paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP / Sheridan PGP

Sheridan PGP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 98
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Known as one of the most reliable back up markers. It has a 10 shot internal magazine.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
g_splat Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Extreme, Sidekick Semi, Armotech Zeus
Marker Setup: Armotech SIM-4 Elite, Armotech Zeus Semi-Auto Pistol, PGP Pump Pistol, Spyder AMG Electric, Spartan Pump, Pure Energy HPA 3000, 12v Revolution, Raven Paintball Nuvis-1 1.0, Ronin Gear 5 pack, COPS 911 Scenario Vest & Military A.L.I.C.E Gear
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Holster. I have both a tactical leg holster as well as a shoulder holster.
A external velosity adjuster.
Strengths: Sturdy & dependable.
Weaknesses: It's a pump. Speed. Nuff said.
Review: You can throw this marker in a mud puddle, run it over with a car, pick it up, shake it off, refill it with paintballs and go shooting! It's a great backup.

This is a truely good marker. Mine is over 7 years old and shoots like new! Made back when dependable markers where dependable. The marker has a nice feel and weight. easy to use. Easy to strip down and clean.

I love my Zues Semi-auto, but I will never get rid of my PGP.

Conclusion: The price is great. The construction is great. If you don't mind pump or you're looking for a pump sidearm, this is the marker for you!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 11th, 2004 at 8:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jamez54 Monday, January 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
various markers
Marker Setup: PGP w/ cocker .45 frame
CCI ball gate mod
Sight Rail
trigger shoe
Recommended
Upgrades:
faast changer or madchanger, speedloader (mod- see below)
rear velocity adjuster
trigger shoe
maybe a holster (www.cops911.com)
Instapierce (find instructions www.pgpog.org)
Quickstrip (search for instructions or ask airsmith on pgpog)
Strengths: durability- lasts forever, feel, accuracy, will improve your game
Weaknesses: oem grips suck, discontinued (not a big deal), non-removable barrel (doesn't matter)
Review: At first I was really worried about getting the "perfect" pump. I eventually settled on a simple pgp and am completely happy with my purchase. This thing kicks butt. People have complained about the weight, but I think it feels really good in either hand.
+Parts are readily available and are as cheap as they come.
+Everybody and their mother can mod a pgp for you.
-If you are going to be playing against semis (about 99% of rec ballers) you will need an upgraded co2 plug. 14 turns just to undo the darn thing is insanity.
-One other thing to replace would be the grips panels. It will vastly improve the pgp's feel.
-No Instapierce. This means after screwing in a 12 gram your first shot will be weak. Easily fixed, but a minor annoyance considering that practically every shot counts.
Buy a CCI ball gate and use sandpaper or something to make it fit on the feed tube like a speedloader. It will work miracles.
Buy a trigger shoe. They are very comfy and cheap.
I haven't talked about accuracy, because it isn't an issue. The only thing that will really hinder your accuracy is the 6.5" barrel which isn't enough for a paintball to reach full velocity. All this means is your shot grouping will be slightly wider beyond 50 yards.
Get a trigger shoe. They are cheap and feel comfy.
Conclusion: Stock this is a solid product. For 50-65 dollars you cannot afford to pass up one of these babies. They are pure metal! This will turn heads at your local field.
The best pump in this price range. I don't give it a ten, because of the stock co2 plug.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 22nd, 2004 at 11:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GIZMO8Z Tuesday, December 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Considering that I work in a large proshop, I've come in contact with most paintball pistols.
Marker Setup: Custom Built, Limited Edition Dust Blue WGP Orr-accle W/ Chrome E-Blade, Chrome WGP Black Magic Reg, Chrome Grip Feed Neck, Chrome Planet Eclipse NEXUS Upgrade Kit, Red KAPP Cosmetics, Chrome Shocktech Beavertail, 14" DYE Boomy, EGGY 2 & 45/45 Nitro Duck Tuff Skin HPA Tank W/ DYE Rhino Tank Cover.
Recommended
Upgrades:
...Maybe a holster or something to hold extra 12g CO2s/10rnd tubes.
Strengths: ~Durible Construction.
~Good Distance.
~Good Accuracy.
~Efficient.
Weaknesses: ~Pain to clean a ball break.
~Slow action.
Review: I found one of these markers in my proshops store room under some boxes a few days ago. I cleaned it up, got it working pretty nice and the owner let me have it at a steal of a price. I decided to give it to my brother as a late Christmas gift to go along with the Tippmann Prolite I found/assembled and gave to him too.

