrel system, Orracle 3 way, Halo Hopper, 4000psi Nitro.

PGP
Recommended
Upgrades:
hmmm. none
Strengths: very accurate, very durable
Weaknesses: pump
Review: I purchased this gun back when I had a Talon pump. I have had this thing forever, and I always take great care of my guns but I have never had to clean or touch this thing, this thing will always shoot, you could leave it it a pile of mud for a month and pull it out and shoot someone. I don't use it much anymore except for a few Rec games, but I will probably never sell it. One thing I like alot about this gun is it hurts like crap. I call it the Bruise Maker. Every person I have ever shot has received a huge bruise that always looks nasty, its all purple and yellow. If you got the extra money and want something to play around with this gun is it.
Conclusion: got money to spend? Want something that will make your friends cry? buy this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HotelSecurity Tuesday, February 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nelspot 007, National Survival Games Splatmaster, CCI Phantom.
Marker Setup: PGP marker is not mine, though I use it extensively. It has new grips, ball count windows, a string to hold the back of the top loading tube, and some other home jobs.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing! You can get the barrel polished, but this gun is good to go out of the box. A new pump can help grip during rain/snow.
Strengths: -Cheap
-Accurate
-Extremely durable
-Spare parts still made
Weaknesses: -Range
-Heavy (Doesn't bother me...)
Review: The Sheridan PGP is a real classic. Despite the fact that Sheridan just stopped producing the PGP series, PGPs are all over the fields of America as sidearms and stockguns. The PGP is the best way to get into stock class or pump play, and makes a great backup for military style play or scenario games. Its also great for training on to acquire skills you can use on your main gun.

Constructed mostly of brass, the PGP is one solid gun. A true stock gun (rock n' cock), it has a capacity of about 10 rounds in the upper magazine tube, with one in the chamber. The pump on the one I use is a little hard, but nothing unmanagable. The characteristic "FOOMP!" of a PGP going off is enough to get anyone's attention. While the gun may sound and appear weak, it gets plenty of range off a 12 gram. While the reach of the gun is equal to "normal" markers, the length of the barrel limits the effective range of the gun. I'd say you could get accurate shots from about 20 meters away, having to start "lobbing" balls to reach 30, and anything beyond that is a fry cry in hell.

The stacked three tube design is great. Unlike semi automatic pistols, like the PT Extreme and Delta 68, the PGP usually isn't being "rapid fired" and so it gets some more shots off a 12 gram. I'd say you could get around 35 good shots, with a few weaker shots afterward off a 12 gram cartridge. While constant air is available, most PGPs I've seen are left stock class.

The main strength of the gun is the durability and price. This is the sort of gun you can really give a beating and have it still work. While many older pumps like the PGP are out of production and have a rapidly drying resevoir of spare parts, the PGP has many upgrades available. While Sheridan has stopped production, a new company is said to have bought the PGP for production. Thus, parts shouldn't be a problem....if you break the PGP in the first place. Hard brass does not crack or warp like the plastic on a Brass Eagle pump has the potential of doing. I've dropped this gun in the dirt, dragged it through the snow, and landed on it - it still performs great.

The PGP is nice and compact. You won't ever feel exposed in a bunker with this thing, because you can tuck as much as possible into your bunker. Its small enough to be holstered or put into a pocket.

So why buy it? Well its cheap. The PGP (not the PGP2) is mostly sold used on paintball forums for around 50 - 70 dollars shipped. Its a perfect opportunity to get a great pumpgun that isn't a Brass Eagle. It also helps hone in some great skills. Its the end of the day, and there's only about 5 games left to be played before the field closes up. You feel behind you for a full pod, but you're all out. You only have half a hopper left. Usually this is where people light up the nearest bunker and leave for the day. With the PGP you'll have enough to get in those final games, practice communication, snapshooting, and have a good time. And should your main gun ever break and need fixing, you won't get stranded at the field without a marker!
Conclusion: Great gun. Accurate, cheap in price, very high quality. Upgradable and parts readily accessible. Perfect stock gun for beginners and pros alike - also great for new collectors trying to get ahold of an old gun for cheap. Pick one of these up, feel the solid construction, load up a 12 gram and go bunker someone!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbjunkie1 Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crossman 3357, Splatmaster, Mod-85, Delta68
Marker Setup: Autococker2000(overrated) Palmer reg,32 deg. Terminator barrel,PMI air 3000 68ci Dye sticky grips swing trigger frame. VM-68 (very reliable) car stock 9oz tank 14 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
I had a barrel extention co2 quick change and stock on mine and grips
Strengths: Rugged!!!!! Very reliable
Weaknesses: slow cocking, gravity feed, co2 was slow to change
Review: old school gun but I wauld still use it if I didnt sell it like a fool. I will probably get another soon since its such a great back up, or just to play rec ball with. Palmer paintball will still mod these out if you want to send them to his shop and pay the $$ which is worth it if you intend to use it.
Conclusion: I wish guns were made as well as they used to be. Sheridan made alot of rugged guns back in the day and the PGP was no exception. For its class of mrker it earns a 10 for its well made body and reliablity.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media