Pros:
~Durible Construction. This thing must have been sitting in the store room for about 5 or so years ... It had a good layer of dust on it, and the internals were gunked up. I took it apart, used rubbing alcohol to clean of the grit, and then lubed it up. It worked!
~Good Distance. This little thing seems to have some decent distance.
~Good Accuracy. Although the paint I used to test it was a little small for the barrel, I had some decent accuracy. (Better than expected.)
~Efficient. I got about 60 shots off of one 12g CO2 cartridge.

Cons:
~Doesn't like thin shelled paint. I used some Draxxus Hellfire, and it chopped up pretty good.
~Pain to clean a ball break. Once you break a ball, the splatter from inside the barrel tends to make its way into the tube containing your ammo ...causing your the majority of your stored rounds to be ruined. In addition, you need to strip the whole gun inorder to run a pull through squeege through the barrel.
~Slow action and limited ball capacity. You'll have trouble keeping up with even the oldest, cheapest semi-autos out there.
Conclusion: Over all, this is a nice toy. I got it for my brother because he rarely plays, and its something to tinker and play around with.

If you find one, get it, it's pretty cool.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 30th, 2003 at 9:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stockcom Wednesday, November 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pt extreme, other pgps, a pgp 2
Marker Setup: vf cocker with everything but an e-blade, and a pgp that is older than the time i have played paintball
Recommended
Upgrades:
some good paint, a holster, a camera to catch all the dissapointed faces when they find out you shot them with a pgp.
Strengths: accurate, durable, compact, easy maintenance, easy to take apart
Weaknesses: HEAVY, pump stroke is pretty heavy and not smooth, loud, rock n cock loading
Review: i bought my pgp off e-bay a couple of years ago. the guy who sold it to me said it was made in 96. i belive him. this thing is older than most paintball companies and it still shoots great. nice and accurate. it is also a tank. i have beat the tar out of this thing and it still shoots great. banged it on trees, left it in a puddle, dropped it ten feet onto rocks, dropped it in a lake, threw it about 50 feet, and ran it over with my car. it still works. however, with this durability comes a price. everything is made of steel or brass. that makes this probably the heaviest pistol in paintball. the thing feels like you are carrying a brick. also, the pump stroke is very labored and rigid, not smooth at all. plus, you have to rock and cock, letting the paintballs in the magazine roll down into the breech while you have the pump back. then you just pump forward and aim and shoot. now, don't get me wrong. it is still pretty simple and easy. it is just the fact that the pgp is ancient history in paintball terms, and the old school pgp is not quite as refined as some of the newer pistols, such as the pgp2. also, for all this, it is still the most reliable side-arms in paintball. during scenario games, i wouldn't carry anything else at my hip. it seems that most pgp users and owners have stories about how thier pgp saved them this way or that. i haven't used mine that much, but maybe one day i will have a story to tell.
Conclusion: the most durable and realiable pistol on the market still. the pgp2 is pretty much the same thing but with refinements. i wouldn't go out on a mission without mine, and if you need a sidearm that won't let you down, get a pgp. i give it an 8 due to it is heavy and old, but it still rocks.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fireball16 Saturday, October 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PGP 2 (though the PGP is better)
Marker Setup: The PGP is good with a quick co2 changer
Recommended
Upgrades:
quick change co2 thing.
Strengths: very durable, accurate, never breaks balls, good backup ro primary.
Weaknesses: takes a while to change right in the middle of a battle
Review: IT is the best side arm/primary gun i have ever used. It is way better than the PGP 2 because taht is plastic. No one likes plastic, using an all plastic gun is like using a Brass Eagle----IT SUCKS. Plus, the PGP2 can break. Looks very intimidating also.
Conclusion: YOu gotta get it. IT is very good for bing a side arm, and is nice being a main. People WILL notice you and give you credit for using it as a primary.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

randomguy2476 Tuesday, October 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon Ghost
no other pump guns
Marker Setup: 1)Kingman Spyder Victor: 2003 Bob Long style expansion chamber, Rebel '02 Bottomline vacuum chamber, View Loader Revolution electronic hopper, 14oz Co2, homemade sling
2)Sheridan PGP: Stock setup with some improvised, replaced, parts
Recommended
Upgrades:
none that i know of
Strengths: Built like a tank
more soon....
Weaknesses: heavy for a sidearm
more soon....
Review: i got this out of my dads closet. it had been in there for about 8-10 years. it had no seal for the Co2 so i couldn't shoot it. we made a duck tape seal and tried it out but we only got three successfully shots. actually they were not really successful they were pathetic. but i want a sidearm badly and this has gotten very good reviews so far. once i get it fixed i am going to finish my review.
Conclusion: as of now im going to give it a 5 just because of its extremely durable construction. when i fix it up and finish my review i will adjust my rating.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

pbcricket Saturday, September 20th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have never used anything like this. This is one of the best paintball markers I have ever used.
Marker Setup: I currenty have the PGP 2001 with no accessories.
Strengths: Reliability, accuracy, simplicity, and it uses .65 caliber paintballs.
Weaknesses: It is a litte bit big&heavy.
Review: This is the best paintball marker I have ever used. Most of my friends thought that it was ajoke when I told them that I would lite them up. At the end of the day, I was the one with last laugh. You would think that a barrel as short as it is would not be very accurate. My dad didn't either. So I took my Tippmann 98 Custom and my PGP out for a little accuracy contest. Guess which won? Yep my good ol' PGP. Another great thing about the PGP is its reliability. For the entire year and a half that I owned it, it has never given me problems. While my friends semi-autos broke down every once in a while and forked out half of their money to get it fixed, I was laughing to myself. Most paintball pistols use smaller paintballs that was very hard to find so you had to order them. The PGP uses .65 caliber paintballs so you can go to your local field to get paintballs. The only complaint that I have is the size and weight. They are a teensy weensy bigger than I would have liked. This is the only reason that I'm not giving it a perfect 10. Of course there will never be a perfect paintball marker so I will never give a perfect 10.
Conclusion: PGP $90
Paintballs $20
Seeing your friends face when you get them priceless
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Ludicrous Thursday, September 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years37 of 44 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tracer, Maveric, Hornet, Phantom
Marker Setup: Sheridan PGP with, PMI Battle Grip (Pistol Grip), Nasty Pump (Pump Handle), E-Z Pull Bolt, Constant Air Setup with a Velocity Adjuster, and a Hi-Viz Sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Velocity Adjuster (or you could chop and shim your spring, but I don't like doing that)
-Either a quick change CO2 plug, or constant Air system (I love my C/A)
-Bolt (either get an E-Z Pull Bolt, or cut/remove the spring in the original bolt)
Strengths: -Price, less then $100
-Durability, Solid metal never breaks
-Size, 12 x 6
-Simple design
Weaknesses: -Weighs as much as any other marker
-Customizing, you have to order/do your own
Review: The PGP will outlast any other marker you could buy with virtually no upkeep required, even if you are a mud crawling, river swiming, tree climbing, beach playing, paintballer.

Easy to customize yourself. Espeicaly if you have access to a metal shop (check any local high school). If you don't like the "rock and cock" loading method, just add a spring to the ammo tube. Want to see how many paintballs you have in it, drill a couple of holes. Easier cocking, only one spring to modify. Velocity adjustment, only one spring to cut/shim. You could even add a hopper with a little work. Then theres still pistol grips, pump handles, sites, speed loaders...ect

Range and accuracy. I can hit a person at about 125 feet with a PGP (at 280fps, most feilds only let you play at 230-300fps). Most markers out there only claim an accuracy of 150 feet, and those things are double the length of the PGP. A custom barrle alone is atleast as long if not longer then a PGP.

If you use your PGP alot, like me, buy a constant air setup, or make your own out of one of the old 12 grams you got. I get 30-40 accurate shots out of a 12 gram, although one 12 gram every 30 shots doesn't sound bad, the price really does add up. A C/A will save you money, plus its more fun not having to worry about running out of air. You can pick up a 4oz tank that will add virtully no size/weight to your marker and you'll get 200 plus shots from it.

The looks. Only true paintballers recognize the PGP when you walk on the field. New guys just look and go "Cool, but I can beat that with my semi no problem, hahaha", how little they know. The true paintballers will generaly admire your PGP (even the high grade/priced marker owners), and know that you'll be a force to reckon with, don't get me wrong, they won't be scared of you, but they'll respect you, or atleast notice you. The PGP teaches you to use skill, and to only shot when you can get a kill. The PGP player learns to be the one hiding in unexpected spots, and knows when to fire and when to bide his time, and this is what unerves your high priced opponents, and makes it all the more fun. There is nothing more a an Angel owner fears more then being marked by a PGP.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anyone. It's cheap, reliable, and fun. Even if you don't want to use it as a Primary (like I do), it's a great side arm/back up. It's also great as a loner, because your friends will have fun with it, and you don't have to worry about it being broken. I'd give the PGP a 9.5 but since you can't give halfs, it gets a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 11th, 2003 at 4:21 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Unived Micindev Wednesday, September 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ZGP - better than PGP, home made pump
Marker Setup: 68classic
- X-valve
- smart parts SS barrel
- minimag grip frame
- home-made drop fwd
- flatline air system
VM68
- ZGP grip frame
- home-made drop fwd
- torpedo reg
- dynaflow air system
- vl revolution 12v
- low pressure upgrade - 250psi
- semi or full auto 12bps
Sheridan P-12
- zgp velocity adjuster
ZGP
- stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
-
Strengths: cheap, great 4 recreation
Weaknesses: nada..i really love this gun
Review: if u need cheap, good, small and classic gun / sidearm pgp is 4 u.... great 4 your childrens, great 4 wife, great 4 daddy..... if u will have it u will love it!!!... easy to manipulate and easy / cheap to repair... playing w this gun is real fun and very good training... if u marked somebody w semi u r good player :D...pgp is better than be blades and this kind of plastic sh*t
Conclusion: great sidearm or 4 oldschool players or 4 recreation paintball....i know lot of people who plays just w PGP or ZGP....in Slovakia we have PGP/ZGP ligue
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004 at 9:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slovakish Monday, August 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
4 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ZGP-Czech variant of PGP
Marker Setup: Spyder Classic, 14"Smart Parts Progressive Barell, Propoint red dot sight, 9oz Co2
as a backup PGP
Strengths: Small size, accurate(closed bolt)
Weaknesses: little heavy
Review: I use my pgp as a backup gun. I have it loaded on every game day. Sometimes when I need to be fast and have to shoot snapshots from behind a corner I rather use PGP than semi. I have mounted classic pistol iron sights on it and it works fine, it is really usefull. Also in woods when we play at night is PGP usefull for fast attacks.
When you like PGP maybe you will like also ZGP it is czech variant of PGP but with minor upgrades and advantages.
Conclusion: great stock gun, I like it. PGP is PGP. You can use in on stock games or for military paintball as a backup in a holster.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media